Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2018
    Kate Fuller

    Adventures in Belize

    I thought this an excellent holiday. There was a good combination of activities: bird watching, snorkelling, hiking, swimming and sight seeing, (Mayan remains), a lot of travelling, but it was not too much. We also visited two small factories, so good to see a little of how people lived. Our guide, Fidelio was excellent. His knowledge of birds was amazing, he was very friendly and dealt with problems calmly and efficiently. He was also prepared to organise activities for our free days, eg a trip on a sailing yacht the last day. He organised a wonderful canoeing in caves trip for 5 of us, (I was the oldest in the group) who didn't feel up to the ATM cave trip. This was not included in the holiday which was very kind. I would have liked dinner the first day to have been included as a welcome start to holiday. The buses were reasonably comfortable, but I am glad I took a blow up cushion! I found a pair of walking poles to tramp round Mayan sites a great help. Take plenty of insect repellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Canoeing , bird watching, swimming, Mayan remains

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I found a pair of walking poles very good for hiking round Mayan remains, take plenty of insect repellent
  • Reviewed March 2018
    RICHARD JACKELMAN

    Truely a trip for everyone

    This trip surely has so much diversity that it would appeal to all Exodus travellers,whether first timers or more seasoned adventurers.The moment you land in Belize you know and feel, its different,from the wonderful welcome ,to the first place you stay at which has so much wildlife,and even a very cute police station called ,Crooked Police Station,Crooked Tree...........now if that doesn't tell you about your next 10days nothing will. The time in Guatemala is fascinating ,from the comfortable camping at our very own Mayan ruins,in the jungle with locals cooking us an evening meal over looking this wonderful site.The visit to Tikal is mind blowing,its size and history....oh and the lunch provided is great too. The ATM caves are amazing and untouch since discovery in 1989,so get in soon,it feels like your the first visitor,interesting walk/swim through the caves.The Caye Caulker island is wonderful,it was 84 here when Devon was closed due to snow,so felt even better to me.The Marine reserve is so full of colourful marine life and yes we did actually swim with sharks,up to six feet,about twenty of them and yes they were "Friendly" and interested in us. Much more could be said...........but really its for you to discover

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    ALL OF IT

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The transfer to your hotel in Miami,your end up on the ground floor when you are about to exit the airport,you need to go up two floors and wait outside for the Shearton bus which is every 15 mins and free.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    J. McBride

    Definitely belieze the hype!

    Picked this trip because I'd loved a previous visit to Costa Rica and Belize and Guatamala seemed to offer something similar, but with Tikal and the world's 2nd largest barrier reef for good measure. Good decision! While I think CR has the edge for wildlife, Tikal surpassed all expectations, the reef experience knocked the socks off Australia's and Belize was beautiful, diverse, interesting and easy for non-Spanish speakers. The trip itinerary was varied and mostly very successful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tikal - I'd wanted to see it for a long time and I couldn't believe the scale of the site and the complexity of the Mayan civilisation. Only downside was the very limited time we spent there. Snorkelling in the reef at Caye Caulker was also an amazing experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fidelio was a fantastic group leader. He is extremely knowledgeable about archaeology, an excellent naturalist and gave us really interesting insights into local history, culture and politics. He looked after us all really well and was always friendly, helpful and good company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Beware of sandflies at Dangriga! They're tiny so easy to miss, mosquito repellent doesn't work with them - needs to be something oily - and their bites can turn into painful blisters and swelling.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We stayed on for a few days at Ambergris Caye after the tour finished, hoping to do some sea kayaking. Unfortunately even Fidelio's extensive knowledge and contacts couldn't source us proper kayaks to hire and Caye Caulker would have been a much nicer option for simply 'chillin'.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Richard Montagu

    Adventures in Belize

    A well balance exploration of what Belize & Guatemala has to offer. We had an amazing guide who had a vaste knowledge of the countries, their history, culture and wildlife. The trip was organised at a good pace, the Mayan culture was fascinating as was the wildlife -birds in particular. Snorkelling was great, imagine swimming within 3m of a manatee. Then there are the rays, nurse sharks and all the varied species of fish. A thoroughly active and worthwhile holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ATM caves. Doing it and finding out about the culture that lay behind it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A bloody miracle. Every group leader should be like Fidelio!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel lite and take a towel. Water type shoes essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it,
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Alice Bzowska

    Belize and Guatemala - Amazing Trip!

    Belize is like a hidden gem - very few tourists, stunning Caribbean beaches and incredible Mayan relics. It is a small country so you see a lot of it, but there is loads to do, and dipping into Guatemala for 2 days is also a treat to see the mighty Tikal and Uaxactun ruins. You get a mixture of beaches, culture, water-activities and sight-seeing on this trip, and was a wonderful trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best part of this trip was the ATM cave. I haven't done anything like it - wading deep into the Mayan underworld to discover artifacts and skeletons that haven't been touched for 1000 years. It really felt like we were archaeologists exploring the cave for the first time! Other highlights include climbing one of the pyramids at Tikal, tubing down a serene river at Cockscomb National Park and snorkelling amongst manatees, sting rays, turtles and nurse sharks in the sea.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hugo really knew his stuff. He showed us some brilliant local restaurants, told us so much about Mayan history and the current politics of Belize and Guatemala, and was generally a nice person to be around. He was always there to help and suggest things if you needed it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to dive the Blue Hole, stay on an extra day as the group flight leaves at 11am the following morning so could potentially be dangerous. Take reef shoes for the ATM cave (although you can buy them in San Ignacio) and just go with an open mind and enjoy it!
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Emma Rhoades

    Adventures in Belize

    A fantastic holiday with a really good mixture of culture, adventure and wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to say. ATM cave was incredible, Tikal fascinating, and loved visit to iguana sanctuary and river tubing (an option offered by our brilliant guide Hugo.) Trip to Goff's Kaye (which we booked as a group) was a fantastic end to a fantastic holiday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. Hugo couldn't have done more

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a charge ($19 per person) to leave Belize when heading for Guatemala. Also take an umbrella. Much better then waterproofs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip will appeal to anybody with a great mixture of things to do. Remember to budget for some brilliant optional extras that are available.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Janet Dunn

    Adventures in Belize

    Simply splendid!! I took advantage of the many optional extras (not listed in the trip notes) and had a full on 2 weeks with great food (mmmm those fry jacks!) great activities (you have to do the tube rafting!), and a wonderful introduction to Belize and Guatemalan communities .... Friendliest of smiling people. From jungle to paradise island seeing amazing wildlife wherever we went, and marvelling at the remains of an epic Mayan civilisation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definitely the camping on a candlelit site in the Jungle of Guatemala and visiting the community projects which ensure sustainability. Or maybe it was the swimming and climbing deep into the Mayan cave to see at close up the skulls, skeletons and remnants of the people. Or could have been snorkelling at arm's length with turtles, sharks and manatees. But maybe it was trekking through jungle and then floating down the river tube rafting, watching the jungle scenery and birdlife quietly meander by me. Hard to tell. So many wow moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hugo was a great leader - organised, caring, full of answers to our relentless questioning. A calm peaceful guy whose quiet nature could be interrupted with teasing and laughter. He offered so many additional activities and always recommended safe local places to eat. I was the oldest in the group (old enough to be his and all the others' mother!) but he (and the rest) took great care of me in such a easy way. He was a gent and I trusted him totally.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a torch for the camping and night treks back from the local bars! Don't bother with a rain jacket - an umbrella is far more use. Do frequently apply sunscreen to the back of your legs on the snorkelling trip ...,.., there were many raw legs on our trip! Allow 3/5 local dollars for the many guides you have. The ATM caves are quite a climb over slippy steep rocks - not easily achieved if you have any mobility difficulties.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't hesitate ........ Just book it!!
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Helen Weavers

    Adventures in Belize

    A varied and interesting trip which was well organised. I thoroughly enjoyed it. There were a couple of free days in places with not a lot to do, but I'm not sure if the schedule would work otherwise as I enjoyed the relaxed approach. I thought it was a good mixture of fun activities with some R&R time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the ATM caves. Having never caved before I thought I would've been nervous, but it was a fun and interesting trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hugo was good, helpful and very knowledgeable, if a little bit quiet.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect full on action for this trip. It is classified as 'leisurely' which I think is fair and is why I booked it, as I wanted a rest but with some fun activities mixed in.
  • Reviewed December 2014
    Helen Green

    Adventures in Belize

    A great trip with lots of variation from culture and history to wildlife to beaches.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the human sacrifices in the ATM cave was a wonderful insight into such a different system of beliefs. Snorkelling with stingrays and nurse sharks in horrible weather was amazing and a bit scary.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hope you get David, he is a great trip leader but doesn't always work for Exodus. Hugely knowledgeable about Tikal and the Mayan culture (past and present), he was also able to spot and name an interesting bird at 50mph whilst smoothly organising the trip and enjoying a joke. A really excellent group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For the ATM caves take closed toe shoes (required) and a pair of old socks. You can buy reef shoes locally, but they had a limited supply of the popular sizes. Take a sleeping bag liner or sheet for the camping as the local bedding didn't arrive to plan. Take as much of the strongest insect repellant you can. The local insects seemed delighted with the fresh blood and feasted on everyone who wasn't soaked in repellant. Track down the rest of the group on the flight before you leave Miami airport as it will be almost impossible at the hotel. Some of us managed to meet and shared a cab to South Beach, but at over US$100 return this is expensive on your own. There is little to do around the Ramada Inn hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Get used to working in two currencies. There are 2 Belizean dollars to the US dollar and are highly interchangeable. Rice and Beans is completely different from Beans and Rice, but unlike some central american countries the food was far from bland and good food was found everywhere.
  • Reviewed December 2014
    Anna Trotter

    Belize

    A fantastic and varied Holiday to a lovely country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the sun come up over the Myan Astronomicla sight,swimming in the sea under the Stars

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, Interesting, well informed . considerate and a good laugh!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring more than on variety of insect repellant, 100 deet didn't work.Also stop over in miami not that great so splash out on a better hotel if you can. try and conect with others from the group before you go so you can use the time there more enjolably

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Ramad in Miami not tht convi=enient for airport or town, missed the 1st bus so never met the rest of the groutp till the following day, ahotel in the centre of town would be nice and ask the staff tolet you know where the rest of the group are
Call us on +82-(0)02-6320-4111