Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17894 Reviews

  • Reviewed March 2020

    Totally fabulous

    We had a full tour with 16 people but our amazing guide Petro Pretorius ensured that everyone had a great experience. I won't repeat everything written in the other reviews - it's all true! You haven't lived till you experience a roadblock of a dazzle of zebra (yes, that's the collective term for them) or meet one of the big five lumbering around a corner in front of your vehicle, eat a 5-star braai meal (bbq but much more) cooked by your hosts in De Rust, gape at the astonishing stalactites in the Kango Caves, gaze from the top of Table Mountain or listen to an ex-prisoner describing life on Robben Island. In a relatively short tour you experience so many different types of scenery, flora and fauna and culture but in manageable chunks. Petro shares her passion for South Africa with you and gives you a full and honest account of the challenges faced by this wonderful but struggling country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Listening to an ex-prisoner on Robben Island. He worked in the kitchens but also studied for a degree while in prison and later became a diplomat. Now retired, he guides trips around the prison. 'This work helps me to heal'. We could ask him any questions we wanted and he answered them all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Petro was truly outstanding. Can't say more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stay on for a few days afterwards if you can - there is SO much to do and see in Cape Town.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Wonderful Trip

    If you're looking for an interesting and informative trip, where every day is different, then this one's for you. The choice of accommodation was very good and definitely enhanced the group's overall experience. Living out of a suitcase isn't everyone's idea of fun but is necessary in order to visit the wide variety of sites across a large area. I'd recommend this trip to anyone wanting a moderately priced holiday in a culturally diverse country which is relatively close to the UK. Thank you, Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nothing stood out as being particularly inspirational but everything was enjoyable. The camel trips were fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both group leader Hamid and driver Reduan were excellent at their respective jobs, and very good company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just look forward to the enjoyment of having everything organised for you.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Amazing Morocco

    A great trip with a combination of the madness of Marrakech and the quiet of the High Atlas. This was my first visit to North Africa and I loved the clear blue sky, the winter sunshine and the fresh air in the mountains. It was a real contrast with the vibrant city of Marrakech- both the old part of the city and the Ville Nouveau. The trip was nicely paced with a combination of group activities and time to explore the city. The walking in the mountains was really enjoyable- with two easier days and then a challenging long day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the long trek on the last day in the mountains. It was a challenging walk, but in stunning scenery and with the reward of a hot lunch at 2,750m. Hearing the call to prayer echoing through the valley before getting out of bed. Having a laugh with the village women in the mosque ( may have been slightly nervous laughter on our part, but they were certainly having fun!!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was very knowledgable, respectful and good humoured. He looked after us really well, responding to our various requests for eggs, bananas etc and keeping us safe on the walks. All the local staff were polite and helpful too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We needed all types of clothes in February- the weather was lovely and warm in Marrakech, and when the sun was out in the mountains. However, it was cold at night and in the wind in the mountains. Walking poles were really useful over the rough ground. Bring snacks for the walks- no shop in the village and limited snacks available to buy in the riad. Bottled water is available but try not to use it as disposing of rubbish is a big issue in the mountain village.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip notes are very accurate in relation to the walks, so the long day is a long day with an 850m height gain over stony ground, and it needs to be done at a decent pace to be completed in daylight. It's not for everyone. The members of our group who decided not to go explored the valley, but perhaps better guidance for those who don't go would be better.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Great Experiences in Cambodia!

    This holiday was extremely enjoyable. It was varied and interesting throughout. The cycling was along flat roads and I was grateful for this as the maximum temperature in February was 30 degrees plus. We started cycling early in the morning so as to finish before it was too uncomfortable. Most of the hotels had swimming pools which I enjoyed immersing myself in at the end of the day. The activities were such as visiting the homes/ workshops of Cambodians making items was fascinating. I enjoyed the food, especially the fresh fruit. All all of our evening meals were varied and delicious. The snacks provided by our support team at regular intervals during the cycling were outstanding, they even provided a table cloth and cold wet towels!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    At the end of On day 6 we walked up a small hill to see the impressive sunset from Phnom Yat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Channy is a superb leader. He is very genial and attentive. His knowledge and passion about Cambodia is infectious and his communication and organisational skills are excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some challenging cycling. The leader gave us regular breaks and the pace was manageable, however one day it was very hot and the road was straight and long. In addition works were being done on the road. In some places where the road was sandy I had to dismount and walk a few times.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cambodia is a good very good holiday destination. It was my first visit and I want to return. I was made to feel very welcome and many people speak English. The climate in February is dry and hot and it was great to escape the British winter.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Cycling Cambodia

    The trip was well organised but be prepared for the heat. Some of the days did involve some hard cycling on dusty roads, I think the bikes have been well used and have seen some hard riding, the bike mechanics did their best to keep them going. I think the trip maybe better rated at 3.5 not 3 this is purely down to the heat and and the long dusty roads. There are no hills on this trip it is all flat a few descents would have been good. The snacks as always with Exodus are good especially the little cans of chilled coffee.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Siem Reap was great and especially Angkor Wat and getting there for the sunrise on the last day of the tour, was a great experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader was good although I would say not an early person. Special mention would go to Bo who was learning to be a guide his enthusiasm for cycling was second to none. Hopefully he will be given his own tours.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat I only had a 500ml bike water bottle a larger one maybe better as you need to take on more fluids than you think. The tour does not offer a sunrise trip to Angkor Wat, four of us organised one ourselves which was worth the early start. We left the hotel at 04:30 by Tuk tuk and we were just about the first at the gate, Angkor Wat does not open until 5am, and it does get crowded.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to have seen an earlier start time on the group trip to Angkor Wat, and possibly some better quality bikes.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Can't Say Enough

    Complementing an already beautiful country with humble people was our guide Su, who created the best possible experience we could have. From the daily written itinerary with a full schedule accompanied by optional activities and restaurant options to the smooth efficiency to which she commandeered our group. This made it so easy for us all to get along and become friends. She was constantly working in the background to ensure the best possible experience for the us removing any possible travel stresses. We saw most of the major sites and traveled with many different exciting modes of transportation. So much was learned on this trip that we now have a thorough deep understanding and love of the country. Myanmar, still in its' tourist infancy, should not to be missed....especially via Exodus with great value and maximum benefit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of the trip was seeing the morning rounds of the monks seeking food donations and witnessing the local people who have limited amounts themselves still donate generously. Or seeing the temple donation boxes with much bounty everywhere we went. The humbleness of the people, while in their own daily struggles, have boundless compassion for others.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As mentioned above, I have been on many tours the world over and Su ranks #1 in all categories

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    While the communication system is still in its' infancy, I had no problems with my TEP travel wifi which grabbed a strong signal everywhere, even in the remote villages. If you have gluten free allergies, it is very difficult to communicate this to the restaurants, even with a Burmese translation as they do not comprehend the scope themselves. She was caught off guard several times. She did bring gluten free soy sauce, Kari Out brand individual packets, which really helped a lot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first Exodus tour and we were the only Americans in the group of British and we had the most wonderful time
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Snowshoeing in the Catalan Pyrenees

    Excellent trip & a great hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cathar grave stones,Tírv, Aigüestortes National Park, Espot mountains

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Miguel is a very competent mountain leader. He is also a walking encycopedia on Catalan history.
  • The Alternative Garden Route !

    This was the alternative Garden Route for those that do not just want to drive it but still experience all that it has to offer along the way (and more). The trip is full of varied walks ranging from a few hours to the two day Alexandria Trail, all of which have their own characteristics and interest. There was a full day safari plus other wildlife opportunities along the way. We saw dolphins, penguins, whales, seals in the sea and elephants, hyenas and water buffalo (to name a few) on land plus a myriad of beautiful birds and plants. For the more cultured there was time for some wine tasting (extra) and an opportunity to sea kayak (extra). After many days in the countryside and on the coast we made it to the buzz of Cape Town. Table Mountain and Robben Island (extra) were must do's. A different vibe here for sure and lots going on. Overall a fantastically varied trip and one that we will certainly never forget. Thanks to our local guide (Simon) and the team at Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Alexandria Trail - A "get away from it all" 2 day walk with overnight hut and the best stargazing ever seen Wildlife & Plants - So much to see De Hoop - Beautiful Nature Reserve and evening braai (BBQ) with a glorious sunset Robben Island - Listening to the guide who was actually incarcerated in the Prison there was moving and interesting Table Mountain - Climbing to the top and seeing those iconic views over Cape Town was amazing Accommodation - Vast range including one with a lovely colonial feel at Swellendam with great swimming pool !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simon (Group Leader) and his wife Cathy (Driver and many other jobs !) were amazing hosts who made us feel welcome from the moment we landed to the time we left. They were professional, well organised, knowledgeable & went out of their way to make sure everyone had a great trip. Thanks. Much appreciated.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Alexandria Trail (the 2 day trek) - Although the weather was dry we used a 25 Litre rucsac for our clothes, wash stuff and food that we were asked to transport and hung our hired sleeping bag (which was quite large) on the outside (waterproof bag would be necessary if wet). Alternatively, the sleeping bag could be put in your rucsac but this would probably require a slightly larger rucsac unless you had your own sleeping bag that packs down very small. The hut itself was cosy and not at all as bad as you might think. Fantastic evening meal by candlelight and the stars to keep you company and if you are lucky maybe some dolphins out in the nearby sea. A lovely experience away from it all. Washing - Although not guaranteed, the Group managed to get some washing dropped off and collected same day at a very reasonable price in Plettenberg Bay. Useful after the previous few days walking. There was also a chance to do so in Cape Town but no-one took that up. Water Bottles - Take 2 large (750ml to 1 litre) bottles to regularly top up from the tank in the minibus
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Lifetime Adventure

    This was our first Exodus Holiday, it did not disappoint. Very well organised trip from all the information prior to our trip to all the hard working ground staff in Costa Rica. Nothing was too much trouble. The scenery ,mountains, beaches, flora, fauna, wildlife all amazing. My wishes to see sloths, Tucans and green eyed frogs all came true and so much more. The cycling was varied , very hot some days but the bus was always there to provide refreshing fresh pineapple or watermelon along with energy drinks and water. Some hills , some flatter rides and an 8mile beach cycle. We had such fun and good laughs with all our group who gelled well together. This was facilitated by our guides and support team . Our guide Guillermo was a wildlife expert and was knowledgeable about all areas of his country, this was delivered in a very witty and humorous style. Loved it all

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    cycling through banana plantations seeing wildlife in their own habitats

    What did you think of your group leader?

    well organized, hard working, extremely knowledgable about his country from history, geography and wildlife. His sense of humour was ace.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its a full on trip, but well worth the effort

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book now !
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Amazing Costa Rica

    I thought this was a great trip and I was very fortunate to end up travelling with a fabulous, like minded group of people. Costa Rica is a beautiful country and the itinerary is well designed to fit in lots of places but without feeling rushed as you get to stay everywhere for two nights. It did not feel as intense and tiring as some trips I have done as there is ample chance to chill out on the verandas of the lodges or by the pool with a book or just watching the wildlife. It is very focused on the nature, scenery and wildlife side of the country, in particular birds, so be prepared for that. There is a chance to do a few other things such as the hot springs and zip lining which are well worth it. I thought all of the accommodation was excellent. Although they varied in terms of facilities everywhere was clean, comfortable and friendly, in excellent locations, with beautiful grounds and with good food (food especially good in Savegre) and most had pools which was an added bonus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were quite a few amazing moments and the whole country is just a joy to explore. I was desperate to see a sloth and we managed to see a few but seeing my first one by the pool in Tortuguero on day one was a definite highlight. I also loved the boat trips we did. We also saw an Armadillo and porcupine here as well which are apparently quite rare to spot so that was very exciting as was seeing a troupe of monkeys jumping from the trees across the river on the boat trip. In terms of the optional trips I really enjoyed the hot springs in La Fortuna as well as the zip lining and canopy walk in Monteverde and would definitely recommend doing these.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex Castro is a brilliant tour leader. He has an infectious enthusiasm and love for his country and a seemingly endless wealth of knowledge regarding all the animals, birds and plants. Quite how he could identify birds at such a great distance when all I can see at best is a blob without my binoculars will forever be a mystery! He was always charming and polite with a great sense of humour and had endless patience with us when we were asking for the twentieth time what a certain bird was or getting excited about an 'animal' that turned out to be just a lump of moss or leaves! Also, I have to mention the best bus driver in Costa Rica - Mario. A lovely, friendly guy who navigated the winding and sometimes bumpy Costa Rican roads brilliantly and safely, and who was always happy to try and help me with my awful Spanish!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is not necessary to take colones. You can get by easily with American dollars. Be warned that Costa Rica is at least as expensive as the UK if not slightly more so. Both Monteverde and Savegre can be on the cool side so make sure you have some layers. Take binoculars as you need them to spot all the birds and animals. I wondered before I went if I should have booked to stay in San Jose for longer however having done the trip I don't feel it is necessary. We had a few hours on the last day so got to do a quick tour of the city centre and then the gold museum which is very good and then as the flight was not until the afternoon the next day I was able to do the 9am tour of the National Theatre which I would highly recommend.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go. I am worried with the increasing number of people travelling to Costa Rica it may get too over commercialised soon so go before it is too late!
Call us on +82-(0)02-6320-4111