Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17894 Reviews

  • The most beautiful views I have ever seen...

    ... and I've been to Canada, so that says a lot. Our group was extremely lucky with the weather. You basically walk up and down mountains every day, nothing interesting about that. It is the weather that controls what the views look like. I regret nothing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When I look back at my pictures, there are two moments that stand out. At the end of our visit to Brasov, we stopped at a viewpoint on our way to the restaurant. That view was epic. It was nightfall, the lights in the city were on and behind it, you could see the mountain, it was breathtaking. The walk to Bran was the most beautiful. I can not put it into words. I enjoyed every second of that walk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thomas, the group leader was perfect. He knows the area really well and has a lot of experience guiding groups.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes. For some bizarre reason, I hadn't done that and I didn't have the right gear. Luckily I was able to borrow it, but still. I felt uncomfortable doing that, knowing I could break or lose something.
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Fabulous introduction to beautiful country

    This was my first time in Vietnam, and I would thoroughly recommend this trip. Lovely people, great food, beautiful beaches and some fabulous scenery to cycle past. Its a full on two weeks, with early mornings and late arrivals, but if you're up for packing in the experiences, then you'll love it. There are a few tough days in the saddle, and some long stints in the bus - but you get to see so much of Vietnam, that it's well worth it and there's nothing I'd really want to have skipped. Our group was fantastic, we got on so well and had such fun together - such a memorable holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There's definitely more than one... making it up the 10km ascent to the Hai Van Pass, snorkelling off Whale Island, cycling through the many roundabouts in Dalat (not for faint hearted!), the colurs and lights in Hoi An and most importantly the warmth, enthusiasm and care of our wonderful guide Tri and his support team - who made our holiday amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Literally couldn't fault Tri and his team - we were incredibly well looked after, and learned so many interesting insights and historical details - that it was a joy to be part of Tri's family.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect long days and early mornings! There's a real mix of cycling through busy towns (really busy!) and quiet country tracks, but you do need to prepare for some hectic city biking. I wasn't bothered by stomach upsets or mosquito bites, but it's sensible to be prepared. There's opportunity to get laundry done so no need to overpack, and there are two nights where you need to leave luggage and have overnight bag (Whale Island and boat at Halong Bay). The sleeper train is quite an experience....

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If there's a way to get direct flights, pick that option! The layover in Kuala Lumpur was a bit brutal, and as someone who hates flying I would definitely have preferred less time in the air. Apart from that, this is a great trip and I had an amazing time - so thanks to Tri, the support team and all my travelling companions for a memorable experience.
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Best Group Ever

    Though the group, tour leader and support staff were phenomenal throughout the trip and there were many highlights, the rural cycling within Thailand and Cambodia proved to be largely uninteresting, smoggy and garbage was strewn throughout. Mostly we saw different tree plantations of smaller trees for rubber, furniture, etc. and a little bit of off season ground crop areas. On the plus side the accomodation was spotless, the food excellent and the people wonderful. We certainly enjoyed Siem Reap, Angkor Wat and the other temple complexes and Phnom Penh. Also the history of Cambodia during the Khymer Rouge regime, though dark, was extremely educational and offered an understanding of current day Cambodia that we would have not gotten without physically attending the Killing Fields and the S-21 prison. In sharp contrast to what we saw of Thailand and Cambodia, Vietnam was very green and lush and our stay at the Homestay on the island, travel on the Mekong and other cultural highlights was amazing. The very best of the trip was getting to know the wonderful group of people the tour attracted and the care our tour guide Chai gave us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Attending the Killing Fields in Phnom Penh (Choeung Ek) and the S-21 Prison (Tuol Sleng) which is now the Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum and meeting two of the 14 survivors from the prison, Chum Mey and Bou Meng.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Chai was beyond superb. His organizational ability, his kindness and concern, his upbeat demeanour, his availability and his sharing of cultural knowledge made the trip.
  • Reviewed February 2020

    The trip of a lifetime

    The trip of a lifetime! My son and I joined twelve other people for this utterly amazing experience. This was our first adventure type holiday but after this experience it most certainly won't be our last. Our group bonded really well and, steered throughout the whole trip by the quite superb Roberto Aguilar, we were treated to spectacular wildlife, natural world and culture. Blessed with stunning weather for the most part, we were blessed on the two occasions that it rained as we were sitting under cover eating lunch or fast asleep in our hotel! The hotels are generally of an excellent standard. Food and drink were plentiful and pretty good as well. If I have one negative comment to make about the trip it is that I would love to go again but daren't as the first time was just too good to be able to replicate.!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many. A day out in a boat from Bocas Del Toro watching dolphins, snorkelling, lunch outdoors with the sea lapping under us and the last couple of hours on Red Frog beach. The ride from Hotel Mystica in the mountains alongside the lake...just gorgeous. Chocolate Road Panama Canal. Looking into an active volcano a the lava bubbling away two hundred metres below. Sloths Toucans Raft trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As stated earlier, Roberto is the ultimate guide. Endlessly patient. Totally organised. Cheerful. So well informed about all the areas that we travelled through. A good, strong cyclist as well, so that if you want to push yourself, he'll oblige by keeping up and pushing you too!! I find it hard to believe there could be a better guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were advised early on in the trip to 'surrender' to the itinerary and accept the regular, early starts in order that this allows you to see as much as possible during the two weeks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I miss it
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Slow burner

    It must be said this is a bit dull to begin with - the first three cycling days are not particularly interesting - but it builds and in the end it is a great experience. Cambodia is a fascinating journey from the pomp of Angkor Wat to the rat infested piles of rubbish in Phnom Penh to the anguish of the Killing Fields; I'll never forget it. Vietnam was a complete contrast - colourful, enterprising,confident, resplendent with gold starred red flags everywhere.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Quite a few: The giant recumbent golden Buddha in Wat Pho The frog sausage with green tamarind salsa from a street vendor near Siem Reap Cycling through the North Gate of Angkor Thum at dusk Being brought to tears by the guide in the Genocide museum Riding through the country lanes and bustle near Chau Doc with all the children shouting "hallo" to us

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chai is a great guy - a fine advocate for Buddhism

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling is a bit of a side show and this trip is really more about imagining yourself in the heartbeat of another as Sebastian Faulks, I think, said. I felt privileged to have made the journey. The best day's cycling is the second day in Angkor Wat so don't go shopping as some of our party did. It is very hot - take lots of factor 50 sun block. Aside from the frog sausage the best dish was Fish Amok served in a hollowed out coconut - don't miss it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not for cyclist purists but an adventure you won't forget
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Brilliant Trip

    This is the fourth consecutive year my wife and I have done this trip, initially in Trins, then Seefeld and now Achenkirch. Despite some inclement weather for the Alps this was probably the best trip of all. Great group who gelled together, nice hotel and great food. As usual all the mountain huttes were a real treat. A really nice mix of walks and the treat of a toboggan ride after great coffee at the hutte at the top of the run.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After using the Karwendel lift the views of Achensee and the mountains from the top.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The third year Paul McDermott has been the group leader. Terrific leader, nothing is too much trouble and always a smile. Joins in the evening cards which was great fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Good waterproofs as we walked for a day in torrential rain.
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Stunning trip

    I was well impressed with Sri Lanka - charming people, friendly and calm perhaps due to the widespread effect of Buddhism. Our well planned route took us inland, through the mountains and round the south coast with expert guide Nalaka, so we got a great overview of the island. Lovely hotels, most with pools, and superb food - buffets with the chance to try everything mixed with home cooking on banana leaves. We had the opportunity to travel in different ways - rafts, bikes, jeeps and trains; we saw wildlife close up, especially elephants of course, crocodiles, monkeys and a wide range of birds; and we explored some incredible historic sites. A very memorable and fun trip with a lovely group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was particularly inspired by the view from the top of Sigiriya rock in the early morning mist, the folk museum and the life of Martin Wickramasinghe and the cheek of the monkeys!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nalaka was an excellent tour guide - charming, well organised, informative and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No real need for adaptors - most hotels have sockets which take UK plugs. Walking boots are pretty useful - the Horton Plains track in particular is rough. And 'temple clothes' are needed - even just a sarong which can cover the legs or shoulders and old socks to wear on the hot rocks.
  • Reviewed February 2020

    A fast paced dive into Indian world heritage sites - for seasoned travellers only!!

    A presumptuous title for the trip - there's a lot missing for a Grand Tour! However, it does cover a great number of very interesting historical and religious sites over 4 weeks. and as such is an efficient way to see a lot of Indian world heritage sites in a fairly short time. It is also good value for money. Accommodation was of a varied quality but always acceptable. We'd have liked to see a couple of home stay's included though, and we didn't feel that we had enough exposure to modern Indian culture or local communities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    More than one! I had completely discounted the likelihood of seeing tigers in the wild so it was astonishing to see four over our two game drives - one at extremely close quarters! However many photos you see, there is no substitute for seeing the Taj Mahal first hand. Truly magnificent. Witnessing cremations of the Ganges was a surreal and humbling experience, as was our visit to the cradle of Buddhism, also in Varanasi. Lots more as well!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jatin had great organisational skills, navigating us successfully around stations, trains, hotels, and restaurants and holding strictly to the itinerary in the trip notes. He also had a pleasant, affable personality. However, he deferred extensively to local City guides (who ranged from excellent to average) in terms of local information, and we thought he could have done more to introduce us to the cultures of India. In our view, too much time was spent in very average restaurants in the evening - it would have been great to have had the chance to see things like cookery or clothing demonstrations, insights into Indian marriages, etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a trip for seasoned travellers only - it is long, hot and at times uncomfortable, with the possibility of stomach upsets,etc. The group composition is important as you spend a month together - no room for big egos or uncooperative/insensitive souls! We'd suggest an extra night or two in Kovalam at the end as it's an interesting place to explore and unwind (a major centre for Yoga and Ayurvedic massage). The food is relentlessly spicy, but vegetarians are extremely well catered for (many Indians are vegetarian). Take a warm layer for winter departures as the north can be chilly. Extra loo paper, wet wipes are mandatory, also basic medications for stomach upsets, coughs and colds etc. A filtered water bottle will help eliminate the use of single use plastic bottles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    India has rather belatedly embarked on a major road building programme, which means that at present road journeys are inevitably very slow. In the light of this we've suggested to Exodus that it is worth exploring the use of low cost regional air flights as an alternative to both trains and coaches. I'm not convinced that some sights merit the very lengthy road trips - some itinerary reorganisation would likely benefit the overall experience. Spending less than a full day in Mumbai is in our view a serious error - we came away wanting to see a lot more of this interesting, vibrant and exciting city. Similarly, what is the logic in missing Kolkatta from the itinerary of a "Grand Tour"? As with all our trips, we benefitted from and greatly appreciated the company of our guide and Group (more than usual on a trip of this length), so we'd like to say a big thank you for that.
  • Reviewed February 2020

    A good trip but.....

    Good points. A very varied trip. Plenty of cycling but other things too. A taste of real life in Vietnam as well as tourist destinations. Lots of interesting food. Interesting culture Good Hotels Highlights are whale Island and Hoi An Bad points Too fast paced to spend quality time in some of the places visited - Arrive at dusk, leave at dawn. Trip notes are full of things that there would never be time to see or do. Overnight train is a low point! Too much cycling in dangerous city centre traffic. Lots of time in the bus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 30km descent on day 5. Also the general friendliness of the local people considering all that the country has been through over the years.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tiet was a real joker who tried hard to make sure everyone in the group got what they needed from the tour. Nothing was too much trouble and he took us to some great dining experiences.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be sure to take a small overnight bag for whale Island in particular, but also the hideous sleeper train.
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Trip of a lifetime

    The whole experience exceeded my expectations. . The guided outings ashore at the start and end of the cruise, the accommodation and food on the Caledonian Sky, the officers and crew of the Caledonian Sky, the expert Zegrahm staff/guides/lecturers, the company of fellow passengers and above all the spectacular wild-life of the Sub-Antarctic combined to produce an unforgettable experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Landing on Macquarie Island surrounded by thousands of penguins Watching not one but four orcas surfacing in front of the ship Meeting so many people all of whom care passionately about wild-life

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All the staff were first class
Call us on +82-(0)02-6320-4111