Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

156 Reviews

  • Reviewed January 2016
    Raymond Butler

    A great sightseeing trip in a lovely country

    A great trip with an enthusiastic and knowledgeable leader (Bien) and a great bunch of people. Although not really an off the beaten track holiday, the sights are all worth seeing and it's a good balance between travelling and staying in one place.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one inspirational moment stands out, but highlights included Hue, Hoi An, the My Son temples, the Cu Chi tunnels and the overnight homestay in the Mekong. Plus the cycling trips, both included and optional.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bien was a great leader. Organised, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about his country. Always willing to let us know about things we were seeing or passing, and an authority on most things we saw on the trip. If anything he was too willing to let us know about things, but it was generally a bonus. He made the trip go smoothly, and was happy to chat to us about the country, his family and the history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It does get surprisingly cold and wet in Hanoi, don't forget some warm clothes and waterproofs/umbrella. The Hanoi/Halong bay part of the trip is fairly manic after you arrive, but it does calm down once you get to Hue. The cycling trips are worth doing, and the cookery was surprisingly good fun for a non-cook. The overnight train is defintely basic, but go along with it and it's a fun experience - and not so different to sleeper trains in other countries. The war remnants museum in Ho Chi Minh city is sobering but worth spending time in, and make sure you grab a drink in the bar in the Bitexco tower - not the easiest bar to find, but persevere and the views are great.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Richard Lowe

    Vietnam Adventure

    The trip was everything on the trip notes and more. Most of this was down to the leader who offered lots of extra activities for those who were interested, eg bike rides, cooking courses, street food, home meals... All the hotels we good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Halong Bay boat trip and swimming in the Gulf of Tonkin

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, nothing was too much trouble, lots of extra activities on offer, sorted out a birthday cake for my wife..

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to Vietnam before it changes. Get up early at Angkor Wat to avoid the crowds

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    no
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Nigel Baker

    Vietnam

    Well the whole trip far outweighed my expectations, the group was of all ages.....lovely likeminded people. Are group leader com or cong not sure on the spelling he was a lovely man very helpful, however his English was a little difficult to follow at times.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was many inspirational moments of the trip but I guess if I had to pick one it would be the homestead on the Mekong river.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was a lovely man not 100% sure how to spell or the pronunciation of his name but it was something like Com or Cong. Anyway he was great took us to good restaurants looked after us and gave us a good insight to his home country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow have a good look around the city's the local people are really lovely and so helpful. I for one will be going back.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is the first time I have traveled with exodus as a solo traveler and I must say it was a excellent service and good value for money. I will be going on my travels with exodus again. Many thanks. Nigel baker uk
  • Reviewed June 2015
    Rosemary Phillips

    Vietnam Adventure

    Overall very good trip, much hotter and more humid than anticipated. Plenty of afternoon free time to recover. Hotels very good with Cherish Hotel at Hue particularly memorable. Having used overnight train services with Exodus previously, overnight train this trip not pleasant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to agree on one aspect, but all aspect of Halong Bay trip and Mekong Delta homestay stand out - scenery, food, hospitality, management/information. Disappointed can no longer swim in Halong Bay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group varied greatly in age and expectation. Cong, our Group Leader, handled this challenge well. At restaurants learnt to take his recommendations - squid stuffed with pork at Hoi An outstanding!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cycle ride may appear daunting for some - go for it. Well organised, mainly flat, good bikes (helmets included), super scenery, paddy fields, river fishing and local life.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cities of Vietnam bustle with activity - really brought to life with city centre hotels at Hanoi and Saigon. A myriad of low overhead cabling and mad moped riders - pavements are for parking mopeds and riding on! Create your own zebra crossing by sticking your hand in the air and going for it across the road!
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Caroline Woodall

    Vietnam Adventure - another excellent Exodus trip!

    An excellent trip around Vietnam - an incredible country which has been through so much but seems to have come through it all remarkably well. The food was fabulous - everything was very fresh - they use lots of fresh herbs - dill, coriander, basil, mint - and lots of fresh vegetables - I particularly loved stir fried morning glory & garlic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The boat trip around Ha Long Bay was fabulous - at first sight the boat looked a little worn , but when on board - the interior of the boat was beautiful - dark polished wood - and looked amazing when set up for dinner. The food was wonderful (although as a non fish eater I had a vegetarian option). Ha Long Bay was stunning - I could have happily spent several days cruising around. We did two cycle rides through the paddy fields , through local villages. This was fascinating as you saw the real life side of Vietnam - not just the touristy parts. Everywhere we went the locals were welcoming & friendly - and the kids loved to give you a wave. Hoi An is a lovely town - although very touristy - but a delight for shopping. My husband had two shirts made in Yally - and I had two dresses made in another (cheaper) local shop. When I collected them, I had another one made as they were so good & fitted well - my cotton dress cost about £12 & was made in a few hours. I would also recommend the cookery lesson in Hoi An.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vinh Bui was a really great tour guide. He was always very helpful & informative - and even tried teaching us some Vietnamese words - and explaining about local culture, life, etc. Vinh took us to many local restaurants to sample the local dishes - not the usual tourist haunts or hotels - which were all very good. They were obviously good as they were full of locals not tourists !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Accept Vietnam as it is - a beautiful country & people - although I think it will change quite rapidly as there is a lot of development being done - so go before it's too late!
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Julie Eldridge

    Vietnam adventure

    Another wonderful experience in Indochina with a great variety of experiences. From the scenic wonders of Halong Bay to the recent history of the Bietnam war there was lots to see and discover.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Halong Bay was special for me as a scenery freak but the experience of the Cu Chi tunnels was also fascinating.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leader was good and what he lacked in linguistic fluency he made up for in enthusiasm

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the optional bike trips, they're a great way to feel part of the environment
  • Reviewed March 2015
    Heather Richards

    Amazing!

    This was an inspiring holiday that took in the whole of Vietnam, North to South with experiences with the locals every day. Fairly fast paced on a couple of days but with down time on other days which was most welcome. So many experiences and the opportunity to travel by overnight train, stay on a boat at Halong Bay and with a host family at a hone stay in the Mekong Delta made this trip very special - thank you!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Halong Bay, the home stay in the Mekong Delta and our 3 day stay in Hoi An were all very special

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader Bien Tran was exceptional- he always went above and beyond what we expected and nothing was ever too much trouble and he was incredibly knowledgeable

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is a must!!!
  • Reviewed January 2015
    Clare Smithers

    Vietnam Adventure - January 2015

    This was an amazing holiday, so interesting and varied, a lovely country to see. Travelling from North to South, we saw so many different places and none like each other. Lovely food and hotels, also Homestay and a night on a boat which was lovely, and a very nice group to spend the two weeks with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is impossible to pinpoint as there were so many inspirational moments - pretty Halong Bay and Mekong Delta, crazy and busy but interesting Saigon with the cyclotour which was great fun, the fascinating Cu Chi Tunnels and various temples.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bien was a great leader, very interesting and a great sense of humour. Very enthusiastic and informative and managed not to lose anyone!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take clothes for all weathers, travel light and enjoy yourself.
  • Reviewed January 2015
    Malcolm Malcolm

    Vietnam Adventure. (AOV). 19 Dec 2014.

    Broad ranging trip of almost the full length of Vietnam plus the Ankor Wat extention. From the riot of the Hanoi traffic to the calm of the Delta. From hot sunny weather to teeming rain. From the calm of a buddhist temple to budgie like noise of a Saigon Girly Bar. From the bumpy Cyclos' and tuk tuks to the smooth four wheel drive of Phonm Penh taxis. From the almost formal superb boat dinner on Hanlon Bay to the disgust of barbequed ducks tongues or baked silk worms. Variety? Vietman has got it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Putting ten rounds through a Kalashnikov AK47. Disturbing. Wish I had had another ten rounds on "burst".

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khanh Dinh was absolutely super. Used magic to get us through Danang Airport. And did everything else as well. Kept us well informed just far enough ahead. Knows and loves Vietnam. Buses and taxis rolled into sight at the right moment. We were trained to cross the road safely which really needed a degree level course. Food guidance at the right time which was seriously needed and gave priority to the drinks, (beer), order. "M" in Siem Reap - excellent. Reya in Phnom Penh - excellent plus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be sure to have waterproofs and warm stuff if in Dec, Jan or Feb. There are several places you can get laundry done cheaply but ironing isn't part of the service. Eases the amount you need to take. Take more money than Exodus forecasts as the optionals are just too good to refuse and may be once in a lifetime chances. I got through US$ 1,000 plus in 20 days with no regrets. And I didn't get a new suit in Hoi An, I did get a silk Ao Dia though. Look at your flights - Ho Chi Minh airport has the Apricot Lounge, prebook a shower before the 14 hour flight home for about £22.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it, your shroud has no pockets in it.
  • Reviewed January 2015

    Vietnam adventure

    Absolutely sensational!! We were able to see the most popular tourist sites in Vietnam and traversed the country from the North to the South. A really fantastic trip with lots to see and do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was amazing!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Thanh was phenomenal!! He was enthusiastic throughout the trip and always had a smile on his face. He gave us great advice on restaurants, activities to do in our free time as well as local food to sample. He has a great sense of humour and was incredibly accurate with all of the historical facts and information at each site.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light and take a good size overnight bag as you will use this on more than one occasion.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who would like to see as much of Vietnam as possible in a short space of time.
Call us on +82-(0)02-6320-4111