Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Flo Branchu

    Breathtaking

    This trip was incredible from beginning to end. The locations we visit, the various mode of transports and hotels selected were brilliant. The guide was incredible in every possible way. By the end of each day I thought "surely it can't get any better"... yet each day we discovered new breathtaking landscapes, tried mouthwatering food and understood more about this incredible country and multitude of cultures. I can't recommend this trip enough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's very hard to choose.... i would say Bagan and that view.... i still feel like I was dreaming.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Passionate about his country and people, genuine and knowledgeable. Funny and caring. I can go on and on. Plus he only recommended amazing food... Min is on my "favourite people" list!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate, book and go... happy travels!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Anne Lacey

    AON 170212. Highlights of Myanmar

    One of the best trips I've ever done.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our guide took us to meet his family. They greeted us warmly, fed 16 of us and showed us their family business, all done with a smile and a welcome that took our breath away. We also happened on a local wedding in Began. Once again we were welcomed with open arms and invited to meet the bridal party, wonderful.Sights are one thing but experiences like these are humbling and made us all reflect on where our western society has gone wrong.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Than Naing was sensational. His smile never left his face no matter what happened and he had plenty of challenging moments with our group. He was so enthusiastic and went over and above the call of duty to make sure we could experience as much as possible. He was even there the morning after the trip ended because we had a late flight.He came to ensure we were OK and helped us organise our day to the best advantage. He was knowledgeable on all aspects of life in Burma. He had snacks in his bag in case we ran out of energy. He thought of everything.He also looked after any problem medical or otherwise in a swift and efficient manner and remembered to ask you was everything ok. He made the whole trip so easy for us from start to finish and even produced a written account of where every penny of the tip money was spent! He is such a good human being,a wonderful advertisement for Buddism.We all wanted to put him in our pockets and take him home.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is advertised as a moderate trip. Most of our group were 60 plus which does change the goalposts.At times it was demanding and of course very hot, so travellers need to be prepared for that and have a reasonable level of fitness.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although the Pagodas are stunning ,I do think the trip could cut back a little on the number visited,or leave it optional at times. The ladies would have liked a little more time to shop at leisure.It takes time to strike a bargain and we were often under pressure. However ,once again Than Naing came to our rescue to secure a good price on several occasions.N53H3
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Andrea Beck

    Highlaghts of Myanmar

    A truly inspiring trip. Well organised, lots to see and a good itinerary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cruising up the Irrawaddy river was surreal. An unbelievable "Am I really here?" experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was great- organise us, informed us and helped us make the most of a great trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for early mornings, but they are so worthwhile- make sure you take your camera and your sense of wonder.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the best trips I have ever been on.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Julie Woodward

    Amazing trip

    I cannot speak highly enough of this tour. I had debated for a while whether to do an organised tour or go to Myanmar independently, and I am certain I made the right choice in choosing this tour. The itinerary was very well constructed to see the absolute highlights and to make the very best use of time. The organisation was superb and Joseph made everything so easy for us. This is a great tour for the highlights and jams in so much, but without feeling rushed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The country as a whole is amazing - it is full of charm. Watching the sunrises and sunsets in Bagan, from the top of some of the temples, was incredible. The sunrise wasn't part of the itinerary, but Joseph helped a few of us to see a sunrise from the top of one of the temples. As well as seeing a sunset from a 'popular' spot, we were also taken to a much quieter spot also.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joesph was awesome! His knowledge and passion for his country was superb, and he helped us to understand the culture, history and customs. He had a great manner with the group, and everyone respected him and wanted to do their part to show respect for his country. On 'free days', he was on hand to offer advice and sometimes he'd offer some of his time to escort some of the group around the town. When someone was ill, he wanted to make sure they were ok (he even did a pharmacy run). Nothing was too much trouble. Joseph went above and beyond, and we had a great time in his company. Joesph took charge of the tip kitty for us and made sure the drivers and porters were shown appropriate appreciation for their efforts - the way in which he did this with such honesty made us all smile and appreciate Joseph's goodness.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Embrace the temples! Myanmar is a Buddhist country and many of the highlights are seeing the pagodas/temples/stupa - you see a lot, but they're all different. You'll need to wear appropriate temple clothing most days (covered shoulders and knees), so pack accordingly (or invest in a longyi at the local markets). You'll also be taking shoes on and off a lot - trainers can be a pain to unlace/lace. Take a torch and be prepared for lots of barefoot climbing and walking. Embrace the early mornings - there are lots of them, but they're really worth it. There's a good laundry opportunity at Lake Inle.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a brilliant trip all round! Thank you!
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Deborah Daly

    Highlights of Myanmar

    This is a balanced and varied trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being allowed to witness and listen to novice nuns chanting

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were lucky to have an excellent guide Lin who went the extra mile to allow us glimpses behind the scenes of ordinary lives in diverse communities.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoyed meeting the friendly, modest, smiley people of Myanmar
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Mikaela Harriss

    Fantastic tour, awesome guide

    The tour was fast paced with a fair few early starts but it was 100% worth it! In a short space of time we really got a feel for such a beautiful country and saw a lot of it! Our tour guide, Lae was fantastic, she went out of her way to help us enjoy our tour and experience her country!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was on the optional hot air balloon flight, it was superb. Watching the sunrise over the temples from above was incredible and you got a true perspective on how vast the temple area was. Absolutely stunning! If you can do it, I really recommend this!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lae was awesome, I couldn't recommend her highly enough.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Carol Hunt

    highlights of burma

    i could not fault any of this trip - quide/hotels/food/air conditioned coaches every thing was brill

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the whole trip was wonderful/educational and being there for the elections was an added bonus - the burmeese are so friendly and thank god commercialism isn't full blown yet

    What did you think of your group leader?

    could not fault lae win at all - she was supportive/informative/funny/answered any question asked of her - just a joy to have as our quide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    the humidity is a killer and you may be tempted to wear tops to accommodate but remember you have to be covered up at the pagaodas/temples - remember loo paper and the coaches supplied bottled water

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    11 out of 10 for a superb trip
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Paula Kanesanathan

    Amazing country and fab guide

    Myanmar is definitely worth a visit - it's a beautiful county and one of the friendliest places I have visited. The food, culture and history are great.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Bagan is such an awesome city and well worth a visit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lae was the best guide and her passion for her country is infectious. She also dealt with an incident in our group amazingly well and is a real asset to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack plenty of DEET! There are a lot of early starts with this trip so don't expect any lie-ins!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go now before it becomes too touristy - you can already see the country changing,
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Jane Legge

    Burma Highlights

    What a fantastic trip, all the ingrediants, beautiful country, great group of fellow travellers and a exceptional tour leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inlay Lake

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joseph N Bau Bum Zau Li was both professional, flexible and caring. By far and away the best tour leader I have encountered.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dress code is Pagoda style. ie trousers, skirts below the knee and no sleeveless tops.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go as soon as you can the tourist numbers are set to double.
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Tom Woodhouse

    Burma Highlights

    My first group trip so wan't sure what to expect. The experience surpassed expectations for a number of reasons - principally 1. the mixture of fellow travelers, all interesting and genuinely friendly and positive people; 2. the excitement and rewards of getting to know the culture, history and sights (geography) and last but not least, a tour guide who deserves a travel award in his own right (see below!)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    More a comment on what I enjoyed - mostly the two days on the water - Irrawaddy boat trip and Inle Lake day. Both mind expanding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An amazing person. Cannot praise him enough. Joseph was professional, knowledgeable, incredibly well organised (everything happened exactly on time, travels and transfers were seamless); nothing ruffled him; he had a great sense of humour; he was talking from the heart and head, not from a script; and he was always on hand when needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for very early starts. This is not a holiday in the taking it easy sense of the word, but the early starts were more than rewarding.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just to reiterate that in Joseph you have a jewel of a tour guide representing you!
Call us on 052-4811569