Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2018

    Fantastic experience, excellent guide.

    Didn't know what to expect, and it was a great start with the tour guide who kept the group together. It was fantastic to experience this country. It hasn't yet become overly touristy and I was still able to see some of the real Myanmar life. There are a lot of temples to see, so one can get a little 'punch drunk' about this... but the tour guide was able to inject interest by telling us stories and giving us information on the local's day to day living. Pictures from the trip I took: https://wbz.gy/2nnJqfM

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think one of my highlights was being invited to 'tea' with a lake family, in a house over the water, and hearing about their life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Myo was excellent, very knowledgeable and approachable, and I really did enjoy this handling of the group and he came up with various optional extras to do when we had scheduled down time on the itinerary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready for lots of temple visits - but make sure to wear walking shoes to get there!
  • Reviewed January 2018
    carole mullender

    An up close view of life in Myanmar

    This was a great trip - a small group so we weren't hanging around waiting for others all the time and were able to see things from a local's point of view. It was great to see this country before it opens up too much to mass tourism and I felt quite sad that western culture will irrevocably change it eventually, but for now how refreshing it is to see how people have a rural living with the old ways and local industry once you get away from the city - fascinating. The trip was fast paced and we did so much each day. A little bit more time at a couple of places would have been great. The food in Myanmar was outstanding with the best of Indian, Thai and Chinese.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Several places stand out as special - I loved the day we spent going around different places on Inle lake stopping off at different places to see the local industry - blacksmith, lotus and silk weaving etc. It was such a relaxing day but we saw so much.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader, Sai was attentive and passionate about his country, customs, religion and history - and very knowledgeable about it all with vast experience in guiding groups. He added value to the trip by offering extra excursions and visits to things that were not on the itinerary and it was our choice whether we opted for them or not. He had no favourites in the group, treating everyone equally and fairly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A word of warning - try and arrive a day earlier like I did so you can recover from the travel before you start because there is a lot of travel with early mornings and it can be tiring. Arrive a day early so you are rested for the start!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you go out of season then expect cool mornings and evenings - take a jumper.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Sarah Keig

    Highlights of Myanmar

    I have recently returned to the UK from Myanmar having done the Highlights of Myanmar tour. This was a fantastic trip and I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in history, culture and experiencing new and unique encounters. As the name of the tour suggests you get to see and do some much on this tour. From the hustle and bustle of the capital Yangon to the sedate pace of cruising along the Irrawaddy River. There really is something for everyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me the most inspirational moment of my trip was a sunrise hot air balloon ride over the stunning Temples of Bagan. Floating high above the ground I was able to see the full scale of the Temples of Bagan, which are truly remarkable. I was also able to enjoy a beautiful sunrise followed by a Champagne breakfast.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Min was outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble and he worked so hard to ensure that everyone in the group was having a good time. He organised a number of optional tours to ensure we saw and did as many things as possible. His knowledge was excellent and he was able to answer all of our questions. He was so good that I have nominated him for Tour Leader of the year.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and can not recommend it highly enough it is quite full on. Every day starts early with wake up calls at 4am and 5am. This is so that you can ensure that you see and do as much as possible in such a short space of time. This didn’t bother me but some people might be put off by this. I would also recommend booking an extra day in Yangon at the beginning of the tour. This would help get over the jet lag and give you an opportunity to do some sightseeing in Yangon.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Flo Branchu

    Breathtaking

    This trip was incredible from beginning to end. The locations we visit, the various mode of transports and hotels selected were brilliant. The guide was incredible in every possible way. By the end of each day I thought "surely it can't get any better"... yet each day we discovered new breathtaking landscapes, tried mouthwatering food and understood more about this incredible country and multitude of cultures. I can't recommend this trip enough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's very hard to choose.... i would say Bagan and that view.... i still feel like I was dreaming.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Passionate about his country and people, genuine and knowledgeable. Funny and caring. I can go on and on. Plus he only recommended amazing food... Min is on my "favourite people" list!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate, book and go... happy travels!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Anne Lacey

    AON 170212. Highlights of Myanmar

    One of the best trips I've ever done.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our guide took us to meet his family. They greeted us warmly, fed 16 of us and showed us their family business, all done with a smile and a welcome that took our breath away. We also happened on a local wedding in Began. Once again we were welcomed with open arms and invited to meet the bridal party, wonderful.Sights are one thing but experiences like these are humbling and made us all reflect on where our western society has gone wrong.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Than Naing was sensational. His smile never left his face no matter what happened and he had plenty of challenging moments with our group. He was so enthusiastic and went over and above the call of duty to make sure we could experience as much as possible. He was even there the morning after the trip ended because we had a late flight.He came to ensure we were OK and helped us organise our day to the best advantage. He was knowledgeable on all aspects of life in Burma. He had snacks in his bag in case we ran out of energy. He thought of everything.He also looked after any problem medical or otherwise in a swift and efficient manner and remembered to ask you was everything ok. He made the whole trip so easy for us from start to finish and even produced a written account of where every penny of the tip money was spent! He is such a good human being,a wonderful advertisement for Buddism.We all wanted to put him in our pockets and take him home.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is advertised as a moderate trip. Most of our group were 60 plus which does change the goalposts.At times it was demanding and of course very hot, so travellers need to be prepared for that and have a reasonable level of fitness.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although the Pagodas are stunning ,I do think the trip could cut back a little on the number visited,or leave it optional at times. The ladies would have liked a little more time to shop at leisure.It takes time to strike a bargain and we were often under pressure. However ,once again Than Naing came to our rescue to secure a good price on several occasions.N53H3
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Andrea Beck

    Highlaghts of Myanmar

    A truly inspiring trip. Well organised, lots to see and a good itinerary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cruising up the Irrawaddy river was surreal. An unbelievable "Am I really here?" experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was great- organise us, informed us and helped us make the most of a great trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for early mornings, but they are so worthwhile- make sure you take your camera and your sense of wonder.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the best trips I have ever been on.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Julie Woodward

    Amazing trip

    I cannot speak highly enough of this tour. I had debated for a while whether to do an organised tour or go to Myanmar independently, and I am certain I made the right choice in choosing this tour. The itinerary was very well constructed to see the absolute highlights and to make the very best use of time. The organisation was superb and Joseph made everything so easy for us. This is a great tour for the highlights and jams in so much, but without feeling rushed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The country as a whole is amazing - it is full of charm. Watching the sunrises and sunsets in Bagan, from the top of some of the temples, was incredible. The sunrise wasn't part of the itinerary, but Joseph helped a few of us to see a sunrise from the top of one of the temples. As well as seeing a sunset from a 'popular' spot, we were also taken to a much quieter spot also.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joesph was awesome! His knowledge and passion for his country was superb, and he helped us to understand the culture, history and customs. He had a great manner with the group, and everyone respected him and wanted to do their part to show respect for his country. On 'free days', he was on hand to offer advice and sometimes he'd offer some of his time to escort some of the group around the town. When someone was ill, he wanted to make sure they were ok (he even did a pharmacy run). Nothing was too much trouble. Joseph went above and beyond, and we had a great time in his company. Joesph took charge of the tip kitty for us and made sure the drivers and porters were shown appropriate appreciation for their efforts - the way in which he did this with such honesty made us all smile and appreciate Joseph's goodness.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Embrace the temples! Myanmar is a Buddhist country and many of the highlights are seeing the pagodas/temples/stupa - you see a lot, but they're all different. You'll need to wear appropriate temple clothing most days (covered shoulders and knees), so pack accordingly (or invest in a longyi at the local markets). You'll also be taking shoes on and off a lot - trainers can be a pain to unlace/lace. Take a torch and be prepared for lots of barefoot climbing and walking. Embrace the early mornings - there are lots of them, but they're really worth it. There's a good laundry opportunity at Lake Inle.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a brilliant trip all round! Thank you!
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Deborah Daly

    Highlights of Myanmar

    This is a balanced and varied trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being allowed to witness and listen to novice nuns chanting

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were lucky to have an excellent guide Lin who went the extra mile to allow us glimpses behind the scenes of ordinary lives in diverse communities.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoyed meeting the friendly, modest, smiley people of Myanmar
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Mikaela Harriss

    Fantastic tour, awesome guide

    The tour was fast paced with a fair few early starts but it was 100% worth it! In a short space of time we really got a feel for such a beautiful country and saw a lot of it! Our tour guide, Lae was fantastic, she went out of her way to help us enjoy our tour and experience her country!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was on the optional hot air balloon flight, it was superb. Watching the sunrise over the temples from above was incredible and you got a true perspective on how vast the temple area was. Absolutely stunning! If you can do it, I really recommend this!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lae was awesome, I couldn't recommend her highly enough.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Carol Hunt

    highlights of burma

    i could not fault any of this trip - quide/hotels/food/air conditioned coaches every thing was brill

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the whole trip was wonderful/educational and being there for the elections was an added bonus - the burmeese are so friendly and thank god commercialism isn't full blown yet

    What did you think of your group leader?

    could not fault lae win at all - she was supportive/informative/funny/answered any question asked of her - just a joy to have as our quide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    the humidity is a killer and you may be tempted to wear tops to accommodate but remember you have to be covered up at the pagaodas/temples - remember loo paper and the coaches supplied bottled water

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    11 out of 10 for a superb trip
Call us on 052-4811569