Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

90 Reviews

  • Reviewed February 2014
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    I was impressed by Exodus the moment I started the booking process.  Someone rang me to tell me about the holiday, and travel arrangements were made to suit me at the end of the trip.  The guides were great, particularly Hassan, our mountain guide and group leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the multi-coloured mountains of the High Atlas was breathtaking, especially when we came across herds of sheep and goats making their way to pasture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought Hassan was a great group leader, calm, experienced, authoritative, sociable and fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You really do need all those cold weather clothes if you are travelling in the winter.  Although Marrakesh is warm during the day, when the sun goes down it gets quite chilly - a fleece is really handy both for the mountains and the town.  The gite is really chilly in the evenings until the fire is turned on.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was great, although I would have preferred a more local restaurant for our first evening and a more inexpensive local restaurant for our last evening.
  • Reviewed February 2014
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    Very good trip, excellent information beforehand.Trip could include a little more walking, in total 2 days of 5 km and 3 longer days was a bit less than I expected, certainly with one of the days being only half a day.Gite is excellent in catering and not nearly as basic as expected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being on top of the Panorama and playing card games at night in the gite.The food!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guide (Hassan) was very good, clear instructions, not overly present but allways available and very kind.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring warm clothes in winter, also expect snow and rain. Trip notes are a little optimistic in that sense.
  • Reviewed January 2014
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    This was my second time on this trip, previously went on own in Oct 2011. It was as good as I remembered. Hassan and Mohammed seemed much the same. Weather was a bit cooler, some snow but no rain this time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting new people and walking in the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a few books and 'games' for the evenings in the Gite. If weather is poor might be spending time there.Weather definitly variable in the mountains. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Marrakech appears safe and friendly. A compass really helps when trying to find your way in the Souk and narrow back streets.
  • Reviewed November 2013
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    This was a trip of a lifetime and one I will cherish forever, a great group, leader and a fantastic holiday. I felt like I was travelling again which took me back to my teens and early twenties, brilliant!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Even arriving in a country abroad is exciting with it's new smells and being a heat lover I enjoyed the change in climate to very hot. I loved going round the souks with the array of colours and so much merchandise to enjoy and haggle with these experienced businessmen. I love haggling so I very much enjoyed getting the price down!I think the last most inspirational moment is reaching the top of the mountain on the various walks and looking out over the most beautiful views. It makes you feel very small in comparison to these spectacular Atlas mountains. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent. He was a very kind man who could not do enough for his guests and he worked exceptionally hard at keeping the group together and supplying all our needs.All of the group felt privileged to have such a knowledgeable man up in the mountains, you certainly could not survive without a good guide that is for sure.The food was always homemade and delicious and the group leader always served everyone in the group before himself and made sure we each got a good helping of this delicious food. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take out enough money when you first arrive in the country, this sounds obvious but Morocco often seem to have 'holy day' celebrations and if you try to withdraw money on this day, then the machine does not always work and can die on you. I had this happen and found it very alarming, fortunately it came back to life and dispensed my card but I feel I was lucky!The walking is absolutely beautiful but do make sure you have good supporting walking boots. Again this sounds obvious but soft trainers or such like are no good on the often rocky surfaces and I found a good pair of walking boots with ankle grips made all the difference and good socks.On the first day you can get altitude sickness when walking up the mountain, which may make it hard to breathe and if you have not experienced this before it can take you by surprise. But don't worry by the second day you have acclimitised and then you are fine. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved this trip as it was so different to your normal package holiday and it gave you a real feel and experience of the country and it's customs and culture.I loved the afternoon tea with a local family, they had gone to so much trouble and it was an honour to be welcomed into their home, thank you.Our group where great and we got on really well and that was a bonus, as travelling alone I was concerned about how the dynamics may or may not work.I can hardly explain the excitement you feel even arriving at your hotel and I felt the mix of being shown sites, walking and having free time worked just right. I loved the food and being up in the mountains away from mobile phones, computers, sitting in traffic and the usual stresses and strains of the west. The gite accommodation is basic but it felt rather authentic and made you feel that you are actually travelling rather than being stuck in an all inclusive. If you like luxury then the gite is not for you.I would definitely recommend this holiday and I intend on doing other Exodus holidays as I feel they are so well put together and you feel very safe which as a woman is paramount. 
  • Reviewed June 2013
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    A great get away to shake off the modern world and get back to basics for a few days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walking in the mountains  helps put things into perspective, and the hospitality of the people give's a sense of being truely welcome.We were really fortunate to have an amazing group on this trip and we all got on famously. Thanks guys!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was caring, attentive and made sure we all were well looked after by encouraging us to carry enough water, drink and keep covered up during the hot part of the day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't pay too much attention to the negative vibes about the food. Ok it may not be the Ritz but given the facilities the food is great and there is plenty of it. Don't forget that pair of walking boots, as you WILL need them. Double layer socks are also a worthwhile investment.You may need walking polls to help you get up and down the steep bits. And a Camelbak might be sensible to keep your water cool, I'm glad I purchased  mine.Also remember you will normally need a sleeping bag.....but remember the time of year you are going and take the clothes to keep warm if the advice suggests them.Finally the trip is maked as moderate for a reason....altitude sickness can kick in at less than 3000m and this trip will take you to not much below this.The altitude will make even the fit find it tough at times especially on the 10hour trek.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Marocco is a beautiful country to visit. Full of culture, rich experiences and welcoming people.Why not book a hamam or go and have a morning learning to cook the traditional food. Perhaps both.I am hooked and can't wait to return again. 
  • Reviewed May 2013
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    Generally, well organised and more than met expectations with the magic of Marrakesh and the splendour of the mountains, with basic living in the gite and some challenging walks. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When the sun shone on the high valley surrounded by snow-capped mountains, while snow and sleet gathered all around, and the wind blew; when the vendors in Djem El Fn in Marrakesh persuaded us to savour their delicious and cheap meals near the crowded souks; when the wirey slim employee doused us with water and stretched our limbs in the hamman.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mainly OK-he let us know what was happenening; organised the travel efficiently; provided good and helpful advice; but on the walks didn't really pay enough attention to the slower walkers who were finding the terrain difficult. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready to enjoy 'basic conditions'-shared sleeping dorms, washrooms, toilets; be ready to avoid buying unwanted products in the souks of Marrakesh.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was wonderful-from basic fried crevettes and chips to tagines flavoured with the spices of the east! The hotel in Marrakesh was welcoming and pleasant.  
  • Reviewed April 2013
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    An excellent short trip which combined a city experience (Marrakesh) with an opportunity to walk in an area of outstanding natural beauty - the Atlas Mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on a col 2500 metres above sea level with Atlas Mountains all around you - truely a panorama.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was well informed and possessed a good sense of humour.  He maintained an appropriate walking pace which allowed all members of the group to enjoy themselves.  Nothing was too much trouble for him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do take a good sleeing bag.  The nights at the beginning of April were cold.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our visit to the home of a local Berber family for tea and cakes was a must.
  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    This is a perfect 1 week package for someone who wants a break from their routine, to see some incredible landscapes, feeling small against nature and to see the sun!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being in a completely different context with the sun on my face - in great company. Wandering back to our Gite with a break-off group, stopping to take in the scenery and bathing our feet in the river.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A true professional - good knowledge, kind, experienced.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely take 2 loo rolls - just in case! And if you feel the cold like me - take long johns and a long goose down jacket for the gite.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do this trip - you will really enjoy it and feel inspired!
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    A well named and well described trip.  Lovely combination of time in Marrakesh and time in the mountains. This simple holiday was unlifting and rejuventing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The gently relaxed state induced by walking in the sun high-up in the Atlas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, a credit to the company, ensured all the groups needs were met with care and consideration; shared his lifelong knowledge of the area in a very accessable way and added greatly to our enjoyment, whislt keeping a good pace up.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was January so be prepared for coldnights and going to bed early to keep warm, whilst needing a sun hat during the day!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our group was varied in age, ability and background and everyone got on in an easy manner.  A combination of solo and couple travellers, sharing with them was a pleasure.
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    ATLAS PANORAMA

    Very well organised trip. Complete confidence in Hassan our guide who was very knowledgeable and good fun.  Good range in our group who all gelled very well.  Beautiful scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Learning about the culture from Hassan and meeting the Berber people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant guide, worked hard for us but was also good fun.  Very professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about taking lots of snacks the food is excellent and plentiful and vegetarians are catered for.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our only disappointment was that our kit bags never arrived even after we had chased them up.  We had to borrow kit bags at the last moment.  Others on our trip who booked as late as Christmas eve received their kit bag.