Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

55 Reviews

  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    A truly wonderful holiday with spectacular scenery and animals. The camping was great fun and the whole group were able to gather around a fire in the evening and chat. The food was suberb eventhough it was cooked entirely over a fire in a few large pots.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were able to be just feet away from 'wild' cheetah on foot, and in the truck saw elephant, rhino, zebra and giraffe, amongst others, closer than I ever imagined. The views from the top of the dunes at Sessriem were also breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader and camp assistants were wonderful. They were friendly, helpful and a joy to be around.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    This camping trip was a brilliant way to truly explore this amazing country and to share the experience with wonderful like-minded travellers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to just pick one; the amazing 'live theatre' of wildlife at Okaukuejo waterhole at midnight (2 mins from campsite) at Etosha NP, beautiful colours of Africa, friendly and welcoming people, at the top of the golden sand dune at sunrise, quirky campsites in the middle of nowhere, meals round the camp fire, our tour leader and crew ...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronnie was amazing; very organised but in relaxed not regimented way, knowledgeable about his country, funny, interested in his travel group, great team leader for the camp crew. I felt very safe and relaxed on this holiday thanks to the crew, despite travelling on some very remote roads and camping in the wilds of Africa.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    July is their winter so pack well for the evening, particularly camping, as it gets v cold. The trip notes need greater clarity so def take at least season 3 sleeping bag, fleece liner and base layer. Camping was a brilliant experience if you were warm. You will need layers for the day from windproof outer layer and fleece to t-shirts and shorts. Lots of early mornings as the sun rises when it's cold and then quite hot during the day. Remember to take a head torch too. Tents were basic but superb!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a must do trip for every traveller. It took me ages to decide which holiday to go on this year and this trip certainly exceeded my expectations on so many levels. So many truly wonderful experiences and two weeks seemed to fly by so quickly. Camping is by far the best way to explore Namibia. Every campsite was different and added to the experience. Wildlife was awesome - we were very lucky and spoilt travellers. You'll return from your holiday with hundreds of stunning photo's. There are many long journeys to ensure you cover as much of Namibia as possible, however, very few of us had time to read our books due to the ongoing banter with other travellers and crew, and the changing landscapes and wildlife mile after mile. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    What an amazing place, such a varied landscape from enormous liquid sand dunes to endless salt pans and staggering rocky sided plateaus with exceptional wildlife. A wow factor again and again. Put this country on your 'to visit' list right now!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So difficult - was it the quad biking on dunes stretching as far as the eye could see for 360 degrees, or spending time watching the pride of lions playing and interacting almost within touching distance of the truck, or watching the sun rise after climbing a huge sand dune or scrambling on all fours up the Waterberg plateau? Each day brought a new experience and a significant challenge bringing its own thrill of achievement.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When the trip notes say the temperature can get down to freezing at night in August, they were not kidding - make sure your sleeping bag can cope in a tent- or bring lots of thermal undies!Water is all drinkable - great.Travel was often very long, often on gravel roads, not for tender behinds! Take a good guide book to read and to make sense of the amazing landscape and wildlifeCan't always promise it but there were no nasty beasties biting us at this time of year.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A wonderful holiday, a hidden gem of Africa. Just 2 million people inhabit the huge land so traffic was not a problem even in the capital.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    animals, scenic flights, blue skies, lovely food, starry skies, more animals, sunshine, dunes, gorges, savannahs, animlas!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    too many to mention seeing the milky way, hearing the Lions roar, seeing 24 elephants while drinking a cup of tea! A flight over the dunes and coast line.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader Ronney and the lads, Gecko and Tulfeni were fansatic. they knew all the birds and animals and could put up a tent in about 4mins, they said that was slow! The food that prepared was top notch. you won't go hungry. my lunch's not are very very boring compared to the ones they prepared.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    if you are a bit apprehensive of going to Africa, don't think twice about Namibia. It's safe clean and quiet. Make sure you take layers as in the day andnight temperatures probably differentiated by 25-30 degrees c. Pack for cold nights and sunny hots days in the same trip.As everyone says a headtorch and spare batteries and good binoculars.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go!
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    This well thought through trip exceeded the expectations of my whole family, with such a rick mix of experiences - desert camping, Milky Way, beautiful birds, wildlife, landscapes, food and excellent mixed company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hearing the roar of lion from under canvas in the still of the Etosha night. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronny was fun, knowledgable, very helpful and diplomatic.   

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for cold nights in July under canvas and travel light.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cannot wait to go on another similar trip!
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    Absolutely incredible trip! One of the best holidays I have had so far.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing round the water hole in Etoshia National Park watching more than 20 elephants, giraffe, zebra, springbok...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Ronnie was brilliant! Really good fun, very knowledgable and friendly. He went above and beyond throughout the whole trip to make sure that everyone was happy. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travelling in July is winter in Namibia. Daytime was lovely and warm, but when the sun goes down around 6pm the temperature really drops. Completely managable but would recommend 4 season sleeping bag or fleece liner, plus a couple of warm jumpers. Wolley hat and gloves also worthwhile.We encountered no mosquitos in July so would question the need for DEET, etc.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Completely brilliant trip! As a photographer I found July to be a good time to travel as the sky is flawless blue and there is very little dust. Makes for great photos, especially by the sand dunes! I would recommend this trip to anyone. Having not camped before I was surprised by the standard of all the camp sites. The tents are very large and the mattresses provided are thick and comfortable. Hot showers available at nearly every site and excellent food. Power points available everywhere so no problems with charging batteries, etc. The people of Namibia are lovely and the guides are excellent. Can't fault this trip and am already thinking about ways that I can go back!  
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    My first trip to Africa and my first trip with Exodus. Definitely not the last! An amazing experience. All the animals, the friendly people, the beautiful landscape, the guides, the group - all better than I could hope for.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the leopard in the tree. We had seen all the other animals that we had wished for, but still needed to see the leopard. And suddenly it was just there in the tree. Almost missed it when driving past.But it was amazing to see so many different animals. Elephant, zebra, giraffe, oryx, blackfaced impala, hartebeest, kudu, leopard and rhino. But also the cute mongoose and rock dassie, all the amazing birds and even a caracal and honey badger. What more can you ask for. Another highlight for me was a trip to the Mondesa township in Swakopmund (not included). 3 of us went there with Hafeni Cultural Tours. Our guide was a 23 year old who had lived in the township all his life. He was just so open about their life and history. Highly recommend it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam was brilliant and so was Jonas and Tuhafeni. Sam was really knowledgeable and told us about his own family and background as well.It would have been good if he had sometimes been in the back of the truck with us instead of driving. I am sure he could have entertained us with more stories on the long drives.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a waterproof jacket! We had about 86mm in one day and climbed Dune 45 when it was raining. Wet.Don't pack you swimming custome at the bottom of your case. Quite a few of the camps had swimming pools, so it's good to have your swimming gear and towel ready when you arrive.There is quite a few stops where you are able to buy water. But just listen to the guide, they will tell you when you need to buy an extra bottle or when you can just use the water at the camp. And bring extra water when you go climbing. Some people don't need a lot of water, but others do.Always have the camera ready. Don't back it too far away, so many photo opportunities.You can charge your batteries at most camps, so that won't be a problem. The adapter is a bit different. I wasn't able to get it from home, but you can just buy it at the supermarket in Windhoek and lots of places. Bring a sleeping bag acording to what Exodus recommend. Mine wasn't thick enough so I had a couple of really cold nights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We went to The Lighthouse for dinner in Swakopmund. If you are going there, I highly recommend The Lighthouse Burger. It was so good - and everybody just stared at it. And that's all I'm saying!And really, just go to Namibia - you won't regret it.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    A fabulous way to see the main highlights of Namibia, from the beautiful desert (even in the rain!) to the incredible seal colony (can't forget that smell), the animals of Etosha (especially that lion up close) and some amazing scenery (including the scramble up the Waterberg plateau).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many moments:- seeing a lion drinking from a large puddle in Etosha - we were so close we could hear him lapping up the water, absolute breathtaking.- watching the thousands of seals at the Skeleton Coast - everywhere you looked there were seals in different poses, barking to one another and baby seals feeding.  The smell is indescribable - and worth it. - the scenery across Namiba - from the sand dunes and desert in the south, the incredible hills in the Namib-Nauklaft park, the huge boulders in Damaraland and the Waterberg plateau.  - sleeping under canvas for the first time - the night sky in Namibia is second to none, seeing the Milky Way, Mars, Venus and Jupiter.  All the night-time noises, the lions roaring, the jackals scratching at my tent, the crickets chirping.....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam was brilliant - a great guide and a great driver. He was so knowledgeable about his country, the people and the animals. Jonas was a superb cook - I've never eaten so well!  Tuafeni was a lovely camp assistant, and the three of them got on really well.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a waterproof!! It rained more than 85mm of water on the day we walked up Dune 45 - it was at the end of the rainy season but this was apparently more than they'd had the entire rainy season, and roads got washed away.  You can buy a proper pillow at the supermarket/shop stop before the first night camping, well worth doing, and the guys collect any unwanted items for distribution to locals afterwards.   You also get a fair amount of free time; many of the campsites have pools so take a swimsuit and plenty to read.  You need to get a special adaptor for Namibian plug sockets - if you don't get one before you go, you can buy one in the same shop as the pillows (sorry, cant remember the name of it).  The campsites all have sockets for recharging electrical items.  You can buy a guide pamphlet (A4) on the animals/birds of Etosha in many places, so you dont need to worry about getting a book beforehand.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first camping trip and I loved it.  I was a bit concerned about the ablution facilities but they were (on the whole), absolutely fine.  The only 'dodgy' ones were at the municipal camp site but a few of us found the one decent shower and formed a queue outside for it.   If you are considering going to Namibia, this trip is definitely for you - I really enjoyed it.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    A wonderful holiday with fantastic varied scenery with so much to see.   A vast country with inevitably a lot of road travel but the roads are good and we were well looked after throughout.   We were surprised at the excellent camp sites with power points, and generally good modern shower/toilet facilities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The amazing sunrises and sunsets, Death Valley and the sand dunes, seal and dolphin watching, the sight of 21 elephants of all ages coming to the waterhole at night (just when I didn't have my camera! and lion cubs playing by the side of a waterhole.   Breakfast at Solitaire Guest Ranch with an oryx ever so gently putting her nose over my shoulder to sniff my cereal, first one side and then the other!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam was knowledgeable, always ready to answer our questions and looked after us well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went the last week in August/first week in September and the nights really are very, very cold so take warm clothing.   Also very cold for early morning game drives when the canvas roof was rolled back on the truck! Not a cheap destination but where we did eat out the meals were excellent - and do try the local fish - delicious!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can thoroughly recommend this holiday.   Travel arrangements all went smoothly and nearly all of our stops were excellent.   Camp sites were good and our cook produced some very tasty meals for us over the camp fire!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    An excellent adventure. We had a exceptional guide and 2 fantastic cooks. The scenery was out of this world and even the long journeys were interesting and full of wildlife spotting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I had especially wanted to visit the sand dunes and was not disappointed. The colourful hues of the sand as the dawn broke was magical. The randomness of these giant dunes in the middle of nowhere and flat land all around was fantastic. Te most fun was seeing if we could get the jeeps through the sand on the way to Dead Vlei another MUST.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was funny, entertaining and very informative. He was friendly and helped to ge the group to gel at the beginning of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    None. Go on the trip! Oh actually do remember to take thermal wear for the chilly nights under canvas.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We organised a trip for the free day befoe we left the UK. We went on a kayaking trip wth Jeanne at eco-marine tours and also added in a 4x4 trip around Sandwich harbour. This was really worthwhile and a nice opportunity to have a day to yourself as well!!!