Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

55 Reviews

  • Reviewed August 2018
    Aaron Wood

    Awesome Safari

    Whilst the driving at times becomes slightly tiresome the sights and nature where fantastic. The group were wonderful and the guide Ben was extremely informative.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    At Etosha watering hole where we saw 30 elephants walking with there young

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was incredible

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a cushion for the trip and definitely bring some decent binoculars and camera

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend it to anyone who loves animals
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Patricia Barnett

    Loved it!

    My husband and I have never done a trip like this and we have never camped before. We loved it. The tour is interesting and varied. The walk in the dessert was spectacular, climbing the Dune was quite hard, but watching the sun rise made the climb worth every step. Eating supper round a camp fire was really nice and sociable and the food was really good. We are vegetarian and we were well looked after. We saw hundreds of animals: giraffe, rhino (and a baby rhino), lions, elephants and their babies, springbok, zebra, ostrich, fabulous birds, warthogs, hyena, jackal, many types of deer and antelope, baboons... We wish we could do it all over again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of the trip was the herd of elephants that came to the waterhole in Etosha. So many other animals came too. It was a really beautiful experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader, Ben, was excellent. He looked after us with care and consideration. He had excellent knowledge on every question that was asked and he was very good at finding the animals for us to see. The crew (the driver and the cook - Jonas and Orbert) were also excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    July was a good time to travel because it was not too hot during the day. The temperature does fall at night so a really good sleeping bag and a blanket (if you feel the cold) is a good plan. The facilities at each site vary so it is better if you can be flexible. You need malaria tablets, but there were very few insects at that time of year - it may be different at other times. We are very cautious so we had insect repellent clothes. You can get clothes washed at the hotel in Swakopmund and one or two other places, so you need to plan clothes carefully. Some of the roads are very bumpy, but then we were travelling through the dessert. It would definitely help if you have a head torch with you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have a little bit of adventure tucked in your spirit and you like so see animals in the wild - this is a fantastic trip.
  • Reviewed March 2018

    Discovering Namibia

    If you haven't been to Namibia and you like wildlife and stunning landscapes - book now! Our trip was absolutely amazing, and so much more varied than I thought it would be. I must thank our two local guides on the trip, as without them we would not have seen half the wonders we did. They were knowledgeable, helpful and unfailingly cheerful, which made our visit so much more enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many highlights it is difficult to single out any one element, but I suppose our stay in Etosha National Park must rank with any wildlife experience I have ever had. Watching lions mate whilst springbok leapt in the background, being charged by an angry bull elephant, and seeing a family of cheetah stalk their prey, will stay in my memory for ever.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I must thank our two local guides on the trip, as without them we would not have seen half the wonders we did. They were knowledgeable, helpful and unfailingly cheerful, which made our visit so much more enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We booked a flight over the Skeleton Coast when we were staying in Swakopmund and this was a wonderful way to see the landscape from a different perspective. I would mention however that if you are my height or taller (I am 1m 80), then the leg room on the plane is not generous and you are in the air for over two hours. Also, I would recommend taking a small compact camera with a good zoom, as my DSLR with a bulky zoom lens was much too cumbersome.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Julian Penge

    Discover Namibia - Camping Trip

    What a fantastic trip in an amazing country! This is my eighth Exodus adventure in the last 6 years, and again, I wasn’t disappointed. From start to finish it was an exemplary journey. The trip itself was very comprehensive, from walking through a gorge at sunset to climbing a sand dune at sunrise; to dolphin watching in the morning and quad biking in the dunes in the afternoon. Both the wildlife viewing and the variation in geomorphology were outstanding across this beautiful county.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wildlife viewings were fantastic, especially the leopard and bull elephant we saw next to our vehicle. We were extremely lucky; it was as if the leopard was posing just for us. These animals are generally very solitary and evasive and seeing one so up close was just incredible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rooney our group leader was superb; his driving skills and knowledge of Namibia were incredible. How he spotted some of the wildlife from the distance, I will never know. His two deputies, Jonas and Ruben, were also very hard-working gentlemen who looked after the twelve of us very well from dawn to dusk. They were very efficient in setting up and dismantling our tents, loading and unloading our vehicle and their cooking skills were great. What a great team to look after us!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travelling across this large country was very comfortable and safe; and both the tarmac and dirt roads were in excellent condition. The townships and campsites were very clean and the people were very friendly. I would just recommend bringing a good sleeping bag - and an excellent camera for the beautiful landscape and wildlife on show!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    To date, I have visited nine African countries and this trip to Namibia is easily number one. What a beautiful country, what a great adventure! Definitely a five star trip for me!
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Joanna Tobias

    A great introduction to Namibia

    Discover Namibia camping was great to do over Christmas. We saw diverse wildlife and landscapes with unexpected early rains and a sandstorm but this added to the experience!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Etosha was the highlight together with the wildlife that came to visit,including hearing a lion roar by night. Dune 45 and the petrified acacias were also great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was approachable & friendly but occasionally overloaded us with too much info,for too many days ahead. Would have been nice if he had been a little more informative at times on the flora & fauna. Happy and Nathaniel made amazing food,especially 'Happy Bread'.They were amazingly helpful when early rains caused flooded tents but it all added to the experience!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take something warm,as in layers for the early mornings on the truck and game drives in the early eve. In December I used just a sleeping bag liner for half the trip as was so warm at night but did use my sleeping bag. It's possible to buy cheap sleeping bags in Windhoek as one of our group did. Take a neck scarf to place over your nose and mouth when climbing Dune 45 & very useful if you encounter a sandstorm! Do the plane ride over the Skeleton Coast. Take a dark coloured travel bag as the red sand gets everywhere.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go and enjoy the trip! It's a shame a balloon ride over the dunes & / or skeleton coast wasn't available. Be careful as we weren't given the up to date prices for some of the optional extra's. Make sure you check as it may cost more than listed.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Victoria Campell

    Namibian skies

    This was our first camping tour and we really enjoyed the camping aspect of this trip. Jonas and Happy looked after us superbly, making sure that the tents were set up and cooking was underway each evening. The toilet and shower facilities were fine and the tents were big enough for us to have space between us for our big bags and room at the top or bottom for daypacks etc. This trip covers a lot of ground and the vehicle and roads do not always make for a comfortable journey. However, the route and schedule compare favourably with other options and the fact that it is " full service " camping helps a lot. We were very lucky with the composition of the group. Everyone got on and looked out for each other and the spirit of co-operation made the trip most enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being at dune 45 at sunrise and the great breakfast afterwards. Seeing cheetah in Etosha. Visiting the cheetah conservation project. Staying at the campsite with no electricity, just wonderful to be in the middle of nowhere, just our group, unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney did a good job but having to drive all day is clearly arduous. He did his best to make the journeys as easy as possible. He constantly reminded us about sunscreen, water etc. We would have liked a bit more info at times and it was hard to ask questions along the way. When the opportunities arose, he showed that he is knowledgeable and caring. He was kind towards us and to others and was a great guide when we were in Etosha.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Others have written about the long days and there is no getting away from this. Two days in particular are long and uncomfortable and the fact that these are back to back doesn't help. The big plus of this trip is the fact that you visit the dunes in the south and have 3 nights in Etosha. We bought pillows on our first shopping stop after leaving Windhoek, well worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were uncomfortable about the visit to the Himba people and after the introduction, 3 of us opted out. It all felt very artificial, one of the young women had an iPhone and we were informed of a minimum fixed price if we wanted the women to dance for us. Not the experience we had hoped for. The phrase " human zoo " came to mind.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    At Exodus we take every step to ensure that our holidays provide an enjoyable experience for our customers and that we make a positive impact on the communities we visit. Based on feedback that we received regarding the Himba village, we have taken the decision to remove this visit from the itinerary.

  • Reviewed September 2016
    Fiona Galazin

    Namibia

    A great trip. Very varied landscapes and great wildlife viewing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing wild cheetahs, mother and two cubs, giraffes, elephants, a leopard, great bird watching with a really good guide (Ronney). Making it up Dune 45 for the sunrise - not as easy as I thought it would be. Lots of other great moments too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was great. Very organised, incredibly knowledgeable, very patient with all my questions and made sure everything went as smoothly as he could. Our cook Jonas, supported by Reuben, prepared some great meals too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went in September. No need for a mosquito net, but definitely needed a warm fleece and a windproof and a 3 season sleeping bag. Daytime though, a sleeveless t shirt and shorts were enough. Campsite facilities were good, better than East Africa I'm told. Be prepared for a couple of long driving days - up the Skeleton Coast for example - but there were photo stops and the odd coffee stop too. Back roads were not quite as good as I had been led to believe.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A beautiful country and not busy. Plenty of open roads and uncrowded viewing at waterholes. Overall a great experience
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Geraldine Ennis

    Discover Namibia (AZN) - Camping Trip

    I travelled to Namibia in the dry season (October). The weather was very, very hot on a couple of days the temp reached 100+. The schedule was gruelling - up 05:00/06:00 every morning but I enjoyed every minute of it. Every day brought a new experience. There were a couple of long travel days but the truck was reasonably comfortable, stocked with cold drinks and guide books plus plenty of photo/toiler stops along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlights of the trip for me were Etosha National Park, Carnivore Cheetah reserve and climbing Dune 45. The first camp in Etosha had a fabulous watering hole which attracted a variety of animals. It was very addictive watching the coming and goings of the animals!! At the Cheetah reserve we managed to get within a distance of 20ft from the Cheetahs what a fabulous experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Ronney, he was a very experienced guide and full of enthusiasm. The cook Jonah prepared a variety of great food for every meal and of course not to forget Ruben who erected/dismantled our tents every time we moved to another site. All great guys. Jonah even managed to cook a lovely meal one evening during a thunder storm on the Waterburg Plateau.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take high factor sun cream and even higher factor for face and neck. I only took South African Rand as it is widely accepted in Namibia. If you are a vegetarian then there is not much choice on the menu when eating out. Bring some mixed nuts/seeds as I did. The electricity is unique to Sth Africa/Namibia but our truck had a variety of extension leads including once with an English plug. I'd no problems charging batteries/phone.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was very impressed by Namibia. Campers are certainly very well catered for. Almost all of the camp sites had hot water, flush toilets, toilet rolls and even public toilets on the whole were very clean. Supermarkets were well stocked. The night game in Etosha was fab as the moon was shining and we saw a lot of drama at one watering hole. It is definitely the place to buy tanzanite jewellery. Hiking boots are not a necessity; a pair of trainers & a pair of sandals are all the foot ware you need. I took a 3/4 season sleeping bag and most nights ended up sleeping in the liner instead. A couple of evenings did need to wear a fleece. If planning on taking a Dolphin cruise out of Walvis Bay wrap up well as it is freezing!! It was a fabulous trip and enjoyed every minute of it. Don't hesitate - go for it!!
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Lindsay Wills

    A great country to visit!

    I've always heard great things about Namibia and it didn't disappoint, so much to see and do. Very friendly people, great weather and plenty of wildlife!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many great moments; watching the sunrise over Dune 45 was brilliant and watching several beautiful sunsets. I also enjoyed sitting at the waterhole in Etosha (day and night) and watching to animals come and go, a chance to watch real animal behaviour. Also camping was fun, the campsites we stayed at had modern facilities and added to the adventure

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was brilliant, he wasn't feeling well but that didn't prevent him offering a great service. Along with Shane and Jonas he made us all welcome and helped us relax. Nothing was too much trouble for the guys and that made the camping enjoyable. Jonas prepared some fantastic food over the campfire, one meal sticks out; butternut squash soup and freshly made bread followed by marinated pork. So yummy!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it! I think Namibia is very underrated but there is so much to see and do. There were no issues for safety and Nambians are very friendly and welcoming. It is very cheap but at no loss to quality, we had some lovely meals out.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Gavin and Laura Jones

    Sand and Safari

    This trip exceeded our expectations. The itinerary provided a much more varied experience than many 'safari' trips - from sand dunes in Sossusvlei to safari in Etosha via dolphins and seals in Swakopmund, there was something for everyone!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We enjoyed the whole experience but here are some of our 'highlights': bonding with the group around the camp fire hiking up Dune 45 and watching the sunrise getting really close to Cheetahs at the conservation project at Solitaire getting really close to seals (sharing a boat!) and dolphins on the boat trip from Swakopmund seeing rhinos and elephants around the waterhole in Etosha

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was great! He was very ably assisted by Shane and Jonas and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. They worked extremely hard. They answered our questions with a smile no matter how stupid the questions were nor if it was the third time they had been asked! The food was truly exceptional - Jonas even cooked bread and cake over the camp fire!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We would recommend the camping trip as it means you bond more with the group - sitting around a camp fire in the dark with the stars spread above is truly magical. It gets really dark very quickly so take a head torch! Scrabbling about in a tent in the dark holding an ordinary torch is not easy! All the facilities at the camp sites were very clean and functional. There were always flushing toilets and hot showers so even though it is not glamping it is hardly roughing it either.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had an absolutely wonderful time and would highly recommend this trip.