Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Vicky Waller

    Kilimanjaro Rongai Route - October 2018

    Exodus Travels were an excellent company to deal with whilst arranging my recent trip to Kilimanjaro. I felt like I had my own personal travel agent to help me every step of the way. They answered every question and query I had knowledgably and efficiently. Everything about the trip ran smoothly and to plan. I would definitely use Exodus again for a future trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The people of Africa were the most inspirational for me on this trip. Everyone was so nice and friendly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I had 100% faith in the guides we had on the trip. They were knowledgably and made you feel at ease.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would definitely recommend that you extend your trip by 1 day at the beginning of the trip as the flights are long and its a good idea to have a rest day at the hotel the day before you walk.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Lauren McCabe

    Do it, and do it with Exodus!

    Made memories for life on this trip. Summit day was torture but our guides made getting to Gilmans Point (before getting to Uhuru Peak) an incredible moment. The team of guides and porters are exceptional. This is our second trip with Exodus and will use them again for future ones because we trust their ability to take care of us, from booking to the itinerary and guides

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming up to the last ten minutes before reaching Gilmans Point, we’d been hiking for seven hours in the cold and dark uphill so we’re exhausted. The sun was rising so we had a spectacular view and out of nowhere the guides all start singing. It made reaching that point honestly one of the best experiences of my life!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Makeke was fantastic, he took such good care of each and every one of us

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect summit day to be tough, be prepared to dig deep to get to the top, it’s worth it! Take ear plugs for sleeping! Be prepared to donate some clothes to the porters at the end of the trek. The clothes they wear are all donated.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Phillip Dixon

    Kilimanjaro Rongai Route 21/09

    Second time of climbing Kilimanjaro and it didn't disappoint. Glorious starscapes at night, changing scenery from jungle to lunar landscapes and then the snow encrusted peak. This is a challenging hike on summit day but within most people's abilities if you are reasonably fit. Due to airline problems my luggage didn't arrive, but luckily I had ultra essentials and warm kit in my daysack. Day before the summit a porter brought my luggage up to the camp so had an incredible surprise. You may think you will lose weight on this trek, but the food is incredible and plentiful - but you will still eat lots of snacks on your trek too. You will use the energy

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summit day reaching Uhuru Peak and seeing the joy in all the other members of the group. People found a new energy when reaching that small wooden sign

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Makeke was great, naturally funny, always there with a joke or inspirational word when people were flagging and able to sort problems while reassuring everyone. He dealt with my missing luggage taking all the pressure off and also arranging extra waterbottles for some group members who only had camelbaks which might freeze.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack enough kit for summit day and extras in your daysack in case of airline problems and wear your boots to the airport. Take lots of snacks like cereal bars to eat on the trek, sharing a snack with your trekmates is a mainstay of the trip and handing one to someone looking tired can give them a boost. Wear layers over one or two bulky items, you can always remove a layer or add one. Most importantly put in a few mountain hikes before you go as you will enjoy it more with legs that aren't aching and shortness of breath. It is really about going slow and sustained pace.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our guides and team were incredible, they made us feel safe, encouraged us on and everything we achieved they were a big part of. Of my two trips up Kilimanjaro this was by far the best organised and most professional
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Morag Smith

    Fantastic trip

    If you have ever harboured thoughts of climbing Kilimanjaro, go for it!This is a brilliant trip with excellent friendly and knowledgeable guides. There is so much more to this trip than simply reaching Uhuru point or not. We saw baboons and blue monkeys, beautiful landscapes and met many amazing people.. Do not underestimate the physical and mental impact of summit day though. This involves a trek to Kibo camp, followed by some rest, then around 11 hours or so of solid walking to the summit and returning to Kibo camp, a short rest.and then a further 3-4 hours walking before reaching Horombo camp and falling completely exhausted into your sleeping bag. None of our group were elite athletes but we all exercised regularly. We ranged in age from 21 to 66 years and both the youngest and the oldest achieved the summit. Not to be missed!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Funnily enough, on our way to the airport we saw Kilimanjaro rising high above the clouds like Jacks beanstalk in the fairy tale and there was a sense of wonder that we could and indeed had reached its summit. I will carry that memory with me forever as it was only then that the scale of our achieve,net really hit hom.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. Make ke is funny, slight lions winded but warm, friendly helpful and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You should take some plastic bags for keeping your litter in and also for taking any used toilet paper away. Kili is a special place and we must ensure we leave it as we find it. Unfortunately, not everyone does this and there is a lot of litter. Tour companies must push this more. Re trip notes, I don't think summit day notes are wholly accurate. It's a lot more than 6 Kim walking that day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Morag Smith

    Fantastic trip

    If you have ever harboured thoughts of climbing Kilimanjaro, go for it!This is a brilliant trip with excellent friendly and knowledgeable guides. There is so much more to this trip than simply reaching Uhuru point or not. We saw baboons and blue monkeys, beautiful landscapes and met many amazing people.. Do not underestimate the physical and mental impact of summit day though. This involves a trek to Kibo camp, followed by some rest, then around 11 hours or so of solid walking to the summit and returning to Kibo camp, a short rest.and then a further 3-4 hours walking before reaching Horombo camp and falling completely exhausted into your sleeping bag. None of our group were elite athletes but we all exercised regularly. We ranged in age from 21 to 66 years and both the youngest and the oldest achieved the summit. Not to be missed!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Funnily enough, on our way to the airport we saw Kilimanjaro rising high above the clouds like Jacks beanstalk in the fairy tale and there was a sense of wonder that we could and indeed had reached its summit. I will carry that memory with me forever as it was only then that the scale of our achieve,net really hit hom.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. Make ke is funny, slight lions winded but warm, friendly helpful and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You should take some plastic bags for keeping your litter in and also for taking any used toilet paper away. Kili is a special place and we must ensure we leave it as we find it. Unfortunately, not everyone does this and there is a lot of litter. Tour companies must push this more. Re trip notes, I don't think summit day notes are wholly accurate. It's a lot more than 6 Kim walking that day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Brian Page

    Brian Page

    Unfortunately for the first time ever I suffered from altitude sickness with reduced my stamina and caused loss of balance and coordination. However, thanks to the professionalism, experience and support of the Exodus staff I was able to reach the summit. I have no hesitation in recommending Exodus for an event of this nature.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit plateau despite my difficulties

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No I was very pleased with all the arrangements made for the trip.
  • Reviewed October 2017

    Well-supported hike

    The guide-to-guest ratio was excellent and we were well-fed and taken care of. Others in the group had altitude sickness symptoms and the staff were great at recognizing and managing these situations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My burst of energy near the top that had me free-climbing to the finish just before sunrise (I had lost the trail because I went around someone who was sick...).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very capable and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A great route that has less people on it.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Stuart Royce

    All worth the hard work.

    A father and daughter adventure of a life time. Never to be forgotten.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment/ moments, was from the guides encouragement throughout the climb and making you feel that you could accomplish anything.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mussa was excellent in every way, from start to finish.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not under estimate this climb. Be well prepared for a challenging week of hiking. A couple of weeks walking is not enough training even if you are a seasoned hiker. Give yourself at least 6-12months of training.You must be prepared to listen to the advice of your guides and don't think you know better. These are the guys who get you through it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I have said, the guides,porters and cook are invaluable people on your trip. They know these climbs like the back of their hands. They know the conditions that may arise at any time. They are constantly assessing your condition throughout the trip without you realising it. If they feel you are having problems then they will deal with it in highly trained and professional manner. Big respect to these guys.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Vicky Lewis

    Fantastic experience, wonderful people

    This was something I've been wanting to do for so long.... it was the most difficult but rewarding trip. What really made the experience magical was the guides and porters who were superheroes! Thank you for making my dream of climbing Kilimanjaro a reality!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from getting to the top, the guides and Porters... they were constantly cheerful, so helpful and even made me a birthday cake!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wonderfully friendly and helpful... dedicated and insightful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do whatever your guide tells you! Bring ear plugs and baby wipes!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Melissa Mason

    Rongai Route - Kilimanjaro. WOWIE

    I have just returned from my amazing adventure of climbing Kilimanjaro using the Rongai route. Don't believe people that say its easy. It isn't. But, it is 100% worth it :). "The greatest things in life aren't things" Is it challenging - Yes Is it 100% worth it - Absolutely Yes! Should you do it - Yes definitely!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountain is beautiful! The ever changing scenery as you ascend, the nights sky, the moon, the clear fresh air, the tweeting birds - It's really special. The summit night is very challenging but its all worth it when you reach Gilmans Point and see the most incredible sunrise. If you have the reserves left and make it to Uhuru Peak, there are no words to describe the feeling! Just incredible and one that will be very hard to replicate. The porters can't go without mention. You don't fully appreciate what they do until you see it for yourself. Its truly remarkable and inspirational. Their strength, stamina and wonderful smiles is really amazing. The expedition wouldn't be possible without them. The group - meeting 12 other strangers to make the journey to summit Kilimanjaro. We couldn't have had a better group. It felt like a family and we all supported each other and kept laughing all the way - as well as crying in some cases. Its all part of the journey. The people made this trip and the memories will last a life time!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Makake was a good guide and had a great support group with him. He was very organised and made sure everything ran smoothly. With Makake and his teams guidance, 93% of our group reached Gilmans Point!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I trained by walking up and down my apartment block stairs with my back pack - all 40 flights, as well as gym work, weights, running, cycling etc. The best practice however, was the stairs! What I found on the hike was that, although I am fit and healthy individual, its the attitude that will affect you the most. It effects everybody differently and so you just don't know how you react until you get there. I took Diamox for the altitude sickness and when my headaches began, took paracetamol and Ibuprofen which took the edge off. Top tips:- Pole Pole. Don't be tempted to go fast. Take rehydration supplements to add to your water. Take a hot water bottle for bedtime. Its cold. Ensure you have a warm sleeping bag and decent sleeping mat! I also took a travel pillow! Take a few bin bags for your clothes. Take silicone ear plugs ( get them from Boots). Take a small body wash to wash your hands / face etc. You get very dusty and dirty and its nice to clean up! Take Compeed! I took some herbal tea bags - was nice to have a bit of luxury! Respect the kit list and don't try and save on things - I used everything on it! Most importantly - take small change in $'s for tipping at the end. The porters that leave on the last day will need to take their tips so don't take big notes. Take $5's and $10 etc to make it easier for them to split the tips.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A big THANK YOU to Exodus and The African Walking Company and the porters for making our trip possible! I will never forget it! Asante Sana!
Call us on 1 800 267 3347