Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2017
    Tim and Lesley Elgood

    The Magic Bus from Exodus

    We have not undertaken any tours previously so were apprehensive but this was unfounded. Our fellow travellers proved great fun and enhanced the tour and it was an amazing and varied trip with a great guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday included something that was inspirational. Incredible India is the strap line and it really is the most amazing country . We have now been travelling 4 months through Asia and India remains in our memory as the most beautiful country. The towns and cities, the Temples , Palaces , the architecture through all the colonial periods of history, the friendly people so welcoming , the beautiful countryside the lakes , rivers and agriculture , teeming with wildlife and birds. The tranquility of the bird sanctuary stands out.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam George Benjamin was a great guide. He was very conscientious and extremely thorough , everything ran very smoothly. He went the extra mile to make sure everyone needs were met and was very inclusive. He was happy to answer our many questions about India during the long drives which kept us all entertained .He found some varied places to eat and introduced us to lots of delicious meals that we would not have tried without his guidance . He was also enormous fun and a great asset to exodus Tours. He sums up what a good guide should be as he made it seen easy , but we acknowledge how hard he worked to achieve this result. He was assisted by an excellent driver and co driver and excellent local guides.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Our guide had a phrase this is India my friends remember lower your expectations. We would say remain flexible open minded and enjoy the moment , India is very humbling exciting inspirational and memorable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are undecided whether to travel to India, a tour is a good way to undertake this as you learn so much about the culture and customs and any confusions anxieties are soon ironed out by the guide.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Donna Heinle

    South India Explored

    Interesting exploration of this area of India. Some lengthy bus rides, but they were offset by frequent stops to drink coffee or eat at local diners (great food even on plastic plates), and other stops to watch rice planting or sugar cane harvesting or brickmaking, etc. Our guide also gave mini-lectures about education, religion, planned marriages, or any other topic we wanted to ask about.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    seeing temples that were built 1000 years ago.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam was terrific. He made it look so easy, but I know that behind the scenes he was working hard to make sure that everything (accommodation, local guides, restaurants) functioned smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be afraid to try different foods. The children always asked for pens.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'm glad we were able to visit during Pongal, and also witness the controversy over jallikatta (bull wrestling).
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Christine Ker

    South India Explored

    Very good trip - quite relaxing compared with the frantic pace and culture and crowds in North India

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Staying on the houseboat - would have liked longer. Visiting the tea plantation and seeing the old India of the Raj.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was excellent and look after us very well

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Every day is very busy and full on and we covered a large area. There is a lot of time spent on the road which annoyed some people. I do not think that 5-6 hours in the bus every day is hard when compared to some trips which have 12-14 hours driving. The roads were good and the driver did an excellent job.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would have liked more time in Bangalore and Chennai as I like visiting bazaars
  • Reviewed December 2016
    Stephen Akehurst

    South India Explored

    Was a brilliant trip, enjoyed it all. Travel a bit hectic but made it seem such a long holiday. The guide Lukas was very good and was extremely good at explaining history of monuments and places. He also enabled group to cope with the withdrawal of 500 Rupee and 1,000 Rupee notes. Can't praise him high enough. Hotels were fine, not 5 star but very good value for price of holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing elephant coming down to drink in Periyar wildlife sanctuary.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Can only discribe him as brilliant.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try and mind read Indian politicians and what their financial policies will be.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is a wonderful place but it's just best to relax and let it happen.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Theresa Worth

    South India Explored

    Thoroughly enjoyed this trip to South India but be prepared to accept the hustle and bustle of travelling on the roads of India! Our local bus driver Joshi and his assistant Babu kept us safe throughout our journeys. There is just so much to see, from attractive sceneries of Ooty and the tea plantations, to the Temples at Belur and halebid and the colourful Brihadisvara Temple in Madurai, along with the stunning Palace in Mysore. Having a brilliant group of fellow travellers also enhanced this wonderful experience and finishing the trip at Kovalam Beach, Kerala was a perfect way to end this busy but enthralling trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I would say the whole trip was inspirational, but the spectacular scenery as you leave Kerala and enter Tamil Nardu is breathtaking in parts. The trip on the narrow gauge Blue Mountain Railway from Coonor to Ooty is an experience not to be missed. Climbing nearly 700steps to the 17m high statue of Gommateshwara in Sravanabelagola was inspirational and well worth the climb. The Kerala backwater cruise aboard the houseboat was very relaxing and gave you an Insite to everyday living along the waters edge. Mahabalipuram with its cave temples and rock carvings is stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eugene Gevarghese is a very good group leader and had the best interests of the whole group at the heart of our trip. He ensured that on the long road journeys that there were ample coffee/tea and toilet breaks, along with opportunities to see true everyday life in India. His organisation of local guides at Mysore, Sravanabelagola, Mahabalipuram and Madurai enhanced our experiences at such historic wonders. Eugene enhanced our experiences of South India with his knowledge and eagerness to ensure we experienced the different cuisine available and everyday life experiences of the people of South India.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind and you will enjoy this trip. There is a lot to see, be mindful that there are parts of the country that are very poor and you will see that a lot of the villages you travel through, tend to throw their rubbish on the roadside but I understand from Eugene that the Government is working hard to educate and improve things.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is a lot of reconstruction of the roads going on but this can only be a positive thing. South India has a lot to offer the traveller and although it was quite hectic in parts there were times when you could relax. The houseboat trip and relaxing at Kovalam beach were an excellent way to end the holiday.i
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Jonathan Stoneman-Merret

    Southern India tour by coach

    A good way to see Southern India, every day was different as we travelled in a spacious air conditioned coach with plenty of room, taking in the sights, sounds, smells, the culture and history of the people who never failed to flash a smile or wave back - even if on the back of crowded moped.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not one thing stood out as everything was thoroughly enjoyable as new to me and so different. I enjoyed the train ride from Ooty and the back waters of Karala by boat, also the optional day trip to the most southern tip was a very good experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Engine was excellent. He had a very friendly and humorous approach to the group that enabled us all to quickly relax and engage with each other. He always put us first and went out of his way to make sure we were ok and enjoying ourselves, he arranged small extras along the way that broke up the journies that were not on the itinerary. He could improve by giving the group the option of rather than shopping in Emporiums he took us to on several occasions by giving us free time to venture into local shops nearby.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When ordering food explain exactly what you want, rather than ask, tell them!! If you ask them if the food is hot or spicer and they say no, be prepared, they put chilly or pepper into everything, if unsure ask for a side dish of yoghurt with no chopped raw red opinion as a side dish to cool your food. I did this several times and enjoyed some fantastic local meals, especially the lunchtime tallies. Be prepared for lots of vegetarian meals and no alcohol at majority of hotels and restaurants. Make sure you take hand wipes and gels and be prepared for some very basic toilets!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We didn't see very much wild life, in my opinion the trip notes are a bit misleading. At the start of the trip ask your guide to book ahead for the boat trip in Thekkady, we didn't and I think we really missed out as it was fully booked, we did an alternative option of a jeep safari that was really not very good, more a jeep adventure over steep bumpy ground. The hotels are varied, some very good, others very basic but the common theme is the people and food we're always excellent. The train ride from Bangaolre is a good experience, drink Chai along with the many locals commuting. Exodus should look at the scheduling for travel to Bangalore as we arrived very late and a had a very early start to catch the 6:30 train, the hotel should be nearer the station. The last hotel, although not luxurious, is in a good location to extend your trip to chill out after 3 weeks on a coach, also gives you time to take the option of going to the most southern tip, not a lot in the area suggest no more than 2 or 3 days.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Christine Stoneman-Merret

    Brilliant India!

    We had an amazing 3 weeks touring southern India. We saw the place warts and all! From the beauty of the mountains and backwaters to the hustle and tooting of the city and the small poor villages we past, to the mass of rubbish everywhere and the stray dogs in every street. I would thoroughly recommend this trip but go with an open mind and expect lots of hours travelling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved being on the houseboat in the backwaters of Kerala, it was so quiet and watching the locals go about their every day life was brilliant

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eugine was a brilliant leader he truly went out if his way to help and please everyone and I can honestly say he made the trip for me and my husband.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of Imodium, hand cleaning gel/cleansing wipes and be prepared to squat to go the the toilet whilst out in some VERY basic places. There were virtually no western style toilets in most places and no toilet tissue in any of them. We soon got very used to this but best to be prepared. Quite a few of us had poorly stomachs at some point during the stay

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go prepared to try anything and embrace the country and it's lovely people
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Maurice Hurst

    South India Explored

    This was a fantastic trip but quite tiring. This was my first Exodus trip and I was duly impressed. I will recommend the company to my friends and will certainly book another myself - North India Explored.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing an elephant from our boat enter the water quite near to us and then swim 300yds to the other bank before continuing its journey.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Santo, our group leader was very good. He was helpful and had a wealth of knowledge. I would rather not have been taken by him to the three gift emporiums during the trip as there were always cheaper options nearby. We often had no real choice with regard to where we ate the evening meal. We were led as a group to establishments that clearly were not to everyone's liking or budget. Commission may have played a part here with regard to these two issues.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Obtaining the e-visa took a week! Either the website was down, or when it was running the link to make the payment to the bank in India would not work. After 3 attempts to pay, it's necessary to complete another 4 page form (this seems unnecessary). I think Exodus could put pressure on the India travel section to make the e-visa site more robust, more user friendly and payments to be made to a European bank.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would have been better had we had a night in Chennai. Also, whilst I appreciate that we had a schedule to keep up with, we missed many opportunities where a 10min photo stop would have been appreciated.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Susan Ralls

    southern india explored

    All in all a great holiday, you don't realise just how big India is, lots of temples but all are different, make sure you take a sun hat as it gets really hot. and the food is just excellent such a good selection of dishes even if you are not keen on spicy food we never got fed up. the people are friendly and polite, but as our tour leader said just above relaxation is your holiday,tour bus was excellent with lots of room and air con.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a wild elephant, monkeys, deer, wild boar, as well as seeing an indian way of life. the tea plantations are amazing a flow of bonsai tea trees is like a green sea sweeping down the hills. the ooty train is a great ride with scenery to gaze at makes you feel like a kid on your first train trip. And the best is the backwaters a great way to sit back and chill.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chandra Jeet was one of the best tour leaders we have met and we have met afew. His passion for India showed each day greeting us at breakfast checking how we slept and felt, each day he explained about life in India and the culture and their ways, it was very interesting and we learnt alot, he checked if we were drinking enough water, it was Chandra that made our holiday even better as we were a full group nothing was to much trouble whether it was a pair of trousers that was being made or recommend a new dish to try.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On visiting temples make sure your dress code is correct, drink lots of water and enjoy the delights of India

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    take advantage of hotels safes in your rooms.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Anthony Heal

    Such a long journey

    This trip covers a lot of South India but this unavoidably means that you spend an awfully long time on the road. The published Exodus itinerary doesn't disguise this and the travel times it provides are about right but it's one thing to read that a day's journey takes 8-10 hours and another to actually endure it. That said you see many of the important cities, temples, hill stations, beaches and wildlife sites. Hotels are a bit variable; some pretty good, others not. With one outstanding exception local guides were quite poor, able only to recite a script. Shopping opportunities were contrived too frequently and I got thoroughly fed up with them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wildlife.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good organiser and knowledgeable about anything agricultural but cld do with improving his knowledge about cultural aspects.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a couple of extra days at the end of the trip to rest before traveling home.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The tipping arrangements are unsatisfactory and got some people quite worked up. If Exodus's advice on tipping is followed it adds about £150 per person to the price. This is quite a lot and understandably some people don't want to pay that much extra. On the other hand those who do pay it feel they are subsiding those who don't. It wld be better for Exodus to charge a bit more and relieve customers of the tipping burden. Incidentally, no account was provided for the kitty that the leader collected from customers to tip guides and hotel staff. This was a substantial amount in total, over £500, and customers are entitled to know how it was spent and to have returned anything left over
Call us on 1 800 267 3347