Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2017
    Roslyn Hayles

    Mountains,Temples and Mystics

    A fantastic trip which covered so many religions, landscapes and local rituals. An off the beaten yrack tour with a lot to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definitely The Golden Temple in Amritsar closely followed by the Delai Lamas temple in McCleod Ganj.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Phillippa was fantastic. Her knowledge of the area was outstanding. She was always helpful and organised.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this trip. You won't regret it.6
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Jim Clarke

    A tour of contrasts

    A tour of northern India which really offers you two very contrasting experiences of this amazing country. Starting in the Punjab at Amritsar with the Golden Temple you get to sense the devotion and frenetic energy this place creates; moving up to the mountains you experience a totally different way of life as seen through the lives of the different communities, contrasting completely with the tourist hotspot that is Agra and all its sights to end with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The major tourist sights do not disappoint, living up to expectations and not being spoilt by seeing some of them again after 30 years but it was the mountain sections of this trip that really inspired me. The rural villages and shrines that we spent time in on the way up to McLeod Ganj and Dharamsala showed a way of life that had not changed; the Tibetan communities we spent time with revealled an insight to their nature and aspirations - the opportunity to attend an audience with the Dalai Lama was an unexpected bonus, the more because it is not available generally. Shimla was a gem, if cold at night and the descent to the Plains an experience to savour on the 'Toy Train'.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jeremy, Philippa's husband, was a real find. Stepping in to cover the trip he revealled a depth of knowledge and understanding of India that rivalled that of Mark Tully! The perfect guide, he negotiated the difficulties encountered on the trip with consimate ease and when faced with a real crisis created by the government decision to demonitarise the large currency notes at 3 hours notice, his experience of living in India for so long proved invaluable in easing our way through the remainder of the trip. A true scholar and a gent as well as a brilliant travelling companion.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In November bear in mind that the mountains are cold at night though quite warm in the day so layers are in order. Many of the hotels have their own quirky hot water systems so make sure the porter who brings your bags to the room shows you how to turn on the boiler if it is room based - sink plugs are also not to be relied on so bring a travel plug!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An excellent trip that gives a real insight into the India that is away from the tourist route but also incorporates major sights, a superb balance of an itinery that needs to be experienced.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Kevin Edgington

    Truly epic trip through the holy places of Northern India... "Indeed"

    This was a truly spectacular trip introducing us to some utterly enchanting, captivating and magical places. It really felt as if we were off the beaten track until the last couple of days when we arrived in Delhi and Agra. We visited many small, beautiful, authentic Indian villages where the only tourists that were ever seen were probably on this trip! We visited many temples from various faiths, some of the tiny Hindu temples were amazing, including the rock cut temple at Masroor. But others were just as spectacular including the Tibetan temples in McLeod Ganj, and we finished in Agra to visit the Mughul monuments including the spectacular Taj Mahal. Visiting so many small places off the beaten track really allowed us to experience the amazing, beautiful, open hearted people of India, which was one of the highlights for me. The Viceroy's Toy Train from Shimla to Kalka was also a amazing experience. A highly recommended trip , and a perfect introduction to an awesome country away from the hassle and chaos of the tourist hot spots.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most amazing part of the trip for me were the visits to The Golden Temple at Amritsar on the very first night and subsequent first morning. It is a spectacular place, a fabulous building but it is the people that really made it come alive! Thousands of beautiful friendly, colourful, happy Sikhs undertaking their pilgrimage to their holiest temple. They were so welcoming, and it was an extraordinary introduction to the colour, warmth and joy of India. We were befriended by so many people, and found ourselves regularly asked to be in photographs with other visitors. The kitchens were also amazing, hundreds of volunteers helping out, absolute chaos and noise in total synchronisation as everything was cooked and cleaned up in no time for sittings every 15 minutes or so. It was the perfect way to start the trip on a high! I will never forget this wonderful place and its wonderful people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Philippa was absolutely amazing. As a long term resident of McLeod Ganj she knew the various cultures inside and out, introduced us to some wonderful intimate places off the usual tourist trail. We visited the Tibetan Nunnery, and a local health centre doing great things, both places where Philippa herself worked and volunteered. She had a amazing knowledge of Buddhism as a practitioner and also the other faiths that added real depth to our visits to the many temples and holy places. A fabulous tour leader. Can't thank her enough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's not an arduous trip in terms of physical exertion but there is a fair amount of travelling on quite small roads in the north of the country, short distances can take quite a while to cover, some days we were travelling for 5/6 hours although there were regular breaks. The food was fantastic and there were few issues in the group with upset stomachs. Some of the hotels were less than spectacular but the worst is likely to be changed!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a brilliant trip, with an amazing leader, and a great group of people. A highly recommended to introduction to India, that has only fuelled my desire to return! Soon!
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Jane Spooner

    Mountains, Temples & Hill Stations

    An excellent trip providing an insight into north western India. When we reached McLeod Ganj it was as though we'd crossed the border into Tibet. We met very few western tourists until Shimla and Agra. The Toy Train from Shimla is superb. This tour was exceptional due to Philippa's in depth knowledge and contacts.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our first magical glimpse of The Golden Temple at Amritsar at night sparkling in the lake

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Philippa was an excellent leader. Having lived in India for 30 years, her knowledge and insight into the country was exceptional. She also introduced us to many of her interesting friends which provided experiences we wouldn't have had on a standard tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You can get a better exchange rate at money changers rather than at Delhi or Amritsar airport. Many of the hotels don't have heating in the bedrooms so take warm clothing if travelling during the winter months.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Sarah Clachan

    Quart into a pint pot

    This holiday of 2 weeks fitted so much in, we felt we had been on at least 4 separate trips. Even for experienced Indian travellers, this group tour is recommended as you just would not know about all the amazing places visited along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to the Golden Temple at night was extremely moving, it was very peaceful and visitors were welcomed without question.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent tour leading from Philippa Russell. She is very generous in spirit and a mine of information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take mosquito repellent.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Rob Alleway

    Fascinating tour

    This was a fascinating tour which had something every day which was special. The trip takes you to places less travelled by tourists, and gives insight into Indian and Tibetan life. The tour moves at some pace and there is a lot to take in. The scenery in places is breathtaking, rubbing along with Indian life was always interesting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were memorable moments every day of this trip. On the first evening in India we were taken to the Golden Temple in Amritsar. Turning a corner and catching a glimpse of it at night was breathtaking

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Phillipa is a bit of a special lady. We felt very blessed to have her lead the trip. She has an encyclopedic knowledge of Indian culture, Phillipa guided us gently through this tour and was a joy to have as company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow, take decent walking shoes.
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Susan Barnes

    Mountains, temples and hill stations.

    A fascinating trip . Busy, very well organised, but certainly not leisurely.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Golden Temple . Visiting McLeod Ganj. Seeing the snow capped peaks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Philippa Russell was brilliant. She has a deep knowledge and a great love for all things Tibetan , for Buddhism, other religions, history and life itself. She was happy to share her knowledge with us, never tiring of explaining events in a most interesting way. Her patience and enthusiasm shone through and we felt extremely privileged to have had her as our leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a fascinating journey through a part of India that is 'off the beaten track'. Be prepared for longish drives on poor roads in part, but fantastic scenery along the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I do not think this is a usual tour for a 'first timer' to India. We had all been to Agra before, some of us more than once!! I would not want the trip to be shortened. I would suggest a second night at The Mirage in Andretta and another night at Norbulingka or McLeod Ganj so a day trek into the foothills could be arranged. Return to Delhi as in the programme and fly home from there.
  • Reviewed November 2014
    Anonymous

    Mountains, Temples and Hiil Stations

    A great trip with wonderful experiences accompanied by a wonderful leader

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the Dalai Lama

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Philippa Russell was an excellent, caring , knowledgeable leader - she took the time to get to know us as individuals. Her organisational skills were second to none and her local knowledge and experience ensured we gained the most from our trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow ! - Carry and use hand washing gel. A busy trip with some long journeys on some poor roads but worth it all.
  • Reviewed November 2014
    Anonymous

    The fabulous foothills of India

    Other than the mayhem of the Golden Temple in Amritsar, this trip is gentle, relatively cool, green and uncrowded.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the Dali Lama!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Phillipa has lived in India most of her adult life and fits right in. Being confronted with the crowds at the Golden Temple made me wish she were a little taller or were wearing a fluoro scarf so we could find her in the crush. But she managed to gather us up somehow. She's a lovely lady with a heart of gold.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was cold and raining in Shimla, but that was only 2 days so don't overdo the cold weather gear. A lot of the places are very basic so take anything you might need from a pharmacy. I had anti fungal cream and needed it for tinea after walking through the "cleansing" water at the Golden Temple after a thousand Indians had been before me.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are a lot of group dinners, often because there is nowhere else to eat other than what Phillipa organises. Sometimes you have to eat in the hotel because of the size of the group so researching a good restaurant in a town would give you a break from the group. Carry a bit of food as some meals end up quite late.
  • Reviewed July 2014
    Janet Robertson

    Mountains, Temples and Hill Stations

    Oh my word, where to begin. I am an India aficionado and have travelled the length and breadth of the country. My two weeks on this tour were totally incredible, the journey indescribable. Our tour guide, Philippa, was a constant fountain of information, such a knowledgeable, caring asset to the company and her charges. The tour took me to new places with rewarding experiences, all of which were splendid. Philippa introduced me to a Nun practicing in one area who recommended ayurvedic medicine for me, extremely worthwhile.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Tibetan Children's Village - the work being carried out there and the determination of those involved to improve the lives of their charges and educate their beautiful minds is indescribable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class and who was continually introducing the group to new experiences.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was my first tour with Exodus and it most definitely will not be my last.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The group consisted of a cross section of ages, who interacted throughout the tour. Naturally we all had one important factor in common, we were seasoned travellers.
Call us on 1 800 267 3347