Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Carole Quinn

    A fantastic week

    This was a great holiday & I'd thoroughly recommend it. The walks were far more strenuous than I expected but the views were spectacular which made it all worthwhile.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking down into Portofino - so picturesque. Also the stunning Cinque Terre with the coloured houses - amazing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michaela was lovely. Friendly, helpful & knowledgeable - everything you could want from a group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the brief properly & do some walks or gym work to prepare for this trip. Wear appropriate footwear - this is serious walking - it's very steep in places with uneven surfaces. Walking poles are definitely useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved this holiday but felt that the level 3 (moderate) was not sufficient. It was considerably harder than I expected it to be & that appeared to be the general consensus of the group. Our leader organised dinner options for the evenings & it was much appreciated particularly by the solo travellers.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    JANET ALLAN

    Great times in Italy

    I flew from Manchester and made my own way to the hotel in Moneglia. The travel instructions were easy to follow. I met the rest of the group later that evening. Michela Wicks was our excellent guide. She put no pressure on us to do the walks and offered alternative activities. The walks were as tough as I expected but the weather was good for walking. We had lots of stops and time to enjoy the various villages. Michela took us to various restaurants at night in Moneglia but it was not compulsory to join the group. As a group we gelled well and enjoyed everyone's company. The Hotel Piccolo was very comfortable, a good breakfast choice and a small pool with waterjets to ease the aching muscles and knees. Bathing in the sea was also pleasant. The weather wasn't good on our day off so on Michela's advice a group of us went to Chiavari which was very interesting (although most shops and the cathedral were shut between 12-3.30). We had a lovely pre-dinner wine tasting one night which was included in the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Surviving the walks! I have trouble with my knees especially going downhill but we were never rushed. I enjoyed spending time with the group. I have done a number of group holidays and there has always been a good mix of people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michela was excellent and wanted us all to enjoy our holiday. I certainly did.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The distances covered in the walks are not long but feel much further due to the ascents and descents. Walking boots are essential. If the weather is inclement(!) and the guide cancels the planned walk there is a good reason. The paths would be really slippery and dangerous. We were lucky. The trains are excellent for getting about. I like tea so always take a kettle and teabags away with me to have in the room. Don't expect nightlife!!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Dami Jaiyesimi

    Fantastic

    Stunning scenery, great guide, very well organised.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A lot of stunning and memorable sights but my favourite was stopping for Lunch at the Mintellect hilltop restaurant in Rapallo. Great company, great views, great risotto!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michela was great - Very helpful, resourceful and patient.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you're fit! I would rate this a 5 out of 10 not a 3.....!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was fab- thank you. Perhaps an earlier transfer to Pisa on the last day so people can explore Pisa and see the tower.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Angela HORTON

    Stunning views of Cinque Terre & Portofino

    Moneglia, a small seaside resort, was a great base for our walking holiday away from the crowds of the more popular villages of Cinque Terre. The Hotel Piccolo was perfectand the staff were very friendly. Our room was spacious and clean with a safe and tea and coffee making facilities. We also had a small balcony where we could sit and have a beer but there was also a sun terrace with a jacuzzi and outside terraces facing the street to sit on and have a drink with our group. It was great to have access to the indoor swimming pool at the end of the day's walk but unfortunately the sauna was never switched on. Breakfast was more than adequate with a limited range of cereals, scrambled eggs and bacon, ham and cheese, bread, fruit, yogurt and cakes. The daily walks all started with a trip to the train station to get us to the start of our walk.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views as we approached the Cinque Terre villages were stunning particularly on the walk from Corniglia to Manarola along the terraces. Our walk and time spent in Portofino Seeing the dolphin whilst walking to the villages. View of the villages from the boat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michela Wicks was an exceptional leader. She has a wonderful, warm personality with a great sense of humour together with great organisational skills, which ensured the daily travel arrangements by train at the start and end of the walks ran smoothly. She chose a good range of restaurants for the group evening meals but allowed flexibility for those that wanted to do their own thing. Michela was also happy to stay with the group at breakfast and dinner which gave us the opportunity to learn so much about her country. Michela went beyond the call of duty on our free day and gave lots of advice to different members of the group ensuring that everyone was able to achieve what they wanted. Michela also gave alternative options to members of the group who for various reasons had to miss some of the walks. Whilst they might have missed a walk she made sure that they still accessed the beautiful villages and had a wonderful holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes! It's a level 3 which means you are going to need your walking boots and if you are not used to walking 7 - 8 miles a day, up and down hills you are likely to find it difficult. As the ascents and descents are 200-300 metres you may find a walking pole useful but practise before you go, you don't want to be waving it around injurying fellow walkers. It was very hot in October so a 1-2 litre water bottle is useful. There are generally places to refill at lunchtime.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Cinque Terre villages particularly Vernazza, Manarola and Riomaggiore were incredibly busy during the week 6th - 13th October so be prepared for crowds. Generally the paths were quiet until you were close to a village. The train service is excellent and generally runs on time with plenty of seats. Announcements are in Italian and English so easy to use on your free day.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    nadia nashid

    Ciquo Terre

    Michela Wicks , is a great leader . Encouraging , up beat , Kind and Knowledgeable . Location of Hotel is good .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to climbe the mountain , from Monorolla

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Early October was still crowded in the towns of Cinquo terre
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Mary Jane Melink

    ?

    The town of Moneglia was perfect. Picturesque and away from the crowds, with the same charm and beauty of the other cities. The Piccolo Hotel facility was great and the staff was wonderful. Helpful and friendly people. Our leader Paul was also very good. He was knowledgeable, kind, funny and truly interested in making sure that everyone on the trip had a great time. The hikes were beautiful and a nice combination of challenging and relaxing. The train to and from each hike added to the interest of the hiking. It was a great trip and great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views were inspiring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul was a great leader. He worked hard to insure that all members of the group felt good about the experience and he recognized that everyone has different skills and capabilities. Paul was engaging and interested in getting to know group members and was willing to go the extra mile to be sure that everyone was taken care of.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Parts of the hike were challenging so be prepared for uphills, stairs and narrow trails.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Mary Jane Melink

    ?

    The town of Moneglia was perfect. Picturesque and away from the crowds, with the same charm and beauty of the other cities. The Piccolo Hotel facility was great and the staff was wonderful. Helpful and friendly people. Our leader Paul was also very good. He was knowledgeable, kind, funny and truly interested in making sure that everyone on the trip had a great time. The hikes were beautiful and a nice combination of challenging and relaxing. The train to and from each hike added to the interest of the hiking. It was a great trip and great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views were inspiring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul was a great leader. He worked hard to insure that all members of the group felt good about the experience and he recognized that everyone has different skills and capabilities. Paul was engaging and interested in getting to know group members and was willing to go the extra mile to be sure that everyone was taken care of.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Parts of the hike were challenging so be prepared for uphills, stairs and narrow trails.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Laura Milburn

    N/a

    Really enjoyed my first Exodus trip. The guided walks were well-organised and planned. The practical information provided was also helpful e.g suggestions of where to eat.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Cinque Terre with my own eyes having looked at pictures of them for so long.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Approachable, informative and well-organised.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Always pack water proofs even if you think that it is unlikely that it will rain in a particular country during a given month.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I look forward to booking my next trip with Exodus.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    D D

    Steptastic Italian Adventure

    A well structured trip that takes in both the famous Cinque Terra villages, but also some less frequented and equally stunning hiking routes. There is plenty to do in this area and Moneglia is a good base, as it is lively without being overrun with tourists, which is sadly the case in some of the other towns nearby. Eating out most evenings means you get to experience authentic and varied Italian cuisine and the hotel is comfortable and welcoming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most of the walks featured stunning views and numerous spontaneous swimming opportunities, which was great fun after a hot day's walking! Whilst it is good to have seen the Cinque Terra villages, I would not rate these as the highlight of the trip, unless you enjoy large crowds :-)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul was an excellent leader. His meticulous organization of the daily travel arrangements at the start and end of the walks meant the days ran smoothly and we were able to enjoy some free time for swimming etc after the walks. He also selected a good range of local restaurants for the evening meals. He went beyond the call of duty, helping organize activities for the free day and managing a group, whose different fitness levels made organization very challenging at times. An excellent advert for Exodus!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Whilst this trip is graded as moderate, the geography of the area means nothing is flat and most walks involve at least 200 m of ascent and descent, much of this on steps. Poles and proper walking boots are absolutely essential. It can also get very hot and humid, which should not be underestimated when climbing up steps, even if you are relatively fit. This is also first and foremost a trekking holiday and not just city touring with some walking thrown in!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jane Byrne

    Wonderful scenery and walking plus great food and wine

    This was a wonderful week. The scenery is magnificent and the Cinque Terre villages are as beautiful as i hoped, despite the crowds you can still appreciate the unique atmosphere and architecture of these tiny villages. Several times we walked through lovely flowers or woods. The hotel is just across the road from a Blue Flag beach with safe swimming , lovely after a hard walk. Local food is tasty and affordable and especially good if you like anchovies and ice cream (not together!) The walking is strenuous going up the cliffs at the start of the day and down at the end, but there is plenty of time allowed and the "level" parts are well surfaced and easy. I really reccommend this holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1 Completing the walks without undue tiredness 2 The wine tasting 3 Lucca on the free day 4 The tasting menu on the last night

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - full of knowledge about the local area, very helpful with suggestions and travel arrangements for the free day. Great sense of humour. Provided biscuits on the walks!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I find the "cliff" element of holidays like this hard to train for, but sessions on a step machine plus at long last learning to go slow uphill really helped. On no account should you miss the wine tasting - as a very occasional wine drinker I can honestly say this was like nectar and opened my eyes to wonderful wine. For the free day I reccommend Lucca - the train journey is worth it for the great historic old town with many impressive buildings and also art.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Most restaurants charge between 20 and 25 Euros for one course plus wine, water, ice cream and coffee. I found I needed more money than the trip notes suggested and it is most definitively worth budgetting for lunch at Portofino and the tasting menu at the Asirto restaurant.
Call us on 1 800 267 3347