Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    S Patel

    So beautiful.

    Such a beautiful week of walking made special by a great group and a fantastic guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful views along the coast line of Cinque Terre and Portofino made every step along the trail worthwhile.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Michela Wicks was fantastic. Although our main reason for going was to see the fantastic views, the trip was made even more perfect by Michela, who worked hard to make sure we got to each place in good time to make the most of our day. She made sure we understood what was expected on each day of walking and was clear about what we had to take on our walk. She made sure we stopped to drink water and because of this made sure we got back to our base town safely and in good health.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Follow the guides given by Exodus on making sure you choose the right level of walks for your fitness and make sure you listen to your guides expert knowledge to keep safe on some of the more energetic walks.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Ruth FLOWERS

    Steps galore!

    The villages of the Cinque Terre are remarkable, clinging to the cliff edge by magic. Reaching them along the coastal paths involves walking busy routes with LOTS of vertical steps. Achievable as long as the walk leader allows time for enough drink breaks and the fact that it is very easy to get caught behind a slower group so time to re-group is vital. The walk to Portofino was nice, quite a short day so a good break between visiting the Cinque Terre. Without the excellent train service serving this region this trip wouldn't work. An interesting tour with varied nationalities and personalities

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views of the Cinque from a boat

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A hasty leader and a little rude at times but knew the area well enough

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be advised that the steps on the coastal path to the Cinque Terre villages are uneven and steep. Walking poles were essential for the descents. Take plenty of snacks and water
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Valerie Smith

    Cinque Terra

    Fantastic views. Great guide

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fact that I could manage all the walks

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellant
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Carolyn Finch

    Walks in the Cinque Terre and Portofino

    Fantastic holiday in a beautiful part of Italy with excellent food and wine and an entertaining group of fellow walkers. I enjoyed all the walks but especially those through the forests where we didn't meet another soul.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching a lightning storm whilst sheltering safely was exhilarating. I also loved visiting Lucca on the free day and cycling round the city wall on a hire bike.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought Paul did a good job, given that he arrived in the resort at the same time as we did. He recommended and reserved some excellent restaurants for us; the food and wine was a definite highlight of the holiday. He also came up with an alternative "wet weather" walk when bad weather shut the Cinque Terre and that walk (including the storm) was another of my highlights.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are very steep in parts so a good fitness level is required. I'd done a couple of level 2/3 trips before and found this level 3 trip to be noticeably more difficult than those. Mind you, I was a lot fitter by the end of the week and the views definitely make the effort worthwhile. I went on this trip towards the end of the season. I think this was a good move because it meant the Cinque Terre paths and towns were not as busy as they would be in the summer.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Joanna Jackson

    Walks of the Cinque Terre

    I had a good holiday because of the lovely people on the trip. The hotel was nice and clean. Restaurants that we went to were great with one exceptional-'Asserto'. It could have been very different. The organisation was pretty shambolic and we sort of muddled through. Many of the paths were shut and open ones were packed with other walkers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A concert in the 13c church

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Started badly but he grew on us. It seemed he had been catapulted into this trip.-didn't know the status of the paths or train times. Also he couldn't speak much Italian neither could Albert who was shadowing him and who also takes tours in Italy so obviously this was not a one off situation. I was amazed and appalled that tour leaders on Exodus holidays aren't fluent in the local language. Not their fault-you employed them but I would consider that a pre-requisite of a guide as well as knowledge of the walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I probably would not recommend this tour to anyone and definitely will look at alternative operators for other European trips. I have been to Sri Lanka with Exodus and it was very good.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Debby Horsman

    Walks of the Cinque Terra and Portofino

    We have done many Exodus walking holidays, usually Grade 3. This had the usual country paths and ups and downs but included the chance to see and swim in the sea every day and to travel on local trains. The base town was not too touristy so we could get a sense of real Italian life. A single centre in a family-run hotel made for a relaxed and comfortable time

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from the cable car and as we descended into Positano were beautiful. Local people were friendly and some of the restaurant meals were superb (all were good). The wine tasting evening was outstanding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suzy's long experience as a leader really showed. She was knowledgeable, considerate and she made every effort to ensure that each of us had a good time. Although she was not Italian, her command of the language ensured that everything ran smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We had excellent weather after the first day but some paths were quite steep and somewhat insecure in places after recent heavy rain. Walking poles were very useful both for stability and to ease pressure on our knees on long ascents/descents.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    After (I think) a total of 12 Exodus holidays we know we can trust your planning and staff but this really was a great choice for us. Back to the brochure....
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Kurt Mills

    Great Week

    This was a great holiday. Well planned out. The walks were varied - and all with beautiful views. In the evenings, Suzy took us to some great restaurants. On the walk to Portofino we stopped off at a restaurant in the hills where the tomatoes for the caprese salad were plucked off the vine next to the restaurant - fantastic. The hotel was nice, and very close to the beach. The wine tasting, with somebody who was passionate about the wines of the region, was fascinating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking down into Portofino.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suzy was great. Was knowledgeable about the region. Everything was well organised and when changes needed to be made at the last minute she was able to figure out alternate arrangements quickly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks varied in difficulty, with the first day definitely the hardest. There were some very steep extended descents - poles definitely came in handy on that first day, as well as when we descended from Montallegro to Chiavari. The walks in the Cinque Terre were great, although there was not a lot of time in the villages themselves. However, you can easily use the free day to spend more time in them, as well as in Portovenere - the boat trip out is recommended. Food is expensive - especially the restaurants we went to in the evenings, so be prepared... Also, just a note that the trip notes mention the Via Dell'Amore. Unfortunately, this has been closed since 2011 as a result of a landslide, and doesn't appear to be reopening anytime soon because of bickering over who will pay to repair it, so we did not get to do it. This was not a major loss since all the other walking was great, but something that Exodus might want to change in the trip notes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it - and then plan to spend another week in the area afterwards like we did - you will not want to leave.
  • Reviewed May 2016
    Martin Rollason

    Cinque Terre and Portofino

    An excellent holiday. Good walking and great locations visited on the Ligurian coast. Ample time allowed to explore the various villages visited. Good food - especially at the "Gourmet Evenings".

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Portofino. The views on the walk into the village were wonderful and the village itself lived up to its reputation.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good - he interacted well with the group and kept us informed of the plans for the following day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Budget for a couple of expensive meals - the gourmet evenings. Lunches at the villages are good value if you buy slices of pizza, focaccia etc from take away shops.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Quite an expensive holiday, with most meals having to be paid for separately. However well worth the cost
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Lynn Roulstone

    Fantastic holiday

    A wonderful way to spend a week, walking the beautiful Ligurian coast, visiting the Cinque Terre villages and Portofino. The walks are well planned stopping at great places to eat lunch (Lots of good places in Moneglia to pick up a delicious slice of focaccia). Moneglia was a very pleasant town with a great atmosphere, ideal for strolling round on a warm evening. The hotel was very pleasant, and I liked the breakfasts, though fans of a Full English will be disappointed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking across to the village of Volastra while walking from Riomaggiore to Corneglia, the blueness of the sea, the wooded paths of the Portofino perninsula.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emily was great, well organised, patient and funny. We'd never done this sort of holiday before and she completely put us at our ease.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks were a bit tougher than I expected, I hadn't factored in the gradient or the heat. Certainly make sure to take a pair of good walking shoes, I very nearly didn't.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wasn't sure whether I'd like going on an organised group holiday, but I loved it, and will certainly be looking to do another one next year.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Phil Watson

    Beautiful scenery and rewarding walks

    A very pleasant week exploring the coastal walks. Emily, our guide, was very well prepared and flexed the week to suit recent feedback, weather and the needs of the group members. Due to the hot weather, several of the walks were strenuous in places, but always rewarded us with spectacular views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the steep sided vineyards on the way to Corneglia on our last day, with the sea sparkling below, pinching the odd grape and blackberry along the path.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good humoured, well prepared and very tall :-)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking boots with ankle support and then flipflops as soon as you finish the walk!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was great- especially if you enjoy seafood, gelato and focaccia! The family run Piccolo Hotel was a little gem, a minute from the beach, with very good breakfast and lots of good restaurants close by.
Call us on 1 800 267 3347