Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2017
    Christina Brown

    Adrenaline filled week of fun!

    Me (22) and my brother (20) have recently returned from this trip and despite our bodies being ready for a rest we definitely did not want to leave this beautiful country. We hadn't considered Slovenia as a holiday destination but when we came across this trip it sounded perfect for us and it definitely went beyond all our expectations! Slovenia is such a beautiful country, from the minute we stepped of the plane we couldn't stop admiring the views of the beautiful houses, mountains and turquoise rivers that surrounded us everywhere we went and every activity we done. Our leader Tilen was so welcoming and organised so the trip was hassle free which was good for us as we don't have much experience travelling abroad. Tilen and all the other leaders on the trips were very friendly, supportive and fun so all the activities ran smoothly and were incredibly fun - even if some are quite tiring. I was pretty useless at kayaking at first but the leaders were very patient and within an hour I was paddling in a straight line and keeping up with the group, even though I did capsize but that was all part of the fun! The activities on this holiday are awesome and even though our group was mixed ages and abilities we all partook and enjoyed every activity. I didn't think I would manage the mountain biking but the route was manageable and even though it was hard work at times I still enjoyed it and was happy that I managed to do every activity offered. Canyoning and paragliding were mine and my brothers favourite activities and my brother even braved the advanced canyoning and despite wobbly legs at the top of some jumps managed to do them all and had the best time whilst doing it! The group we were with were all great fun and made the trip such a laugh, especially in the evenings after our long tiring days everyone kept spirits high. The hotel is great also: lovely variety of food; comfortable, clean rooms; and very friendly staff who speak good English. Overall, this holiday was definitely 10/10 and we both had the most amazing time and would recommend it to anyone looking for a holiday with adventurous activities included.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When doing all the activities on the Soca river and taking in the amazing views all around us, while trying to stay afloat on our raft, kayak and tubes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tilen was super helpful, fun and organised which made the trip run very smoothly. He also kept spirits high when people started to tire and had great knowledge of the area - especially where to find the best places to eat.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most places whilst out there do not take card so we found that we had to withdraw more cash than expected. However this was not a big issue as there is a cash machine in the town which is about a 20 minute walk away. Take a couple of swimming costumes and towels if they fit in your case as you will be on the water quite a lot and sometimes our towel wasn't dry by the next day. Also I over packed outfits as most of the week you will be in wet-suits and wet shoes (which are all provided) but it was nice to have a change of clothes for the evening meals.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Celia Akers

    Slovenia mixed activity (over 16)

    This holiday was everything I hoped for and more. I've been back a week and am still smiling! The Kobarid area of Slovenia is stunningly beautiful with towering , rugged mountains and clear turquoise water in the Soca river that's clean enough to drink which is handy while you're rafting or canoeing. The guides were all great : accomodating of different people's needs and wants, informative, fun , safety conscious and supportive without being pushy or competitive. Tilen especially deserves a huge THANK YOU for working so hard all week and calling at the hotel every evening to plan the following day , and still having a sense of humour even when he looked exhausted. I loved the white water rafting and white water kayaking and could have done more. It was plenty exciting enough for me although other people who had done white water rafting before thought it was a bit tame. The first zip wire was terrifying (at 1,300 metres altitude) but all the others were fantastic and I just enjoyed the view at high speed. I chickened out of the canyoning and was chief photographer while my teenage daughter did it with the rest of the group and her verdict was it was AMAZING. The mountain biking was more challenging than we could manage (but then we do live in Cambridge where the only "hill" is the railway bridge) but we did our own thing on tarmac roads and really enjoyed it. All the equipment seemed to be really good quality. The weather changed towards the end of the week so we wern't able to go paragliding unfortunately but instead a minibus was organised to Tolmin Gorge for a lovely walk in more spectacular scenery. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and the staff bent over backwards to keep us all happy. It really seemed to matter that we had a good time. I was anxious about how my daughter's vegan and wheat free diet would be catered for but I needn't have worried.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The kayaking which was almost a full day's activity, unlike the others which were a half day each. The introductory bit on the lake, the peace of floating down the turquoise river looking up at the mountains, feeling like a tiny part of humanity in the awe inspiring landscape, and the exhilaration of following the guide down the white water without capsizing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tilen could not have been better. All the guides were great but I think we had the best! He was genuinely concerned that we all had a good time, accomodating, funny, was very safety conscious, discreetly helped the less fit of us without it becoming an issue, and gave equal attention and concern to us oldies even though there was a posse of attractive young women competing for his attention! Considering he's only 22 he has a lot of maturity and is an all round good guy!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Allow at leasr an extra 150 Euros for additional activities in the afternoons or for hiring bikes so you can get further afield. They're not compulsory but most people did extra activities as there's not much else to do unless you like walking. It's worth visiting the "museum" in the village about 2 minutes walk from the hotel. It's actually a barn stuffed full of memorabilia from mainly World War l but also WWll collected by a villager. We turned up on the doorstep and were shown around by his grandson who helped to pick the things up from the mountains as a child. The Kobarid history walk was really interesting too and included a waterfall, ancient settlement and WWl Italian trenches. The Slovenians tend to underestimate the amount of time it takes to walk places! Maybe they're all super fit or don't stop to look at things, but if you're told a walk will take an hour, allow two! The woods are so peaceful if you need to recharge your batteries after all the adrenalin. Didn't see any brown bears unfortunately, but my daughter had very close contact with two deer. Take earplugs as the church bell rings (a lot) at 6.15am. Even with earplugs it woke me up every morning except the last two when I'd got used to it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We flew out 3 days early at no extra cost and stayed in the capital Ljubljana first. It's well worth seeing and is small enough to walk everywhere. The castle is really interesting and gives a great view of the city, and make sure you explore the old town and hang around by the river.
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Sarah Head

    sLOVEnia

    Slovenia: Simply stunning scenery - lush green mountains surrounding the crystal clear waters of the Soca river. Positive Sport, Kobarid: a range of adventurous activities led/organised by expert, friendly guides. Hotel Jazbec, Idrsko: Comfortable, clean hotel rooms, delicious fresh food and friendly staff. Overall: An amazing holiday!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    From start to finish this holiday was more than I could have hoped for. I wasn't expecting the sheer beauty of Slovenia and so being on an outdoor activity holiday in such a stunning location was unforgettable. Every single activity that was organised by Positive Sport was led by confident guides who had safety as their priority, but who also ensured that our group had fun. My favourite activity was white-water rafting because it had everything: excitement on the rapids; jumping from rocks into rapids; as well as calm moments taking in the views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tilen was an excellent group leader who worked extremely hard throughout the week. With a friendly manner, good knowledge of the local area and great organisational skills, he was able to make sure that everyone got the most out of their holiday free-time. All the other Positive Sport guides were great at encouraging us, keeping us safe and having fun at the same time! A great company for Exodus to be linked with!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want a relaxing afternoon activity, go tubing down the river!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I feel lucky to have gone on this trip with a great group of people - I will definitely be doing more trips through Exodus I am also looking forward to exploring more of sLOVEnia!
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Katie Shilton

    AVQ Slovenia Mixed Activity 11 July

    This is a great activity holiday with a wide range of activities. The activities are suitable for people without any previous experience of them, although perhaps for those who are experienced in rafting and kayaking the rapids may not be big enough, I went in July and the water level was quite low in places. The hotel is really nice, the staff are super friendly and the food was good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I found the beautiful scenery inspirational, and would definitely recommend the optional paragliding which was worth the money as we were in the air for quite a while over a stunning landscape. I also really enjoyed the canyoning which I was pretty nervous about beforehand but it was great fun and always felt safe. Using the rocks as waterslides was amazing! Also, I was fortunate to have a wonderful group, we were all very supportive of each other and had a really good laugh.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Blaz (sorry, I don't think that is spelt correctly) was great. He was really helpful in making sure people got to do any additional activities that they wanted and was generally a really friendly nice guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a woman, I personally I found a tankini with shorts useful rather than a bikini as you are in and out of wetsuits quite a bit and for the canyoning you walk uphill for about 20minutes just in your swimwear. Also, take a torch for if you want to walk back from Kobarid to the hotel after dark.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Brilliant holiday which I wish I could do all over again!
  • Reviewed September 2014
    James Guilliatt

    White water - not extreme, but good fun

    Good introduction to kayaking, canyoning and white water, however more experienced water sports enthusiasts may find it is not challenging enough. Plenty of other activities to do whilst there too such as MTB (Mountain Biking), Paragliding, Museums, Escape indoor logic Maze, hill walking, Zorbing, horse riding, the list goes on. Accommodation was very clean, well catered and spacious, local area has great restaurants and supermarkets.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Renting mountain bikes and rode to what felt like the top of the world at a place called TOLMINSKE RAVNE. Google image it, its beautiful! Hard ride up though, so make sure your fit! Had a meal with the guides at a local camp site restaurant , I had a steak the size of a rugby ball and it was cooked perfectly! Great alpine atmosphere and chance to know the guides better.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great laugh and very knowledgeable of the area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Beer is cheaper in Kobarid (the town) than the hotel but the hotel house wine was 1EUR a glass at the time we travelled. Don't forget mosquito spray, not horrendous amounts of insects but enough for a few bites. Bring extra cash for alternative or extra activities if you like to cram a lot in to your holiday. Local camp site does amazing pancakes and steak meals, ask your guides - do not miss this restaurant.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want more challenging, adrenaline rush trips then ask the guides who will try and cater for your needs. The locals are super friendly!
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA WHITEWATER

    Jolly good fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is a really fun trip, getting wet and thrown about on the rapids. Getting into a wetsuit every day was not so fun but I think I found a few new muscles! Ziplining is a must, such an adrenaline rush and what a view! The mountain vistas from everywhere along the river were beautiful and tranquil, and the weather in August was superb (over 30 almost hit 40 at one point). Also the hotel we stayed at was wonderful, we had a 3 course meal every evening, very accomodating to vegetarians and surprise birthday celebrations :)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All our instructors were fabulous (and quite good looking I must say!) Always relaxed and joking, we always felt safe and well looked after. Blaz (tour leader) visited us every evening at dinner to discuss what to do the next day. There was always a good selection although some things are dependent on the weather e.g. paragliding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you get motion sickness bring some tablets, the 2 hour coach trip to Kobarid turned my stomach (and I don't normally suffer from it.) Ladies I recommend take a swimsuit or two rather than a bikini, you will be changing into a wetsuit out in the open every day! Also be aware that even though a lot of activities are included there is also a lot of free time. Budget an additional 150-200 Euros for extra activities to fill it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    While this was a fab trip and I'd go again, there were only 3 weeks out of the year that this trip was running. The only solo trip was in August (when all the other reviews said the water level was really low) and we had the same problem trying to scooch our kayaks over rocks in sections with less than 6ins of water. Not sure if more dates will be available in the future or who's decision that is, but I'd welcome an opportunity to try rafting in higher water :)
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA WHITEWATER

    Well organised, lots of fun and a great group of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots of moments I will always remember, kayaking down the rapids and at the calmer moments managing to look around at a stunning view.  The guides were always very relaxed and you always felt in safe hand.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great group leader always did his best to work round the additional activities that anyone in the group wanted to doo. Relaxed friendly chatting and had lot of good suggestions about what to do.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were told a lot that it was unusual weather but when we were there it was in the high 38c (I was there mid August) I would recommend that you take shorts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommend lot of fun and great company. The room sharing was easy too as they pare you with same sex person of closest age. More fun to share as doing did solo traveller.
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA WHITEWATER

    It was a really good trip and everyone could do the activities - no-one should worry about that if considering! Positive Sport (who organise everything in Slovenia) are fantastic and Blas is great. They all genuinely want you to have a fantastic time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was an added extra but para-gliding. When you turn round the hillside and head into the Valley - wow!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. Friendly, helpful, knew everyone and listened to us. Can't recommend them highly enough

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its a fantastic trip but if you want a real thrill seeker holiday, you have to pay extras for the real exhilarating stuff.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly enjoyed and would not put anyone off going one bit
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA WHITEWATER

    An excellent active holiday and a trip that attracts like-minded people who all up for a challenge. There was no one in the group holding others back or lagging behind reluctant to embrace the challenges. Confidence necessary, but experience not necessary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I LOVED abseiling down waterfalls (advanced canyoning)  with a drop below and water blasting into your face and down your neck into the wetsuit; totally exhilarating!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A great team of leaders with good English and good skills

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Advice to women: Pack board shorts or a tankini!! Climbing a mountain in the heat (for canyoning) wearing just your swimwear with a wetsuit on your back, tied around your shoulders isn't the most dignifying experience!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are very experienced in these activities you may not find it a massive challenge, but it is of course really good fun.The water level does have a big impact. Apparently May/June best time to go for water level, but weather better in July/August. Tough call! Hydro-Speeding was a painful experience with low water and large rocks... Ouch!Advanced canyoning the best thing in the world...
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA WHITEWATER

    Great company, good food and the accomodation was top notch. Couldn't fault the weather either!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Overcoming a slight fear of heights and doing 4 x 600m zip wires 250m above the treeline.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The tour leader was organised and gave us lots of information on each day's activities the day before.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have any fears about doing a holiday like this put them to the back of your mind! There was a diverse range of people and ages and nobody backed down. Not even once!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great people makes for a great Holiday!
Call us on 1 800 267 3347