Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2019
    Julie & Owain Lister

    Angkor Wat Extension

    A great trip seeing a lot in a short space of time. Two very knowledgeable local guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Tomb Raider temple. The floating village. Sunrise at Angkor Wat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both were very good but Chester in Phenom Pen was outstanding. Her family experience during the Khmer Rouge time was sobering.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a very worthwhile extension to the trip..
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Julie and Owain Lister

    Cycling Vietnam trip.

    We went on the trip as everyone we had met who had done the trip highly recommended it. Overall it was not as 'wow' as we thought it would be - but i think that the wet weather (which we were continually told was unusual) may have put a bit of a dampner on things. Vietnam as a country is also developing very fast! The cycling was great, lovely scenery, especially the highlands and the long downhills. A great group of like minded people who enjoyed their cycling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The children in the villages who were so excited to see us - and all wanted to speak to us and waved madly. The people were so friendly and kind. Everyone was so helpful to me when Owain was in Hospital and went above and beyond. The scenery was beautiful - but wet

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sun was very good. The bikes were fantastic. The support and snacks were excellent. He did have some issues in 'restraining' some members of the group, who refused to cycle with the group and rushed off ahead putting Sun in a difficult position. The mechanic was really good at staying with me at the back on the long 30 Km downhill trip. When Owain fell ill in Hanoi, he came with us to the Hospital and helped us. He stayed in touch with us through out our extended stay and liaised with the other Exodus staff, to help with re arranging flights, and visas etc

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Look at the transfers. They are long some days with a lot of time spent on the bus. This means that you arrive late at your destination and do not always have time to see some places (Dalat for example) We were often sitting in a bus soaking wet and tired. The air conditioning also meant that we ended up cold too. Take a towel and a change of warm clothing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We caught the tail end of a typhoon - and had some very wet weather. We were on Whale island during this time which was pretty grim, no heat, hot water, umbrellas and nothing to do in the wet. By the second night the beds were damp & cold. You might need a plan b in those circumstances. The overnight train was terrible, very smelly, dirty & uncomfortable. It was dark for most of the time as well so we did not see the countryside. I think it would be better to fly & miss this out altogether. When we got to the hotel after the train ride we could not get a shower but had to change in the hotel lobby & wash in the toilet off the lobby. We had to repack our bags for Halong bay in the lobby as well. Not good. When we got to Hoi An the bus parked in a car park & we had a 15 minute walk to the hotel carrying our hand luggage only. The other bags arrived about half an hour later so we could not shower or change. There seemed to be no good reason for this at all which at the end of a long day was not good.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Eric Bradley

    Kenyan safari @ Kicheche

    This was an excellent trip, full of amazing wildlife and beautiful scenery. The accommodation, food and facilities were also top notch, as were all the staff. I cannot fault this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all good but watching cheetah, lion and leopard cubs playing (not together, I might add!) were definite highlights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guides are amazing and know their environment supremely well. Paul, the group leader, was excellent as usual and needs no further plaudits from me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to eat a lot of excellent food.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Karen Woodward

    Word of the holiday - wow!

    What an amazing Country to visit. Felt I saw it too. So much wildlife. The guide made it. Her enthusiasm and passion for her Country was the energy passed on to us all. It was non-stop and we made the most of every minute. It was a great experience and will treasure the memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was not one moment. It was the whole trip. Everyday I said wow on more than one occasion. So much biodiversity. It was like visiting different Countries. I enjoyed the house visit as well as her cooking! I enjoyed the drives and looking at all the difference scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Best group leader I have ever come across. To give perspective, I have travelled 55 countries and experienced many tours. I really do mean she was the best. Her level of care and energy was felt by all. She was superb and so hard working. She really wanted us to see and experience as much wildlife. Always looking to spot something for us and her excitement when she did was infectious. She created a great energy for the group and made the experience all positive. She asked about our comfort in the lodges and considered us at all levels. Very caring. I enjoyed her company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you struggle with pain on bumpy roads, this is something to consider. I found the cloud forest very cold, particularly at night, so more than just a jumper was needed for me.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Got any jobs? Ha ha ha. Will start saving for my next holiday. The level of care is spot on and will continue to book through you.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Laura and Gavin Jones

    Sensational Sri Lanka

    This trip is very varied and introduces the highlights of Sri Lanka. There was a great mix of culture, nature and adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of my trip was seeing a leopard laying on the bank of a waterhole in Yala National Park. I also loved the walk in Horton Plains and the visit to Sigiriya.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was truly exceptional. His english was excellent. He had a great sense of humour. He was extremely knowledgeable and very enthusiastic. He made the trip special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Nuwara Eliya and its surroundings are slightly cooler than the other places so taking a fleece is helpful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip was busy in places but also gave some "down time" in the late afternoons. It was lovely to be able to sit on a balcony or by the pool, read and relax - not something we are used to doing so very welcome!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Margaret Meyers

    Spice Trails of Kerala

    Loved the trip with the mixture of walking and sightseeing. Would highly recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Trekking through the hills around Munnar

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are a little bit harder than you think they are going to be.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip, would highly recommend.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Tim Keay

    Cycling Vietnam

    Brilliant trip - constantly on the go, cycling through this beautiful and fascinating country. Hotels were of a very high standard, eating out was always a pleasure and our guide and his team were extremely helpful and attentive.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Very hard to choose one as there were so many enjoyable moments. All the rides were great, the highlight was possibly the ride over the Hai Van pass. Very nice to relax and unwind on Whale Island for a couple of days, swimming and snorkelling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lam was excellent from start to finish. Everything was clearly and fully explained. He arranged great places to eat and sites to see. He and his team looked after us incredibly well while we were cycling. Even though we passed through some very remote parts, we were all able to ride at our own pace and everyone felt safe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it! A brilliant way to see a wonderful part of the world.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Andrea Horner

    Loved Mexico but disappointed in this trip

    I am a big fan of Exodus and did a cycling trip with you in Sri Lanka two years ago. Experienced all of the local traditions, cultures, cuisine and lifestyle which is what the Exodus brand promises but this trip didn’t really live up to that. Our guide Omar was really nice and fun but this was only his second cycling trip and we were a full group of 18 and I think he was too inexperienced to have been asked to do it. The schedule didn’t seem right, most days we didn’t seem to follow the trip notes and we were cycling for long periods of time, sometimes not getting lunch until 5 PM. In Sri Lanka we would cycle, see and experience different places, stop for lunch and then get back on our bikes and cycle more. This trip it seems that we had to do all of the cycling before lunch and in a group of 18 when you have to stop for breaks that just isn’t practical. I was also disappointed that the trip wasn’t structured better because we didn’t really get to see much of the local culture. In Merida as an example, by the time we finished lunch it was around 4 PM and we never got a chance to experience the Mayan museum or some of the other local historic sites that would have been really interesting to see. The Exodus brand is all about your guide being able to talk to you about the history and the culture but Omar was unable to do this, perhaps because he was so new and that was a real shame. Don’t get me wrong, Omar and his team worked really hard and they were lovely but we seems to just be cycling on long roads without really stopping in local places to experience the local traditions and that was a shame.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved visiting the tequila factory and seeing the process of how it was made. I loved floating in the mangroves at the biosphere reserve. And the Cenotes were absolutely beautiful and experiencing swimming in those was wonderful. The Mexican people are also delightful and everywhere we went we got wonderful service. Visiting the sites of Mayan ruins was also wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Omar was nice and he was friendly but he was inexperienced and he was not knowledgeable in the areas that we travelled to. I found that sometimes he gave an answer (that was incorrect) rather than say that he didn’t know. My friend hurt herself while we were travelling and he was very professional and attentive and prioritised her well-being very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to cycle on long boring roads, eat lunch after 3 PM and not really experience the real Mexico then this is the trip for you. If you are more interested in actually exploring the country (which is absolutely beautiful and there is so much to see and experience) then perhaps consider a different trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The group on our holiday was really diverse and we had real fun, even though I am unhappy with this trip I have fond memories of it and I will remember all of the best parts. I am disappointed, having had such wonderful experiences with Exodus before and in terms of value for money I really don’t think that this trip was worth it. One of the reasons for choosing a trip like this is that I don’t need to think about where we are going, what we are doing, I know (or I hope) that we have a good schedule, we are going to see all of the best things, we are going to be with somebody who has great knowledge and is really passionate about the country and I definitely didn’t get that on this trip. At times it was quite stressful because we had to challenge the schedule as it wasn’t working out for us or for other members of the group and that dampened the relaxing experience that I was hoping for.
  • Reviewed January 2019

    Spectacular and challenging

    If you're considering going to the Everest region, I strongly recommend this trip. The Gokyo Lakes and Cho La pass were stunning, and an absolute highlight and you'd miss these on a standard EBC trek. The region is absolutely breathtaking and the people welcoming and so friendly. It's certainly not an easy trek though- don't underestimate the effects of altitude, and also the cold. Be sure of your fitness too, the Cho La pass was very physically demanding, with a certain amount of scrambling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed our visits to monasteries to witness nuns and monks going about their daily prayers- incredibly special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Sherpa Dorjee, was a complete star and with his colleagues Yuma and Nima, they all kept us safe, cheerful and enlightened about the region and way of life. They knew exactly the right pace to walk at to minimise the effects of altitude, and had an encyclopaedic knowledge of the surrounding peaks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My top tips: Take merino- you're going to stink otherwise. Take plenty of hand sanitiser, you can't have too much. Take toilet paper (unless you want to pay £2 a roll up in the mountains). Steripens worked a treat for water sterilisation, but identify your Nalgene bottle somehow- when they get filled, you want to be able to identify it easily! The ATM's are variable in whether or not they work- I couldn't get one to work in Namche, and had to try about 6 in Kathmandu until one worked. I could however change cash (GBP) in Namche. The estimate of cash needs from Exodus is pretty close, but beware if you have too much left over at the end, changing it back is hard- the hotel couldn't give us GBP and airport gave change in USD. So, don't take too much! Don't forget the porters- they are like secret ninjas collecting your bag and delivering it to your door before you arrive, often dressed in trainers and a thin jacket- try to take some old gear for the porter bank. I bought them biscuits a few times in the morning- they still earn a poor wage, and it's a shame for them if their daily wage is spent on food.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just book this trip!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Adrian Binney

    Excellent 2nd Trip after Discovery Tour

    This was our 2nd Exodus Costa Rica Trip - first was Discovery and only duplication was Tortuguero which is just a fabulous experience (access only by fast river boat) and great wildlife. There are no cars! Cahuita was a complete joy, v good hotel location and v nice Caribbean feel & great bars to eat at with ocean sounds. Savegre is a bird paradise and stunning facility and food. Drake Bay is a “must” for all - great experiences, location, staff and food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Drake Bay snorkelling - very safe, 15 of us with 3 guides - my first time and it was easy and safe. Turtles and thousands of reef fish in cristal clear water.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class. Truthfully so and we have been on many group tours.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is a must! Take beach shoes or the equivalent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We will return to Costa Rica and there is simply no need to consider using someone other than Exodus. Their choice of hotels, itinerary and tour leads is perfect.
Call us on 1 800 267 3347