Highlights of Morocco - Premium

  • Premium
15 days
from
1,705 CAD
View Trips
Loading...
Traveller ratings
3.7 / 5 from 9 reviews >
Trip code: 
AMHP
Ways to Travel:
Guided Group, Premium Adventure, Tailormade Adventures
Activity:
Culture
Min age:
16
Group size:
6–16

Imperial cities, Atlas Mountains, Sahara Desert and the Atlantic coast

For sheer diversity, Morocco is the perfect destination. We explore the imperial cities of Marrakech, Meknes and Fez and continue our journey to the mountain ranges to the south, where sand dunes and kasbahs are scattered among palm oases inhabited by friendly Berbers. A highlight of our trip is a camel trek in the Sahara and a night at a Bedouin camp. We fit in a visit to Todra Gorge, the beautiful 16th-century kasbah of Ait Benhaddou and enjoy a village walk in the picturesque Tijhza valley of the High Atlas. We complete the trip with a walk along the sandy beach of Essaouira.

Highlights

  • Imperial cities of Rabat, Meknes, Fez and Marrakech
  • Spend the night under the stars in the Sahara Desert
  • Visit the Roman ruins of Volubilis and the impressive Todra Gorge
  • Experience a traditional hammam in the village of Tijhza
  • Walk from a remote Berber community into the magnificent High Atlas Mountains
  • Relax in the charming fishing port of Essaouira

Key information

  • 10 nights boutique hotels and premium riads, 1 night auberge, 2 nights mountain gite and 1 night Bedouin camp
  • 15 days land only / flight inclusive
  • Group normally 6 to 16, plus leader. Min age 16 yrs.
  • Travel by private minibus, train and camel

What's included

  • All breakfasts and 4 dinners
  • All accommodation
  • Transfers for group flights

What's not included

  • Travel insurance
  • Visas or vaccinations
  • Single supplement
Call for general departures:
1 800 267 3347
Call for tailormade trips:
1 800 267 3347
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Responsible Travel

At Exodus we believe in the power of Responsible Travel.

Every time we travel, we are part of a global movement that creates jobs, builds more sustainable societies, encourages cultural understanding and safeguards common natural and cultural heritage. To learn more about what Responsible Travel means to Exodus click here… 

Itinerary

  • Day 1

    Start Casablanca.

    Meet the group in the early evening for the briefing with our leader. There will be time to head out for dinner in the city.

    Hotel Les Saisons or similar

  • Day 2

    Visit Hassan II Mosque; to Meknes via the capital Rabat.

    A modern and commercial seaport, Casablanca is a complete contrast to the Morocco we are soon to explore. This morning we visit the Hassan II Mosque, one of the largest in the world. We take lunch in Rabat, the political capital of Morocco, but second to Casablanca in importance. Although mostly modern, Rabat has an excellent old quarter that we take time to explore, before striking out over the northern plain towards Meknes. The scenery change as the landscape becomes more cultivated, this being one of the most fertile areas of Morocco. Overnight in imperial Meknes.

    Riad d'Or or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 3

    Explore the Roman site of Volubilis and Meknes; to Fez.

    Sultan Moulay Ismail's old capital of Meknes is our first example of one of the imperial cities of Morocco. In the morning you are free to wander the narrow streets and explore the souk, perhaps having your first chance at bartering for souvenirs. In the afternoon we take a short drive to the largest and best kept Roman ruins in Morocco – Volubilis, once a large Roman town. After exploring this site we continue our journey to the ancient city of Fez, where we spend two nights.

    Fez Inn or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 4

    Guided tour of Fez, including visits to the Medersa Bou Ananiya and the medina.

    This fascinating city is the intellectual and religious centre of Morocco. Founded over a thousand years ago, Fez has many mosques and medersas (theological colleges) including the 9th century al-Karaouine University, whose architecture is very similar to that seen in Moorish Spain. The medina in Fez is one of the largest in the world, an immense warren of souks, home to thousands of craftsmen with their tiny shops opening onto the narrow alleyways. Noisy and pungent, the medina of Fez is a totally absorbing and unique experience. Our city guide walks us through different sections of the souk - including those selling leather brass and copper. Of course, no visit to Fez is complete without a visit to the tanneries. Outside the medina we shall visit the Jewish District (mellah), the exterior of the Royal Palace and take a drive up to a panoramic viewpoint over the city. 

    Fez Inn or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 5

    Drive to Merzouga, on the edge of the Sahara.

    Today we have a long journey, approximately 6 hours (but with plenty of stops) over the stunning Middle Atlas, down through the picturesque Ziz Valley to the Hamada, a flat stony desert, gradually approaching the spectacular site of the golden sand dunes of Erg Chebbi. We stay in a small and welcoming auberge (inn) on the edge of the dunes from where it is easy to climb to watch the sunrise. 

    Auberge Yasmina or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast Dinner
  • Day 6

    Walk among the dunes; camel trek; camp in the desert.

    There is time today to explore the largest sand sea in Morocco or to relax in the shade of a palm tree by the dunes. The sand sea is famed for its pink tones that take on a spectacular rose colour at sunset. In the late afternoon, we partake in a genuine Saharan experience - a 1.5-hour camel trek through the dunes to an oasis, where we spend the night in a simple Bedouin camp.

    Full-service camping

    Meals included: Breakfast Dinner
  • Day 7

    To Todra Gorge.

    After sunrise, we leave our desert camp and travel, by camel, back to the auberge where we can have a shower before heading west towards the little town of Tinerhir and onwards to Todra Gorge for the night (journey time approximately 4 hours). Our hotel is set against the backdrop of the impressive walls of the gorge itself and we can spend the evening watching the rocks change colour with the setting sun.

    Hotel Taborith or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 8

    Optional morning walk; palmery tour around the gorge.

    We spend the day in the magnificent gorge of the Todra River. There is the opportunity to take a four hour guided walk, or to relax in the gorge, walking beneath vertical cliffs rising up to 400m from the valley floor. In the afternoon there is an optional guided tour of the lush palmery.

    Hotel Taborith or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 9

    Journey to Telouet, via the famous Kasbah Ait Benhaddou.

    Leaving Todra Gorge, we re-join the main road and drive west along the 'Route of the Thousand Kasbahs' via the desert city of Ouarzazate and on to the well-preserved Kasbah Ait Benhaddou. This UNESCO World Heritage Site is one of the most spectacular sights of the Atlas, made famous as the location of several Hollywood films including 'Gladiator'. After admiring the view, we may see something of the simple village houses. Continuing into the mountains we branch east through a wide flat mountain valley, finally arriving at Anmiter. Here we leave our bus and take a 1.5-hour picturesque walk on a gentle uphill gradient to the village of Tijzha, where we spend the next two nights. Our luggage will be transported to the gite for us, for those who do not want to walk, taxis are available (100 MAD, payable locally). 

    Kasbah Oliver or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast Dinner
  • Day 10

    Full day walking in the High Atlas. Evening hammam

    We start our day with an optional walk through the villages of the Tijhza Valley, heading up into the hills on mule tracks with the peaks of the High Atlas acting as a fitting backdrop to our walk.  The length of our walk will depend on the ability of the group, but it is likely to be approximately 4 hours. The afternoon is free to relax with a book, enjoy the mountain views, take a stroll through the beautiful landscape or challenge the village children to a game of football!

    Tijhza is just one of four villages in this remote valley that has been supported by Exodus for over ten years on various responsible tourism projects. We will visit the village hammam, built with money raised by Exodus clients. This is a truly authentic experience and terrific fun. It is very much a traditional hammam and you are likely to get the opportunity to mix with the villagers, which further adds to the experience. A standard treatment is included, but you will need to purchase a scrubber and soap for 20MAD (£1.50) plus customary tip of 20MAD. Refreshed, we return to the riad for our final dinner in the mountains. 

    Kasbah Oliver or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast Dinner
  • Day 11

    Over the High Atlas Mountains to Essaouira.

    Leaving the gite, we walk back to our bus for a short drive to the palace of Telouet. This once grand building stands abandoned and crumbling but we can visit a small part of this labyrinthine, fairy-tale like structure. We continue our scenic drive over the High Atlas Mountains to Marrakech, via the Tizi'n'Tichka pass, which at 2,260m, is the highest road in Morocco. The scenery is spectacular and there are some wonderful views of the mountains. The second half of our journey brings us to the flat arid plains of Marrakech and then onwards to the pretty seaside town of Essaouira. Journey time is between 5 and 6 hours, with plenty of comfort breaks and photo stops along the way. 

    Maison du Sud or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 12

    Free day in Essaouira.

    A free day in Essaouira, a charming old Portuguese fishing port overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The settlement dates back to the 15th century but the present town was constructed around 1760 by Sidi Mohammed ben Abdullah, who needed a base from which to suppress a revolt from Agadir. Today, the town is extremely relaxed and its whitewashed houses with painted shutters, artisan workshops, boatyards and fishermen provide a marked contrast to the desert, kasbahs and cities we have so far visited. Our hotel is situated in the heart of the old walled city, where we have plenty of time for some shopping in the souks or strolling along the beach. With many pleasant cafes and some outstanding seafood restaurants, there is plenty of choice for our evening meal.

    Maison du Sud or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 13

    To Marrakech; guided tour including Bahia Palace, the Saadian tombs, finish in Djemma el Fna

    After breakfast, we drive back to Marrakech, journey time approximately 2.5 hours.  In the afternoon we enjoy a guided tour to help us find our bearings and soak up the atmosphere of this amazing city. Our guide will take us to the Bahia Palace and the Saadian tombs, ending in the Djemma el Fna, where the town becomes a maze of bustling bazaars, palaces and mosques. It is worth seeing this renowned landmark in the evening, as Marrakech revolves around this open-air central square, with food stalls, juice-sellers, snake charmers and acrobats, it is a place of night-time entertainment for both local people and tourists. 

    Riad Hamdane or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 14

    Free day in Marrakech.

    Today is a free day in Marrakech and there is no shortage of things to do. You might wish to visit the largest mosque in Marrakech, Koutoubia, or venture through the souks and old streets of the medina. After bartering for souvenirs, there will be time for a short visit to the Koranic School and Museum of Marrakech. After this, you can unwind by taking a ½ hour Calèche ride (a bright green horse-drawn carriage) to the Jardin Majorelle. These tranquil gardens are decorated throughout in indigo blue and were once owned by Yves St. Laurent, the perfect place to escape the hectic rush of the city. 

    This evening it's common for the group to enjoy a final meal together on Djemma el Fna. 

    Riad Hamdane or similar

    Meals included: Breakfast
  • Day 15

    End Marrakech.

    Trip ends after breakfast.

    Meals included: Breakfast
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Essential Info

Visas

Morocco

No visa required by British passport holders.

Vaccinations

Morocco

There are no mandatory vaccination requirements. Recommended vaccinations are: Tetanus, Typhoid and Hepatitis A.

Eating and Drinking

14 breakfasts and 4 dinners included.

Moroccan food is, generally speaking, excellent though not particularly varied. Breakfasts usually consist of bread and jam with coffee or tea. Meals eaten out are reasonably priced - kebab and bread cost is approximately GBP4 (USD7). In main towns, it is possible to find very good French and Moroccan restaurants where a meal and French wine will cost anything from GBP20 (USD30) upwards. Generally, dinner is likely to cost between GBP5-10 (approx. USD8-15) not including drinks. Local beer, wine and soft drinks are reasonably priced, but you can pay UK prices or more for imported alcohol. Your leader will recommend restaurants for each evening.

Vegetarians can be catered for but there is a fairly limited choice of vegetarian couscous, tajine or omelettes. This is particularly the case during the more rural sections of the trip. Please note that if you have any special dietary requirements you should inform the Exodus Office prior to the trip. If you have a specific medical/dietary need (i.e. coeliac or vegan) you may find it helpful to bring some items of food with you from home.

Weather

From April to June, and in September, Marrakech and the north are pleasantly hot, with temperatures averaging 26ºC in the day and falling to 16ºC at night. It is unusual for there to be much humidity so it is quite pleasant except at midday when the sun is very strong. Desert temperatures are similar to those in Marrakech, with the nights usually a little cooler and the days a little hotter. Mountain temperatures are cooler than in Marrakech.

In the winter months, the daytime temperatures in Marrakech are around 18 to 22ºC with night temperatures falling to 4 to 7ºC. The days should be sunny and a particularly attractive feature of the winter months is the clear views of the snow-covered Atlas. The temperatures in the south are generally a couple of degrees higher than those north of the mountains. There is a small chance of rain and it has even been known to snow very infrequently in January and sometimes February on the higher desert plateau (in which case it is cold at night and early in the morning on the southern side of the Atlas).

Is this trip for you?

This trip provides an insight into the enormous variety that Morocco has to offer, including cities, history, architecture, desert and mountain scenery. We spend quality time in the places that matter, the pace is not rushed but a couple of the journeys are long, up to 4 hours. We are not confined to our vehicle though, as there are plenty of photo stops and opportunities to stretch your legs.

Accommodation standards are comparable to that of Sub-Saharan Africa, but on Premium departures, we do upgrade to premium riads and hotels in some towns and cities. The temperatures in the cities may also be hot in the summer months but we try to make the most of the coolest parts of the day.

Please note Ramadan runs from 15th May - 14th June 2018 - During Ramadan, our local guides and drivers choose to work and so we continue to run trips in this period. However, the energy levels of our staff and some local guides may be a bit lower and some restaurants may be closed during the day. Having said this, Ramadan is a special time to visit a Muslim country - each evening the streets empty for an hour while everyone breaks their fast, and there's a feeling of festivity in the air at sundown. 

Call for general departures:
1 800 267 3347
Call for tailormade trips:
1 800 267 3347
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Accommodation

Hotels, Riad, Gite & Bedouin Camp

Premium departures have been upgraded to a mixture of superior 3* hotels, offering a higher standard of accommodation, in Fez, Merzouga and Todra the properties have swimming pools. In Marrakech and Essaouira, you stay in premium Moroccan riads that simply add to the traditional exotic experience. The single supplementdoes not cover nights spent in the mountains, desert or Bedouin camps or in the Riad in Marrakech.

Please note that in Winter months some of the accommodation can feel quite cold as they are often poorly heated. Some properties in more rural areas may only have power in the evening (which also means only heating in the evning), however blankets are provided to keep you warm at night.

Call for general departures:
1 800 267 3347
Call for tailormade trips:
1 800 267 3347
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Expert Blog Entries

Embracing a healthy lifestyle can be a challenge, but if you’re going to keep it up there’s got to be more to it than

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Rosemarie Pridmore

    Great trip but some journeys too long

    A good trip covering a vast area gave us a good experience of the country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each area had something different, ,enjoyed the desert . also the Atlas Mountains, only problem we had was the distances somedays 8 to 10 hours in total travelling ,too much, not only for us but the driver & guide.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a couple of really long days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Diana Schooling

    Enlightening Tour of Morocco!

    Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the trip. Thought it was well organised.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding through the dunes on a camel! Staying in Kasbah Oliver and exploring the village and community in the Atlas

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed is a brilliant guide. He is very well informed, imparts his knowledge effectively and with enthusiasm and is always happy to explain anything whether to do with the culture or the practical arrangements of the trip. His commitment to us travellers was evident, all details were carefully planned and executed and it is plain that for Mohammed being a guide is more than a job. Overall he gave us a wide perspective and understanding of the people and culture of his country and we travellers have all come back enriched as a result.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If travelling in the Spring, make sure to bring warm clothes for the desert and, just in case, elsewhere!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Patricia Golding

    Highlights of Morocco

    This trip did what it said - we saw the highlights of Morocco from city to coast to mountain and desert. It was amazingly varied, balancing time in cities and countryside, and illustrating Morocco's vibrant history, culture and people. I certainly came back with a real feeling for the place and people and a greater understanding of an apparently happily functioning Islamic country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed the stay at the mountain gite because it was very peaceful, there was no wifi, and all you could hear was the the wind in the trees, the river in the distance and the occasional bray of a donkey. At night the stars were wonderful and the walks were lovely. Best of all was our interaction with the local people there although admittedly it was rather limited. But if you have some French you can make contact.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Mohamed. He was excellent - he took care of everything with no fuss and had it all at his fingertips. He was calm, fun, and informative, patient and caring. He had a wide knowledge of the country and we learnt a great deal from him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a mattress! Even though we were on the premium tour, the mattresses seemed incredibly hard. Depends on what you like I suppose, but I found them pretty uncomfortable with a few exceptions. Take a portable basin plug, wet wipes and a torch. The loos were fine pretty well everywhere we went - at hotels and on the road. Don't assume it's going to be hot if you are travelling in the spring. Take clothes for all seasons. There are a couple of long journeys. I didn't mind the longest, to the Sahara, but the one towards the end, from the mountain to the coast, got me down. I guess I'd had enough travelling by then. I think we all felt the same way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We travelled in a sixteen passenger mini bus. It was a comfortable, safe, well-maintained vehicle with a very good driver. But there were sixteen of us which meant for every journey 4 people were squashed into the 4 seats at the back. People mostly took their turn in these seats but it seemed unnecessarily uncomfortable. Had there been 15 people we would all have been happier. However, overall, it was a very good trip.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Patricia for her feedback. We were pleased to read that she had an enjoyable trip overall but we are very sorry that she found the back row of seats in the vehicle to be uncomfortable. We appreciate that with a full group, the back row may have felt rather tight, but it is considered that a more compact vehicle allows access to a greater variety of roads and trails, is more environmentally friendly and enables the trip to be as competitively priced as possible. We are, however, looking at the possibility of allocating one of the new 20-seat vehicles that our local operator’s vehicle supplier has recently acquired, which we trust will improve comfort for our clients. Tom Harari – Product Manager for Morocco

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Maurice Millen

    Fantastic trip through incredibly varied parts of Morocco

    This really is an incredible trip across Morocco. We got to see not just the cities, the history and the landscapes but a huge slice of Moroccan life as well. We covered an awful lot of ground but everywhere we went there had clearly been an enormous amount of background organisation to make everything run smoothly. We had numerous guides at all the sites we visited, who were all very knowledgeable and good at communicating their enthusiasm. We also stopped at numerous other smaller places such as an Argan oil factory, a pottery and even a huge solar power plant! The architecture, and the atmosphere, of the towns and cities is amazing and the variation in the scenery across the trip is extraordinary. We also got to meet, and chat to, enormous numbers of Moroccans who were all delightful and had a great sense of humour. This really was a panoramic journey through an extraordinary country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming down the west side of the Atlas mountains we came through a massive area of blossom and spring flowers which was quite sensational - particularly after coming from the dry and sandy Saharan side of the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a fantastic group of people, the sheer scale and breadth of what we covered was extraordinary, but the third element that made this holiday so good was our group leader, Mohamed. He remained both laid-back and very organised. He was incredibly enthusiastic about Morocco but not reluctant to mention the country's issues . He has fantastic English, was very witty and was extremely solicitous about everyone's well-being. He really was a great guide and the trip wouldn't have been half as good without his enormous hard work in making it a success. Also worth mentioning we had a fantastic driver.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather varies enormously on this trip so you need to bring clothes for every season. I did have my umbrella up against the rain in the Sahara at one point! Also, bear in mind Morocco is effectively a dry country even though they do produce their own wines and beer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Firstly, pretty much everywhere the beds were firm to the point of hardness. Secondly, as our 16 seater coach was completely full, travelling could be a little claustrophobic, but more seriously the back 4 seats were extremely uncomfortable for any length of time.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Debra Turner

    Good and bad

    Enjoyed the places we went to see and the activities planned. Great group of people'. This was my first trip with Exodus so had no idea of expectations. I thought the hotels were a bit lacking for a premium package, however, not having any idea what hotels were like in Morocco, I had no high expectations. I enjoyed the riads as I did feel like I was experiencing the country and how they lived. What I didn't enjoy was staying at a riad in the High Atlas Mountains with no heat. We were very fortunate that it didn't rain on our hike to the riad as we would have had no way of getting dry or warming up. It was very uncomfortable to have to go right to bed after eating as we could not be in our rooms unless we were under multiple layers of blankets to keep warm. Showering was impossible as it was too cold.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the local guides but didn't enjoy the pressure of being taken to places where you felt like you had to buy something.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rabia was knowledgeable but not engaging at all. Did not sit with us or interact very well. I found myself asking stupid questions just to engage him

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Debra for her review, although we sincerely regret that some of the properties on this tour fell below her expectations and that she was disappointed with her tour’s leadership. We use client and staff feedback to review each property and if any concerns are raised by clients throughout the year, these will be addressed and dealt with accordingly. We have also shared her comments with Rabiaa and we have asked the local manager to discuss with him how he can continue to improve his local knowledge and language skills for future trips.

    Tom Harari - Product Manager

  • Reviewed March 2018
    Teresa Lipson

    Disappointing holiday with potential to be so much better

    If there were a category between Fair and Good I would have ticked that one. I was on the same trip as Steve Winfield and concur with pretty much everything he said. Apart from the guide (ssee below) another disappointing matter for a trip called Premium was the variability of the accommodation. From a delightful (but cold) riad in Meknes and a lovely one in Essaouira to a rather sterile (and cold) hotel in Fez and a really miserable and dirty one in Marrakech. The latter was probably the biggest disappointment as I had hoped to stay, at the end of the trip and the hundreds of miles covered, in one of the many lovely riads in the city or at least a hotel that justified the Premium label. We ended up in this ghastly hotel , on a busy noisy road (my room was right on it), a lousy breakfast and unhelpful and rude staff (who denied that the wifi didnt work in some of the rooms when some of us were clearly experiencing the opposite). I am sounding negative because I had hoped better of Exodus but I would not recommend this holiday as it was delivered to us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding the camel through the desert ...the beautiful Secret Garden... the wonderful guide at Todra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It is extremely telling that the review of the same trip taken in November is much more positive than our experience and that their guide was described as excellent and fun. Unfortunately, the same could not be said for ours and this set the tone of things. I think we all had a good time but this was despite him. He was very efficient on the organizational side so we could travel with no worries about luggage etc but he gave the minimum of information and the kind of cultural and historical background that most travellers seek when visiting a country as rich and varied as Morocco and rarely interacted with us at mealtimes. The information he did give was, as Steve indicates, invariably incorrect as regards timings, temperatures and what to expect on a day by day basis. Briefings were ad hoc - no regular times and opportunities missed to impart details in the coach with a microphone to hand. His English was competent but halting and this was in total contrast to the excellent local guides who were engaging and amusing and interesting. Our young guide in the Todra Gorge, for example, spoke excellent and highly adaptable English learnt from subtitles on TV ! Minimum education but a great love for his area and a desire to impart everything he knew. T

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you dont like to be cold dont go to Morocco before mid March. This is a fascinating country that pays your attention and the local people , particularly in the country and desert are delightful. Find out who your group leader will be and where you will be staying. However, Exodus was not at all forthcoming with the latter information. Oh.. and avoid the hammam in the mountains..... a few of us women had a less than enjoyable experience. Give the money to support the villagers some other way.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We were very sorry to hear that Teresa was disappointed with aspects of her tour’s leadership and that this impacted on her enjoyment of the holiday.  Rabiaa has been working as a tour leader for 6 years in Morocco and we have received positive feedback about him from his previous Exodus trip. Teresa and Steve’s comments have been shared with Rabiaa and we have asked the local manager to discuss with him how he can continue to improve his local knowledge and language skills for future trips.

    Tom Harari - Product Manager

  • Reviewed March 2018
    Steve winfield

    an experience but quite tiring

    What you get to see and do is quite an incredible variation: one minute in the hustle and bustle of cities - old and new - next in the snow on mountains, then in the desert and next on the coast! Through all of this you get to experience what Morocco is in terms of a modernising African country but you also get to see that it is not all modern '1st world' living, it hasn't forgotten or left its past; for me the latter was why I came on this trip. Even for a premium trip some hotels etc and their locations weren't great; generally cold, damp and you weren't exactly encourage to explore the local areas at times. The trip downtime all but vanished and this left us with very prescriptive days which wasn't what I expected or wanted. Add to this the very uncomfortable bus seats and you're left feeling very drained and stiff at the end of most days, but also feeling that you'd not been able to make the most of what you visited. Sometimes you want to get lost in a city to explore it, not jolly around on a 'follow the brolly' excursion; for me that's not an adventure. Our biggest disappointment was the food. Due to the hotel locations or how your guide presents restaurants there is very little variation beyond beef (or is it goat) / chicken tagines, kebabs and salads. And despite the myriad of spices and herbs in the markets most meals were really very bland. Overall it was quite an experience and I'm glad I've done it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    By quite a distance the time in the desert, it is amazing. We had a little bit of time whilst at our auberge to explore the nearby dunes getting a taster of what was to come, but the trip on the camels into proper desert environments and spending the night out in the desert I would happily do again tomorrow. Seeing the wonderful changes of colour as the sun dips down across the dunes, watching the shadows grow and the landscape change is magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour guide was very knowledgeable but at times quite aloof and trip timing seemed to come from a different time zone - 8 hours journeys were 11 hours+.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would suggest that the rating of leisurely is compared to other tours they do. Whereas we found it ok some didn't; don't expect just gentle inclines or less and for winter tours bring proper walking shoes - trainers won't be good enough. At the back end of Feb early Mar it is a pain knowing what to pack. During the day in the desert it was mid 20's at night though around freezing. Cities at the start were just into double figures but Riads and hotels a little chilly, not so bad if you can get the a/c blowing warm air though.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For me I think the route isn't quite correct and there is too much time spent in the cities or too many cities visited and not enough away from urban areas. Additional 'visits' needs to be managed better with some governance and trimmed down somewhat to protect downtime.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Steve for his review, although we sincerely regret that some of the properties on this tour fell below his expectations and that he did not enjoy the food in Morocco. We use client and staff feedback to review each property and if any concerns are raised by clients throughout the year, these will be addressed and dealt with accordingly. We are pleased that Steve overall had an interesting experience; however we have taken both his and Teresa’s (please see above) feedback on board and will make any necessary changes.

    Tom Harari - Product Manager

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Susan Hall

    Moroccan Highlights Solo Travel

    Highly recommend this trip. A really varied trip showing the best that Morocco has to offer. Marrakech is very manic and a bit 'in your face' but thanks to an excellent tour leader and local guide the group were able to find our way to such hidden gems as the Majorelle Gardens (Yves St Laurent's former gardens) and the 'Secret' Garden. The trip up to the Atlas Mountains and stay in Douar Samra was nothing short of magical, I got to stay in the Tree House while others stayed in the very unusual and individual rooms in the house or annex. Meals were a delight thanks to the marvellous cooking of Rashida the resident cook and the atmospheric use of candles (there is no electricity in the main house) and traditional low level seating and tables. Your luggage is transported the final distance by donkey and there are also ducks and all vegetables are grown in the Douar's vegetable garden. Fabulous views and sunsets and great walking in the mountains. However the gem is absolutely Essaouira. I had never heard of this place before but it is the most delightful and fascinating seaside town. Again great orientation tour from local guide Rashida and plenty of time to enjoy the shopping, sweeping sandy beach, bars, restaurants and busy exciting fishing harbour. Our leader, Abdul, was very informative and accommodating and great fun. Morocco is well worth a visit and I will be back!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walking in the mountains and stay in the Douar Samra. Seeing disadvantaged youngsters being trained to do delicate silver work in Essaouria and having an elderly artisan in woodwork explain all about his 'boites magique' in a backstreet workshop without any pressure to buy.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul was great fun, very informative and accommodating. He obviously loves his home country and is enthusiastic about its history and culture.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walking is not really what I would call 'leisurely', although it is all perfectly manageable so long as you are reasonably fit, have the right equipment and are used to walking in mountain areas. Walking poles are a good idea and proper walking boots essential. You need to fill in forms for both arrival and departure and be prepared for long waits at Marrakech airport getting through Passport control. Money is easily changed at the airport and offers a much better rate than can be obtained in the UK. Take sweets or something like bubbles to entertain the local children in the mountain areas.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A wonderful holiday experience helped by having a great group of fellow travellers, who all got on really well.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Gayle S Lowry

    Highlights of Morocco

    I appreciated the comprehensive nature of this 15 day trip. We visited the Imperial Cities, focusing on the history, usually staying in the Medina, with time spent touring the souks. In addition, we toured the diverse, gorgeous countryside of Morocco, with overnight stays in the desert, Todra Gorge, and a remote Berber village in the Atlas Mts. I enjoyed the size of our group of 10 people of diverse ages. We all got along well, laughed a lot and enjoyed each other's company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, the overnight trip into the desert was the highlight. The weather was perfect, our ride on camels was unforgettable and the night we spent sleeping under the stars at the Bedouin camp will remain with me forever. Our accommodations were unbelievably nice, the food the nomads prepared was delicious and their drumming, inspiring us to dance, was delightful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Samir, was awesome. He had a delightful personality, was patient in answering questions, well informed, told us just the right amount of information. He managed to get us in several places for a meal or tea that would not have happened with a larger group or another leader. He genuinely seemed to like our group and commented that he found us especially great since we didn't "winge" like other groups do.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be sure to take several credit cards for getting cash from ATMs. We had difficulty with some cards and some cash machines. Trip will require more cash than the trip notes suggest.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Since we're from the US, we booked our trip through the Canadian office of Exodus. We found the staff there, especially Julie R., to be impatient, unhelpful with information we requested and outright rude. The others on our trip booked through Exodus in England and they were given much more information, including who else had signed up for our trip. We had no idea until our first night in Casablanca when we met the group that there would be 10 people total. Also we had to pay for our transfer to the airport when leaving because Exodus did not cover it as expected.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Gayle for her feedback and we were pleased to read that she found her tour leader, Samir, to be delightful and knowledgeable. We regret, however that she found the members of staff involved in the booking process to be unhelpful. Julie is a very experienced and conscientious member of our Canadian office, so we were surprised to learn of this feedback. Julie was of the impression that a departure transfer had been arranged independently, she did not book a transfer for Gayle; we are sorry for the disappointment caused. We have discussed Gayle’s comments with Julie and we trust that she has taken this feedback on board.

    Simon Clifford - Product Manager for Morocco

Dates & Prices

Please provide as much information as possible below so we can best help with your holiday requirements.

Fields with * are mandatory.

Please provide as much information as possible below so we can best help with your holiday requirements.

Fields with * are mandatory.

Trips you might also like

Call us on 1 800 267 3347