Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018

    Very well organised

    Good trip that got away from the slightly touristy Porto city and included very scenic walks around the Douro river and further North. Due to the October storms instead of the first walk we visited the nearby town of Lamego with its 612 steps, church, castle and great views – really enjoyed this and probably preferred to a walk. Most of the wine tastings were port wine rather than normal wine (I was only expecting port on the last day) but there was plenty of local wine choice with dinner. The only downside, out of Exodus control, is that all trips depend on the dynamic of the group and it’s a shame when one person dominates.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views over the vineyards, which were variously arranged horizontally, vertically or in a curves depending on the shape of the hill, very picturesque.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    András was excellent, and managed to cope with the many fastidious food requirements and varying walking abilities of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a swimming cap for the indoor hotel pools as they require them. The infinity pool at the third hotel is outdoors and freezing! Although a grade 1 (and the walks were very easy for a rambler like me) it is a walking holiday, you’ll need to be able to walk up say 50m of ascent, up 100 or so steps, and across quite widely spaced stepping stones over a river. Porto city is very hilly.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Cheryl Olinyk-Semeniuk

    Portugal Walking & Wine tour

    Excellent tour. I would recommend this tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day 1 & 5 walks were in the forest . These walks were the longest in length. Beautiful to walk in the vegetation. I really felt inspired by these 2 walks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Luis & Riccardo were awesome! Our group was so lucky to have them as our leaders. They were engaging. They were very interested in the people in the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I have been telling my colleagues & friends about this tour. It's fantastic! Potential travellers should be made aware of the ease or difficulty of the walk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Accommodation was top notch (excluding Vale Puorto) It was too busy!!!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Jane Rodgman

    A relaxing trip helped along with a bit of Vinho Verde

    If you're looking for a relaxing trip with a varied itinerary and enjoy sampling the local brew this may well be the trip for you. Some of the walks were a little more challenging than others but the pace was leisurely with fabulous scenery. On 2 days we got back to the hotel by 3pm so had time to relax and enjoy the infinity pools.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the 2 lunches we had at vineyards (after a morning walk). Both in beautiful locations with really nice buffet lunches washed down with a glass of the local wine.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ricardo was lovely, he very organised and made sure the trip ran smoothly. He was ably assisted by the equally lovely Marta. Together they were a great team. Ricardo took photos each day which he shared as a slide show each evening at our daily briefing (always with a glass of port or wine for everyone), it was so nice to re-live the day. Marta's attempts to teach us a traditional folk dance one evening was hilarious, although she couldn't persuade the waiter to join us to make up numbers!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Duoro valley is a microclimate and was almost 10 degrees hotter than Porto, we started the walks a bit earlier to avoid the hottest part of the day but be prepared for it to be warm.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    CVLIVE NUNN

    Delightful Douro

    A very well organised trip with excellent guides, wonderful weather, good hotels and food all bound together with a group of varied, vibrant and interesting companions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lunch in the Vineyard at Quinta das escomoeiras and a wonderful morning walk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable and also supportive to those who were unwell at the beginning of the trip, which was so important.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Reserve space in your luggage to bring back plenty of Vinho Verde.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Sheree Dodd

    Great walks, great wine, great holiday

    A really wonderful holiday with very different walks and enjoyable/informative visits to wineries well led by Ricardo and András. We enjoyed the holiday with a diverse and fun group that mixed Brits with Aussies and Canadians - keep doing this Exodus it added another dimension to our trip. We enjoyed fantastic weather and it was good to be able to relax in hotels with excellent facilities - two infinity pools overlooking breathtaking scenery in one. Lunches at the quintas were excellent especially the organic winery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Personal highlights for me were walking through a meadow that were bursting with colour from the sudden blooming of thousands of wildflowers while the adjoining vines terrace was being ploughed by a horse and following a levada until a beautiful meeting place of two rivers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ricardo was a very good group leader who had researched and organised the excellent itinerary. At all times I felt that he was conscientious about safety and the needs of group individuals. He was ably supported by Andras. Both took excellent pictures of the group and an evening highlight was looking back over the day's activities through the images.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Susan Bowers

    Portugal Walking and Wine

    Well thought out Itinery, beautiful scenery, fab Hotels and Great leaders

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking amonst the wild flower meadows

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really good. Very caring, very focused and totally reliable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Amanda Barker

    Fantastic trip in a beautiful part of Portugal

    Fantastic trip in Porto and the Douro valley. Varied walks....every day a different type of walk and scenery, and numerous wine and port tastings.....what’s not to love! There’s a good mix of walking, and sight seeing....nothing too strenuous. For those of a certain age....a visit to The Mateus Palace, where the infamous Mateus Rosé used to be produced, was fun....the palace is featured on the label of the wine.... Accommodation is in 4/5* hotels.....some better than others....but plenty of free time to relax or explore the area. Highly recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Enjoying the company of a fantastic group...with 2 outstanding leaders.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ricardo, and András.....a fantastic duo....both went out of their way to accommodate the group..nothing was too much trouble for either of them. From carrying huge bottles of water to keep us all topped up throughout the day, to the daily evening slide show of photos they’d both taken of the group throughout that day...they were both fanstastic, and felt more like friends by the end of the week rather than just our leaders.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walking is fairly straightforward, as classed as a leisurely trip, however there is still a bit of up and down in places. You’ll definitely know by the end of this trip much more about Port! Plenty of opportunity to discover its history and how it’s made, as well as trying several different types.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A few issues with one of the hotels were addressed immediately by our leaders, who’s main aim for th week was to ensure everyone in the group had a fantastic and enjoyable holiday.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Grant Howell

    A Great Walking Tour

    A wonderful week of walking with great guides, interesting co-hikers, very nice accommodation in a very lovely setting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were two things that inspired me; first the beautiful panoramic views of terraced vineyards in the Douro Valley and second; learning a great deal more about the history and culture of this area and Portugal overall.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nuno was a wonderful guide and was capably assisted by Ricardo. He was very knowledgeable about the area and was incredibly helpful in choosing meals and wines. He kept us interested and informed and his knowledge of each of our locations meant no disappointments at all. Both Nuno and Ricardo were personable and very helpful. Great guys!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it! It's fun, it's educational and you'll probably meet interesting people on the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is listed as a Level 1 "leisurely" trip. I think it is closer to a Level 2+ in that there are some significant elevation changes, as well as some paths that are a bit more challenging than "a walk in the park".
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Vicky Boughton

    Beautiful region, great walks and wine

    The Douro Valley is a spectacular region to discover with stunning views and lovely walks. On either side of the Douro River terraced vineyards cover the landscape - this is the only area in the world where Port wine is produced and on this holiday we learnt about the Portuguese history and culture surrounding the process. Several of our walks ended up at a local Quinta (wine farm) where we had the opportunity for wine tasting with a lunch on the terrace which everyone enjoyed. It was a very relaxing and interesting week of walking, with varied routes each day. We barely saw another walker on any of the routes so it felt as though we had the region to ourselves!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the Levada do Piscaredo walk on Day 7 - it was the longest walk that we did but fairly easy walking (no hills), following a waterway dating back to the 13th century. Pretty wildflowers dotted the route and every now and then the views of the river below would come into sight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nuno was great, a keen walker and outdoor enthusiast, he knew the routes inside out and was great company, introducing the group to local restaurants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try the Vinho Verde (green wine) - this was my favourite!
Call us on 1300 131 564