Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Alicia Pennings

    Great trip

    A really full on trip to Peru... jungles, Machu Pichu, Cusco and Lake Titicaca...what more could you ask for! Thoroughly recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the jungle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. Knowledgeable and easy to get on with.Thank you!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Pia Darker

    Inca Trail, Amazon Forest and Lake Titicaca (20 Jul-4 Aug)

    Overall, a very well-organized trip by Exodus and I cannot commend enough our Tour Leader (Smithy) and also the local guides in the Amazon Forest (Joel and Moises) and Inca Trail (Johnny). Smithy, as a Tour Leader, has demonstrated excellent leadership skills in the midst of adversity esp after the Inca Trail wherein our train back to Cusco has been delayed due to unforeseen incident that is beyond of anyone's control. Smithy has been very transparent of the situation and as a group I do feel we pull together and watch out each other. I think Exodus has been excellent in ensuring we will still continue our holiday despite of these setbacks. This is our first exodus experience and will definitely be using them again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inca hike and Amazon forest stay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He embodies the ideal Group Leader. Good leadership, local knowledge, helpful and very much accomodating. He knows the word empathy and connects well with people.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy and just take the experience one step at a time and just take in the moment as it comes. Join the your with open mind.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I mentioned, all local tour guides were great except Junior in Lake Titicaca. Compared to all other guide, he is good but there are room for improvement. Firstly, I didn't like the way he approach some member's of our group who have Osprey Backpacks and try to buy it. This approach happened from the beginning of the tour before we even board the boat and I just find this very unprofessional. Other than that, he sees to it that everyone is having a good time. Also, as much as Lake Titicaca is beautiful and the homestead stay was interesting. Myself and most of the people in our group feels that additional day in Cusco will be far more interesting than going to Lake Titicaca, probably something to consider in the future.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Pia Darker

    Inca Trail, Amazon Forest and Lake Titicaca (20 Jul-4 Aug)

    Overall, a very well-organized trip by Exodus and I cannot commend enough our Tour Leader (Smithy) and also the local guides in the Amazon Forest (Joel and Moises) and Inca Trail (Johnny). Smithy, as a Tour Leader, has demonstrated excellent leadership skills in the midst of adversity esp after the Inca Trail wherein our train back to Cusco has been delayed due to unforeseen incident that is beyond of anyone's control. Smithy has been very transparent of the situation and as a group I do feel we pull together and watch out each other. I think Exodus has been excellent in ensuring we will still continue our holiday despite of these setbacks. This is our first exodus experience and will definitely be using them again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inca hike and Amazon forest stay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He embodies the ideal Group Leader. Good leadership, local knowledge, helpful and very much accomodating. He knows the word empathy and connects well with people.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy and just take the experience one step at a time and just take in the moment as it comes. Join the your with open mind.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I mentioned, all local tour guides were great except Junior in Lake Titicaca. Compared to all other guide, he is good but there are room for improvement. Firstly, I didn't like the way he approach some member's of our group who have Osprey Backpacks and try to buy it. This approach happened from the beginning of the tour before we even board the boat and I just find this very unprofessional. Other than that, he sees to it that everyone is having a good time. Also, as much as Lake Titicaca is beautiful and the homestead stay was interesting. Myself and most of the people in our group feels that additional day in Cusco will be far more interesting than going to Lake Titicaca, probably something to consider in the future.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Sarah Lambert

    An amazing adventure!

    Wow - we packed so much in - three holidays in one; the Amazon, Inca Trail and Lake Titicaca including incredible wildlife, landscapes, culture and history. The itinerary was full on but we were expertly guided by Smithy who looked after our group so well. The icing on the cake was the group we were with - what a wonderful bunch of people we shared this amazing adventure with! The kit list is a good guide and a battery for charging your electronics is a must.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard to pick one - for me reaching the top of Dead Woman's Pass - it was quite a climb and of course getting to the Sun Gate and our first glimpse of Machu Picchu. Another 'moment' would be stopping in a lay-by en route to Puno and being invited to dance with the locals as they celebrated opening up a new roadside market - a breathless encounter at 4335m! So many beautiful sunrises and sunsets in beautiful landscapes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Smithy, was outstanding and he is one of the reasons our trip was so amazing. He was attentive, knowledgeable, caring and nothing was too much trouble, all with a wonderful sense of humour. He instilled confidence in us all and we all felt reassured that 'Smithy would sort it' when things did not go to plan!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes and then be prepared to enjoy the adventure.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared for a non-stop itinerary.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Carolyn Trounce

    Wonderful trip!

    This trip provides the opportunity to experience some very diverse, but all incredible, landscapes of Peru. It includes a bit of everything: adventure, trekking, wildlife, culture, history and great food - especially whilst camping on the Inca Trail! Our experiences were always enhanced by the seemingly inexhaustible knowledge of our various local guides. The trip was very well organised and communication with us, members of the group, was excellent throughout. It involves lots of packing and unpacking of bags for the different parts of the trip, so we needed to be organised too (!!), and Peruvian journeys by air, bus, train and boat! Day 2 of The Inca Trail is very challenging because of the altitude and the length of climb, but once you’ve got through that, Days 3 and 4 were fantastic walking, culminating in our first thrilling sight of Machu Picchu.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sunrise over the snowy mountain tops on Day 4 of the trek.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabricio was a very good leader and we felt in very capable hands. He gave us very clear information prior to all our journeys and activities. He was patient, encouraging and very knowledgeable about all sorts of things.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Hope Ward-Brown

    Trip of a Lifetime

    An absolutely fantastic trip. From start to finish Exodus excelled themselves. It's not often you come back from somewhere and feel you've truly "seen" a place. With this, you do. Spanning landscapes, terrains, cultures, altitudes - you see it all. The Amazon is breathtaking; wildlife, the noise, the vastness of it - it's incomparable. The Inca Trail is a true pilgrimage. Beautiful scenary, a challenge but so worth every. single. step. It's hard to not feel overwhelmed and in awe on arrival to Machu Picchu. The people are wonderful, the food is wonderful, the sounds, smells, early mornings, late nights - worth every single penny. It's not a holiday, it's an adventure - the more you immerse yourself, the greater the rewards. As my first solo trip in my 20s, this was the most supportive environment to see a place, I felt safe and never in any danger. Thank-you to my wonderful group, every guide, every Porter and our wonderful guide for looking after me!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at Machu Picchu was the most awe inspiring moment of my life to date!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Susan Hodgson

    Inca Trail & Amazon Rain Forest + Homestay

    All in all a great trip - I met some great people and saw some amazing sights, but this is no walk in the park and I don't think any of us on the trip fully appreciated just how mentally and physically challenging this trip would be -with a rating of just 3 I think most of us who are experienced hikers - myself and two others hiked in Nepal last year and one of our grp had hiked to Everest base camp thought although a challenge we would not have to many problems - we had underestimated the effects of walking at altitude and not taken into consideration that it would most likely rain as it did for 2 days solid and then having to sleep in tiny tents which let in water whilst wet and cold was not exactly much fun

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most would say when they reached Sungate and looked down at Machu Picchu for the first time and indeed this was an amazing sight but for me it was on the third day of the hike - i had been walking on my own for the first three days as there was a very fast group which although I do understand everyone has to walk at their own pace this meant that the group was spilt up into fast/medium walkers some in the middle and two sensible couples who took their time at the back - I sat down utterly exhausted both mentally & physically when this beautiful humming bird come and sat right in front of me and sung his heart out - a very special moment for me

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our grp leader Julio - a man with great patience and always a smile on his face. Nothing was ever too much trouble for this young man I do feel however, that Julio could have controlled the hike so that we were not so far spread out - I do understand that there was a great difference in ability from the fastest to the slowest but by letting everyone do there own thing it did for me basically end up with me having a solo walking holiday which is not what I had signed up for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    oh yes lots! Don't worry about taking clothes for each part of the tour - you can get laundry done in between trips thus cutting down on what you need to take Amazon - take walking boots and flip flops - there are wellies at the camp if it rains. Take shorts and t-shirts to wear around the lodge The trip notes say that you can only take 20kg on internal flights this is wrong you can take 23kg Make sure you take lots of insect repellent The Sacred Valley trip before you begin the Inca trail is a must Take your time on the walk - yes its a struggle and I know some people just want to get to the end but you will miss so much if you don't look around at your surroundings and most importantly encourage those around you who maybe struggling Remember to pack thermal clothes and invest in a good sleeping bag - I would also recommend taking your own roll mat as the one provided is really very small

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Travel If time is not an issue for you ask about the direct flight to Lima - it does mean that you arrive a day earlier /leave a day later then the group flight but well worth it in my opinion. especially on the return journey - our flight back from the homestay was delayed and we did not get back to Lima until gone midnight and many then had to leave on a 18hr journey home at 9:00 - I and two others stayed on a extra day and we were able to rest before the long journey home and explore Lima at our leisure which was quite a change from the fix itinerary we had been on for the past 2 weeks
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sara Harrop

    Experience the best of Peru in 2 weeks

    This rates among my top trips ever (and I've been on quite a few). Peru is an amazing destination. It is also a huge country and it would be difficult/impossible to organise the variety of activities that enable you to sample some of its highlights without the top organisation of Exodus's UK and local teams.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just a few of the inspirational moments were: 1. Reaching Machu Picchu and sharing the sense of achievement and iconic views with my wonderful travelling companions. 2. Sunrise over the high Andes followed by breakfast on top of the world (well... at 3750m) 3. Reaching 'Dead woman's pass' without actually dying! 4. Dawn and dusk in the rain forest listening to the chorus of birds and beasts.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Raul was a top group leader. His love of his work and his country is infectious. His knowledge of the history, archaeology and culture of Peru are encyclopaedic and he makes the complex arrangements of a tour that encompasses 4 very different environments (mountain, jungle, lake and city) seamless. He treated the group as his family and interacted well with assistant guide, porters and local guides. He was supportive to members of the group who suffered altitude sickness and he is a master of tact and diplomacy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a breathtaking trip - in all senses of the word. The itinerary is packed so you'll need to be fit and active. Lots of early starts and rushed showers in your enthusiasm to see as much as possible at each destination.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I recommend this trip heartily. If it's on your bucket list, go. You won't regret it!
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Anthony Collins

    Moonstone Trek

    This was my first group holiday and I must admit I was somewhat apprehensive at the thought of being with a whole lot of people I did not know and also being organised as I normally like to do my own thing. However, I do have to say that Exodus were first class and our guide Julio Llancay was exceptionally good throughout the trip. On our trek one lady suffered with altitude sickness and was quite ill. Our guide on the trek ould not have been more caring or professional in dealing with the problem. She even had to administer oxygen and arranged for the person concerned to be carried on horseback for two days following which the lady was able to walk down the mountain unaided.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All three elements of the trip were inspirational. The Amazon rainforest, the Moonstone Trek / Machu Picchu and Lake Titicaca. However, Machu Picchu has to take the prize as it was such a magical moment to look down on it especially as we were fortunate to see it in fine weather

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was amazing. He dealt with all our queries and needs without a qualm. He even presented us with a CD contains snapshots of our group at various times on the holiday. The most important thing he did from day one was to create a family atmosphere within the group which prevailed throughout so much so that we are arranging a get together in December

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't underestimate the altitude effect on the Moonstone Trek. It is by no means easy and made significantly harder by the effects of altitude. Also do as advised and drink two litres of water in the morning and the afternoon. You can't afford to get dehydrated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were some issues in the hotels we stayed in in terms of noise both from traffic and in one case staff using an internal metal staircase during the early hours of the morning. Also there were occasions when there was no hot water which is not what you want when you have been out all day.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Anne-Marie Hellewell

    Inca Trail and Amazon Rainforest

    I have wanted to visit Machu Picchu for a very long time and when I began to research my dream holiday, this package ticked all the right boxes. It was everything I had wanted and more. The itinerary is well thought out and makes the most out of the 17 day trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The crowning glory was arriving at the Sun Gate to see Machu Picchu for the first time, having trekked for 4 days. It was a very special moment. However, the entire trip was excellent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wilmer Delgado is an excellent guide. He is both knowledgeable and passionate about his country. He was an excellent host to our group, always attentive and caring. He joined in socially with a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Inca Trail is strenuous, especially day 2, but it is as much a mental challenge as physical. It isn't a race so take your time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    From the moment of first contact, everyone at Exodus has been helpful and knowledgeable. We have now met several people who have had a few Exodus holidays and the consensus is very positive. We're now planning Vietnam and Cambodia!
Call us on 1300 131 564