Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018

    stunning !!

    An amazing adventure that was enjoyed by all. The scenery was amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The crossing of the throng la pass..........this had been what we had been edging towards from the start. Somewhat apprehensive as at 5416 metres and a long long day ahead. The weather was the unknown factor but we were lucky, once the sun came up after 2 1/2 hours , it looked achievable . The scenery was simply stunning most of the time .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sukman was superb. Knowledgeable and experienced he was there for any problem big or small. He shared with us the love of his country and its people .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Much of the group were first time trekkers. Everyone appreciated the use of trekking poles. The steri pen for sterilising water by UV was essential but make sure you have spare batteries as the cold temperature at night can render them useless if you dont keep them in your sleeping bag. The generous baggage allowance of 2 bags totalling 35 kgs with Jet airways meant I could take old warm clothing for the porters/sherpas and back copies of Wanderlust for the schools as they are wonderful pictorial atlases of the world we live in.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Old reviews speak of the road spoiling the circuit. I found it did intrude a couple of times on the trek but it is now important for the future of Nepal and its people. The mini circuit seemed to have less contact with the road than the full trek. It is dusty so a buff is essential but on the last day of walking which was spectacular , the last part......the road became an exhilarating experience and another facet of Nepal. The group all felt the trip was an amazing experience.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Marc Gardiner

    Good Job Exodus!

    This was a wonderful trip - and challenging in so many ways! Above all, it was well organised by EXodus, and our excellent local guide Sukman was outstanding.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking 300,000 steps in 11 days, ascending over 4000 metres in the process and then coming down the other side of the Pass.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sukman was excellent. Not only was he knowledgeable and professional at all times, but he also worked constantly to ensure our comfort and safety. He was always the last to bed and the first to rise, and nothing concerning our well-being was too small for him. Sukman is a treasure!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Relax and enjoy yourself - you are in good hands!
  • Reviewed December 2017
    George Frier

    Best of the Circuit

    The AP mini circuit has to be considered as a viable alternative to the full circuit(which I have not done) - if you have a fortnight and are confident of your trekking abilities, you will get all the thrill of the trek up the Valley and over the 5416m pass , a descent through the incredible Mustang valley on the other side followed by a memorable flight past the AP range back to Pokhara .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without doubt the dawn trek up the to the Thorong La pass - summit reached at 0926 am! to find a small hut selling hot chocolate -and the views behind us of the amphitheatre of the mountains we had left behind and the vast sweep of the Mustang valley ahead. Truly memorable as we all danced around in front of the flags in the very strong winds which sweep across form the west.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - ex nepali army, a natural leader who told us clearly what was what, when, but with a friendly smile and sense of humour. He would take decisions that weren't always obvious to us but then you would see why.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it now! Biggest concern must be whether the route can remain special when there is now a (dirt)road up the Valley from the start point, and now evidence of 4 x 4 tours and the like. That coupled with increasing westernisation of the trek offering -- some of which is welcome (western toilets !) some of which is not ( There was an advert for English breakfast at one place in Menang which cannot be a necessity....) Make sure you are pretty fit and leave your prejudices behind - chill . Literally , as you get higher - but also use it as a reason to do a digital detox as i did and you will enjoy it all the more.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Billy Martin

    Mini Annapurna Circuit - October 2017

    A wonderful trip with beautiful mountain views of the Annapurna region. The trip starts at a low altitude (approx 600m) and you get a variety of scenery, rice paddies and villages at the lower levels to high mountains at altitude. The tea houses and food were excellent and were of a higher standard than I had expected. Hot showers were available at all stops.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After a 4.30 am start, getting to the Thorong La Pass with wonderful mountain views all around. The group were absolutely fantastic and I thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chandra was a fantastic group leader, was very knowledgeable on the Annapurnas. He did everything with a great sense of humour and his evening briefings were very entertaining. He had a wonderful support team in Ming Ma/Pema/Pemba. Ming Ma regularly set the pace at the front of the group which we could all keep up with, this was very important when we started trekking at high altitude.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Drink plenty of water, follow the pace of the guides, this will help to acclimatise at altitude. Using a steri-pen or purification tablets helps reduce the plastic bottle waste in Nepal and is also cheaper than buying bottled water every day. Having previously done the EBC trip, I can say the tea houses on the Mini Annapurna Circuit were of a higher standard compared to those on the EBC trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only negative is the amount of time spent walking on the dusty road, would be great if a trekkers path could be developed away from the road. Not an issue at the higher altitude as you're on mountain paths. Would have no hesitation in recommending this trip and Exodus to others.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Keith Tilley

    Mini Annapurna Circuit (Tour code TNH 161030)

    An outstanding experience. The trek was extremely well organised and led by an outstanding tour leader and assistant guide and guides. After reaching Thorung La and following a long and physically challenging day it would have been good to have stayed in a more comfortable tea house and one that had some heat in the main communal room.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Thorung La pass. A truly inspirational achievement. The varied and changing scenery was also spectacularly beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay was outstanding - so much so i have nominated him 'tour leader of the year'. Please see my comments about him on my submission. He had everything, professionalism, enthusiasm, knowledge and encouragement. A truely inspirational leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do the trek - it's amazing!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some accommodation could have been more comfortable.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Gillian Clayton

    Mini Annapurna Circuit

    An amazing experience. The guides and porters ensured the group were supported, prepared, guided and encouraged throughout the trip. The views were incredible and sharing the experience with the group helped form wonderful friendships and memories

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing the Thorong La Pass together as a group

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A great group leader. Knowledgeable, approachable, enthusiastic and supportive of all group members

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train for the challenge

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Loved Nepal and am looking to plan next years trip with Exodus
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Sharika Chauhan

    Miss

    The mini Annapurna circuit was my first long trek and it was definitely one of the most challenging experiences to date but also the most fulfilling, with breathtaking views and meeting amazing people. I would recommend to anyone who enjoys the outdoors and and looking for a life changing challenge.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting pass the Thorongla pass was definitely an inspirational moment but the whole trip was inspirational. Walking through the different terrains, getting to know the incredible guides and porters and making it through the highest trekking pass in the world all accounted for the whole trip being inspirational. With the weather on our side for the duration of the trip I got to see 3/10 of the top 10 highest mountains in the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant, attentive and very knowledgable about Nepal and the mountains. Very confident.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Naivety helps a lot! For those less experienced in trekking like me! Take a metal water bottle holder, very handy as a hot water bottle in your sleeping bag on those cold nights! Enough toilet roll, hand sanitiser, don't skimp on the boots and socks (I got no blisters!) and a good merino wool and layers! Fish oil tablets help the blood circulation. Go with an open mind and and enjoy each step, it's an amazing experience!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go pro cameras to capture pics and videos! Def worth it! Portable battery charger is very useful. Crampons or yak tracks are optional on the kit list but I would def invest in a pair. Try and bring some old trek gear which you can leave with porters or guides after the trek is finished, they will really make use of it and appreciate it as a thank you gift. Or pens and study material for kids is a good idea.
Call us on 1300 131 564