Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Miquela Riley

    Fantastic four days of climbing

    I loved everything about this tour. Our guide, Yves was fantastic (and seemingly everywhere on the mountain for our group of 10 riders). He is also a man of many talents... translator, support car driver and bike mechanic to name a few. The tour is exceptionally organised and allows you to go at your own pace, despite being in a group. I'd recommend itto anyone who wants to challenge themselves who has a good level of fitness.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to the top of Mt Ventoux...twice! Brilliant!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring layers - warm gloves, head warmer and jacket for the descent
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Jeff rogers

    Ventoux Cycling Weekend

    If you like the mountains this is a superb trip with wonderful scenic riding and fantastic views! The Gorge de la Nesque and Le tour route to the summit of the ventoux was a fantastic days riding. Great guide, superb food and cycling to die for!! Thanks to exodos for some special memories!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Gorge de la Nesque ( Fantastic place}

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding! Nothing else to say

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train hard at home in the hills before you go to enjoy the most of your trip! That said you don't need to be a tour winner!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Maybe make it an extra day and fit another wonderful days riding in ! just a wonderful area to be on the bike
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rupert Livingstone

    Ventoux, Ventoux - so good I had to do the trip again

    I did the trip in 2016 and got my nutrition wrong so walked the last 2k to the summit. I just had to go back to do it properly this year. I was not disappointed as going back made the trip even more enjoyable. The cycling is fantastic and finally cycling all the way to the summit was an emotional and satisfying experience. The trip is changing slightly for 2018 and my only dilemma is whether to go back again to attempt another route. This is a great short break, properly getting away from it all, enjoying some wonderful climbs and descents and basically just enjoying being able to focus solely on cycling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Personally, being successful in cycling to the summit - a big monkey off my back. As a trip, the beauty of the countryside, the camaraderie of the group and the sheer bliss of cycling provided the inspiration. The descent to Sault is a joy, as is the Gorges de Nesque.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yves was simply superb. Without him, the trip would not have been as successful. At no point were there any qualms or concerns as Yves managed to cover off any issues before they arose - even diverting to get bananas when the Sault supermarche decided not to open on time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are reading the review then you are probably serious about the trip so I would use the cliché - just book it. It is a fantastic trip and the satisfaction of reaching the summit more than offsets the pain of the forest. The best advice is the obvious advice. Do some training, get yourself fit, ensure that you have tackled some hills or done some consistent resistance training on a turbo and get your nutrition right. Other than that, enjoy what will be a fantastic and memorable weekend of cycling.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Robert Lawton

    Mount Ventoux

    A fantastic well organised trip that was both friendly and professional made special by our guide Thierry.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We cycled in beautiful weather on quiet roads through some stunning countryside - topped off by achieving the ascent of My Ventoux - the descent wasn't bad either!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic - friendly, well informed, patient & professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take this trip and enjoy the scenery, food & cycling
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Dylan Bexley

    Mont Ventoux weekender

    I did this trip with Exodus back in October 2016 and have had it on my to-do list to leave a review ever since so am sorry it has taken so long! To be clear I won this trip, along with 7 others, as part of competition that Exodus were running. That said I do not believe the quality and service would have been any different if I had paid for the trip privately - in short both were top notch.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having been on a numerous cycling holidays to Europe (all self delivered) I can safely say this was the best by far. The location is truly inspirational given the history and views. The routes the team had planned were fantastic and the base location in Sault is ideal. The Gorge de la Nesque to Bedoin route, before you take on Ventoux, is superb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leadership was spot on. Our group had varying degree's of fitness and the leader would always provide clear instructing on turning and meeting points and was always on hand to accept additional clothing or hand out snacks and drinks. He chose some great lunch locations and would arrange a DIY baguette picnic with plenty of fruit and drinks which was perfect.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Mont Ventoux is not to be taken lightly but is a real accomplishment whether you are going for a Strava time or just looking to conquer it. Virtually all of our group felt quite emotional after summiting which is maybe due to the history and the landscape.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great short break that I would absolutely recommend. The scenery in the area is lovely and the riding was far better then I imagined it would be. Far more then just Mont Ventoux. The Exodus team were superb from beginning to end.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Eric Farnworth

    Mont Ventoux Cycling Weekend

    A four day trip. Day 1 - flight, transfer to hotel, bike fit, dinner. Day 2 - a glorious 87km ride with as much descent as ascent. Day 3 - Mont Ventoux Day!! 105km, total ascents 2060m. We all made it! Celebratory dinner at hotel. Day 4 - gentler ride (still 75km, 1000m ascent), transfer to Marseille airport for evening flight home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We all made it to the summit of Ventoux without seeing the inside of the support vehicle, and without walking a single metre. Some cycled to the top without a stop (and in very impressive times). Some found it gruelling and stopped many times (and at the cafe half way up) to gather breath before re-starting. It didn't matter which category you fell into, it was a challenge to everyone and we each celebrated the achievement of the others as well as our own.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very French, very charming. Helpful, experienced, professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Perhaps drink a little too much alcohol in the evening to deal with those nerves!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As to the cycling, it was superb. Of course it's a challenging trip, but as we stayed in the same hotel throughout, the total daily descent was the same as the aggregate climb for the day. The descents were glorious, on good tarmac with little traffic. I whooped with joie de vivre! (Well, it was France.) As to everything else, don't forget that the scenery in Provence is stunning - wooded mountains, dramatic hillsides, ancient churches, fortified towns, lavender fields, village squares with pavement cafes and colour-washed buildings. Good hotel, excellent (and plentiful) food.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Susannah Pink

    Cycling up the beast of Mont Ventoux

    Thank you to Exodus for a truly fantastic trip. Climbing Mont Ventoux is of course the highlight of this trip but there is so much more! Every day you are cycling beautifully planned routes, climbing and descending in stunning Alpine scenery, through rocky gorges and pretty Provence villages, past vineyards and lavender fields. The road surfaces are really smooth, traffic minimal and courteous. The food was delicious and accommodation excellent. It was my first trip to the Alps and will not be my last! Climbing Mont Ventoux was just thrilling, you certainly need to be fit, but not at pro cyclist level to get up the big hill-determination plays a massive part too. Believe you can do it and you will-I did and without stopping!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Ventoux was the most amazing and inspirational experience that I won't ever forget-as you cycle up through the forest you see all the famous rider names from the Tour written on the road, as you reach the barren white rocks, you see the famous red and white tower getting gradually closer, then near the top you pass Tom Simpsons memorial (I stopped to pay my respects on the way back down). I was really emotional as I reached the top! The group camaraderie was really amazing, a lovely bunch, one of our group, having cycled his way in record time to the summit of Ventoux, then cycled back down just to keep me company up the final 6km-that was pretty inspirational! Descending through Gorge de la Nesque was amazing too-its the most stunning scenery-you start really high and the road gradually winds down through the gorge. Every day the views were inspirational, a feast for the eyes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent. Actually I can't praise Andy, Dave and Thierry from Exodus highly enough! They could not have done more to look after everyone in the group, whatever level cyclist they were. Support, encouragement, bike maintenance, superb routes, planning-they were all just excellent. Thierry also provided delicious picnics en route and was always there in the support vehicle at key points at road junctions so you knew where to go. He knew the best coffee stops and pointed out things of interest along the way such as old churches so you could enjoy a bit of local history too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice is to book this trip! It's a truly incredible and memorable experience. One of the best trips I have done, you get such a massive sense of achievement! I loved it so much I am thinking of doing it all over again! -Don't be frightened to take your own bike, I took my own (a light carbon bike with compact chainset) and it was just perfect for getting me up Ventoux, but you can also borrow a bike out there if required; everyone who borrowed bikes was really pleased with their quality. -You don't need to know anything about bike maintenance either, the Exodus crew are highly knowledgable on anything mechanical which was reassuring. -Take plenty of warm layers-arm warmers, leg warmers, gilet, windproof and waterproof jackets, long gloves, toe warmers, buff-it's freezing on the descents and at the top of Ventoux and the support vehicle carries everything for you, so you can take any layers off before the climbs. It can be quite hot in the valley and several degrees lower at the top of Ventoux. -Take your own energy drink, bars and gels (take lots) there is nowhere to buy anything like that locally!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd like to thank Exodus for a superbly planned trip, I highly recommend it. If you are thinking about booking....do it! Make sure you are fit then go and have the experience of a lifetime!
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Craig McKee

    Mont Ventoux

    This trip was simply incredible! The Exodus staff were amazing. They accommodated our every need and had thought of and planned for every eventuality. The routes were fabulous and although challenging, did exactly what it said on the tin. If you enjoy riding a bike, this is quite simply a must do trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling up Ventoux trying to soak it all in was just incredible - a must do journey for any cycling fan!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andy and David were fantastic. They had a good working knowledge of the routes and the locality. All our needs were anticipated and taken care of. They were very friendly and very welcome company on the rides.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely - book this trip immediately!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I just want to say a huge thank you to all the Exodus staff that made this trip possible. It was quite simply incredible and something I will bore my friends and family about for years to come!!
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Rohan Battison

    Cycling Ventoux

    Possibly one of my most memorable holidays yet! The Exodus team are absolutely amazing, making everyone feel welcome, comfortable and never needing for anything. Andy and Dave - just spot on, not a single negative comment to make from start to finish!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The entire group waiting at the top of Ventoux, cheering and clapping every single rider up - with some even riding back down to ride alongside those who took a little longer to get up. The team work and thoughtfulness of all riders was touching, no one was ever left behind.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    PERFECT!!! He couldn't have been better. Everything was sorted for us, we only had to get ourselves to and from the airport.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a camera of some sort - GoPro or similar to attach to the bars/your helmet - the views are out of this world!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can't thank Exodus enough for giving me this trip of a lifetime - riding with Dave, Andy, Ned Boulting and the rest of the competition winners was like a dream :) I had an amazing time and wish it didn't have to come to an end!! I'll be staying in touch with the other riders and can't wait for the pictures and footage to come out.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Izabela Ruprik

    Cycling up the Big Hill

    Our trip was extra special as we were a small selected group being filmed for a documentary so we had TV crew with us as well but the itinerary was the same. I was thinking about doing it for a while so when the opportunity presented itself I decided to wrestle with the famous Mont Ventoux. And it was all it promised to be: stunning region, beautiful weather, picturesque villages and a beast of a climb.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Facing demons over the last 6km of the climb from Chalet Reynard. Everyone was saying to me - once you get to the Chalet you know you have got this but for me that is where the battle started.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thierry was great: knowledgeable, funny and understanding. He really loves what he does.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Layers, layers, layers. Leg warmers and arm warmers are god-sent. The descents are fast and freezing. if your shoes have a lot of mesh, bring the toe covers or whole shoe covers. Big winter gloves, full gloves but not too thick and mittens. Energy drinks and gels - make sure you have some.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    In our group we had some really savvy riders who think nothing of 1,000 miles per month, or 500m in a week but then there was me who only rides outside a few times a year - mainly with Exodus holidays. I do get training indoors though as a spin instructor and it was a great help. The climb itself is extremely challenging mentally and I had a few emotional moment as it is relentless.
Call us on 1300 131 564