Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    GEORGE TARBUCK

    An excellent adventure

    A great holiday with memorable sights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra was amazing and two days well spent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eddie was great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take toilet paper and imodium. You will need both. If you drink then take duty free with you. Drinking in Jordan is expensive and hard to find. Almost impossible during Ramadan. Good walking shoes for Petra. Hat is essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The people of Jordan are friendly and pleasant. There is minimal retail hassle as compared with somewhere like Egypt.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Linda Nicol Smith

    An amazing experience in Jordan

    A great trip with a full itinerary, a fascinating insight into Jordan.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to spend two days in Petra and explore the site.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eddie was helpful charming and very kind. He ensured we had an enjoyable experience and was knowledgeable about his country. He was concerned to meet the needs of individuals as well as the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a beautiful but extremely arid country. The itinerary is pretty full-on, theer is not a lot of downtime on this trip and most mornings are early starts, because there is so much to see and do.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The day after the night in the desert is very long - some of our group would have preferred a hotel upgrade to beach front hotel rather than a transfer to a beach resort (although the resort was lovely and quiet) with hotel check in after dinner that night. One of the best trips I have made, thank you Exodus.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Marian Beaver

    A fantastic trip

    A great tour. It covers so many places and sites; we felt we’d seen as much of the country as we possibly could in the time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1. The desert trip to Wadi Rum was simply wonderful. Loved travelling in the jeeps. 2. walking down the Siq to the Treasury at Petra. 3. Having lunch overlooking the Golan Heights and the Sea of Galilee. 4. snorkelling at Aqaba. 5. the Mosaic at Madaba!!!! Is that too many? There are more! 😊

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eddy is SIMPLY THE BEST. He is so knowledgeable about everywhere we went. He gave us so much information. He doesn’t overburden you though. He has a great sense of humour. You feel also that he is vigilant of every person’s needs at different times and is taking care of you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t take too much luggage! Don’t forget your torch for the desert (I used my phone) Be prepared for primitive sleeping conditions in the desert (though you do have a bed!) Don’t complain or moan; no one on our trip moaned about anything - it would be awful to have a moaner on board! (If you drink alcohol Take a couple of bottles of Gin with you - especially if it’s Ramadan - you can get the Tonic ; but alcohol was in very short supply throughout ! )

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I read on another review that a group of 16 felt cramped on a small bus. I can understand that, as there is quite a lot of travelling . BUT we had a good sized bus that enabled us to spread out and have a whole seat to ourselves. We faced too much food! It may have been because it was Ramadan that there were large buffets each night preceded by a range of mezze, that were sufficient in themselves. Also we had a lovely young armed policeman with us on the bus throughout. It surprised us and I’m not sure how necessary it was. But he thanked us for coming!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Ian Baker

    A safe country with a lot of history and a great guide

    Well organised by Exodus and our local guide "Eddie". Full and active days with no wasted time; be prepared for early starts to get to sites before other groups. We had decent hotels with hot water in all locations, except of course the desert camp. We covered the whole of the western side of Jordan and the desert loop around Amman. The east is mainly just sand. We travelled to the Golan Heights then via the Dead Sea to the Gulf of Aqaba visiting a sequence of forts on the way. Lunch and Dinner venues were a mix of quick snacks and full meals, including My Mom's Recipe Restaurant in Petra.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The obvious "most inspirational moment" would have to be Petra and the way our guide first revealed it to us, but there was also a recurring issue throughout the trip of how long the history of this whole region is and how different civilizations have come through and built on or developed the cities of their predecessors. We spent 3 nights and 2 full days in Petra - any less would have meant missing key parts. Our hotel was only a very short walk from the Petra Visitors' Centre. Jordan clearly forms a peaceful oasis in the middle of a very troubled region; we never felt at risk or in danger.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Probably the best tour guide I have had. Knowledgeable with the practice of knowing how much information to impart before we suffered information overload. Eddie had a good sense of humour and his running funny stories about Asus added a balance to the historical facts. Eddie also made himself available at all times should anyone need him and although there was no doubt that he kept a close eye on the group to make sure he had not 'lost' anyone we did not feel we were being controlled or herded as a school group might be. I must emphasise how good his English was, it made the trip so much more relaxed than it would have been otherwise.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't bother doing Petra by Night. It is a good concept and may have had good nights in the past but the night we were there it was a clear case of over selling of tickets and people being pushed into the front, with nothing to sit on, blocking those of us who were seated in what should have been the front. Beer is expensive - 500ml costs £9 in a bar and £3 in a Liquor Store. Best to go to the store and buy a few cans to take back to a room, don't forget your duty free on the way out. The night before the desert camp, and before the beach at Aqaba, make sure that you have packed a separate small bag with the essentials as it makes life a lot easier.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were a group of 16, all experienced travellers, and no one was ever late for the bus, but I would not want to see a group any larger than that. My only negative for this trip was that the bus was uncomfortably full with no spare seats and insufficient space for luggage. Four seats were badly compromised by the wheel arches. Using a bigger bus may have presented difficulties in traffic and parking so I think the number on this trip should be restricted to no more than 14, ideally 12. Rather than distribute/sell small plastic bottles of water Exodus used two 20 litre bottles of filtered water to top up our personal bottles, this worked well, no one had problems with drinking the water - take a decent refillable water bottle. Exodus booked a day extra at each end of the tour for me, which also included airport transfers. This worked well because the normal tour sees an arrival at or after midnight, a transfer to the hotel, a few hours sleep, breakfast and away. My extra day before I used to take a leisurely walk in Amman, following the Lonely Planet walk, seeing some of the sites that are only covered fairly quickly on the last day of the tour and some that are not covered such as the Souks. The day after the tour I just had a relaxing day instead of having to have an evening dinner then off to the airport at 04:00 AM.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Neil Baker

    Jordan - Thoroughly Recommended!

    A great experience, you get to see so much, from crusader castles to the Dead Sea and the delights of Wadi Rum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Well this comes down to two: - Petra, just amazing, nobody told me it was such a massive site. You will need a couple of days at least to fully explore. - Wadi Rum and staying over in the Bedouin camp, once again an unmissable experience. Just don't bother with the camel ride, that's just slow and boring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eddie was just great, plenty of personality and did a good job of sheparding the group around. He did spout forth a lot history and I know sometimes his facts weren't 100% accurate but hey I wouldn't have it any other way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yep the hardest part is the lack of alcohol, it's not illegal they just do not serve it in the eateries. So beware and brace yourself for an almost dry trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another great quality of Jordan is the people they are genuinely warm and friendly, which always helps.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Judith Simpson

    Jordan Adventure

    This trip provided us with a wide range of activities and cultural visits across the Kingdom of Jordan. An ever-changing landscape is studded with Castles and world famous sights. From Neolithic artefacts to T.E.Lawrence, we felt we had uncovered some of the long history of the people of Jordan. We received a very warm welcome wherever we went; the children and teenagers were keen to try out their English lessons with us. Food was excellent (and plentiful) on each occasion, with a range of choices for vegetarians, and our hotels were very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Attempting to float in the Dead Sea; mud bath to go with it! Reaching the top of the mountain near El Deir / The Monastery, at Petra. Sunset in Wadi Rum. Snorkelling over the coral in the Red Sea......

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eyad / Eddie Banna was an excellent group leader; friendly and efficient, with good use of English. He was very well-informed about the historical / cultural /religious significance of each city / site of interest, and he prepared us in advance for what we were about to see and do. Eyad also retained his sense of humour when we became ensnarled in traffic, and kept us entertained with anecdotes en route.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember to wear your sun hat, sun glasses and sun block! As a female traveller I went with a bag of modest wear (long sleeved shirts, scarves etc) but found the dress code did not appear as strict as I had expected. Walking trousers, knee-length skirts / dresses and shirts with short sleeves are fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We left Jordan fully satisfied that we had "Seen it All" What an amazing experience!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Jane Hodd

    Hidden Treasures of Jordan

    An extremely comprehensive but whirlwind tour of Jordan. A lot of time spent on the coach between destinations and physical activity ranged from almost none on most days to extreme on the Petra days. Very friendly people and excellent food everywhere. The sites and places we saw were stunning but there was often not enough time to take it all in. We felt safe at all times and there is no need to worry (at the moment!) about its geographical position!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the High Sacrificial Places and the Monastery in Petra, floating in the Dead Sea, Jerash and the jeep drive round Wadi Rum, which included watching the sunset while Bedouin made us tea over an open fire. All these were real highlights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eyad (aka Eddie!) was extremely friendly and caring with a great sense of humour and a lovely smile. He obviously loves his job and his country and is very knowledgeable about the places we visited and their history. There was often an information overload!!!! He enabled us to try a variety of restaurants and organized visits so that we missed bus loads of tourists and locals. We travelled at peak time but seldom met a lot of tourists. Eddie really made the trip. A huge thanks to him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long drives in the coach and 2 long, hard days of walking in Petra. You are able to hire horses, donkeys or camels in Petra but it's not cheap. Maybe bring a walking pole? Bring a torch for Wadi Rum. Do your shopping in Aqaba - much cheaper than anywhere else. Dead Sea soap at the Dead Sea - £10, in Aqaba £2.50 !!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Jordan was a surprisingly expensive country, except for food. Food was always cheap and plentiful but everything else was the same or more expensive than you'd pay in GB. The trip should be at least 2 days longer, to enable proper exploration of Madaba and Amman. I backed out of some group time in order to have time to myself and chat properly with locals. Not enough free time was provided because of time constraints.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Jane Hodd

    Hidden Treasures of Jordan

    An extremely comprehensive but whirlwind tour of Jordan. A lot of time spent on the coach between destinations and physical activity ranged from almost none on most days to extreme on the Petra days. Very friendly people and excellent food everywhere. The sites and places we saw were stunning but there was often not enough time to take it all in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the High Sacrificial Places and the Monastery in Petra, floating in the Dead Sea, Jerash and the jeep drive round Wadi Rum, which included watching the sunset while Bedouin made us tea over an open fire. All these were real highlights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eyad (aka Eddie!) was extremely friendly and caring with a great sense of humour and a lovely smile. He obviously loves his job and his country and is very knowledgeable about the places we visit and their history. There was often an information overload!!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long drives in the coach and 2 long, hard days of walking in Petra. You are able to hire horses, donkeys or camels in Petra but it's not cheap. Maybe bring a walking pole? Bring a torch for Wadi Rum. Do your shopping in Aqaba - much cheaper than anywhere else. Dead Sea soap at the Dead Sea - £10, in Aqaba £2.50 !!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Jordan was a surprisingly expensive country, except for food. Food was always cheap and plentiful but everything else was the same or more expensive than you'd pay in GB. The trip should be at least 2 days longer, to enable proper exploration of Madaba and Amman. I backed out of some group time in order to have time to myself and chat properly with locals. Not enough free time was provided because of time constraints.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Lorna Baker

    Hidden Treasures of Jordan

    This adventure exceeded my expectations. The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan offers a huge variety of different landscapes and activities for the traveller. Its historical significance provides loads of opportunities to enjoy ancient civilisations. Exploring these sites was fab but also meeting the friendly people and trying their food was great. This particular trip allowed me to discover Jordan in depth and I feel I have experienced it from the verdant North to the deserts and Red Sea of the South.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra was amazing. Hiking up Al Khubtha Trail to view the Treasury from up high was an experience I will not forget. I loved Wadi Rum, the scenery stunning and the jeep ride was so fun. Also knowing that Jesus had been baptised at Bethany was.......

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eyad Bannna Eddie to his friends was a fantastic tour Leader with a winning smile. He looked after us and made our experience of Jordan special. He managed to get us into Jerash early so we had the place to ourselves before the bus loads arrived, and took us to different local restaurants so we could sample all the food. Thank you Eddie

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not be put off because there are problems in the Middle East. I felt safe and the Jordanians were so friendly. As a female traveller I felt relaxed and was able to move freely and did not have to cover up. It is an amazing trip you will not regret booking it. ENJOY!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Andrew Grier

    Unmissable Jordan

    This was one of the most interesting and inspiring cultural trips I have been on. Our guide was superb and the history, along with the scenery in Jordan, made for a truly outstanding 10 days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is impossible to pick one particular moment as there were many. The top 5 highlights for me were, lunch overlooking the Sea of Galilee, the Roman City of Jerash, the site of Jesus' baptism at Bethany, Petra and the Wadi Rum, but, on any other holiday, many of the other sites we visited in between would have been in the top 5 too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I cannot praise Eyad Al Banna (Eddie) highly enough. His historic and current knowledge of all things Jordan and the Middle East was exceptional and he imparted it in an interesting, humorous and patient manner that truly made the holiday. Eddie really brought the group together and did a great job keeping us all pointed in the right direction, dealing with personal matters quickly and effectively, all whilst telling jokes and constantly having a smile on his face. He is firmly in my top three guides from all the adventure and cultural trips I have been on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make the trip and enjoy it. Do not worry about travelling in Jordan just because it is in the Middle East. The people are very friendly and it feels totally sage
Call us on 1300 131 564