Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2018
    Joyce Orchard

    Three small countries with a lot of character

    The Baltic countries are interesting and the old towns are charming. They have suffered a lot under various foreign rulers and are proud of their independence.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Cold War Museum was chilling and reminded us of how close we came to a nuclear war. We enjoyed the tour of Rundale Palace and the visit to the Sand Dunes of the Curonian Spit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We found him quite distant. He didn't encourage or welcome questions. He had his agenda and was sticking to it. He was not sensitive to the needs of some people in our group. He walked too quickly for some of us and at times he didn't wait for us to catch up. In Trakai Castle, he lost 1/4 of the group and never even apologized. to us. He said we were going to the great hall, and 5 of us were left behind. We missed a turn and went on up to the top level while he was still on the main level. I suggest that he should check to see if all have arrived before he starts talking.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Joyce Orchard

    Three small countries with a lot of character

    The Baltic countries are interesting and the old towns are charming. They have suffered a lot under various foreign rulers and are proud of their independence.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Cold War Museum was chilling and reminded us of how close we came to a nuclear war. We enjoyed the tour of Rundale Palace and the visit to the Sand Dunes of the Curonian Spit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We found him quite distant. He didn't encourage or welcome questions. He had his agenda and was sticking to it. He was not sensitive to the needs of some people in our group. He walked too quickly for some of us and at times he didn't wait for us to catch up. In Trakai Castle, he lost 1/4 of the group and never even apologized. to us. He said we were going to the great hall, and 5 of us were left behind. We missed a turn and went on up to the top level while he was still on the main level. I suggest that he should check to see if all have arrived before he starts talking.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Joyce Orchard

    Three small countries with a lot of character

    The Baltic countries are interesting and the old towns are charming. They have suffered a lot under various foreign rulers and are proud of their independence.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Cold War Museum was chilling and reminded us of how close we came to a nuclear war. We enjoyed the tour of Rundale Palace and the visit to the Sand Dunes of the Curonian Spit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We found him quite distant. He didn't encourage or welcome questions. He had his agenda and was sticking to it. He was not sensitive to the needs of some people in our group. He walked too quickly for some of us and at times he didn't wait for us to catch up. In Trakai Castle, he lost 1/4 of the group and never even apologized. to us. He said we were going to the great hall, and 5 of us were left behind. We missed a turn and went on up to the top level while he was still on the main level. I suggest that he should check to see if all have arrived before he starts talking.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Gwendoline Aldred

    Great holiday

    Really interesting trip made extra special by our guide Melia, whose knowledge was incredible. We were really lucky with the weather and had a really good group of people.The

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The city of Riga

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Carolyn Baxter

    Travels in the Baltics

    A bit of a whirlwind tour although the three Baltic States relatively small, green and flat. I knew virtually nothing about them before I went but learned a lot out there. In particular their very complicated history - waves of invaders of whom the Soviet Union was the last one. There are ex-KGB premises which are now museums - very sobering to visit especially as people who were tortured there or sent to gulags still have family alive. Very sobering. The tour was a good mix of cultural and natural sights. So as well as cities and towns there were visits to the coast. Much of the scenery was very attractive with a lot of forested areas The number of places visited in a day and the amount of information imparted was sometimes a bit excessive. It was hard to absorb it all. There wasn't much free time in some venues except for Riga.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlights rather than inspirations: Art Nouveau architecture in Riga 'New Town' - stunning buildings Cold War missile base in Lithuania - recent history, very unusual The Coronian Spit kilometres of white sand and a cormorant colony Tart(Estonai) u and Vilnius(Lithuania) Universities campuses

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He (Simonas) was very sociable and approachable. He sang Lithuanian traditional songs on the minibus, in public places. Very unusual and a insight into the musical tradition of the country. Unfortunately there was no group introduction session which might have helped cohesion, as he was unable to arrive until the morning of the first day and we went straight into a tour of Tallinn. He had a slight tendency to shoot off ahead of the group - slower individuals found it hard to keep up sometimes. He should have checked everyone was there when crossing busy roads in cities. Though some of the group often wandered off so hard to keep tabs on them, Local guides were generally excellent though the one in Tallinn was less so. Drivers also good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Maybe go a day early or stay a day later so that you can see a bit more of either Tallinn or Vilnius. Some days were quite long and tiring It was more expensive than I had imagined (but cheaper than the UK) On the whole this is a good introduction to the Baltic States

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotels in Klaipeda and Vilnius were very noisy and their black out curtains were ineffective Some of the venues for group evening meals were disappointing and the food was not very good. One or two places cloud be left out e.g. a cave in Lithuania, Amber workshop and wind vane workshop on Coronian Spit.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    anne higgins

    Excellent Baltic Tour

    Excellent Baltic tour covering three countries and popping over to Bosnia for lunch.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great culture tour, very varied with city tours and history together with village life. Completely different.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Evelin Balta was an excellent tour guide and very attentive, going out of his way to make sure all the group enjoyed their holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Weather was good and only needed rain mac for one day. Nice and warm for this time of year. There is a swimming pool in Hotel Park Lakeside, Ohrid but it is very cold and you have to pay extra for your sun bed, so make sure you swim and relax around the lake. Make sure you visit Bunk Art 2 in Tirana, an excellent museum, very interesting some of the group said. It was a shame i didnt have time to visit, so an extra day may be advisable at the end of your trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Small group and lovely leisurely tour. Most of the group were retired, but you still need to be fit to walk on the city tours.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Linda Romalin

    Discover the Baltics

    The trip was very good. We had 11 in our group and were a mix of American, British, Australian and an Italian. Hotels were pleasant and transport was comfortable with pleasant bus drivers although some of the trips were long. There were enough stops along the way to keep things interesting. The major areas of the three countries were covered with a variety of cities, culture, nature and sea although the main focus was cultural even in the national parks. I would have preferred some walks on the many trails and boardwalks we were told about. The guided tours and time on our own was evenly divided. In Riga, there was plenty of time to see the Old Town, visit museums, relax in parks and cafes, and shop. In Tallinn and Vilnius, not so much. Overall, the trip was true to the itinerary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not sure if I would call these inspirational moments but the museums in Riga (Occupation, Jews in Latvia, and Barricades) were all extremely interesting as well as The Cold War and KGB Museums in Lithuania. The Hill of Crosses was pretty amazing and the Curonian Spit was a nice break from the cities.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Jolita, was personable and knowledgeable; she did her very best to take care of each persons's needs and interests. She went out of her way (and above the itinerary) to take us out each evening when we arrived at a new city to give us an orientation and suggest places for dinner. We went to dinner (mostly) as a group 5 times. We didn't need a local guide in Lithuania as Jolita as a Lithuanian was the expert. I really enjoyed her upbeat personality and genuine excitement to teach us about the Baltic's turbulent history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are interested in visiting museums you will have a hard time except for in Riga as there is not enough time during the day and you arrive in the cities at the time when museums are closed or are closing. I would suggest an extra day in Tallinn and an extra day in Vilnius.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus changed the Tallinn hotel 3 times without telling anyone about the third hotel. This one was outside of the Old Town on the seaport which was not very well located. They also changed the group flight from Lufthansa to Air Baltic without telling us. This changed the departure time from afternoon to morning. The only reason I took the group flight was to have some additional time in Vilnius so I was disappointed about that change.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Shona Tudor

    Discover the Baltics

    We had 12 days touring through the baltics at the end if May. The hotels, coaches and food were similar standard to the UK. There is usually an English menu. The tour guide was mostly interested in history which was not my interest in so much detail. The three countries are really small so the sights are not as good as other countries but the flip side of that is that it isn't as busy. The weather was similar to the UK. Take warm clothes for the evenings.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing all the storks and cormorants nesting. I went at the end of May so this would only apply to this time of year. I liked the hill of witches which shows the artistic spirit from the last few years. Also we happened on to a folk dancing festival and they are so much better than our folk dancing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jolita was enthusiastic, especially about the history of the region. She was really scatty in terms of giving us information we NEEDED. I had to ask others when my flight was 30 mins late. She wittered on and on and although she thought she spoke English she didn't bother trying to get the words in the correct order. I understand it is difficult though as all three countries have different languages so she had to speak Russian as well. It made it really hard to get the crucial information when she was going on and on. She kept saying da da da. We went out as a group the first and last night.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Advice would be to take a travel kettle as only one hotel supplied one also decaf coffee wasn't available. The hotels had wi-fi without passwords so I would recommend installing hotspot vpn before you travel so no-one else can access you phone etc. I have damaged my ankles walking so much on cobbles so I would recommend hiking boots with ankle support. There are lots of opportunities to go to mini supermarkets so don't worry if you forget anything. I took binoculars as there are alot of birds esp storks nesting. The leader wasn't interested which was a shame.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would be nice to have a few more things that weren't just about history and churches.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Jean Brouwer

    Great tour with very interesting history

    This tour covered a lot of ground in a short time. We learned so much of the history of this area and its people. It was good to have mix of activities in the cities and country areas. We visited old castles and palaces, national parks, museums, cities and small towns. There was a very good balance of organized activities and time to explore on our own.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are so many churches still in existence and used for artistic activities such as music and art, as well as for worship. Many have been extensively renovated in a variety of styles. Despite difficult times, people retained their cultural background and creativity and are proud of their countries. Everywhere there are memorials to celebrate writers, poets, musicians.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Migle was outstanding. She was totally involved with the countries we visited and her knowledge of the history and current events was conveyed in a way which kept our interest throughout the trip. Her personality and charm, and her professionalism shone through.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for lots of walking over cobbled roads and pavements. You may have to haul your bags up a couple of flights of stairs in some hotels. Read the trip notes before you travel and as you go so that you spend your free time most efficiently and don't cover ground which you will be covering in the guided walks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were fortunate to travel with a group of like-minded people who, while from different backgrounds, got on really well together. Thanks team!
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Susan Blake

    Beautiful Baltics

    Nearly two weeks travelling through the Baltic countries, this tour was a nice mix of historic cities and national parks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Should I ever be lucky enough to own a palace, I would like to decorate it like Rudland Palace, one of the many beautiful places we visited. I really like the rococo stucco decorations. I was also inspired by all the public art, especially the sculptures I saw in all sorts of random places.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jolita, our group leader was fantastic, Nothing was too much trouble for her and she did everything she could to make sure everyone had a good time and a hassle free trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    During our city stays, there was plenty of free time so read your guidebook in advance to come up with a plan of how to make the best use of your time, The food in all three countries was excellent and good value although vegetarians might struggle to find much variety. On the other hand, chocoholics will do well. Luckily, we did a lot of walking to make up for all the great food.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I very much enjoyed this tour. As well as seeing some amazing sights and paddling in the Baltic sea (it was way to cold for swimming), I learnt a lot about the three countries, especially their turbulent history. I would definitely recommend this tour and would like to go back to and see more of Riga, Vilnius and Talinn.
Call us on 1300 131 564