Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Pippa C

    Walking in Sardinia

    The walk on the first day was cold and very windy and I was unsure what to expect - but after that we were lucky with perfect sunny weather. Every day was very different with some challenging walks and very interesting archaeology. The countryside was very green with colourful flowers and the sea very blue. The sea was pretty cold in early May but a brief swim was very refreshing in the clear water. The hotel was family run and very friendly with hot showers and homely food. Our leader Albert was great - although it would have been nice to have learned a bit more about Sardinian culture. Our group spanned 30 years in our ages - which made for a really good mix of people. I really enjoyed Sardinia and this holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say. I loved Serra Orrios in its setting of olive trees - and also seeing a bee orchid!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was excellent. It was nice to have some local guides at some sites too. And having wine and local cheeses at the small family vineyard of our minivan drivers was very welcome.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles were good with some steep ups and downs on coastal paths.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Derek Clarke

    A great holiday

    Sardinia proved to be a surprisingly beautiful island with good walks and a fabulous coast. The hotel is very good with excellent food and very friendly staff. We were blessed with great weather which I'm sure influenced my enjoyment. The group was also lovely but that's my experience almost every time with Exodus. If you happen to have Albert as your guide you will indeed be fortunate - a more caring, competent and sociable leader would be hard to find. Personally I would drop the 'tourist day', hence only four stars.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Perhaps the boat ride!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Laura Keely

    Varied walking and friendly people

    Sardinia offers good, varied walking and activities on a beautiful island. We stayed at a very welcoming family-run hotel, as so often with Exodus. The town of Dorgali is a centre for crafts - traditional and modern jewellery, leatherwork and pottery, mostly - and the locals are friendly and helpful. The walking group included people with many different talents, backgrounds & interests. As usual I had many great conversations on a range of subjects, made some new friends, and learnt much.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the spring flowers

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was great, very helpful - especially when my luggage was delayed, as he lent me his down gilet for extra warmth! He put a lot of effort into making sure that everyone had the best possible holiday, and was always cheerful and flexible

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather was very variable on our late April trip - expect a range of temperatures and weather, sometimes in the same day

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There was a member of the group who was quite difficult to relate to, because she was slightly un-neurotypical. She also had problems and got upset as she found it hard to deal with us as well. It was a shame as no-one really knew or could arrive at a good way to get on with each other better. Alexis did his best to understand her, and our, problems. Unfortunately, people often have high expectations of their week off from work - and this made some of the reactions to her behaviour a bit intolerant. It gave us all lots to talk about though!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Andrea Stewart

    First trip with Exodus

    First day of walking was straight up. Not a very interesting route. I suggest you rethink this option. Sight-seeing day was fun, informative and well paced. Tiscali was a fabulous day. An alternative hotel would be a significant improvement. The accommodation was simple, but with 4 hours post walk before dinner, the ‘lounge’ was minimal. Meals were simple and far from expectations- dining in Italy should be a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great day going to Tiscali

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous! Energetic and personable. Alexi worked hard to ensure participants were happy and doing well

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A different location for the base of this trip should be considered. Why not reside in the seaside town 20 minutes away? How sad to have 4 hours after walking but to be no where near a beach? There are beautiful areas of Sardinia, but I don’t feel this trip includes them. I feel this itinerary needs a serious over haul.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Lesley Waud

    Great trip

    One of the best trip leaders I’ve seen in almost 20 holidays with Exodus; lovely family run hotel; amazing gelato and great walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The lunch on the beach - great barbecue food and awesome views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was knowledgable, caring, considerate and good fun to be with. He was one of the best trip leaders I have come across.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Margaret Edwards

    Walking in Sardinia

    We had a super time on this holiday. Sardinia is a beautiful island, the walking was very enjoyable and the hotel used was perfect for this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving in Dorgali to find a 2 day festival taking place. It was a joy to behold. Also, walking to Tiscali high in the mountains and discovering this ancient place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis is an excellent leader. He guided us with great care, fun, expertise and consideration for all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take walking poles as they can be very useful on the stony paths. Be prepared for all weathers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd highly recommend this holiday to those who enjoy walking, good food and drink and the opportunity to explore local village life.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jennie Pickstone

    Island of wonders

    This was an excellent trip! The walking was quite hard occasionally because of some rocky terrains but I am in my 60's and not the fittest for my age ....so no problem! The weather was very changeable- I believe more than usual- so waterproofs are a must in September. The sights we visited were stunning! Tiscali and the Stalactites were amazing. Our guide Alexis was superb. He clearly takes his job very seriously and has a good knowledge of the region. He is also very sociable and humourous. Like all holidays a lot depends on the group...this group were exceptionally nice. I can really recommend this holiday if you want a good mix of interesting archeological sights and walking. The food and wine was rather good too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to choose but either Tiscali or the cave with the stalactites etc. It was like walking into Gormenghast!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Already said....Outstanding!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have good footwear suitable for a rocky terrain. Take walking poles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Rob Rogers

    Sardinia ticked all of the boxes

    From the initial booking of the holiday to arrival in Sardinia, from the first greeting of our Exodus Rep to the final goodbye, Exodus delivered. We were well fed (Italian like to feed you, and you'd certainly not go hungry at Hotel S'adde), we were organised, informed and cared for. Our Exodus Rep was knowledgeable of the area, he had scoped out restaurants, bars and gelato establishments and was available to assist and make our trip relaxing and enjoyable. Sardinia delivered on many fronts too, exciting landscapes, mountain tracks, beaches and caves, boat trips, wine tasting and local cuisine - it has something for all. For us the holiday was made memorable because of the location and because of the group of people also on the trip, always someone interesting to talk to. So well done Exodus, another excellent holiday delivered - in the immortal words of Arnold Schwarzenegger "I'll be back"

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The landscape The local people -warm and friendly The local wine - great tasting and plenty of it
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Ian Lochhead

    Walking in Sardinia

    Another superb Exodus trip. A great way to explore a beautiful country. Sardinia is an idyllic place with amazing beaches & stunning mountain scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were numerous points during the week which proved inspirational. One that stands out however was the walk into the Gorropu Gorge, the deepest natural canyon in Italy - quite breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was a superb leader. A proud Frenchman(as I discovered whilst watching his beloved France at the World Cup on TV with him at the hotel one evening!) and a true gentleman. He was full of fascinating facts/stories about the areas we visited and nothing was too much trouble for him. He had a great sense of humour and contributed greatly to my enjoyment of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for high temperatures during the walks, especially in mid-June when we were there. Take plenty of water on all walks. There is also a small amount of rock scrambling involved during some of the walks to be aware of. However, my best advice would be that if you are considering this holiday then go for it - you will not be disappointed!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my 11th consecutive trip with Exodus this year and I cannot recommend this company highly enough. Everything is taken care of for you leaving you to relax and enjoy the trip. Hotel Sadde where we stayed for the week is a very comfortable hotel and the staff are very friendly welcoming people.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jacky Wilson

    Beautiful coastline

    Always wanted to go to Sardinia! The coastline is really beautiful - unbelievably clear sea, deserted beaches and completely unspoiled. The holiday is based in a family-run hotel in a smallish town. It’s fine - friendly, but breakfast and picnics were disappointing even if dinner was generally good. There is a fabulous pizzeria a few minutes walk from the hotel as well as a good gelatería. The walks involved more scrambling over rocks than indicated on the trip notes and the terrain was quite hard on the joints generally as it was stony. The walks were also all quite similar and I would have preferred more variety. Sardinia (or this area anyway) doesn’t seem to have much architectural interest and we didn’t see any pretty towns or villages such as you would always see in mainland Italy or France.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Amazed at all the beautiful beaches - truly, who needs the Caribbean? This is perfection.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was brilliant - helpful, good humoured, friendly, interesting. A really top guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was the heat that was difficult to cope with rather than the walks. There are generally not places to top up bottles at midday so you need to carry a lot of water to keep hydrated all day. I did not enjoy all the rocky terrain and scrambling. I should perhaps have asked more questions though the trip notes only indicate “some” scrambling so I didn’t expect it would feature as much as it did. It’s a challenge to pack two pairs of walking shoes in your case but if possible a pair of breathable ones for day 1 and ones with more robust soles for the remaining days would be ideal. I think a pole was very helpful. Sunhat essential too, even if you don’t normally like wearing one!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If it were possible to find greater variety in the walks I think it would be better. I wish we could have had longer in Cala Luna on the last day, not just 45 mins - there was a lovely shady bar but no time to swim, have a drink and then get ready to walk.
Call us on 1300 131 564