Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Karol Zemek

    Not recommended for complete beginners

    The trip was enjoyable overall, but as a complete novice to skiing, I struggled. Almost everyone in the group had some experience of either cross-country or downhill skiing, and the pace of the group was understandably set by them. As such, those of us with no experience had to learn very quickly, and I could have done with more practice and training before heading out on the less basic routes. The end of the week in particular was very tough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    -

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a good trip for people with some experience of skiing or for those that can learn quickly.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Cathie Cowell

    Cross country skiiing

    Excellent group, the leaders had extensive knowledge of the area and the sport. Liz was a thoughtful encouraging and inclusive leader. No complaints at all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful, awe inspiring scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Could not fault her.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go for it.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    DAVID BELL

    Excellent week in Dobbiaco

    A great week's cross country skiing in Dobbiaco. Sunshine and blue skies were great but the snow was getting thin by the end of the week. Hotel was very good. Excellent breakfast buffet and plenty of choice for the evening meal. Wellness suite was great to stretch the muscles after a good day skiing. Efficient bus service to get to different ski areas each day and only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The skiing was very good every day but my best memory will be having a coffee by the lake above Dobbiaco which is very beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 leaders as this was a Level 1 and 2 holiday. Alex led our group and I found the pace and the teaching perfect. He knows the area very well and was able to choose good skiing every day despite the worsening snow conditions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of thin layers as the start of the day may be cold but once the sun gets up so does the temperature. A close fitting light rucksack is very useful to carry water, suncream and the layers you remove.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our third ski week in Dobbiaco and the scenery is so beautiful I hope we will be back again.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Jim Watson

    Fantastic two weeks. I could have stayed longer!

    This was my fifth trip to Dobbiaco, the first as an absolute beginner. The trip was as enjoyable as my first. The first week was grade 3/4. The second was grade 2/3. A hard first week with long days. The second week was more relaxed with more time for a hot chocolate and a sauna on returning to the hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skiing down the Kreuzburg Pass. A really interesting 5k snowplough.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz and Ingrid were both excellent as usual. A great combination of providing instruction at an appropriate level and good encouragement. They looked after the health and safety of the groups while at the same time encouraging the participants to stretch themselves. They are both relaxed and sociable: They are good to be around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it! Dobbiaco is the ideal location for beginners with the Arena complex the ideal location to begin skiing safely. More advanced skiers can stretch themselves to their full ability in a variety of different locations. If you can manage go for two weeks. You will want to stay for longer as you become immersed in the culture of the area. Make sure you go for a hot chocolate in the cafe across the road from the hotel. My favourites were the white and the chilli versions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is excellent with a fantastic spa. The hotel staff are relaxed, friendly and efficient. They even provided good porridge at breakfast! Perfect for a Scotsman.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Sonia Barber

    Cross country skiing Dobiacco

    Endless snow covered trails, rugged beautiful scenery, great company......I didn’t want it to end! Possibly my 8th time in Dobiacco but still inspired on new trails and forever in awe of the views. Love going back to the Hotel Tschurtschenthaler which is always welcoming and well situated with plenty of food. How long until next year?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the blind skiers enjoying their environment on cross country skis with their guides.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Liz and Ingrid worked tirelessly together to make the trip the best it has ever been. I’m forever in awe of their fitness and skiing skills and I had an amazing time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you go on the right grade holiday for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please could Exodus try a trip for touring grade 3 cross country skating style skiers such as myself.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Wendy Pillar

    Introduction to cross-country skiing

    Dobiacco is a really beautiful place and there is lots to do outside the skiing. The skiing tuition is very good, and flexible, as on the level 1/2 week you can move between groups if necessary. Although the loipes feel remote, they are mostly not far from a bus route, so you can stop early if you have really had enough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day 2 of skiing it came together and I felt I could actually do it, it was a beautiful sunny day and we were skiing through a gorgeous valley through the mountains, and it was magical. The free day was also pretty special, with snoeshowing and riding the ski gondola to the top of the mountains for a 360 degree view

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was a very enthusiastic and good instructor, who made sure everyone made a lot of progress, even a ski skiver like me! She was very good at balancing the needs of the different abilities, and always full of information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cross-country skiing is hard! Don't assume it is easier than alpine, there is quite a lot of technique to learn before it really starts to flow, and quite a lot of falling over on the first day. You need decent fitness, and strength in upper body and core as well as legs helps. Doing some work on your balance before coming would pay dividends. You'll definitely go home fitter! Alpine ski clothes are too warm. You need a lighter coat and lots of layers, as the variation in temperature between waiting for a bus and skiing up a long hill is considerable.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Barbara Binns

    Fantastic skiing on good snow in the sunshine - with excellent leaders

    When I first cross country skied in Norway 15 years ago, my leader said 'go to Dobbiaco'. And now that I have, I understand why she recommended it. The skiing was excellent and varied, with just the right amount of challenge without being scary. The snow conditions were great and we had good weather. The sceenrybwas stunning. The hotel was very welcoming, and a good wellness centre with sauna, swimming and steam - a perfect way to relax after a day skiing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many inspirational moments - skiing through beautiful landscapes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The two leaders, Ingrid and Alex, were both excellent. Athough we were all experienced skiers, they took time to check out our skills on the first couple of days and helped everyone ski better. They assessed our ability well and took us to places with just the right amount of challenge. They were both good fun, competent, knowledgeable and all round good leaders who made me feel safe and confident.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and enjoy yourself! But do check you are booking the right grade holiday.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Rachel Bown

    Best holiday ever

    I fell in love with the Dolomites, so beautiful. Cross country skiing is an awesome way to see the winter scenery. Our instructors were great. Being first timers we learnt from the best, Liz is an excellent instructor both with verbal queues and demonstrations. Fun exercises to learn safely. It was the best winter adventure and most wonderful Christmas.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Breaking tracks through fresh snow, it felt like we were pioneers. A great adventure.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An excellent instructor, very talented, knowlegable and fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do It!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel was lovely friendly and warm. We met some great people.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Wendy Wilman

    Ticked all the boxes

    Holiday provided exactly what I wanted. Confidence to master the basics of a new and demanding sport, excellent leader, great hotel, fabulous location and a friendly group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the fourth day of skiing after fresh snow, we explored a stunning valley in beautiful weather. Had another wonderful lunch in the knowledge we would work it all off before our 5 course dinner! Does it get any better?

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very friendly, very knowledgeable and a very patient and inspiring teacher.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Target your pre trip training. Good stamina level essential. Triceps, adductors and shoulders suffered! Then just go, eat ski and lose weight !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Living in north of England it was bit frustrating to have flight back too late for last train north. Maybe need to explore regional options next time.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Gillian Miles

    What a surprise!

    Now, I realised pretty quickly that I am NOT the demographic that Exodus aims for. I am fat and mid 50 and although I ride my city bike every day to work and walk the dog,I am not fit. I do not have a racing bike, I walk rather than run (or take a bus or tram) and my gym membership lapsed years ago. I like to swim properly - but thats it. However, I could join my road biking, running, daily yoga doing husband on this trip, AND have a good time!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When I realised I could keep up with the others in my group, that it was ok to be slower, that Liz, our teacher was patient with me and enjoyed my successes as much as I did! That Liz could adapt the programme to allow me to stay with the group, without frustrating them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing. Liz Procter, ex PE teacher and fitness nut - you were amazing. At times when I could have sat down and cried, you were there, helping set me right and encouraging me all the time. You set me goals and helped me adapt. You were always there with a ready reward or thick hot chocolate and strudel!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go! I had NEVER skiid before and I love d it. Yes we will go again... The hotel is basic and there is no choice for main meal for vegetarians, but we were always full!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is beautiful area and well worth a visit. Even if there is not much snow, it still works for beginners. The Nordic arena is great for practice.
Call us on 1300 131 564