Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Peter Woodward

    Would I go again? Yes I would.

    From tropical beaches, through steaming jungles to Scottish moorlands Sri Lanka has it all. Where else can you grow where they grow pineapples, coconuts and cashew nuts a few miles down the road from tea, potatoes and leeks? Fantastic scenery, great food and wonderful people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a 5ft water lizard at our first road side stop after leaving the airport. Just a taste of what was to come.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader had a great sense of humour and loved his country. Standard answer to any question was usually "90 minutes" and he wasn't far wrong.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow. Sri Lankans don't like to hurry and preparing fresh food takes time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not quite paradise but not far from it. If you have been you will know what I mean, if not then what are you waiting for?
  • Reviewed May 2019
    ANITA MICHALCZEWSKI

    SRI LANKA - A SMALL COUNTRY THAT HAS SO MUCH TO OFFER.

    GREAT HOTELS, SIGHTSEEING, FOOD, PEOPLE. SRI LANKA HAS ALL OF THIS. OUR TRIP WITH EXODUS TRAVELS WAS GREAT. WE HAVE SEEN SO MANY GREAT TEMPLES, CLIMBED THAT AMAZING SIGURIYA ROCK, OBSERVED MONKEYS AND ELEPHANTS IN THEIR NATURAL ENVIRONMENTS, TASTED SO MANY YUMMY DISHES. OUR BUS DRIVER DARMAN WAS A VERY SKILLED DRIVER (THAT YOU NEED SO MUCH IN SRI LANKA). HIS HELPER SAMAN WAS ALWAYS READY TO GREAT US WITH A SMILE AND ALWAYS MADE SURE THAT WE WERE WELL HYDRATED, AS HE SUPPLIED US WITH WATER THRUOUT OUR JOURNEY. THE HOTELS WERE ALL OF A VERY GOOD STANDARD AND SOME OF THEM DID OFFER A BREATHTAKING VISTAS. MY FAV. WAS THE HOTEL GIRITALE IN GIRITALE AND ALSO THE HOTEL TILANKA IN KANDY, AS THEY HAVE OFFERED MOST AMAZING VIEWS.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    VISITIG A BUDDHIST TEMPLE ON THE BUDDHIST NEW YEAR AND GETTING A SPECIAL BLESSING FROM A MONK WITH A THREAD TIED ONTO MY WRIST. AND ALSO STANDING ON TOP OF THE MIGHTY SIGURIYA ROCK AND FEELING PROUD THAT I WAS ABLE TO GET THERE, AS NOT EVERYONE WAS ABLE TO CLIMB IT.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    SURESH WAS OUR AMAZING WISH MASTER! NOTHING WAS IMPOSSIBLE FOR HIM TO DO FOR US. I WISH EVERYONE TO ENCOUNTER SUCH A GREAT TOUR GUIDE. HE WAS VERY PASSIONATE AND PROUD OF HIS COUNTRY. HE MADE OUR JOURNEY A VERY PLEASANT ONE. HE ALSO SHOWED US HOW ONE SHOULD STAY IN SHAPE, AS HE WOULD TAKE US FOR MORNING WALKS AND WE COULD SEE HIM EXERCISING EVERY MORNING. HE ALSO HAS GIVEN US A HONEST ADVICE WHEN IT CAME TO SOME GREAT SHOPPING PLACES. I HOPE TO STAY FRIENDS WITH SURESH IN THE FUTURE AND ALSO HOPE THAT HE CAN VISIT US IN CANADA, NEXT YEAR, AS HE LOVES TO TRAVEL.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I WOULD SAY: LIVE YOU LIFE AND DO NOT GET SCARED OF SOME POTENTIAL TROUBLE IN ONE COUNTRY, OR THE OTHER. UNFORTUNATELY BAD PEOPLE ARE EVERYWHERE AND I REFUSE TO STOP TRAVELING, BECAUSE OF THEM. SRI LANK IS STILL A RELATIVELY SAFE DESTINATION AND IF YOU FEEL NERVOUS - JUST STICK TO THE SMALLER PLACES AND AWAY FROM THE BIG CITIES - AND YOU WILL BE OK. THERE ARE PLENTY OF THEM IN SRI LANKA.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    THANKS EXODUS TRAVELS FOR ORGANISING SUCH AN UNFORGETABLE TRIP!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kathryn Walker

    Fantastic way to get a taste!

    This 8 Day journey gives you a very quick taste of Sri Lanka. There is so much more you will want to explore. Definitely an experience to remember. There is a reason that Sri Lanka is called ' The Pearl of the Indian Ocean' Full of Biodiversity! Breathtaking truly! The people are amazing, kind & full of pride for their country! I can not wait to go back and explore what else this hidden gem has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Dambulla Cave Temples... Really any temple in general. But the Cave temples were so beautiful and the detail was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was great! He had the information everyone needed and he took care of us. he always made sure everyone was happy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only thing that wasn't up to the standards of the trip was the Cultural Evening in Kandy. I found it difficult to see some of the performances and we weren't sure which one was what based off the brochure we received. not sure If there is an alternative to the location we were at but it was very hot and uncomfortable. other then that! it was fantastic
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Rhonda Struthers

    Sri Lankan Highlights April 2019

    Exodus does an excellent job in showcasing this jewel off the tip of India. This tour gives you the highlights of Sri Lanka in a short amount of time. The itinerary is varied with sightseeing, hiking, biking with a little down time thrown in. You do need a basic level of fitness even though this trip is rated 1. Accomodations are mostly 3.5*. Super clean, friendly and unique accomodations. The food at the hotels were plentiful and very good. Focus is on Curry and Rice dishes with many vegetarian options. Our guide Suresh directed. The Elephant Safari, Lion Rock and biking were some of my favourite activities. Sri Lanka is suited for all including families.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I am not sure there was a moment. But the people of Sri Lanka are beautiful people. They are a kind and gentle people. It was lovely seeing the families including several babies at the temple. Families enjoying the beach together. The children running out to say hello to us when biking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Suresh was A-One! He was well organized but laid back. He imparted much information. A lovely man who is approachable, kind and funny. He truly made our trip wonderful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great stepping stone before visiting India. You will have some of the influences without the craziness. Some level of fitness is required if you would like to bike, hike etc.. January and February are peak seasons. The off season of April was a wonderful time to travel. Not as many people and weather still pleasant. Sri Lanka has it all: Beaches, Temples, Elephants, Monkeys, Lion Rock, beautiful Scenery.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go to Sri Lanka!. Please do not take this destination off your list because of recent events.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    tom jestico

    We scratched the surface

    We were a mixed bunch of travellers from mainly the UK, aged from 24 to 76, single and partnered. Roshan was our tour guide - he'd been doing it for over 10 years, so there was a certain repetition in his recommendations. Sometimes we were simply let loose to explore without guidance. We enjoyed his descriptions about social life in Sri Lanka and his take on politics but he was reticent about the current situation and we learned little about his private life. He was very helpful at all times. Some days were full of activity and others were more relaxed. Sigirya was my favourite hotel. We were there over the New Year's holiday so some activities such as the Tea factory visit, were not as illuminating as they would otherwise be. The buffet food was excellent and the hotels left little to complain about. Unfortunately our trip ended on Easter Sunday, when over 250 people were killed in Colombo. Exodus were very good at organising transport to the airport despite the curfew.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visit to the Tsunami house.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As above. Roshan is, I felt, naturally reserved. Apart from learning our names, he seemed disinterested in who we were and where we had come from. He delivered his messages as required but I felt he was sometimes bored. He rarely asked us how we were and did not fully engage with us. (I went on an Exodus Rajasthan trip last year and had an excellent guide, Ayjay, so I had high expectations). Occasionally, towards the end of the trip, he spent more time with us at our evening meal. I foolishly left my camera behind at the Tea factory and he was very good at recovering it. I wish him well for the future.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Relax. Sri Lanka is not Europe. Go with the flow. Service can sometimes be slow and unresponsive. This was my third trip to Sri Lanka. The people you will meet are kind and helpful. Health and safety warnings can be excessive. I had no insect bites and was never exposed to danger. Lions Rock, Adams Peak and the walk to Worlds End can be hot and challenging.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Lynda Hoar

    Amazing tour

    A tour to be thoroughly recommended, covering all aspects of Sri Lanka and it’s lovely people. Busy, lots of early starts and some long journeys but so worth it. The trip notes were accurate and we were also able to see sights at their most opportune moments, I.e. climbing Lion Rock before breakfast and before the crowds, Temple of the Tooth while a ceremony with drumming was on, Horton Plains early before the heat and the mists descended. Having lunches cooked by villagers and our guide stopping and buying us bananas, watching curd (yogurt) making and tasting it, eating freshly sliced Jack fruit at the roadside. We enjoyed every minute.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing elephants and leopards (and other animals) close up from a jeep in Yala and Minneriya. The ceremony at The Temple of the Tooth. Climbing Lion Rock. On the cycling day we enjoyed seeing the countryside, wildlife, and the local people, also having an amazing collection of curries cooked on a farm for lunch. Paul and I don’t cycle but tuc tucs were hired for the non cyclists so that we could still enjoy the day to the full.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ruwan was an amazing tour leader. There are some long journeys on this trip but they didn’t seem long as he made them very interesting with his informative talks on the history and culture of Sri Lanka and by regular stops for treats like bananas and Jack fruit, view points and waterfalls. He was very calm and well organised, warm and friendly and a good sense of humour. We were always well informed on where we were going, timings and what to take etc. Nothing was too much trouble for Ruwan and it was a pleasure to have him as our tour guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light, the hotel laundry service was excellent, good value, and in most cases same day service. Leave some room in your suitcase for purchases, I.e. tea. It was very hot and humid during our stay (March) so you’ll need loose cool casual clothing. It’s probably best if you like curry, there’s the most amazing selection at the buffets, and a lot are vegetarian. However, it’s usually possible to order a la carte, just remember to do so at least half an hour in advance! Binoculars were useful, especially in the game parks. Walking trainers best for Horton Plains. We changed some money at the airport on arrival but all the hotels took credit cards.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Gabriella Sardi

    Fantastic trip!

    An amazing trip with a very full on itinerary! You’ ll see all the highlights of Northern India, you will do all the must activities like boat ride in Varanasi. Yes, there will be early mornings, but in return you’ll got to see fantastic places during sunrise! Yes, there will be long bus journeys, but you’ll travel through small villages and see how people live and take some amazing photos. Yes, most hotels were basic, but nice and clean with friendly staff. Yes, the overnight train is fun! Read your trip notes to know what to expect, arrive with open mind, ask questions and enjoy this amazing country!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Varanasi! I wasn’t very keen on that town, read lots of disturbing facts. But the morning boat ride on the Ganges was very inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had the best tour leader ever. Friendly, very knowledgeable, had amazing customer service and went all above and beyond for all of us! Thank you Naveen Bazaz! You are a true treasure for your company!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read your travel notes, they have all the info you need to know! Travel with open mind, ask questions and enjoy!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you Exodus! This was an amazing trip! Had an amazing time which i won’t forget for sure!!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Ruth Chew

    Great Trip

    Rajasthan is an amazing place. The people, the colours, the chaos! This was my first visit to India and it has left me wanting more. The itinerary covered all the highlights, but our guide, Ajay, added walks in the villages and towns to add to the experience. We even visited the home of an Indian family which was lovely. The only minor negative was that there was less free time than the itinerary promised and little, if any, time to look round the markets and generally absorb the atmosphere.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal was breathtaking! I will never the moment I first got sight of it. A memory that live with me forever.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay, our group leader, was very good. He was knowledgable, helpful, humurous and a lovely person. He could not do enough to make sure that we all had a great time. We had some wonderful food and the location for our final meal was excellent. It seemed to be his sole aim to make sure that his group had the best experience in his beautiful country.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Kevin Munns

    You certainly won’t forget it

    The most appropriate comment I read before booking the trip, which turned out to be true, was “not for the faint-hearted”. Amen to that. It certainly was a memorable trip, but its probably an itinerary best suited to an 11 or 12 day tour, but crammed into 9 instead. I’m sure Exodus have a great angle on the market by doing so much in a trip that people only need to take a week off work for, but the 7 hour drive after landing for people who booked the group flight, three sunrise starts, another 5am arrival after a night on the train, all added together is a bit much for some people. What we saw was life-changing in lots of ways, especially the evening aarti ceremony in Varanasi, but who knows what else we would have noticed with a bit more sleep!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The aarti ceremony in Varanasi, an optional extra suggested by our excellent guide, was truly something that forced you to put your camera down and try to make sense of what was happening. Lots of other moments were incredible too, the Taj Mahal, walking aroung Jaipur for the first time, the Amber Fort outside Agra, etc etc

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent. It was the end of the season and he had probably done a trip too many by this time, but his experience showed through at key moments, and made the trip for us. For example, advising us not to look towards the Taj Mahal before reaching the main gate, (the opposite of what the local guide was telling us), his knowledge of the best dishes in the restaurants we went in, recommending the aarti festival in Varanasi, sorting out sleeping arrangements on a train with 7 people in two carriages at one end of the train and 5 i a carriage at the opposite end.. the list goes on

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    At the very least book one extra night in Delhi before the tour starts, or do what we did and book two. Don’t take the group flight.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The tailor-made extensions which we added were absolutely excellent. Forget having a Goa extension (how many beach resorts in the world are there better than India, and why would you choose even a good one when you knew it would be full of Indian men?), have a 4 or 5 day Udaipur extension instead, with a few optional activities, but lots of time to walk around the old town as well and absorb the incredible atmosphere there.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jo Browning

    Fabulous trip

    A full-on, fast moving trip with many highlights and a fabulous introduction to Northern India - its sites, sounds, colour, culture, hospitality, food and so much more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal at sunrise does not disappoint but the evening prayer ceremony at Varanasi was truly inspirational - impossible to explain but I am still taking it all in one month later.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay made our trip. A shining example of Indian hospitality and courtesy. He wanted to make our holiday the best it could be for us. He was a master at keeping us on the move, without feeling too rushed, and at juggling itineraries to make every second count. He had fabulous knowledge, endless patience, great sense of humour and definitely went 'the extra mile' to make our visit so enjoyable. Thanks, Ajay

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be realistic - some things (weather, public transport) are beyond the leader/itinerary's control. Go with an open mind and you will see and experience masses. I took sterling and it was easy to change at hotels. Take binoculars for the game drives.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An amazing trip...
Call us on 1300 131 564