Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Mike Baker

    Another Gold Star for Exodus Travel!

    This was my fourth cycle holiday with Exodus (previously Dalmation Coast, Albania, Puglia in southern Italy) and I certainly hope there will be many more. I am often asked which is my favourite so far. So difficult to pick one as they are all top drawer stuff. It is a fantastic way to get to know a country and its history; our guides did not disappoint in this respect. The weather was not always kind, but the tour was packed with interest, visits, charm, and views that stun. As a photographer, all those appealed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being part of a church service in Vulcan on our first day of cycling. Although I an not overtly religious, the feeling of being part of a community was quite overpowering and emotional.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Radu was excellen, full of knowledge of the history of the region. We all got on famously with him and, not forgetting Stefan, our driver and mechanic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it now!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to be able to see details of each ride day on the previous evening. This happened on the Albania trip and was most useful giving distances, stops and profile of the route.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Nigel Harrison

    Really enjoyable week cycling in rural Mallorca

    Being our first cycling trip, we approached with some trepidation and possible misgivings. We need not have worried. The whole trip was excellent from beginning to end. An excellent leader(see below), generally good hotels, brand new hire bikes (bonus!), beautiful landscapes, routes mainly off the beaten track. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys cycling for leisure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it up the big climb to the Formentor viewpoint and tower on the last day, as I realised that I’d managed the week and I didn’t have to “save myself” to get through subsequent days. Having announced that I had never cycled three days in a row, making it to six days felt a major achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alfonso is a really pleasant young man whose charm and easy-going approach equipped him with an ability to manage the vastly different levels of cycling strength and desired outcomes within our small group. We always made it to the various destinations fairly intact and in good humour, despite Alfonso having to reschedule lunch stops if we had taken longer than anticipated getting to a scheduled restaurant! Mention should also be made of our “support driver” José whose cheerful friendly approach was welcome when he and the van popped up at certain points on the route with water and snacks to be freely dispensed. He was most encouraging and was also helpful in sorting out any bike-related issues

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are really only an occasional leisure cyclist do pay attention to the training plan that is sent out by Exodus. It can appear rather daunting but even if you don’t totally replicate it in your own “training”, take the ideas from it and adapt it to your own needs. It’s certainly worth it, as the mileage and amount of climbing is front-loaded at the beginning of the week and you want to be able to enjoy the whole week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The itinerary takes you through some wonderful quiet Mallorcan countryside along routes and through villages which would normally be off the “tourist agenda”: superb. The hotels were generally excellent and comfortable with perfectly adequate breakfasts to help you on your way. We were fortunate in only having a small group making cycling together along the way and descending upon cafes and restaurants more manageable than if we were a full party. Obviously Exodus could not continue with such numbers but it was certainly a bonus for our trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Brigitte Schneeloch

    Cycling in Sicily

    An excellent cycling trip, for me in a less well known area of southern Sicily. The cycling was good, and the hills were more than manageable with my very dependable ebike. Our leader made sure that we also packed in as much sight seeing as possible, so we learned a lot of cultural background to the places we visited. All were very interesting, but ending up in Syracuse and having plenty of time for eating wonderful food, and sight seeing, was a surprising bonus. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip and would recommend it to anybody!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As above: visiting Syracuse, and seeing the Baroque town of Noto Two very beautiful places

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was just wonderful! Full of knowledge, helpful, guiding us safely through traffic, And up the hills. And down again!!! Lots of fun, always on the lookout to avoid any potential problems. He and the very patient van driver guided us safely on the road sections And they excelled at making us wonderful picnic lunches on 3 occasions!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to see Sicily, then go for this trip! Depending on the season, it can be chilly . Be prepared to cycle some significant hills!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Rebecca Horsley

    Volcano to Venice

    Cycling straight forward. Some wonderful places. Interesting hotels. Weather was not great though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the culture art and churches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    NA

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Weather unpredictable. Have an extra day at end for Venice.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More time needed for visiting art and culture. Check all notes each day or you may miss something. Eg. Vouchers for places. Ensure you check where to get off the boat on lake Cards as not clear for all hotels.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Janel Hannis

    Epic trip in Epic Country!

    Having done about 10 trips with Exodus now, this one excelled.. It is challenging, rewarding, interesting, fun, exciting, all mixed in with a heady charm offense that India is.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the climb up the Jalori Pass, (3200m); one minute in the snow-line, 56 downhill kms later, in the soaring heat - 38degrees I'm guessing! Extra-ordinary contrast in one day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader. Difficult to manage a small group of 4, but did a good job nonetheless. Interesting information about the country and always jolly and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not really... If you pick this tour you are obviously quite fit, so just stay hill fit.. A range of suitable clothing and wet weather gear is useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just an awesome trip, I would eagerly do again!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    j allen

    DIdn't hit the high notes

    This was a curate’s egg of a trip, definitely not the best Exodus trip we have taken. It is rather a tour that is done on bicycles rather than a ride proper and yet it fails as a tour. The riding was not challenging enough for me and a bit challenging for my wife – so probably the right level for us as a couple. That said, far too much of the riding was done on endlessly boring cycling paths with unchanging views. There are a few climbs of decent length and steepness, hence the challenge for some of the group including my wife. Only two descents were memorable and I dislike being told to go slowly on them – go carefully yes, but not to go slowly for the hairpins that did not exist. And ultimately, very sad that you cannot ride from Padova (Padua) into Venice – due to lack of suitable routes - obviously beyond Exodus’ control. As a tour you visit some fascinating places, Verona, Vincenza, Padova and Venice to name the main ones, though only in Venice do you have time to explore. Vincenza has 23 buildings by the architect Andrea Palladio and Padova is home to a great university. Venice is one to see if you have never been before. That the visit to a family vineyard is considered to be the highlight of the trip for many – superb buffet lunch and most agreeable tasting – underscores that this is not an epic ride. The “support” van was a disappointment compared to our previous trips. For mechanicals, not an issue, but to support human endeavour distinctly lacking: only water was provided. No coffee, tea energy drinks; no biscuits, chocolate covered raisins or other energy giving eats; no picnic lunches magicked up in remote and beautiful places, no fresh fruit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sadly lacking one

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I understand that this was our group leader's first as leader. He was a little over-protective to start with but mellowed during the course of the week. Informative and helpful but lacking the obvious enthusiasm that we have had from leader's on other trips

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    With no sustenance on the support van, all coffee, tea and lunch stops are at cafes, pizzeria's, or other establishments requiring payment.... this adds noticeably to the overall cost of the holiday. If you wish to enter St Mark’s basilica In Venice – do not join the queue, instead take your day pack directly to the baggage drop (you are not allowed to take into the basilica) which is on a small side street to the left of the basilica and go directly to the front of the queue waving you baggage ticket (it’s free) – you will be allowed straight in.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We suffered from a distinct lack of fresh fruit and vegetables. The salads on the menus were not great.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Wayne Moore

    Great trip

    A very good option for a week in Europe. The islands between Split and Dubrovnik are beautiful and in May there was very little traffic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day in Mljet was one of the highlights of the trip, stunning ride around the lake.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marin was a brilliant tour leader, knowledgeable, friendly and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do choose the Mljet option, it was a great day out. Arrive a day early and stay in Split for a night, it is a beautiful city. May is a great time to go, less traffic and not too hot. Hotels are typical 3 star, but they all had hot water, comfortable beds and a bar!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Fiona Winter

    Scenic cycling

    A lovely tour through beautiful countryside. Challenging climbs rewarded by stunning views and downhills. Pity that both the olive oil tasting and the visit to the museum of the Mediterranean diet (film crew took precedence apparently) did not happen and the bad sea conditions cancelled the boat trip. The visit to the buffalo mozzarella farm was a bit of a disappointment for us as farmers. I had hoped a worker would show us round rather than Paolo who knew less than I did. Also we were not allowed to see any cheese being made or see inside the dairy, all rather frustrating. Amalfi itself is just one big tourist trap but Ravello is really worth the climb and an enchanting place, the garden there is magical. All together a great holiday, but a bit more attention could be paid to the attractions en route.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The town of Ravello and the stunning walk up and down to it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paolo kept us well looked after and safe, especially when riding in traffic. Nobody got left behind or stressed by the pace and he was always there when we needed him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you fancy the trip but don’t think you can manage the cycling use an electric bike, they are great!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Fenella Butler

    Cycling in Sicily

    this was an amazing holiday I cannot rate Davide highly enough, he is knowledgable, kind and thoughtful and guided us so well. He is great fun. Giuseppi the driver also made a great difference, he took care of us at every steo, another kind and helpful man. The two men made an excellent team It would have been good to have been told that there would only be sandwiches on the plane then a long drive and no food at the hotel. The hotel was great and did their best giving us some bread and olives. If possibly would be much much better to travel earlier both going and coming back.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    being saved from falling off my bike because of the high winds by the leader. and coming down from the Cava Grande, 7 k of hairpin bends.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Totally amazing - see comments in summary

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes get yourself some food to eat on the plane and ask Exodus to get earlier flights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go on choosing where possible really good driver/machanics like Giuseppi - would not have been such a good trip without him. I have made a decision not to fly just for a holiday - so next time will have to budget for a train journey. has exodus considered getting group bookings on trains for ecologically aware travellers.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kalpesh Patel

    Great times

    It was a really fun trip. Very well organized. Terrain is moderate. This was my first real biking experience and I felt I was able to manage it. Our group was small - 10 people and we gelled immediately. Overall organization and coordination was excellent. It is a well thought out route. You get to see a lot of history and meet locals - especially in churches.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was amazing to stay in the fortified church the first night. The minister actually served us the dinner (and perhaps cooked for us as well).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Radu was amazing and very knowledgeable about Romanian history and European history. He took care of anyone's needs and issues immediately. He made it very easy for all of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I am vegetarian. They did their best possible to cater to me. So there was no lack of food. However if you are used to flavors and spices in your vegetarian food, I suggest to pack some sauces.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bike gear shifters could have been better. E.g. delayed gear change or change several gears at once. Made it less smooth on hills sometimes. Stefan - the support person - was excellent and fixed mine a few times, and he did his best. But problems still persisted on-and-off because I think the shifters need to be replaced.
Call us on 1300 131 564