Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

39 Reviews

  • Reviewed September 2019
    Polly Vallance

    Brilliant adventure week!

    This week had all we were looking for ...... heaps of action, a beautiful scenic country & a relaxing place to be. We did all the activities included in the week (white water rafting, canyoning, kayaking, biking & zip lining) & did additional paragliding & advanced canyoning. Such a fun active area to be in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Oh my ....... too many - we all loved them ! Too many awesome highlights to single out a particular one.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn’t have a group leader as we were just a group of 4. But the company that organised all our activities were awesome & any questions were dealt with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    GO ON THIS TRIP!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a superb sleek fun filled week full of adventure, excitement & fun. A beautiful area & the hotel was all we could have wanted. Perfect!
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Tracey Podger

    spectacular Slovenia

    Surely one of the most beautiful countries - unspoilt, natural and breath-taking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    it was all inspirational - being amongst nature, it's beauty and power. The Soca river is a wonder in it's own right and as you travel via various modes of transport it takes you through mountains and valleys equally stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader worked hard to meet everyone's needs and was flexible with the itinerary. He was knowledgeable and keen to share his country and experience with the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of sun cream and if you aren't keen on heights the zip wire might not be for you...but there are plenty of other activities to enjoy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    highly recommended
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Grant Cadden

    Go on this trip!

    The week was really fun and well organised. Plenty of different activities in an amazing location. Great activities, food, accommodation and leaders- would definitely recommend this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the canyoning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leaders were really accommodating, fun and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Would recommend the paragliding and advanced canyoning optional activities.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Diana Hurley

    Slovenia multi-activity

    |As above

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Zip lining. Canyoning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great guides

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own cycling gloves/mitts as they didn’t have any
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Daniel Scrivens

    Amazing!!!

    This was my first exodus adventure and it most certainly won’t be the last. This week had everything. Slovenia is an untold beauty which must be discovered. The socha river is a magnificent turquoise and being able to do multiple activities on it is amazing. Slovenian people are very friendly, warm and welcoming. Kobarid is much smaller than expected but is a lovely quaint little village with plenty of restaurants to try. The team were amazing and helpfully and the group was a wonderful mix, with people from all walks of life. I would love to go on another trip with them all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    -
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Freya Hodson

    Amazing!

    I had the best time on this trip, so much fun and all the activities and guides were amazing. And the place was stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery, Slovenia is breathtakingly beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic, the whole team couldn't do enough for you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip now! You will not regret it.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    georgina isaac

    we all had so much fun!

    Loved the mixture of activities. Hotel Torrecerredo was very friendly and great location (set above and behind the town centre), they went out of their way to be helpful and to offer guidance, especially on the days I didn't join the group. Hotel food was EXCELLENT! Dinners were substantial, creative and delicious; breakfast was plentiful and varied, even homemade cake! Fantastic choice of excting extras to put in packed lunches. View from our room - and from the dining room - was superb when the clouds went away. Loved the bar area, great for meeting others, and the beautiful garden sitting area too. The drying room was a special bonus, all kit dry and ready to go the next day, even after the river canyoning day!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We'd all answer this differently! We all loved it all but particular favourites: I loved the Fuente De mountain walk best, especially that we were above the snowline in mid Summer. My son would say the canyoning river days, especially the "advanced" session for the very keenies! My husband would say the stunning Cares gorge walk, or possibly the coastal bike ride.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great fun, very helpful, extremely knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Picos multi activity holiday is fantastic, especially for a party with varied interests. Different footwear is helpful - grippy water shoes, plus walking boots or tough trainers - and layers for going up to the snowline, cold at the top even in Summer. Don't worry if you have to miss out on an activity, there's so much else to do.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A minor point in mid Summer - if you have rooms facing across the valley (stunning views!) - if we were last to shower then our side of the corridor ran out of hot water. Oddly the rooms on the other side were fine so once we realised this we showered in our son's room if we were showering late.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jackie N

    Fantastic - amazing experience

    A bit late with posting this review, but wanted to share how much we enjoyed it. I travelled in early July 2018 with my niece. The group was very sociable, our guide (Nachos) excellent and very experienced and the hotel was really great: small and simple but clean and very comfortable, with excellent food, lovely staff and stunning views when the clouds cleared. The hotel went out of their way to accommodate my niece, who is vegan, and she also loved the food. The weather on our trip was mixed, only 2 days without rain, but this seems to be typical of the Picos area and contributes to the lovely lush countryside.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the activities were enjoyable, highlights for me were the gorge walk and the 35km bike ride (in the pouring rain, but it was warm rain and we all had a lot of fun regardless).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, very experienced and we felt very confident with him in charge.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just booked my 4th Exodus trip, hoping it will be as good as the others I've taken.
  • Fantastic fun in absolutely stunning surroundings

    This was my first Exodus trip, and my first time travelling alone. I booked onto the trip because of the wide variety of activities included and didn't even pause to think about the surroundings. Slovenia is simply stunning and Soca valley was breathtaking - many of our activities took place in the azure blue Soca river whilst looking at lush mountains and countryside. Just lovely. The activities were all good fun, though coming in July meant that it was incredibly hot (upto 37 degrees though the river was a refreshing 12 degrees) - July was also arguably not the best time of year for white water sports - the rapids were not so rapid; however, we were able to paraglide which had not been possible earlier in the year. The guides suggested May was when the water was fastest. We were kept pretty busy but there were several gaps in the itinerary which we filled up with bike rides, hikes or extra water activities - and paragliding. Activities were good value for money and our guide was helpful in helping us add to our itinerary - but if you want full days, you'll need some additional budget. I filled every moment and added in an extra canyoning trip, paragliding, climbing and hired an eBike (we took a trip up the mountain and also out to Tomlin Gorge - an eBike is a great option if you want to enjoy the scenery without melting or if you're a less keen bike rider than others) - I spent about €300 on top of the original trip price. The only drawback to the trip is that the hotel is a little way out of town - town has little eateries, bars and you can access the river to chill out - it's a half hour walk or a five minute bike ride. If I were to re-do the trip, I'd hire a bike for the whole week; several of us kept hold of them for several days once we'd got them. The hotel are happy to keep them in a garage so they are safe etc. The hotel also deserves a shoutout - no pool and not the most atmospheric place, but good, clean, comfortable accommodation and an incredibly kind and helpful hotelier. He was more than happy to cater to a range of dietary requirements and gave us better advice on bike trips and what to do than any of the guides. I'd recommend it - a beautiful country, a wide range of really fun activities and super friendly people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Paragliding above the Soca valley and just taking in the amazingly beautiful country I'd been blessed with visiting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tilen was great fun and was keen to ensure we all had a good time. He worked hard to enable us all to do everything we wanted to do.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Budget for doing additional activities - the advanced canyoning was incredibly fun and paragaliding was stunning. You can pay for most of your extra activities in card or cash in town at the end of the week. Some activities require cash - I had to pay cash for paragliding and climbing. Consider hiring a bike for the whole week Cycle out to Tolmin gorge - 15km and then take an hour or so to walk around, it's stunning. The trip up the mountain is beautiful - the village at the top is beautiful thought the waterfalls are a bit disappointing in summer - but the 5km up is worth it for the 5km down (and more so if you do it on an eBike like I did - absolutely brilliant and can be hired at no extra cost if they have one spare and you ask nicely) I wish I had brought neopropene shoes with me - we spent a lot of time hanging about in or near the river I also wish I'd had a GoPro or similar - a lovely part of the trip was there was no attempt to sell you photos/ videos of your experiences, but it did mean if you didn't make your own, you didn't have a record The hotel will make you a good packed lunch for €7 if you ask ahead - there is also a supermarket nearby if you want to make your own If you like your own space, the single room supplement is worth paying for - but if you are anxious about travelling alone then not paying the supplement gives you a built in buddy you can arrive at meals etc with...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first Exodus trip - many of the people on the trip had been before and I can see why people would come back... I'll be looking to book my next trip as soon as finances allow!
  • Reviewed July 2018

    Good Trip

    This trip was very good, when you are doing the activities it's great fun and a beautiful country for being outdoors. The group was excellent (they always seem to be, don't know why I worry before going) as was the group leader and also the hotel staff and owner. The reason I've scored it 4 out of 5, was I'm really activity and once you have done your morning activity the rest of the afternoon is free. There is little in the surrounding area to do and I found myself going for walks and mainly getting lost. Would have just like a bit more action.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best part of the trip was doing the paragliding, it was an extra 130 euros but worth every penny. If you haven't done it before I would recommend doing it. The views are amazing when you are above 1000 meters and if you get a decent pilot, he will do a crazy spin near the end and you get to feel some G - Force.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader isn't with you all the time and the company Exodus use is called Positive Sports. However having said that 'Tallon' our lead was very good, you could tell he's spent all his life of the water, and when doing those activities felt very safe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take extra money to do additional activities (especially the paragliding) and either books to read or some walking boots. There is one whole day which is free, before going look online to see if there is anything to do near by else it could be a long day (the hotel closes on that day).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great holiday, really glad I went and would recommend it as Exodus are excellent