Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    LIz Bissett

    A fabulous trip!

    We enjoyed the variety of the trip - completely different, magnificent scenery every day, comfortable hotels, good food (we're veggies and it can be a bit of a struggle in some countries), a really lovely group of fellow cyclists, a great leader, some challenging hills and lots of amazing descents. The bikes were excellent, safety was always stressed and the back-up team were great. There are always interesting situations in a developing country and these were solved efficiently - the most serious one on our trip was crossing a bridge that had collapsed five days before..... it all came well in the end. We've already booked our next Exodus trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling 100 kms in one day - the furthest we'd ever cycled. Seeing lemurs on several occasions. Some of the long descents were absolutely wonderful. The warm welcome we received in every small village, with children keen to wave and greet us. A surprise visit to a village house for coffee.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mel was extremely good natured and efficient. Getting checked into each hotel was smooth and organised very quickly. He was at ease with everyone in the group (we ranged in age from early twenties to late sixties). He was encouraging and friendly and was happyfor us to cycle at our own pace. Everything on the trip ran very efficiently - a lot of thought and previous experience went into things such as ordering our meals a couple of hours early so that the small kitchens could cope. Suggesting and organising a group kitty for snacks en route and to pay tips in the hotels was really helpful. He emphasised safety regularly, particularly in damp weather and when the roads were steep with sharp bends.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're cycling, a gel saddle cover or your own saddle is useful. Don't expect to see lemurs in the wild - we saw plenty, but only in National Parks. Don't expect great wi-fi! Do expect to see a lot of cloud/rain in the rainforest.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A suggestion regarding Ifaty beach. A few of us walked to the nearby village with one of the hotel staff as our guide. We paid the hotel a small amount for this service. We agreed that travellers would be happy to pay twice as much and for some of the money to go to the village (whose water pump had failed).
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Fred Thurbin

    Inexperienced travellers review

    I have no idea who to summarise something that had so many unique experiences and so much variety. It's like being asked to summarise a kaleidoscope. Firstly, if you enjoy trekking then yes. Book it. The street food in KL was great, Chuck - the guide for the day - was enthusiastic to share knowledge of the area and as much food as we could eat. Jeremy our guide for the peninsula was also a big foodie and food is definitely an abiding memory. So to is Jason our guide in the Cameron Highlands, a lovely and interesting guy and the Highlands are picturesque rolling hills and the sports bar there is were team bonding started. The rainforest was tiring hiking and challenging but in a way that left you feeling all the richer for the experience and the fact you step out of your lodge and there's monkeys in your face... was rather fun. In Borneo the urang utan and sun bears sanctuary was incredible. As was the probiscus monkey visit. This is one of Those experiences. One that you'll take away with you. The trek to the mangrove is a pleasant easy stroll before the big one. Kinabalu. Wow, stairs. Relentless, but take a steady pace and you'll survive. And it is worth it. But wow. Stairs. The ending is a wonderful beech hotel and totally worth it. It's a holiday that was epic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The monkey, apes and sun bears. Incredible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The two leaders were brilliant. Very different but perfect for the areas they cover.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't sweat the leeches. They don't hurt. Take toilet paper, there's plenty of loos just not paper. Good boots and socks. Breathe, there's a lot of walking but absolutely no rush.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've never done anything like this and was slightly scared of travelling alone and being away from home for 2 weeks. But the people, especially in Borneo are so wonderful. The trip eases you in and yes, the mountain is hard but no one expects you to find it easy. I got altitude sickness near the top (less than 200 meters but still about and hour away) and couldn't make it up but everyone was pleased for me for getting so high and told me not to feel dissapointed. The most important thing was I wasn't alone. Everyone found it hard and I knew I'd made new friends. That's a big moment easily worth 200 meters.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Gill Hoare

    An Excellent Adventure

    Myself aged 61 and my husband aged 58 decided to tick this item off our bucket list. We trained reasonably hard for the trip giventhe lack of mountains in Dorset. We set off for Nepal with a degree of trepidation. After surviving the chaos of Kathmandu airport we were met by Nirmal our tour guide from that point we were so well looked after all our fears were allayed. We met our fellow travellers And the next morning set of for Lukla to begin our trek. After a 24 hour delay we arrived in Lukla where we met our guides. The trek was very hard in places but the excellent advice given to us my Nirmal "outside suicide" and the guides together with the pace that was set meant that we never felt out of our depth if frequently out of breath. The standard of accommodation food and plumbing exceeded expectations while at the same time being basic. It was an amazing adventure tough at times but so worth it for the spectacular scenery the wonderful Nepalese people and the sense of accomplishment when we reached base camp.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Everest for the first time

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nirmal was excellent. He had a large and at times rowdy group to deal with but despite some difiificult times mostly to do with delays at Lukla he kept us all in order and got us all to base camp and back without incident. By the end of the trek we all thought of him as a friend. His insights into Nepalese culture and life added to the enjoyment of the trip. His advice was essential in making sure we all stayed healthy and achieved our objective not only achieved it but enjoyed it too. A special mention for our guides too their pacing and insights added greatly to the trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about packing snacks they are freely available and reasonably priced if a little dearer than at home and do increase in price as you go higher. Make sure you have warm gloves and possibly hand warmers if you suffer from cold hands there are a few early starts when it will be very cold. Follow the tour leaders advice they know what they are doing !! DONT WAIT GO KNOW ITS AWESOME !!! If you are worried about fitness don't I managed it at 61 with my only fitness regime being walking up as many hills as possible as fast as I could.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is my second trip with exodus and once again they exceeded my expectations. Their use of local guides adds greatly to the experience as on both trips our guides have been excellent and passionate advocates for this country,
  • Reviewed November 2017
    John Taylor

    Patagonia at its best

    This was a great non-stop trip with Xavier, who was a wonderful guide. The trip exceeded our expectations because of Xavier’s in depth knowledge.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountain days, the included glacier visit and the guided walk in Tierra del Fuego were all equally inspiring, and the tango show made a great finale.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Xavier was the best tour guide we have been on holiday with. He was permanently cheerful, enthusiastic, responsive to the whole group’s and individual needs and great fun to be with. Xavier also had excellent relationships with the local guides, who were all equally enthusiastic about their specialisms.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    These are the things which are described very accurately in the trip notes. We did experience four seasons in a day: snow, sun, torrential rain, high winds, calm etc, so you need lots of adaptable clothing and waterproofs. The two day walks and the additional day walk the group did were long with step sections over rocky paths (all the walks were 20km long). The travel days by bus were very long. Everything on the whole trip, except wine, was on a par with London prices (this is not a cheap destination). Add about 10% to the guide prices given in the trip notes. You can complete the trip with dollars, with no problems then with non-functioning ATMs or restaurants which won’t take credit cards. The downside of this means travelling with large amounts of cash. (There is no need to take Chilean pesos.) We travelled out a day earlier to enjoy Buenos Aires; we wished we had taken two extra days because there is so much to do in Buenos Aires.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Remember that this is South America. You need a patient and relaxed attitude to everything to enjoy this holiday.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Cynthia Konkin

    Carpathian Walking and Bears

    This was a great trip with lots of gentle hiking in incredible scenery. The guesthouse is amazing with great food, beautiful views and a wonderful passionate owner who also accompanied us on some excursions. Magura is a beautiful, remote, rural and peaceful village. It is like going back in time. Go now before things change!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the mountain scenery and of course, viewing the brown bears from a cache in the woods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thomas was knowledgeable and efficient but sometimes seemed not very enthused or maybe distracted and quiet. Katharina who owns the guesthouse was absolutely passionate and spent a lot of time telling us about the area, the wildlife, the history and life in Magura. She also went to the bear sanctuary with us and took us bird watching.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The elevation gains on the hikes were generally very gradual. We worried about some of them but really didn't need to. It is an extremely peaceful place but, there are dogs that do bark at night sometimes so you might want earplugs if that is going to bother you. Go soon. This is a magical place that is bound to change eventually.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Dave Evans

    Amazing mountain and coastal walks

    This trip was breathtaking starting with the grand balcony walk ending up on a deserted beach watching sunrise having slept out under the stars. Rob and the local team were fabulous , always sharing their passion for Oman. The local Omani people always greeted us with a smile and made us feel extremely welcome. A physically demanding trip but the pace was sensible giving everyone recovery time in the heat. A truly brilliant experience !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waking up to watch the sunrise and fishermen having slept on the beach under the stars on the last night

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob was very experienced, generated a good team spirit and inspired confidence in a harsh environment.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is cold at night in the mountains so a good fleece or light down jacket is essential. You need to drink a large amount of water so a bladder in your backpack helps keep track of your consumption and makes hydration easier.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Sophia Phillips

    Cycling in beautiful Sardinia

    A wonderful week's holiday with a lovely group and excellent guides. It's a great way to see the South West of Sardinia and take in the amazing views and beautiful coastline, and to learn about the history of the island from the knowledgeable guides. The weather was warm and perfect for cycling and most of the roads had very little traffic. The hotels and agriturismos were comfortable and the food and restaurants were good. We visited interesting archeological sites and old mine buildings, went to a vineyard for wine tasting, hiked down to the sea in Nebida, and swam at some beautiful empty beaches. Cagliari was fun to explore on our final day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to get to the top of the more challenging hills (super walls) without pushing the bike! Enjoying the long down hill rides, the quiet roads and warm late October sun. Everyone in the group supporting and encouraging each other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele and Simone were both excellent group leaders, taking it in turns to lead or support. They were very friendly, informative, enthusiastic and encouraging and spoke good English. Everything was well organised, from accommodation to restaurants, coffee stops to route planning. They provided plenty of water bottle refills and snacks to keep us going.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The hybrid bike was good with the optional use of a pannier. Keep a camera handy for photo stops. As an occasional cyclist, some of the hills were quite challenging, but manageable especially if you have done some pre-holiday hill cycling!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Jo Wilby

    Oman, an enjoyable trekking experience

    Oman, a jewel in the middle east for exploring unspoilt mountains and rugged coastal paths late into the year when its not too hot. Each morning you wake up to a glorious sunrise and after a good days walk - witness a stunning sunset.... A trip not to be missed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stood on top of the mountains taking in the 360 view in such peaceful surroundings...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob the group leader and all his team, were always very helpful - easy to talk to and would make every effort to accommodate any request being asked or, answer any questions about the local history and custom's. And if they didn't have the answer they would find out :-)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared - its a hot country...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A memorable holiday - I loved the experience.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Len Wallace

    High Passes to Everest Base camp - Awesome!!

    This is a trip for the physically fit person, who has a strong mental attitude, if you are both of these then its one of the best trips you can do. The views and scenery are the best in the Himalayas. The flight to Lukla is not for the feint hearted but is an experience you will never forget! 18 days walking, with 9-10 days around 5000m+ is hard work, but with preparation and the right equipment then its definitely do-able. Out of a group of 14, 100% completed the 3 passes and made it round, which was a great effort. However only 2 did all 5 peaks plus the 3 passes. I would recommend this trip to people who have walked at altitude before and are fit and mentally tough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All 5 peaks and 3 passes are incredible, not to be missed if you are feeling strong and healthy. My personal favourite views were Gokyo Peak, Chukkung Ri, Awi Peak (as its so quiet and has great views) and the Renjo La pass. Also the flight to and from Lukla is something everyone should experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pasang and his team (including Sujit, Kami and Giradie) were faultless, great local knowledge, inspirational leadership, very helpful and reassuring about health issues, altitude and generally supporting the team through the many ups and downs we all experienced (there were so many more ups by the way).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes, its a great trip, but not for everyone, 18 days in a row is very tough but also very rewarding. The following items I found to be really helpful: Sawyer water filtration system, cold/flu meds, throat/cough sweets (everyone got a cough at somepoint), down jacket and sleeping bag, diamox, hand gel, walking pole, good head torch, dry bags/stuff sacks, toilet roll/tissues, solar battery recharger, buff or face scarf for dust/sun protection. Things i should have taken: lip balm/sun protection for lips, olbas oil/vix (sinuses get blocked easily due to dust).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great trip, really friendly group of people to travel with. I recommend it, but its really suitable for those people who are experienced, have previously been to altitude and are fit and mentally tough. If you are these things, you will enjoy it so much more than if you are not.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Zofia Chustecka

    Wonderful time in Japan

    Had a great time on this trip, it lived up to its promise of seeing Ancinet and Modern Japan

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Staying at the traditional Japanese houses, sleeping on a futon, eating traditional Japanese food while wearing a kimono, doing origami with the hostess and best of all bathing in the outdoor hot sprngs in the dark - that was the best moment for me!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ayaka Tsukamoto was a wonderful group leader, she was unrelentingly cheerful and helpful and enthusiastic even in torrential rain and even when there was a typohoon that caused trees to fall on railway lines and landslides stopped the usual route up to the snow monkeys -- she persevered and made alternative arrangments so that our ploans could still be carried out. Ayaka was also most helpful in helping us to plan our itineries for our free days and she came along to some of the sights we wanted to see to help us out. I think she went out of her way to help, way beyond the call of duty, and she made the trip fun and highly enjoyable, in fact she made the holiday!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I very much enjoyed seeing the Ten Thousand Gate shrine (Fushimi-Ku) in Kyoto, which we went to on our free day, and I wonder why it isn't included in eth itinery -- we could have stopped off to see it on the day we went to Nara, on the way back we went through that station.
Call us on 1300 131 564