Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    J. Thomson

    Land of the Jaguar - and other wildlife

    The trip provided the wildlife viewing we had hoped for - five jaguars, plus giant otters, armadillos, anteater etc etc and a wide variety of bird life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching a jaguar cub emerge cautiously from its den before playing with its mother.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tony was very good at spotting and identifying wildlife, both mammals and birdlife. All the trips and transfers ran smoothly due to his involvement.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On my visit the weather was dry, sunny, and hot, up to 40ºC. It cooled to about 20º around dawn. Go prepared for a range of temperatures - check the Caceres weather forecast. The trip notes do not make it clear that at the lodge activities such as horse-riding and canoeing are part of the programme. You may wish to check that your travel insurance covers these.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Balbinder Sidhu

    Fantastic Holiday!!

    I would highly recommend this trip if you are considering a trekking holiday. The views of the Alps from Switzerland, Italy and France were beautiful. The trek itself was hard but doable if you train ahead and it's far more enjoyable too. Camping was fun. Really helps to bond with the group. I'm glad I took this option over the Hotel version.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up the Cols and witnessing the magnificent views of the surrounding Alps was jaw dropping. A real motivation to plod along knowing you will be subjected to some beautiful views. The final day up to the Brevent was fabulous. Sat eating my lunch with the Mont Blanc Massif around me will remain in my memory for a long while.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John was a terrific leader and team builder. He was so chilled and unregimented I strongly believe this attitude resonated down the group. It made us all feel relaxed and un-pressed to go marching forth. Instead he would pace us all at a leisurely comfortable way stopping quite often to share his knowledge on the surrounding environment. He would teach us how to trust our boots when walking and encourage us to take 5 smaller steps than to waste energy by lunging up one step with greater exertion. He would share local knowledge of flora and fauna. History of the mountainsides and even an impromptu berry tasting session. John was a brilliant teacher who clearly showed great enthusiasm and huge respect to the environment that he was show casing to the rest of us. John was almost host-like rather than our guide. Wonderful chap who made the tour far more enjoyable. You could truly trust he was looking after you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Four seasons sleeping bag and comfortable mat for a good nights rest.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Both John and Egle (camping support) really made the trip enjoyable. Egle's support was truly appreciated. Flask of hot water were on the ready after a long days trekking. Egle would have breakfast ready each morning and then all the delights placed out for us to make our endless bundles of sandwiches for lunch. Dinner on the campsite were three courses, plentiful and restaurant styled gourmet cuisine!! Unreal for camping. I strongly believe my holiday was a success as a direct result of having both John and Egle taking care of us. Thank you to you both!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Jo Cuttell

    Mont Blanc to the Matterhorn 505A

    A great walk with fabulous scenery. The group was very supportive and friendly and this added to the enjoyment of the holiday. The food was amazing, delicious and filling. The camp manager was brilliant - very efficient, and a great cook.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the col after climbing up the ladders at the Pas de Chèvre. I've never done anything like that before. Exhilarating!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader really added to my enjoyment of the holiday. He was very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the area and pointed out interesting plants that I would have missed otherwise. We even saw an eidelweiss on the mountainside. He also shared his interest in the geology and history of the area which I found interesting and helpful in understanding the mountains. He was a thoughtful leader and took time to help people who needed support over the more difficult terrain. His route finding was impeccable and when bad weather came in the group felt complete confidence in him to get us to the campsite.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take an inner sheet sleeping bag for the night in the huts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a great holiday- get fit and do it.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Françoise Walker

    Unspoilt Sardinia

    Excellent walking in an unspoilt, wild part of Sardinia. Walks are varied and interesting and reasonably hard going. If you like craggy, rocky landscapes with lots of up and down, this would suit you. Also enjoyed the cultural day visiting archeological sights, it made a good contrast and I was keen to find out more about bronze age Sardinia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk to Tiscali was fantastic. Both for the views, Tiscali itself and the rocky paths we had to negotiate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was excellent. Very sociable, organised and good at imparting his enthusiasm for Sardinia and its history and culture.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Tracey Lawrence

    Recommend this (NOT EXPLORE - see below)

    I would highly recommend this cycling holiday. Not only do you get to take in the breathe taking views and islands on 2 wheels, but there is plenty of time to relax and explore whilst providing a few challenging hills with the reward of a stunning view at the top! Our guide Alan and driver Danny were attentive, informative and in my top tour leaders :) With the support of the cycle trailer and a bus to accommodate anyone who can't or doesn't want to complete a hill (or if you are injured) there is comfort in knowing this tour is still a holiday and not a fitness challenge. The island are beautiful, mainly tarmac back quiet roads, the locals friendly, the food delicious.....a few hotels were very dated and need of modernisation and I'm glad I left the trip early and didn't spend 2 nights in the Dubrovnik accommodation. I would add that I considered Explore tour and the 70km day put me off.....we saw this group along the way they arrived in at 8pm on their long day... and noted they did not have a support vehicle like Exodus and some of their group were not happy about this.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Full moon rising...our tour leader planned this perfectly

    What did you think of your group leader?

    superb!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    meals were a lot more expensive than I had budgeted for and the pre ordered food was sometime £10 - 15 for a lunch that was cheese, ham, bread and olives!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Anne Stewart

    Mt Blanc Circuit - camping

    Camping and walking trip around Mt Blanc. Beautiful scenery, a great group of people and our guide - John and our camp manager Egle made everything extra special. Effort and speed of walking was very well managed. I don't think anyone felt that it required a major effort to keep up with the group but at the same time you knew that you had earned your meal at the end of the day! The ascents and descents bought a sense of achievement and of course always the reward of fantastic scenery. Each day provided different scenery and the always present mountains. It is truly an excellent trip - manageable but challenging walking with well paced days that had us covering appropriate distances, managing the ascents and descents but also time for coffee breaks, scenic lunch stops and afternoon tea breaks. The camping, tents, meals and facilities were all excellent and comfortable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our guide, John, on the first day, gave us some tips and the opportunity to practice some walking skills particularly on managing the steeper ascents and descents. This was inspirational as the new skills helped make the ascents and descents so much easier to manage and also less tiring, which meant more time to enjoy the scenery and take photos. I've always been slower on the descents but using John's techniques made the effort less stressful on feet, knees and ankles and descents became much more fun. The scenery, is of course, just outstanding. Each day provided many "awesome" moments. Our group, mostly individuals, also got on very well - sharing camp duties, helping each other out, hanging out and having fun as well as walking well together.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John was an excellent group leader. He has a relaxed manner but keeps everything under control without ever coming across as authoritarian or overbearing. He was quietly vigilant in making sure each group member was travelling well and I think his personality and approach was a key factor in our group of individuals bonding and getting on so well. He definitely has a good sense of humour and an apparently endless supply of and desire to sing (fairly quietly) power ballads as he walked! His extensive outdoor skills and knowledge of mountains, walking, hiking and of the area around Mt Blanc gave each us a strong sense of confidence and this meant we could relax and enjoy the walk without having to worry about anything going wrong, or stressing on the details. Egle, our camp manager also did an outstanding job and produced fantastic meals, kept us all well fed and was a delight to have around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are doing the camping version remember to take a warm sleeping bag and a warm jacket for night time as it gets colder than you think. With these items you will be comfortable. Work on your fitness prior to the trip but you don't have to go super crazy trying to achieve maximum fitness. Also definitely take advantage of your rest day and take the gondola ride across the top if the weather is fairly decent. The views up the top over the glaciers and of Mt Blanc are stunning.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    alexander culbard

    the silk road

    a simply amazing tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    not sure about describing this tour as inspirational but to see part of the old silk rd was/is part of our desire to see as much of it as possible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    in Uzbekistan, Dilshod was as good as you could possibly get. For the rest of the tour the guide was very helpful and friendly but sometimes difficult to understand.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    definitely have medicine for upset stomach. . You will need to be reasonably fit. Take warm clothes for the mountains and bathers for the fantastic Issyk Kul lake.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    we hope you have a tour from Uzbekistan say Tashkent- Kieva-Mary-Ashkhabad then into iran
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Winnie Tang

    South Korea unmasked

    As this is only my second group trip I have a limited experience with comparing these types of trips but I thoroughly enjoyed this experience. Our guide was knowledgeable and filled any gaps in our itinerary with valuable insightful excursions. All key sights were covered in the trip. Unfortunately we did not get to go to the JSA, however this did not detract from the the overall visit to the DMZ. The DMZ felt very surreal and to be able to peak into North Korea was an experience. Seoul is your typical city, traffic included but the subway system is very easy to negotiate and cheap and clean. There are plenty of lively markets to immerse oneself into the culture and to sample various food on a stick. I would recommend catching the Nanta show. This was amazing. The scenery was breathtaking especially in Seoraksan National Park and Jeju Island. For a country that had to completely rebuild it is amazing how the government was able to cultivate such wonderful green spaces. The food on offer was second to none and I did not find the food too spicy at all, although when given the option I chose the least spicy option.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was learning all the history behind South Korea. Admittedly I did not much about Korean history but I found the topic fascinating. It was uplifting to learn how through adversity the Korean people were able to achieve all they have in such a short space of time. It was not only the infrastructure that was rebuilt but the green belt too. The fact that the government even thought about constructing green spaces demonstrates how forward thinking a government can be. The temple stay was a highlight too, especially the conversation with the monk. It was interesting to hear about how an enlightened person thinks about the modern world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mirium was an exceptional group leader and she always recommended good restaurants that were not expensive. She was always providing us with background to all the places we were visiting and her in depth knowledge of the history was very compelling. I don't think I know English history as well as she knows her Korean history. What was also good given that we were visiting during elevated tension levels with the North, she not only gave us a daily briefing on what was on the news, as on a couple of days we had no access to English channels. She also offered an insight of the South Korean mindset regarding the North. She also made sure that everyone was accommodated and was willing to flit between restaurants to ensure everyone was able to order what they wanted. Her instructions on where and when to meet were very clear and I felt she went above and beyond her duties. At all restaurants she would recommend the items on the menu which she knew were the local dishes and good. This sort of knowledge is priceless.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a lot of walking on all types of terrain and eating good food.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Colin Spence

    Walking in Andalucia

    Just returned from a wonderful trip to Southern Spain. Alexis our guide was truly wonderful and the whole group were treated like personal guests .The food at the farmhouse was superb our thanks to Maria and her staff. There was a really nice variety in the walks and the research that had obviously gone into this trip by Alexis and Exodus shone through. Having sole use of the farmhouse was a real bonus and the group got on really well. We do hope the two dogs have a secure future when the new owners take over we will always remember that smile! Our thanks to Alexis for making the week a truly special one Colin and Jill

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The rope walk through the Gorge!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Truly outstanding and a credit to the Company

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book early and you may get a room with a Balcony but they are all nice rooms
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Jenny Hicks

    A great trip of two very different parts

    This trip is in two parts. Four days on the Jaguar houseboat looking for jaguars, the boat's a bit cramped and you spend all day on the river, but the sight of your first jaguar makes it all worthwhile. Then the fantastic Araras Eco Lodge, which is spacious and relaxing and the bird life is amazing! You need to be prepared for long days and you need lots of patience, but it's definitely a fantastic experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sight of our first jaguar of course, as well as a mother being suckled by a young cub. But also the kingfishers, the storks, the skimmers, the sight of a potoo completely disguised in a tree - load of special moments!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tony was great at spotting jaguars, but I think his real passion showed through, which is birdlife. He has a great knowledge of the local wildlife and birds.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be windy (and cold) on the early morning boat rides, so take a fleece, sunglasses and moisturising cream. Take long trousers and 100% deet mosquito repellent as they bite through your clothes. You get so hot and dirty, but if you rinse clothes through at night they are dry by the next day. Be prepared for very long boat rides looking for jaguars (sometimes 6 hours) and you need to be patient. You may sit looking at a jaguar for a couple of hours, during which it hardly moves! The lodge is wonderful - spacious, relaxing, great food, wifi and amazing birdlife everywhere. Horse riding and kayaking and a night drive are included at the lodge and part of the Exodus itinerary. Brazilian electricity sockets have changed in the last 18 months and in hotels and the Lodge they are recessed - you need to buy an adapter locally.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Amazing trip - a long journey to get there and you have to rough it a bit on the houseboat, but it's definitely worth it! Exodus arranged an Iguassu Falls extension which we did before before our group trip which was fantastic - worth spending some extra time in Brazil if you can.
Call us on 1300 131 564