Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019

    A thoroughly enjoyaqble trip

    A memorable holiday with a group of compatible people who were all keen to enjoy the experience and learn about the region

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Perhaps not inspirational in the normal sense, but the ride on the first day around the northerly peninsula to Vinistu and Peripea brought home how oppressive the Soviet occupation had been. Subsequently we were able to appreciate just how much all three states valued the fact that they had been able to re-establish their independence and re-assert their own cultures.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group leader, Lina, was extremely knowledgeable about the geography, history, culture and cuisine of the three Baltic states and she shared that knowledge in a most engaging manner. She coped admirably with a group of cyclists with widely different levels of experience, four, and sometimes five of whom were using e-bikes. She chose meal stops where we enjoyed lovely local food during the rides and very good restaurants for our evening meals. Her organisational skills were excellent and she was unfailingly good humoured throughout the trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a plug for the washbasins - the hotels don't provide them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The weakest aspect of the holiday was the hotel accommodation, which varied between being good and being pretty poor in terms of room size and quality.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Liz halpin

    Baltic by bike

    Three different countries starting a little chilly but warming up nicely. Three different capitals with lots of different foods to try. Generally flat cycling with good maps on bikes which were adequate but probably heavier than most people were used to. Hotels variable but always well positioned.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Constitution posted for all to see in every language.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andreas was very knowledgeable about the history of all the countries visited. He was willing to answer questions. On longer bus journeys he found ways to keep us amused. Andreas treated all the group members with respect and ensured that the cycling was accessible to all. He took us to some zany places to eat and explained all about the foods etc.. In all he was great!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you have clothes for all weathers! Be prepared to try different foods. Always laugh at Andreas jokes!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hope you like castles.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Alison Fuller

    Cycling the Baltics

    Interesting countries that I’d not visited before. Good guide. Lovely food. Interesting cities. Easy riding but heavy bikes making the trip harder and more demanding. Pretty unspoiled countryside and lovely views across the Baltic Sea.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the fish lunch at the Fisherman’s museum. Just gorgeous! Loved hearing about the history and what it was like living in a communist country Loved the hill of crosses. So weird! Loved visiting the capital cities. All very different.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius worked really hard to make our trip enjoyable. He had some lovely surprises for us like a glass of Prosecco overlooking the lake and was always so excited for us to see the upcoming highlights! He loved us trying the local food but was mortified to discover a traditional Lithuanian kybyn was in fact a Cornish pasty! He was really interesting talking about the countries and their history. It was tricky for him as half the group were pushing the average pace up but he managed to support the slower riders whilst allowing the faster ones to go on or do a little extra. A really nice guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This isn’t a tough trip in that it’s fairly flat or gently undulating, but the bikes were very heavy which made it harder. Also on some of the more exposed roads you can get headwinds. So it’s not always as leisurely as you’d imagine. I do think lighter hybrid bikes would be better.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Lorain McCann

    Cycle the Baltics

    Excellent trip with wonderful guide. Andrius was extremely interesting, focussed and engaging. We thoroughly enjoyed the itinerary and the add-ons he introduced. Cycle tour of Vilnius was terrific.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sun dial on the Curonian Spit

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius was extremely interesting, focussed and engaging. We thoroughly enjoyed the itinerary and the add-ons he introduced.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would be happy to recommend this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed June 2019
    yvonne sharp

    Cycling through the Baltics

    The trip was well organised and the leader was excellent. The bikes were disappointing. The bikes were new and in excellent condition but they were very heavy and had only 8 gears and were not to the standard I have experienced in previous exodus cycling tours. In addition neither the guide nor the driver were experienced mechanics which resulted in one of the experienced cyclists on the tour helping out.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The places we visited could only have been found through local knowledge. The smoked salmon lunch was excellent and every member of the tour party commented on this lunch for days afterwards. The tour around Vilnius was also excellent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very good and knowledgeable on the history of all 3 countries visited. He was enthusiastic and helpful throughout the trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Lily Surgeon

    Our Baltic Cycle Was The Best!

    There were only seven of us on our trip but we all felt this was a perfect number. Our guide Minda was wonderful. He was patient, flexible, had a great sense of humour and was full of information. He answered all our questions and had so much knowledge about the history of the Baltics. We rode in May and it was cool when we started in Estonia but warmed us as we went south. The added bonus was we were doing it before the season really started so we didn’t have the crowds. We all enjoyed the varied itinerary and have learned so much from our experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many wonderful moments. It is difficult to pinpoint one!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Minda was wonderful and is an enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour leader.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Brian Brasier

    Excellent trip..

    A very enjoyable trip thanks to a great guide (Lena), a very friendly group ,a very professional driver, a well planned itinerary &,good weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Palmse Manor and the Distillery accommodation . The Onion Villages on the shores of the Lake. Guild Hall in Tallinn

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lena was outstanding. She was knowledgeable about the three countries and was a very good communicator. We appreciated the way she shared some of the story of her own family in the changing situation of Lithuania. She selected good places for lunches and dinners. She took great care of the slower riders (us ) and ensured that we didn't take wrong turns and get lost.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some training so that you can ride 50 km on fairly flat country without discomfort. Take the right sort of gear - lycra makes life much easier on the saddle.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would have liked more time in Riga but understand that it's hard to cover everything. The accommodation was very satisfactory throughout.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Brian Brasier

    Excellent trip..

    We had a very enjoyable cycle through the Baltic States form Tallinn to Vilnius. We left on August 28 and finished on September 9th. Our guide Lena was excellent, the group were all friendly and our driver was highly professional. We were blessed with fine weather and we thought that the Grading of 2 was spot on.We would have liked more time in Riga.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The time spent at Palmse at the Manor house grounds. The Onion Villages on the side of the lake were also notable. The Guild Hall in Tallinn .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lena was outstanding - could not have done more for us all. She was knowledgeable and was able to communicate the stories of the three countries very well.We appreciated the way she was prepared over the trip to share elements of her family story. Always thoughtful and took great care of the tail end riders - us ! She selected very good places for lunches and dinners.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared - do some training beforehand and have the appropriate gear - lycra pants make the ride more comfortable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommend this trip to cyclists of a range of abilities.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jacqui Cottom

    Cycling the Baltics

    If you like flat cycling and to see three countries and three capital cities in 11 days, this is for you. The weather was colder than expected and much of this was down to the strong headwinds. Much of the cycling is in forests so the scenery isn't as varied as other trips we have done. There are some lovely, old villages to cycle through as well as the 40 mile long sand spit and a few lakes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the bird ringing at the Vente Cape and being able to hold one then release it after the ringing took place. So cute! Eating smoked fish for lunch on the Curonian sand spit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius was a great guide who was friendly, personable and great fun to be with. He was knowledgeable and passionate about his country (Lithuania) and also Estonia and Latvia.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take layers and wrap up warm. There are strong headwinds a lot of the time that makes the cycling more difficult, even though it is only classed as a leisurely/moderate. Most of the terrain is flat with greater undulations on the final day. We all got bitten during the daytime in Estonia in the forests so take bug spray and use it!!! Some of the bus transfers are long, especially the one to Vilnius so be prepared and take a book! Spend an extra day in Tallinn. You won't regret it. It was the best of the three capitals and so pretty. In the summer period, there are free tours of the city of Tallinn which start at the Tourist office and are well worth going on. We did the Medieval Tour which is delivered by actors and was the BEST city tour we have ever been on! Half a day in Villnius is enough to see the majority of the city and you get this on the last day of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Interesting history in all three countries. Ask your guide to take you to The Hill of Crosses in Lithuania. Impressive.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Steve Martin

    Quality product - loved the History, Culture, Food, and scenery

    I chose the itinerary as it was rated a 2 for physical exertion. (not too many hills) It was quite different from 3 other European bike tours I have completed in that most of the country side is either heavily forested or agricultural. Not a lot of villages in close proximity. Exodus has done a great job designing the itinerary to get you into the most interesting scenic areas, the 3 capital cities that have stunning "old city quarters, some beautiful national park regions I each country. The variety of accommodations made it memorable, and the food in all 3 countries is outstanding for freshness of taste and the artistic presentation of meals. All in I thoroughly enjoyed the 11 days experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Thoroughly enjoyed the 3 capital cities Tallinn, Riga, Vilnius. Learning the history of the region over the past 100 years with the brutal occupation by the Germans and the Russians.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simon was outstanding. If you are lucky to have him as your guide, enjoy every moment of him. He is from Lithuania and is impassioned about the Baltic Region its history, culture and people. He entertained us with his musical skill and singing voice. Added in many personal experiences, took us to great restaurants and gave us 3 hour bike city tours in Riga and Vilnius.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Hope for some good weather - we had the best average 25c each day
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445