Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2019
    Bev Scammell

    A truly amazing trip with an outstanding guide

    We choose this trip due to the variety of activities and differing locations and we were not disappointed. Safaris, wild and rugged coast lines, desert, mountains, varied flora and fauna plus an amazing city to finish with. It has something for everyone. It was a well paced trip which packed in a lot without exhausting yourself. Addo elephant park was brilliant and the additional safari to Schotia was a fantastic extra, well worth taking up. We had a bit of a wild, wet, windy time at Tsitsikamma but this did not detract from its immense beauty nor stop us from taking up the opportunity to walk through the forest and spot baboons. Cango caves, ostriches, Mosel bay, wine tasting and De Rust were delightful and Hermanus was certainly a highlight with breaching whales at sunrise. As for Cape Town....quite outstanding and we can’t believe how much we managed to see in a mere couple of days; Signal Hill, Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch gardens, Cape of Good Hope, penguins colony, SimonsTown, Robben island and a township tour plus the waterfront. Totally amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We found the whole trip quite inspirational and have fallen in love with South Africa; its people, culture, plants and animals. If we are only allowed one inspirational moment then seeing whales at sunrise is probably it. However, watching a grumpy buffalo eyeball a young elephant, walking through a forest and coming face to face with a group of noisy male baboons, enjoying the tremendous views whilst walking along the Cape of Good Hope, visiting out first ever warm caves whilst listening to the South African national anthem being sung in the most enchanting manner....etc etc etc! There were a wealth of inspirational moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was truly amazing. So much so, that we have just submitted an entry for the 2019 Guide of the Year for him. Justin was exceptional; he has a vast knowledge of his country, its politics, history and culture plus the flora and fauna and is a superb ambassador for South Africa. He was incredibly organised, knew everyone (which meant we as a group were well looked after) was amusing, friendly and very considerate of the needs of everyone. We felt extremely safe in his care and trusted his judgement and advice implicitly, whether it was where to go or what to eat and drink. We also loved his phrases......’cool beans’ ‘Woolworths is just fancy pants Marks and Spencers!’ and some of these will find their way back to England.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take loads of photos to remind you of everything you have done, take binoculars to see views and creatures in more detail, take advantage of all of the trips and opportunities available to you. Layer your clothing.....we went in September and experienced rain, wind and sun and blazing heat all in the same morning. There is an opportunity to have your clothes laundered mid way through the journey so you don’t need to take your entire wardrobe.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were part of a varied group; ages ranging from 18 to 70 made up of families, couples and singles.......and we had a fabulous time. Sincere thanks to you all plus Justin, Jan the trainee and all the other people we met along the route for making the holiday a truly remarkable experience. If you are thinking of going, just do it!
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Shirley Bell

    TZS walking and wildlife

    Great trip saw lots of wildlife and great walking

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When we saw a family of lions feasting on a wilderbeast and we got so close to see them. Walking out of my tent one morning and seeing a family of elephants crossing the river so close amazing. The views in the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leaders were fabulous

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long bus journeys. It's cold when the sun goes down Bring binoculars Bring waterproofs it does rain sometimes in Africa It's Africa be prepared for anything to happen.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Martin Hodgkinson

    South Africa: Walking, Landscapes and Wildlife

    This trip is a great way to See South Africa across a variety of landscapes, mainly through National Parks and game reserves. There is a range of environments from the Drakensberg mountains to the Indian Ocean beaches at St Lucia with spectacular walks. There are long drives, over 3000km in total, in a reasonably comfortable 14 passenger minibus. Travelling in May, the weather was dry, sunny and warm, except at night and the highest walks. The accommodation varied between basic and very comfortable, but always clean.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most of the scenery was striking but the Drakenberg mountains was probably the most spectacular, especially at sunrise. The walk from the historic battlefield at Isandlwana to Rorke's Drift was very atmospheric and fording Buffalo River was an certainly an experience in waist deep water (take a dry bag for valuables just in case). Although I have experienced better safari drives elsewhere in Africa, the night safari in the Kruger was memorable after seeing a pride of 8 lions on the move.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sku and Morrison looked after us well with good knowledge of the areas and wildlife. They set a good pace on the walks for the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are practised and fit for hill walking with a backpack as some walks are steep and most of the terrain is rocky, not prepared, paths. Good knees and ankles are essential! Walking poles can be helpful on some walks. The chain ladders on the final walk are not demanding unless you suffer from vertigo. There were laundry facilities at St Lucia. In May there were no or few insects although covering in the evening is still advisable, also for the cooler temperatures. Periodic stops at good supermarkets allowed replenishment of snacks or anything else. Food and drink at restaurants is very good and excellent value.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our group was a good range of ages from 29 to retirees which made the mix more enjoyable. South Africa is a spectacular country and, for any who has not yet been to Africa, this trip is great way to start. Be prepared for the inevitable tips. ATMs are available in towns and most places are happy to take card payments.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kathleen Ramsey

    An exciting three-week trip

    This was a wonderful introduction to Southern Africa. Although there were some long days travelling, the constantly changing scenery in Namibia was a delight, and we gained an appreciation of the vastness and emptiness of the country. The bus was noisy but not uncomfortable, and with eleven members of the party, there was plenty of room for us to move around. We had a brief introduction to the Cape Town area, then travelled north firstly through farmland in South Africa, and then through the wonderful Namibian desert scenery before spending a few days observing the wild animals in Etosha (Namibia) and then in Chobe (Botswana). Victoria Falls made a spectacular end to our trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My main reason for choosing this trip was to see the desert landscape in Namibia and visit Victoria Falls, both of which exceeded my expectations. The scenery in Sossusvlei and Deadvlei was spectacular. However, I was bowled over by the variety of wildlife we saw on game drives in Etosha, and very much enjoyed observing the interactions between animals at the waterholes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jonathan (our leader) and Molifi (our driver) made a good team. They were well-organised and despite being on duty virtually all the time, they were both unfailingly cheerful and helpful. They prepared some excellent lunches and suppers for us, and did their best to make sure that we got the most out of our African experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Unemployment is very high in Zimbabwe and most people are very poor; we left all our partly-used toiletries, dressings, basic medicines and even some clothing to be distributed by a local charity. Had we realised how short most people are of basic necessities, we would have made sure we had more with us to leave there. Zimbabwe is expensive and cash is not available from ATMs. The border crossing into Zimbabwe was frustrating, and we had to queue for well over two hours in the hot sun. Make sure you are adequately prepared for the wait (sunscreen, hats, drinks).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The optional visit to a village settlement in northern Namibia was sobering but worth experiencing. On our free day in Swakopmund, we booked on the morning Living Desert tour, which was worth doing, despite the early start. We chose to go over into Zambia on our free day in Victoria Falls, to see the cascades from the other side. It was well worth the effort, as you can get closer to the falls and can climb down to the river side at Boiling Pot, as well as visit the top of the falls. Taking or hiring a waterproof can limit the extent of the inevitable soaking.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Elaine Willett

    This trip was awesome. One of the best cycling holidays I've done. The contrast in the scenery that you cycle through is amazing; mountains, passes, vineyards, the coast fabulous. Wine tasting at the end of a ride. Oh and the penguins!

    Great cycling, quite hilly but stunning, very varied. Great accommodation and very varied. Loved the penguins.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The penguins waddling down the street holding wings!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Warren was amazing

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are quite a few hills so I would advise getting a few of these in before you go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go go go
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Liz Broadhurst

    The amazing Justin Barr - Cool Beans

    We chose the trip, our first with Exodus, as we required a sedate pace with not too much walking. The trip was perfect on both counts. The balance of the day excursions was a perfect combination to enable the group to see the country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to see the wildlife in its natural environment Seeing Cape Town from the top of table mountain

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were lucky enough to be guided by the inspirational and passionate Justin Barr. His knowledge of the flora and fauna of his native country was first class. This over spilled into the history of the country, it’s political turmoil and his future aspirations for what he showed us as such a beautiful country. His commentary and his driving experience only added to the trip. Certainly “cool beans” and a 10/10 for Justin He really did make the trip a trip of a life time

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it! You won’t be disappointed.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Martin Stanford

    Spectacular varied & educational experience travelling thro the Cape

    This trip lived up to all expectations and beyond. The amazing places visited, the friendliness of the people interacted with in each location (plus my fellow travellers on the bus), quality of the accommodation / food / transport / scheduled & additional trips, awe inspiring landscapes, wow moments up close with the varied wildlife. These were all fantastic and every experience was raised even higher by Justin's organisation, knowledge, humour, friendliness plus his openness and passion for showing off everything his country has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting within the Townships and interacting with the local people there was both eye opening and inspiring. It gave a great insight into how South Africa's people are determined to help themselves advance and how they are able to find happiness in simple things that the majority of us easily dismiss or incorrectly feel pity for. Personally - after recovering from a serious ankle injury last year - one of my trip highlights was the day we explored and clambered over parts of the awesome Table Mountain and the Cape Point National Park. With a trip to Boulders beach in between - where three penguins practically tripped over my feet moving from the Ocean to the shade of some nearby trees - it was my wow moment of an amazing trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin's organisation, knowledge, humour, friendliness plus his openness and passion for showing off everything his country has to offer was incredible. His driving and advance scouting skills were pretty impressive too!!! :-)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Say yes to each trip and opportunity. None of these disappointed and really enhanced our experiences. Don't be put off my South Africa's reputation for being unsafe. In our experience, this 'international' rep is definitely undeserved within the Cape region where the usual common sense you should adopt in your own towns and cities, or across any location holidaying in Europe should suffice! Consider travelling our a day early to Port Elizabeth to sit on the beach and recover from the flight, or stay a few extra days in Cape Town - there's so much life to experience there, Some places have European or UK plug points but the majority require the bespoke South African adaptor. Either buy off somewhere like Amazon or Ebay beforehand or purchase at Joburg or Port Elizabeth airports - it keeps you charged up for all those photo opportunities at a small cost!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks again to Justin and my fellow travellers for being great!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Nicholas Walsh

    Cape Town and the Garden Route

    We had a wonderful trip from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town along the garden route. We started with fantastic wildlife in Addo, on to the beautiful beaches in Tsitsikamma, through the center of the garden route visiting the amazing Cango caves, Mosel Bay and Hermanus before arriving in Cape Town for two day exploring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The animals in Addo and Schotia The wild beauty of Tsitsikamma The wonderful City of Cape Town and surrounds

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, great guy with exceptional knowledge of South Africa. The was never a problem, he got everyone one in the group working together, we had a great time with great fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy your trip
  • Reviewed April 2019
    lyn Morrow

    cycling the cape and wine regions

    It was great trip thoroughly enjoyed it. The scenery along the coast was stunning. Accommodation was wonderful the bus and bikes in very good condition.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to the top of the passes without stopping along the way. Also the group support and that of the our leader Warren

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Warren was exceptional. He was passionate knowledgeable easy to approach for a chat and of course very conscious of our safety at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy the moment holidays don't last forever.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Kenneth Turner

    Interesting and Relaxing Tour

    This was an interesting, relaxing and varied trip. There wasn't too much driving - just one day that was a bit longer. The tour took in a good variety of destinations and was accommodated in a variety of good quality locations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We liked Tsitsikamma as a location - nice setting, walks and log cabins.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was great - informative, informed, helpful, enthusiastic, amusing, passionate about everything.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're looking for a varied and relaxing trip then this would be a good choice.
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445