Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Tracey French

    Borneo

    Borneo, beautiful scenery, abundance of wildlife, interesting food & a wonderful people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    First sighting of orangutans in their natural habitat. Surviving the bamboo longhouse. Conquering, albeit temporarily, my fear of heights on the non too safe looking canopy walkway in Mulu. Surviving the bamboo longhouse. Climbing up to, & then looking down from, the viewpoint over Danum Valley. Surviving the bamboo longhouse.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manuel had to leave after a couple of days due to family illness & was replaced by Talia. Both were knowledgeable, patient & extremely professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If it isn't there already put Borneo on your bucket list.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sandakan War Memorial is very moving. I hadn't previously heard about the death walk.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Vicky Hau

    3 for the price of one!

    Literally just returned from this trip and have to say it was amazing. the kind of holiday where you get 5 days in and already feel you've been away for 2 weeks and by the end of the actual 2 weeks you can't quite believe you've only been away for a fortnight. it's a trip of 3 parts: a) jungle safari b)cultural foodie city breaks and c) a weekend beach holiday. We got really lucky and saw the Malaysian big 5 i (Orangutan, croc, proboscis monkey, sun bears and pygmy elephant) and all 6 hornbills. the Malay peninsular was a smorgasbord of food and culture (go see the Baba Nonya house in Malacca and the Blue Mansion in Penang).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    seeking and seeking the pygmy elephants in the wild

    What did you think of your group leader?

    our two trip leaders were knowledgeable, friendly, fun and fab.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    you can hire wellies for the jungle walk so no need to take walking boots, a pair of trainers is sufficient for the rest of the Borneo bit. make sure you have a waterproof, there are some heavy rain showers Be adventurous with the food - the trip leaders know what they are doing and the most wonderful food is available at the street markets - didn't get dodgy tummy.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Ronnie van der Ploeg

    It’s a jungle out there!

    A very enjoyable two weeks spent in the company of 15 other Exodus travellers who embraced the spirit of adventure and discovery in Malaysian Borneo. Together we journeyed the length of Sarawak and Sabah by minibus, coach, plane, boat and jeep visiting spectacular locations including breathtaking caves, stunning rainforests and acquainting ourselves with the local wildlife and bird life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wildlife highlight was undoubtedly spotting our first orangutan in the wild, followed by the sight of the clouds of bats leaving their cave in Mulu National Park at dusk. Although not as imperious as the Mulu Caves, a visit to Gomanting Cave is also breathtaking, and not just because of the overwhelming smell of guano! Meet bats, swiftlets, mosquitoes, cockroaches, mouse deer, spiders... and you may also see some of the locals who have set up bases in the caves to sleep and guard the swiftlets nests. You will enjoy the thrill of the river cruises along the Kinabatangan River looking out for the wildlife before returning to the Borneo Nature Lodge to enjoy the friendly hospitality of the staff. The long journey to the Danube Valley will be worth it once you arrive at Borneo Rainforest Lodge - fantastic location, impressive accommodation.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly and ensured that all the trips ran smoothly, and that everyone felt comfortable with the activities we undertook.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t touch the handrails in the Gomantong Cave! The longhouse facilities are basic and the food is ‘local’, so don’t be surprised when the fish stew arrives with a fish skull lurking below the surface - but the visit to the longhouse is actually an enjoyable experience and part of the adventure you all undertake together.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I personally would have liked some more commentary on the country, customs, language and history of Borneo as we travelled for ,one periods on the buses. Instead I read about it myself in a guide book.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Sheila Tilley

    Borneo and the Malaysian Peninsular

    A holiday of two different parts-the wildlife of Borneo was amazing and the accommodation at Sepilok was so close to the orang utang sanctuary allowing us to spend lots of time there.To see so much of Malaysia during the second week and take in the diversity as we travelled far exceeded my expectations

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    seeing the orang u
  • Reviewed January 2019
    da Lloyd

    Good balanced trip.

    I picked the trip as it balanced wildlife and the culture. It was a good mix and highlighted the differences between Borneo and 'Malaya' parts. About the right time spent in both areas.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunset boat ride in the adventure lodge. The War cemetery at Sandakan and the food 'mekan' tour in the peninsula, watching the sunset on Petronas tower at Traders Bar.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guide Wye in the peninsula was excellent. Would give her 5 stars for organisation, enthusiasm and hard work. Her suggestions for things to do and places to eat were good. I was less impressed with Aldrin, he did not seem to be as well organised, didn't know our flight times, the botanical gardens we had barely 20 minutes and then left us with a "guide" for the 'hike' who went off and left us struggling down the slippery paths without waiting for us. We ended the walk early as we felt unsafe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take an umbrella as is too hot for rain coats and useful for the sun and frequent rain showers. Take lots of insect repellent as you sweat it off. It is not a 'leisurely' trip so if you don't like getting out of your comfort zone don't do it but for me was a great place to visit. You will be fed every couple of hours on the pensinsula so don't order too much as there will be more to come later!
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Mark Levy

    Mountain s and jungles of Malaysia

    A very we balanced trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    At the top of my Kinabalu

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both good
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Joanne Hunt

    A varied trip of wildlife, cities, and food!

    This was a highly enjoyable trip covering a wide range of different experiences. The first few days in Borneo were particularly excellent at Sepilok and Kinabatangan. We were lucky enough to see a wild orang-utan, a gibbon and proboscis monkeys. KL was also a highlight - particularly enjoyed the food tour and a (optional) trip to the PETRONAS towers. The food markets at night were also a great experience. A relaxing couple of days on Langkawi was (once we got there!) a really nice end to the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed the wildlife / Borneo section of the trip (and perhaps wished I had chosen a trip with more wildlife)!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both tour leaders were excellent. Aldrin was friendly and organised and an all-round excellent tour leader. Similarly, Jeremy was helpful, enthusiastic and took us to some varied restaurants/eating places!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If the ferry crossing continues to be part of the trip - beware! The Lonely Planet guide warns that the crossing is particularly rough at certain times of year (Jul-Oct) and can be a vomit inducing experience. They are not wrong. I am never sea sick, but on our crossing almost everyone on board was sick. Be prepared!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall I really enjoyed this trip. I'm not quite convinced the travel across to Kinabalu was worth the journey. I quite enjoyed the tea plantation stay but the botanical walk was slightly underwhelming. Similarly, the city tour in KL was a bit underwhelming. We spent several hours at the Pewter factory (including a stop for lunch) which was a bit tedious. Would rather have spend more time at Batu Caves. Touring the city in a small minibus where it was difficult to see out of the windows was also slightly frustrating.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Irena Rattray

    Absolutely fantastic and unforgettable experience

    Every time we go on a trip with Exodus we don't think the next can compete but this was unique and wonderful in its own way and another trip we shan't every forget. Mount Kinabalu summit was tough but well worth it and we were lucky to be rewarded with wonderful views. I never expected that we would get to see as much wildlife as we did and the orang-utans and optional visits to sun bears and probiscus monkeys were just amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The orang-utan sanctuary was really quite emotional, and I felt inspired almost immediately to adopt an orang-utan, Bidu-Bidu to support the sanctuary. Submitting Mount Kinabalu was also incredible and showed me what the mind can help the body achieve when you are determined.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both our group leaders in both Peninsula Malaysia and Borneo were brilliant. They clearly knew a lot about the country they live in and the wildlife and worked above and beyond throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would take some thermals for the summit climb as these are thinner and easier to pack than a big coat. Also, definitely avail yourself of massage services in Cameron Highlands and at the Kinabalu resort as they were great value for money and so worth it. We used laundry services of several of the places we stayed in as well and these were really handy and would allow you to pack light.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Leo Murphy

    Borneo wildlife adventure

    This is a truly amazing holiday. If you have an interest in wildlife, then this is the trip for you, because the diversity of wildlife is bewildering. I went in early October, and on every walk we did we saw something. We saw Orang Utans almost every time we went out. Be prepared for rain. When it starts, it can come down in biblical proportions, though it doesn’t usually last for very long.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Almost too many to mention. As a keen photographer, I had to make myself put the camera down so I could take in what I was experiencing. Seeing Orang Utans, Broboscis Monkeys, Pygmy Elephants, Mouse Deer, Pit Vipers, Bearded Pigs, Hornbills, and various lizards and insects in the wild, is not something you should just view through a camera lens. The Bat Exodus from Deer cave in Mulu NP is a wonder of nature. The sanctuaries we visited offer a closer contact with some animals, which some people will probably prefer to the hit-and-miss nature of the jungle, but the necessary glass divide between you and the Orang Utans in Sepilok is undoubtedly a distraction. By contrast, in Labuk Bay where there is no divide, the Proboscis Monkeys charge around the decking area showing the visitors who’s boss. But for me, the sightings in the wild were the really special moments. Holding a huge male Rhinocerous beetle in your hand, with its fish-hook legs gripping on, is not something you experience every day. During a visit to Gomantong Caves which teemed with cockroaches, a Skink dropped onto my shoulder and hitched a ride with me out of the caves.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nostalia (Talia), is without question, one of the best guides I have ever had. Extremely knowledgeable and articulate, she did not shy away from thornier topics such as Palm Oil cultivation and deforestation. Always smiling and cheerful, she bound the group together with assured ease. Our “Exodus Group” quickly became our “Exodus Tribe” much to Talias amusement and delight. She consistently went the extra mile, in my case sitting with me on two occasions to go through my photographs so I could make accurate notes for a book I have planned. She brought us to out of the way places to eat that we most likely would not have considered on our own. One such meal at a non-descript looking outdoor Chinese in Kuching, for me, was probably the best meal of the entire trip, and cost next to nothing. A special mention must also go to our three guides in Danum Valley. Along with Talia, Aldrin, Syafiq and Helen were exceptional. We did several walks over two days and nights, and were amazed at what they spotted for us. They were all equally enthusiastic, and genuinely loved spotting wildlife and sharing stories with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a poncho, or buy a cheap one when you get there. It gives you much more freedom than a rain jacket. Always carry a spare, medium sized dry bag. You’ll be surprised how much you use it. Bring a day-bag with a waterproof covering. You will need it. Drink as much water as you can, and top up at every opportunity. Free top-ups are available almost everywhere you stay. A reservoir for your day-bag is very useful. Bring a hat with a brim. The sun can be unrelenting. For photographers, only bring a tripod if you really need it. This is quite an active holiday, and you will be constantly on the move. Stopping to set up a tripod is not just impractical, it is unfair on your fellow group members and guides. (I brought a Gorilla tripod, and it never came out of my bag.) Again for photographers, bring spare batteries for the camera and a charger. This may seem obvious, but remember you will be shooting a lot of wildlife and will probably be using multi shot mode, and that chews up your battery. The humidity also seems to drain the batteries more quickly. Mosquitos were not as big an issue as I thought they would be. Normally I get eaten alive, but not in Borneo. But bring plenty of repellent. Likewise, leeches were rare. Two people from the group did get bitten, but otherwise the leeches were hard to find. I had leech socks with me which certainly helped, but long tight socks will work just as well. If travelling solo (With a single supplement), be prepared to have to share a room for maybe a couple of nights. Travel light and do laundry when you can. Try the Durian. Don’t let the smell put you off.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Something that is not mentioned are the suspension bridges. While the canopy walks are optional, some bridge crossings are not. If you have a problem with heights, you may want to take this into account. On the other hand, unless it is a serious problem for you, I wouldn’t let it put you off going. Do everything on offer. You’ll regret it if you don’t.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Brenda Everett

    Amazing Trip

    This trip has a good mixture of sightseeing and hiking. The street food tour of Kuala Lumpur was a great start to the trip. I enjoyed the food and I learned about the cultural and religious diversity of the country. The good food and drinks continued throughout the trip. There were a good variety of hikes ending with Mount Kinabalu. Watching the orangutans and probiscus monkeys eating and playing was great fun. The accommodations were very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I have to pick two. One has to be Mount Kinabalu, reaching the summit and completing the descent. It was a tough two day trek. The weather cooperated for us to see a sunset at the mountain and a sunrise at the summit. The second is watching the orangutans. It was fun watching them eating and playing. In particular it was great to see the senior male orangutan take his time peeling and eating a bunch of bananas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our two leaders, Wye and Rony, were great. It seemed effortless for them to keep everything well organized. They shared lots of local knowledge. We ate at a good variety of restaurants. They made sure we had opportunities to eat local seasonal fruits. They made it possible for us to take in the optional excursions of visiting the probiscus monkeys and having cocktails over looking the Petronas Towers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for Mount Kinabalu. It is not an easy trek. Be prepared for hot, humid and wet weather. Do not be scared off by the chance of being leeched.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No, just go and enjoy it!
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445