Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Capo Verde Discovered

    Until this Exodus trip appeared, I did not know where Cabo Verde was. We took a chance to go to a country emerging from the 3rd world, and I'm glad we did. Great hikes, interesting vistas, great guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was inspired by the people of Cabo Verde. They have struggled from poverty at independence in 1975, out in the Atlantic, without rain and with only the sun and seas around them, to build a liberal democratic country. The people are kind and seem to treat others with respect.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alveno was great. He made all the arrangements work like 'clockwork'. He always made sure we had lots of Exodus-provided bottled water to drink. He also arranged for and joined us for meals outside of the Exodus programme. On each of the 3 islands, we were joined by a local island guide who led the hikes and walks around the sites. Alveno and local guides acted in tandem providing information and answering our questions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In January 2019 Cabo Verde changed entry requirements and taxes. Members of EU-like countries do not need a visa, but pay CVE 3400 (currently euro 31) Airport Security Tax (TSA) on entry. In addition to the TSA, other non-Cabo Verde and non-EU-like nationals must also get a visa for euro 25. Many people who require a visa get one from their local embassy or consulate before arrival at the airport, but Canada has neither. There are 3 lines at Praia airport: International, one for nationals and Visa. We were directed by immigration staff to International, which was wrong, and then went to near the end of the Visa line. We were at least 30 minutes later than everybody else getting through. This was not because there was a problem with our entry but because, while we were getting processed, the rest of the staff appeared to be trying to balance and close up with the head who was on the Visa booth. The group leader along with the other Exodus travelers waited for us. Then the group leader sent us to currency exchange at the airport to buy CVE for the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    (1) This was the second time this trip was offered, the first time being in March. The group flight arrived at ~11PM for both trips, so there was no walk around Praia on day 1 as the trip notes state, which we knew. However, the group didn't know that there were lots of other trip note errors, and these errors helped create some less than pleasant discussions. Unexpected changes, e.g. from a ferry cancellation, are understandable. Exodus should correct the trip notes to reflect the trip that the local company is providing. (2) This trip is rated as moderate. Having done easy-moderate, moderate and more than moderate Exodus trips, I think moderate is the correct assessment. Poles are useful on some sections of some walks; boots are required most days. People can become sore or sick and miss a day or more (I have had both in past Exodus trips). But please don't expect guides and the rest of the group to cater to people who don't want to hike on a hiking trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Mary Tebb

    Great trip.

    We were a large group of 16 but all got on well. I would say this is a great trekking trip with a serious mountain to climb. Morocco is an interesting country with a very different culture to ours.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing a different culture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lhasan was really patient with us and made us feel very looked after and safe. He clearly wanted us all to experience the summit and enjoy his country. Despite being on Ramadan, we had no concerns about his ability as our guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please do prepare physically for this trip as it is frustrating to be held back by slower group members who didn’t appreciate the leg work needed. We had a 12 hour walking day on the mountain so you should be prepared for that on mountainous terrain. Temperature ranges were huge on the trip from the high 30s in Marrakesh up to just above freezing overnight at Toubkal refuge.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It’s Morocco. Accommodation is basic and toilets are usually the squatting type. Strengthen those thighs before you go!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kerry Clough

    Memorable Adventure

    Walking the Great Wall in the less touristy sections (in fact almost no other people at all) together with the Xi'an extension to see the Terracotta Warriors surpassed my expectations. It also opened my eyes to a whole new positive side of China that my preconceived ideas had not imagined. A wide range of walking from the flat in Beijing to the undulating and steep on the Wall, on even paths to shingle and scrambling. Delicious food throughout, far superior and less salty than in the UK and friendly, curious locals. Topped off by an absolutely superb Leader/Guide Jerry, whose infectious enthusiasm, wide knowledge of all things Chinese, sense of humour and ability to tell jokes in English made for a truly memorable experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Wall in the quiet sections was spectacular as it weaved its way into the distance over undulating hills with forts on top for as far as you could see. Feeling like we had it all to ourselves most days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding. Fluent English, infectious enthusiasm and love of China, friendly approachable personality, ability to assess the trekking ability of all of the tour participants and make adjustments to the walks as appropriate, which in most cases for our group was to seek acceptance from all to walk further than the Tour Notes suggested. He was funny, extremely helpful, organised things to do in the evenings if you wanted to participate like Chinese dumpling making and watching and participating in Chinese paper cutting. He also had a good line in English jokes once he knew the group was open to such banter.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do the Xi'an extension and walk or cycle the full 14km of the city wall. It is in fantastic condition and affords great panoramic views of the old city inside the wall. For me it was just as good to do as seeing the Terracotta warriors, which I suggest you get to by 9am as the hordes descended by 9:30 and made for a more stressful viewing experience!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't be put off by the long winded Chinese Visa Application process. if you are open minded your experience on this tour in China will pay you back many fold. Go!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Lesh Karan

    Exceptional tour leader/guide

    Despite the weather, which could have put a real damper on the trip (pun intended!), the trip was made exceptional by our guide, Sara Bull, and the fabulous people we had in our group. I would recommend (and do) any tour that Sara is leading. The farmhouse and surrounds are stunning, too - quintessential Tuscany. And the food cooked by Angela and Flora, delicious.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sara Bull - how she understood everybody's needs and catered accordingly - from the gear to the trekking and even the food. Sara is encouraging and supportive. A wonder woman, really. She also made sure my dietary requirements were met - and that the food for me was just as delicious too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above. :)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please read the trip notes and bring the trekking gear requested. It's not a walk - but a hike up mountainous terrain, so you need proper hiking boots with a good, non-slip tread and preferably waterproof. Waterproof pants and jacket also worthy to bring. And poles.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Susan Goodrich

    Amazing adventure

    This was the most wonderful trip. Words really can’t describe it. The Himalayas are awesome, the walking wonderful. Going over the tharong la pass was immensely challenging and we all made it. We saw wonderful sights, a baby vulture still with its white down, magnificent mountains, the sun rising over Poon hill, isolated villages where we were welcomed as we walked through, temples and monasteries. The food was freshly cooked throughout. The only down side was that some walking involved going along the road which is being build along the trek. If you’re thinking of going on this trek, I would recommend going sooner rather than later as this road continues to be built. It was lovely walking in the company of like minded people and we had a lot of laughs and supported each other throughout. Gun, our leader and his fellow guides could not have done more. They were kind, supported where needed, acted as nature leaders, made sure we had everything we needed. One final point. This is graded at a level 5 and it feels harder than that. We had 19 days walking, starting usually at 7.30am (usually up by 6.15-30 ..... Gum only let us have an extra 30 mins sleep after crossing the tharong la pass 😀😀) and finishing at 4-5. So in summary. Tough and extraordinarily wonderful !! Go for it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole thing. Seeing a baby vulture, the mountains, eating a lovely Dahl baht in a mountain village, the wonderful walking, crossing the tharong la pass, the laughs in the group, the fun. I could go on ......

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He could not have done more to make the experience better. He was knowledgable, instilled confidence as we were going over the pass, generous with his time, fun. I have nominated him as a guide of the year.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As I said above I think this trek should be rated higher as it is far harder than others I’ve been on, also rated 5. So get fit as you’re walking for 19 days up / along challenging terrain. We crossed the tharong la pass in snow and it took 11 hours. Don’t get too hung up about toiletries, tablets, loo paper. It can be bought most of the way around. There’s plenty of time when you get to Nepal to change money / get permits.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Amber Atouguia

    The most amazing experience of my life

    Going on this trip had to be the best decision I've ever made regarding a holiday. Everything was perfect- the weather, the scenery, the route, the accommodation, the food, the guides. I've never been trekking before or climbed a mountain or anything along those lines, the rating Exodus gives the trip for difficulty is very accurate. It was a challenging trip, with two 12-hr days of trekking (this only happened because the route had to be changed as the pass we were supposed to take was blocked by snow (we were also walking quite slowly as had an older gentleman in the group)) but it was certainly do-able and 100% enjoyable. The food was amazing the whole trip, the best food I have ever had- nobody in the group complained about the cooking, the portions were incredible also. There were 16 of us and there was always plenty of food available, they are very good at catering for different diets. Around 50% of our group was vegan or vegetarian (I am vegan myself) and I have to say I was worried before we started the trip that we wouldn't have enough food available but there were certainly enough! The guides and even the locals we interacted with were the most friendly group of people I have met, the were all lovely and easy to talk to- most had extremely good English and spoke around 4/5 languages themselves so very interesting and intelligent people. It also cannot be put into words or even captured in a picture how beautiful the Atlas mountains are, you'll just have to go and see them yourself!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the summit of Toubkal was just incredible. After 4 days of walking, finally being up there was so fulfilling. It was amazing to think that 'I just climbed a mountain'.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Lahcen Idblaaid really made the trip! He had so much knowledge of the area that you could ask him anything. He was extremely attentive throughout the whole trip, we never had to ask for anything because he would already have it covered. Even after our 12-hr summit day, when we got back to base camp he was running around making sure everyone had enough hot water for their tea etc- even though it was during Ramadan so he hadn't had anything himself the whole day. He also made sure that everyone was comfortable at the pace we were walking and that nobody needed any special assistance. When my auntie was struggling with the hills on a few of the days, he even carried her bag for her along with his own. He was altogether a very lovely and hardworking chap- I could not think of someone more deserving of a holiday themselves! Will definitely miss him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    They weren't kidding when they suggest you bring hat and gloves for summit days, I thought 'Nah I'm from England it won't really be cold' but it's actually quite chilly. Especially as we woke up at 5.00am to get an early start up Toubkal! I just wore my sun bandana instead of a wolly hat and this worked fine but I would recommend gloves, especially if you end up using crampons and ice axes as we did.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Deborah Segarra

    Great holiday

    Fantastic walks, amazing scenery, and good food. Severio, our guide, was knowledgeable, interesting, and entertaining. I was very happy with my accommodation, but some in the group were disappointed with their hotel, which was some distance away and not of the same standard. On a minor note, I wished we could have had some of our dinners at local restaurants - for variety and because I found the hotel restaurant too noisy - it was like being in a school dining hall. Overall, a very enjoyable holiday which has left me with some great memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walk of the gods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Interesting, very knowledgeable, and didn’t talk too much!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Weather was not as good as expected, pack some warm clothes.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    karen lane

    Such a beautiful place

    Excellent walking in the mountains. I loved the fact that it wasn’t crowded and on one day we didn’t see anybody else on the walk. The hotel has mountain views and the food plentiful and tasty. The owners Jim and Pilar are lovely.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along the stunning Cares Gorge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    ‘Nacho ‘ was excellent. Knowledgeable, sociable, organised. Couldn’t have asked for a better guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cows have bells on them . Ear plugs may be useful at night!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would love to go back if Exodus did an alternative itinerary with some different walks.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Craig Venes

    Undiscovered trails of Cape Verde

    This was a good opportunity to visit the lesser known islands of Cape Verde. Go prepared for hard walks in high temperatures and an open mind.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk in the Paul Valley was a nice change from the very dry and desolate landscape of the other walks but the best part was completing the coastal walk and arriving at a very nice hotel!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This was our tour leaders first time running the tour. He was a very nice person but did get a bit stressed when it was pointed out that our itinerary was different to the one that he had been provided with. This was not his fault and there were several discrepancies despite the trip notes being recently updated. He was very proud of his country and very involved in social projects. All in all, he did a good job and was always on time and very cheerful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that you are fit before you go. The walks are harder than described and these are made harder by the heat. The second walk was very difficult and may have been better if it had been done later in the tour so that you would be used to the walks. There is also an extra walk on the day that you would go to the farmers market. This is quite a long walk and does not really have any highlights to speak of. Poles are useful as there are lots of ascents and descents. Also wear decent boots with good grip as it is often quite slippery underfoot. Once you get used to the conditions, the walks become easier and you are able to take in the scenery. It hasn’t rained in the areas walked for 2 years so I wouldn’t bother with wet weather gear. Also the temperature was always warm, so a fleece or jumper was not needed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food provided is of a good standard and there is plenty of it. Lunches are generally sandwiches or a pasta/rice salad. Water is provided but make sure that you have enough water bottles to last the length of the walk as it is not always possible to get more on the walk.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Michael De Graeve

    All it says on the bottle !

    A very enjoyable and varied week getting to know all about the Prosecco region and it's very drinkable wines, especially the DOCGs. Pleasant rolling countryside making for some fairly easy but satisfying walks, often through vineyards. A characterful old hotel with agreeably large rooms, where I woke up to the sound of cuckoos, sometimes visible. One word of advice...bring your own soap as the soaps provided are miniscule. We missed the summer opening of the swimming pool, but given the mixed weather it's doubtful we would have made much use of it. Come prepared for possible rain ! Lots of great food, an excellent local pizzeria but also finer dining with interesting local dishes including rabbit and venison, though vegetarians are reasonably well catered for. Wine was provided with a number of included meals, which was a nice and welcome surprise. A fascinating visit to a local winery is also included, as well as another wine tasting. All in all it is unlikely you will lose any weight on this walking tour ! Most of us, on our free day, enjoyed a delightful sunny day in glorious (still) Venice where it is possible to get away from the tourist crowds and steep oneself in the sights , sounds and smells of the smaller canals and back streets. And you don't have to pay a fortune for a drink or decent lunch. The tour ended with an unexpected pleasant hour's walk and tasty lunch on our last day. With a friendly, empathetic group such as ours and a wonderful leader in Serena it proved to be a truly memorable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Enjoying good Prosecco with the group in a wonderful bar in Asolo after a very satisfying day's ridge walk and visit to a Palladian villa in Moser.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Serena was excellent. She looked after the group very well, spoke good English and has a good sense of humour as well as being knowledgeable and organised.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring some soap and make sure you have good rain wear !!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445