Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2019

    Fantastic Finland

    For me its was a amazing trip. Although my staying arrangements was not that good as expected but other things made my trip awesome. I enjoyed range of outdoor activities such as snowshoeing,downhill skiing and dog sledding.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riisitunturi National Park
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Pamela Marshall

    Finnish Wilderness Week

    Hi - as a single female traveller over 60 years of age I really enjoyed this holiday. Accommodation was quite basic, but this was too be expected and food showed much creativity but the company was enjoyable and activities varied and very interesting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My favourite activity was the husky sledge rides and seeing all the dogs in their natural surrounding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was great - she couldn't do enough for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just be wary of your own capabilities. On my free day off I chose to do a 6KM hike with a younger and fitter member of the group ; I think I would have been okay had we not cover the distance up to the highest point of the resort in 2 hours - however I've since suffered a repetitive calf injury and am still suffering 5 weeks later. Great views though and wouldn't have missed the trip!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If booking this holiday think about the weather - winter months means cold weather, shorter days and a better chance of seeing the Northern Lights. April is early spring, the snows are melting, lighter, longer days but probably no Northern lights.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jo Grant

    Fantastic Fun in Finland

    We had the most amazing week at the logging lodge with Elina. What a huge variety of activities to try out. Our 16 and 18 year old daughters loved it too, particularly the dog sledding day and the downhill skiing in Ruka. Cooking pancakes and sausages over a fire was also a highlight. Elina was knowledgable, friendly and inclusive. Would really recommend to families with a sense of adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dig sledding

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try everything. Take your sense of adventure. All equipment provided was more than adequate.,
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jo Grant

    Fantastic Fun in Finland

    We had the most amazing week at the logging lodge with Elina. What a huge variety of activities to try out. Our 16 and 18 year old daughters loved it too, particularly the dog sledding day and the downhill skiing in Ruka. Cooking pancakes and sausages over a fire was also a highlight. Elina was knowledgable, friendly and inclusive. Would really recommend to families with a sense of adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dig sledding

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try everything. Take your sense of adventure. All equipment provided was more than adequate.,
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Alice Nimmo

    Finnish Wilderness Week 14th-28th

    I really enjoyed the trip and it was Greta to see the transition from winter to spring as we were the last trip of the season. The most enjoyable part was the husky ride, so much I went twice. But also, Elina and Ismo really took care to make sure we enjoyed Finnish traditions, and we cooked pancakes and bread on an open fire as well as quinzee building and first aid in the wildness. I would definitely recommend this trip of you want a jam packed holiday and to tick off a few things from your bucket list. The guides are fantastic and you really feel a sense of being in the wilderness, especially of you are staying in the loggers lodge

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Do selling and baking bread on the fire

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elina was fantastic, so friendly and knowledgeable, she loves the first and nature and is so open minded. Ismo who helped her was also fantastic and he had a lot of knowledge about Finnish traditions and nature

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect 5 star accomodation as one of the people did when I went, she was shocked, bit I was pleasantly surprised as I was expecting mountain hut standard

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was spectacular and it was fantastic to experience delicious traditional Finnish food and drink
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Matthew Handford

    Finnish Wilderness Week

    I loved this trip. It was a chance to head to the frozen north (Finland/Lapland) in April and take part in a range of outdoor activities such as snowshoeing, x country skiing, downhill skiing and dog sledding. It was also great to go out in the wilderness and have a chance to see wildlife and perhaps the Northern Lights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What was special was a combination of things - a social group, feeling I could at least begin to get the hang of activities such as skiing and dogsledding, generally travelling around the Oulanka National Park area by road whilst seeing all of it covered in snow and getting to meet the huskies and reindeer. I also had the chance to take off on my own in the afternoon into the wilderness which gave me a sense of exploration!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elina is a very good leader and had us clearly organised everyday. She took us out snowshoeing and showed us cross country skiing. Else kept us well fed from the kitchen and took us out on a night walk with the snowshoes. Both have a lot of local knowledge and were very social, as part of the group. Elina also organised us with the most outdoor kit I have ever been given on a trip!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a week where there is a lot of choice as to what one can do. Hence, perhaps, it helps to have some preconceived ideas as to what one would like to experience from the week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a rare trip in that I would really like to do it again. There is always the argument that there are too many places in the world to visit and hence it is not worth returning to the same one. However, this trip takes place in different locations in the National Park and it is possible to do different activities over the course of the week.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    bruce robinson

    A Wonderful Week

    Great weather. Fresh snow plus lots of sunshine. Magnificent scenery, the Dolomites are really special both in winter and summer. Comfortable hotel with good facilities and friendly, helpful staff. Tasty interesting dinners with a very good wine list to choose from. A friendly, interesting group of fellow "snowshoeers" What really made the trip special was our guide Sara. She is everything you would wish for in a guide and I can only endorse all the other glowing mentions she receives in reviews.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day was as memorable as the previous one. By the very nature of the week, the days are similar in that one is walking in the moutains through the snow but yet each is different with constantly changing vistas and challenges under foot.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As mentioned above, Sara was deserving of all the superlatives that she receives in these reviews. Kind, caring, considerate, knowledgeable, reliable, interesting, funny, the list goes on! Thanks Sara.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it. You do need a reasonable degree of fitness but previous use of snowshoes is not a prerequisite.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Karen Barnett

    snowshoeing in the dolomites

    A fabulous adventure. Challenging but beautiful and rewarding with undoubtedly the BEST guide in charge! We had fun, explored, felt nurtured and cared for. The hotel was gorgeous and the spa facilities were the perfect antidote to all of the hard work! As was the wonderful cuisine. A warm and friendly staff made us all feel very welcome. Take crampons....icy walking can be very tiresome if too little snow for the snowshoes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ridge walk....beautiful virgin snow and astonishing views....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous....went way beyond to ensure everyone felt comfortable and had everything to ensure they enjoyed their trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take crampons!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just...Do It!!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Richard mackenzie

    Great holiday

    Had a great trip as a lone traveller I was a bit apprehensive on the food as dairy intolerant but the chef's were really good and the choice for me was really good. The only downside was that some people got jealous of the special desserts they made for me each day (as well as soya ice-cream) We had a great group and had lovely sunny weather although a bit hot on a few days Conditions were great the first 2 days then a bit warm Skiing was harder than a remembered but enjoyable Hardest bit of the trip was knowing what and how much to wear I packed lots of thin long sleeved items and a few bike tops which proved very useful. I found liner gloves were really helpful too

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being out and about each day in the beautiful countryside

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mary and albert were great. Not sure they were too impressed by the groups skiing skills, but they changed and chose a good variety Evening films and entertainment were an added extra, and gave me some knowledge of the region

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Liner gloves really useful as well as a selection of hats Mary had a cap on which would have been helpful to take with me. Buff was also really handy,so have a few of these Accomodstion had a drying room which worked well

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nope
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Linda Scott

    An impressive holiday on all counts

    What an experience. A week of varied routes; a forest trail amongst snow laden trees - like a Narnia snowscene, mountain ascents with beautiful scenery along the way, impressive mountain ranges, breathtaking lakes, stunning mountain huts . . . A fabulous family run hotel with warm and friendly staff, elegant rooms, comfortable beds and a deep bath with copious amounts of hot water. Immense breakfast choice, fabulous food and wine, cosy bar and snug and a relaxing wellness centre.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being sat on the top of snow covered Monte Piana on a beautiful blue sky day, surrounded by impressive mountains and feeling on top of the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can’t speak highly enough of our group leader Sara Bull. She was fun, friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and supportive to all clients. Nothing was too much trouble. Sara was very organised, hard working and safety conscious. Her love of nature and the environment was clearly evident and her enthusiasm was infectious. Sara helped make our experience of the Dolomites very special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I think everything is covered in the trip notes really. I would just emphasise the need for sunscreen and recommend a water hydration system in your rucksack rather than phaffing about with bottles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you fancy experimenting with cross country skiing on your free day you are in the best place to experience it.
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445