Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

90 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2019
    Audrey Sherlock

    Fabulous experience - and responsible tourism!

    Loved every minute of our Atlas Panorama trip. Good balance between city and village life. Lovely trekking routes. Great hospitality. The trip notes are accurate. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our guide Hamid, himself was inspirational! Heading out at 7am from our riad on a cool, dark November morning (equipped with our head torches) for a 31 km hike. Another was our leader, Hamid, providing after dinner entertainment - singing and playing drums. Another was our afternoon at the hamman in the village - well done exodus, a great example of responsible tourism.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Hamid looked after the whole group so well. He was very good fun and very willing to tell us about village life. He also paced our treks well to suit the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were there in November and temperatures were chilly at night in the mountains, as you would expect, so pack warm layers for winter. Trip notes describe this trip accurately. Do pack water purification tablets or water filter to reduce plastic bottled water and bring some gifts for the village school. It's a nice gesture.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great experience. The treks were moderate as indicated with grade 3. Lovely lunches on our trekking days. This is a well designed trip. You should book it!
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Barbara Preneta

    Fantastic Trip!

    This was a fantastic trip with great contrasts, from busy Marrakech with souks, palace, mosques to the quiet village up in the High Atlas Mountains. Our guide, Hamid, could not have been better!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the mountain village, the quiet, the hammam, having mint tea in the home of our guide's family. Having a hot cooked lunch up in the mountains was special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Hamid was great. He was knowledgeable, considerate, funny, and always aware of what was happening with various members of our group. He shared so much about the Moroccan culture, answering and encouraging questions from the walkers. We came away with so much more than experiencing a few walks in the mountains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared with layers for all kinds of weather. It was cold in the riad at night, but plenty of warm blankets were provided. Don't skip the hammam! I hadn't planned to do this, but was so glad that I did.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Edward Preneta

    Genuine Morrocan Community and Hospitality

    This is a very good introduction to Morocco, Marrakech, remote village living and the high Atlas Mountains. You learn that Morocco is a Berber nation in the Arab world. It is also a very good example of Exodus's responsible tourism. Excellent local leader and drivers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hamed took 16 of us to his family's village house for tea and a variety of cookies/biscuits, which were prepared and served by his sister and other family members. We had a tour of his house and resident live stock. There was no pretentiousness. It wasn't staged. It was a moment of genuine Moroccan Berber community and hospitality.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hamed was and is an outstanding leader. He is engaging, attentive, extremely knowledgeable and eager to learn from those he leads. He is very bright. He knows the trails, Morocco and Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Believe the trip notes. Marrakech is colorful and busy late into the night 7 days a week. Take the advice from the leader about what to eat, where and how much it should cost for meals, cabs and goods. Always bargain with merchants in the souk. The village is remote and picturesque. The riad is basic and simple. Prepare for the cold in winter months. The trails are rocky and stoney. Don't be shy. Try a hammam.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As an American, it was wonderful to experience true Muslim community and hospitality and Islamic culture and religion. It was a positive contrast to our current negative policy toward Islam.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Pauline Kaye

    Fabulous trip

    Although I am a little late posting this review as we went in September 2018, I have to say this was a brilliant trip . We had a superb guide in Hassan and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The group bonded well from our first couple of days sightseeing in Marrakesh and then carrying on up into the High Atlas mountains. The Riad was very comfortable and cosy although did get very cold at night and we needed the extra blankets and the little heater provided in the rooms. The view from the room and balcony was superb and the food was excellent . The first two walks were fairly straightforward and the views of the mountains were quite amazing. We did the full 10 hr walk on the last day which was quite strenuous but had very unexpected flash flooding and Hassan did an amazing job getting us all down safely although we were always confident he would.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views of the mountains, the achievement of completing the long hike and getting to the lake on the last day and being brave enough to participate in the hammam experience which was a little out of my comfort zone but felt great afterwards .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was brilliant . Full of knowledge, answered all the questions and took us to some good places . Very supportive to all grades of walkers

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring waterproofs. we had rain but it didn't spoil anything but we did get wet . Also good boots and poles if you have them

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was always on my husbands bucket list and not mine , but I have to say it was very very enjoyable experience and Morocco was incredible.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Dianne Flath

    Great centre-based walking in the AntiAtlas

    Great introduction to the AntiAtlas region of Morocco, based in a traditional riad with three days walking / trekking - all washed down with lashings of mint tea. All three walks were very different in duration (10, 5 and 17 miles!) and very diverse (considering they all started & finished from the village) but the views were always stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The time spent in the Anti Atlas - the riad was great, the walking was great, the food was copious, there was lashings of mint tea, the hammam experience... difficult to pick a single highlight...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed and Habib were both excellent - really helpful and friendly

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just that this is primarily a walking holiday and the paths aren't flat, so there are ascents / descents / some rough terrain. Nothing beyond grade 3 though. Having bimbled along at a very leisurely average pace of 1.5mph for the first two days (partly because the walks were that much shorter but also because the paths were fairly rough in places) we were fairly concerned at the prospect of the 19m hike the final day. Not so much the distance but would it be possible to finish it in daylight? Apart from being "only" about 17miles (according to our GPS watch), the route for the final day was on a much better track so we were averaging 2.5 mph and got back again well before dusk (and that included a very leisurely lunch stop).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just so you're aware - this trip is also an internet detox (while in the village). Could forget about everything happening back home.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Judith Argent

    High Atlas Snow

    A great mix of busy, bustling Marakech and remote mountain village life in Morocco. The village is completely off the beaten track. I believe there was one car in the village and lots of mules.The riad has incredible views, a great place to sit and relax. We arrived when the mountain villages had just received 50cm of fresh crisp snow. The area looked stunning, even if they were not the views we were expecting. The food at the riad was excellent. Similarly the hot picnics freshly cooked on the mountain side with wonderful locally produced ingredients were tasty examples of local Moroccan cuisine and were something I shall never forget. And I have developed a taste for Moroccan mint tea. Very tasty.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The total isolation and quietness of the mountains. No cars, cables or vapour trails from airplanes. And clear starry, starry nights. The hammam bath was a real giggle as well as being cleansing. A real chance to see the fun side of the women in the village.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was passionate and knowledgeable about Berber life and the mountains. He had a great sense of humour and kept everyone walking in some challenging, snowy conditions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take clothes for all seasons if travelling outside summer months. Nights were very cold in February but the riad had lots of blankets which we were all very grateful for.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jyoti Nair

    Bliss @ Atlas

    Nice trip, well divided between doing the touristy thing in colorful, bustling Marrakech and walking in the mountains. The difficulty level is somewhere between a 2 and a 3, rocky and uneven paths. Good shoes and walking poles, guys! Die hard walk enthusiasts may find the 3 days of walking not challenging enough. Food was freshly perpared, clean and tasty. The accomodation decent. Showers hot.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Navigatibg the rocky paths and making it in time. Albeit last!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Omar was a young group leader, probably not very experienced in leading. Had to be reminded a few times that he needed to be looking out for the last person on the trail rather than trying to be the first one to reach from point A to point B.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and have a good time.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jay Howard

    3 Easy "Day Walks" rather than a "Moderate" walking trip.

    This is quite an easy "walking trip" but I think it's far more suited to those who are looking to walk more than those who are already more seasoned walkers. The pace of activities is well balanced between city tours and days walking in the mountains with (probably) the best local food being served at the Riad.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Marrakesh is (as expected) alive with activity during the day and evening and the views from the high Atlas walks can be spectacular as are the vivid pastel colours of many valleys you'll see on the walking days from the Riad.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Omar was well organised and spent much time to explain the Berber culture in quite a lot of detail to the group over the evening meals in the Riad.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Both the hotel and Riad used on this trip do not have bars so if you enjoy a glass of wine etc with dinner you may need to be self sufficient (and discrete to respect the views of others). The Riad is basic and comfortable but if you're traveling out of the summer period it can be very chilly as the heating is limited so pack some warm clothes for the evenings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As with any mountains the weather can go from sunshine to intense rain very quickly so carry your waterproofs/poncho with you on each walk!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Jay Howard

    3 Easy "Day Walks" rather than a "Moderate" walking trip.

    The walks on this trip are not really difficult and would be completed very quickly if the group you're with are "weekend walkers" but can take ages if your group do not have the fitness level required!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views of the Atlas Mountains when you reach the top of the walks are stunning (if the weather is kind).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you enjoy a glass of wine etc with dinner be aware there's no bar in the hotel Exodus use in Marrakesh or the Riad used as a walking base. Whilst the Riad is basic (but nice) it is very cold in the winter months so pack plenty of warm clothes and lots of books to read etc in the evenings when you're hiding under the blankets.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a good trip for first those trying out a walking trip for the first time rather than anyone who's already enjoying "moderate" walking trips.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Paul Sullivan

    Atlas Panorama

    Great way to sample the exotic medina in Marrakech and the rich beauty of the High Atlas mountain.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one single thing - just the combination and contrasts of the two components.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wiry and knowledgable, Hassan was a very effective and at times cheeky (:>) leader, very much at home in the hills among the villages and villagers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    more than a good introduction to what Morocco has to offer, this trip is a great to way to sample something of an imperial city and the splendour of the High Atlas. would recommend going a bit close to the main season than we did, as we encountered a few days of very mixed, changeable conditions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    nothing else :>
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445