Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2019
    Louise Gracia

    Guided Amalfi Coast

    Excellent first trip with Exodus. Fabulous walks, inspirational scenery and brilliant company. Thoroughly enjoyed every moment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the perimeter of Mount Vesuvius with a hugely informative guide. Feeling the heat and seeing the steam rising was fabulous.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was excellent. Very charismatic and funny with lots of great stories to tell. Really enjoyed all the walking led by him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take good walking boots or shoes, there are lots of uneven steps and some scrambles along the way. Doing some hill walks in advance of the trip would also be useful preparation.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take hand sanitizer, some of the toilet stops are rustic. Take good sunblock because sun can be ferocious along the way.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Andrew Thomas

    You'll view steps differently...

    This is a well planned walking week on a beautiful (and steep) part of the Italian coast. Centred in Bomerano, a small town ideally situated - several of the walks start from the hotel - be warned they nearly all involve some steps (mostly downwards). The paths go through beautiful countryside with lemon groves, vineyards and spectacular views down to the sea. A day trip to walk the rim of Vesuvius and visit Pompei was very memorable. The hotel Due Torri was very comfortable and the staff all very friendly and helpful - very sensitive to some of the groups food intolerances or allergies.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly like the visit to Ravello (Villa Cimbrone a must having been there 25 years ago) and the following walk down to Amalfi through lemon groves and a lovely wooded valley with waterfalls and streams (useful for cooling your feet) past old iron works and the site of the first paper mill in Europe. The ice creams and beers at the end were very welcome.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martina was an exceptional group leader - funny, caring and full of local knowledge and a great ambassador for Italy and all things Italian - she introduced us the the word 'undulating' - some of those steps are uphill!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are lots of steps - read the trip notes. Take walking pole(s) if you have them - the hotel do have some if you don't and there are a couple of well equipped outdoors shops in the village. I wore boots and was pleased to have them although others wore good walking shoes - you need something with good a grip (especially on Vesuvius). You can select your packed lunch each day - provided by the hotel - they were good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great walking week in a beautiful part of Italy - just book and enjoy.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Julia Nufer

    Fantastic hiking trip in a beautiful part of the world

    This is a popular hiking trip, and deservedly so. The views every day were wonderful - you'd be hard pressed to enjoy this area to the same extent traveling on your own; having a tour made it so easy to have the paths charted out for us each day, and transport back to the hotel after a tough day's hiking. Each day brought an exploration of a little bit of a different area. It is rated as a "2" i think, pretty easy, but it was not very easy due to the extreme heat (up to 40C on one day, and well over 35 on every day) and humidity, on steep and rough paths. I'd say it is more like a 3 (I am an over 60 yr old woman in good condition). It is a small (about 15 people) tour so the logistics are manageable, and the group was delightful. Food at the Hotel Due Torri was fine. Only negative: the rooms are haphazard: you might or might not get a good one. Don't pay for the "superior" room - just a jacuzzi tub in a garret, with a sloping roof, can't stand up in half the room.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Actually what i enjoyed most was the day "off" - since we were there in the middle of a bad heat wave, several of us wanted to hire a boat & driver and go boating up and down the Amalfi Coast, and our guide made that happen for us. We swam in the delightful sea water several times, enjoyed a splendid water view lunch at a small town, visited a deserted beach accessible only by boat, etc. etc. It was truly memorable, like a scene from a movie.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania did a fine job. She was accessible, kept the group going, very upbeat, went out of her way to arrange our day on the water - we couldn't have done that without her. I was the slowest of our group (and probably the oldest) - on Day 1 I had to ask her to wait up for me at the rest stops and give me a moment to breath, but once i called it to her attention, she was pretty good about extending those rest breaks just a little longer so i could catch up. She provided options for me to bail out of the hiking at a couple of points, and i did so, (skipped one day of all-downhill hiking to save my knees, took a bus partway thru one day when that was possible, for the same reason). I appreciated her consideration and watchfulness. She did a nice job arranging the departures for all of us - many of us could not use the trip-provided shuttle to Naples Airport, and she got us all squared away with our separate arrangements.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I think if you are over 60, you had better be in very fine form to do this trip. I am fit, and found it quite difficult. The first day was 8.8 miles according to my phone, with 44 flights climbed - a rigorous day especially given the heat. Other days were closer to 7 miles. Bring the trekking poles and good boots as Exodus advises, you will use them every day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Delightful trip, so glad i took this trip!
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Roz Forster

    .

    Having done this trip before I knew what to expect but it was even better second time around. The walks were spectacular, the weather fantastic and the guide made every bit of the trip memorable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most definitely plucking up the courage (with Vania's support) to walk the rim of the crater on Vesuvius. The boat we rented on our day off and swimming off the back of it was a very close second!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She's amazing. She's knowledgable, fun and full of energy. She constantly keeps up with the different needs of the group and makes every walk so enjoyable. Nothing is too much trouble for Vania, whatever you ask of her she arranges to make sure you have the best, most memorable experiences on holiday. Its a pleasure to spend time walking in one of her groups.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book a boat for a day to see the Amalfi coast from the water.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd sign up for any walks that Vania is guiding!
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Melanie Appleton

    If life gives you lemons, make lemoncello

    A full on week, fabulous views, busy roads, lemons and more lemons and fabulous Italian food. I have been on many Exodus walking trips and this felt the most like a package holiday but necessarily so because of the numbers of people who want to visit the Amalfi Coast. Not a get away from it all holiday but embrace the vibrancy of an Italian Amalfi Destination.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing in the gardens at Ravello overlooking the sea then walking back through lemon grove after lemon groves back to Amalfi.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Saverio was a very knowledgeable who’s honest humour was refreshing. He introduced us to Sicilian wine and I have been converted and have similar at home.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weathers. Read all the previous reviews about steps. They are unforgiving on the legs. If you are looking for a peaceful , get away from it all holiday then I would not recommend this. If you are looking for a full on , vibrant coastal towns and incredible views then this is for you. Yes the hotel is busy, three groups when we were there and busy roads but this because it is the Amalfi and a busy world famous Italian destination.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Darren Coles

    Walking the Amalfi coast

    Was a Fantastic Walking Trip have been wanting to do this tour for 2 years and it didn't disappoint at all The walks were Amazing and the views breathtaking .Hotel was excellent food was superb .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After studying Vesuvius and Pompei as a Child this was the highlight for me getting walk to the very top of Vesuvius with a local Vulcanologist where 99% of tourists are not aloud to go was a dream come true the view were amazing .Pompei and Herculaneum were oustanding the guides we had brilliant and brought the two cities alive with the history and stories of the poor victims we saw

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was oustanding right from the 1st day she made sure we were all okay on the walks ,let us walk at our own pace and never rushed us.We had plenty of stops to rest and have water as the heat and humidity were a hinderance especially on the 1st day .She brought the group o together and was a great tour leader and couldn't do enough for you . A beautiful caring Young Lady and she helped make the trips one of the best ive done with Exodus

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would say make your you have a decent level of fitness and bring walking poles as well they are great help. Also the 1st day is not a great way to streach your legs its was the hardest day by far very steep ascent on uneven ground and stepseven the experinced walkers in our group struggled at times especially in the heat we experienced .it was toughest walk by far.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Deborah Segarra

    Great holiday

    Fantastic walks, amazing scenery, and good food. Severio, our guide, was knowledgeable, interesting, and entertaining. I was very happy with my accommodation, but some in the group were disappointed with their hotel, which was some distance away and not of the same standard. On a minor note, I wished we could have had some of our dinners at local restaurants - for variety and because I found the hotel restaurant too noisy - it was like being in a school dining hall. Overall, a very enjoyable holiday which has left me with some great memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walk of the gods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Interesting, very knowledgeable, and didn’t talk too much!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Weather was not as good as expected, pack some warm clothes.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Angie Morgan

    Fantastic walking and cultural combination

    This holiday exceeded my expectations. The walks were stunning and our guide Severio's knowledge and insight into the region made for an action-packed, superb holiday. Sharing this holiday with a sociable group fondly referred to as the Walking talking heads made the holiday complete.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Walk of the Gods to Positano

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was very knowledgeable, fun and accommodated all levels in the group really well. He went above and beyond to help us get the most from our holiday even taking the trouble to give us a suggested list of places to visit and how to get there on our free day in Capri as he wouldn't be with us. What a gem!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This holiday is hard on the knees and shins initially as your body adjusts to the huge number of steps most walks involve. The holiday really gives you a great overall walking experience of the Amalfi coastline and the opportunity to also visit the main attractions of the area eg Vesuvius, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Capri. I thoroughly recommend it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As a vegetarian, I was well catered for.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Annabella Gatto

    Walking The Amalfi Coast

    This was an enjoyable tour, with 2 great guides. Saverio leading and Tony assisting. We felt in capable hands the whole time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing in Ravello on a glorious day, looking out over the Mediterranean. Beautiful. Walking into the cloister at Amalfi. It was stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Saverio was great - very organised, friendly, knowledgeable, and he set realistic expectations of what the hikes would be like. This was very useful for me, as I felt the grading on the website did not match the actual hikes. They felt more challenging than a Grade 2. The assisting tour leader, Tony, was also great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for more steps than you have ever encountered in one week. There is one hike that involves several hours of downhill steps to Amalfi. (I opted out and got the bus!) Do opt for the group airport transfers. Long distance taxis in this area are hugely expensive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very impressed with Hotel Due Torri. The staff were lovely, accommodation had everything we needed, and the food was delicious.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    John Ryle

    Walking with the gods

    Gorgeous bit of coastline. Great walking country. Good hotel and food. Congenial group. Smooth arrangements. Weather a bit disappointing. Excellent tour guide - Tony.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks were the important thing and they didn't disappoint - but too short in length almost as I was sorry when each finished.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tony was excellent company, an efficient manager, and had very good command of Italian.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take good weather for granted - the potential trip to Capri was not possible due to the condition of the sea, and two of the walks started in heavy rain which fortunately cleared up later. The coast is amazingly high and the hotel is at 2000 feet with higher mountains behind so it is mountain weather essentially until you get down to sea level. Be prepared to put energy into the walking - it is not just a stroll in the park. It is stretching and exhilarating.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Saturday evening departure left a gap in the programme from breakfast until 5pm. Fortunately most of the party were able to make use of this time but it did take some debate amongst the group and arranging and additional transport put in place ad hoc. I think something could have been planned into the programme to make better use of the day.
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445