Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    G S

    Fantastic holiday full of fun and laughter in Lulea, Sweden

    Accommodation at Pine Bay Lodge set on the shores of a frozen lake were excellent. I loved the fact that we were the only guests there. It was so quiet and peaceful. The meals were delicious and nicely presented. Most of the activities took place in the mornings so there was plenty of time to do some exploring ourselves.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of the activities were full of fun and laughter. I particularly loved the 4-man dog sledding, this was hilarious, i think we took off at 100 mph, we screamed and tears fell with laughter. The snowmobiling was fantastic too; what an experience to snow mobile across the frozen sea. Three course meal by candle light in Tipee on frozen sea was awesome; just a strange feeling to think we were sat on the Gulf of Bothnia! Icing on the cake was rushing out after dinner to see the Northern Lights, wow they were spectacular and lasted for hours. Another inspirational moment was going on the hovercraft and seeing cars drive on the ice road across the frozen sea. These are memories to treasure.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was an outstanding leader, his knowledge of outdoor survival skills was excellent. He had a good sense of humour and took really good care of us making sure we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Eric was also a fantastic cook, the meals he cooked us on the open fires were scrumptious. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Andrious was also an excellent leader who accompanied us snowmobiling and took us ice fishing; shame we didn't catch anything but what an experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Know what settings to put your camera on to take photographs of the Northern Lights before they appear!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved every minute of the holiday; it was just magical.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jane Ungemuth

    Best Holiday Ever

    This was our first time using Exodus travel and we recommend them 100%. The whole experience was positive from our first contact on the phone to Exodus to waving our fellow travellers off home at Heathrow at the end of the week. Pine Bay Lodge in Lulea was delightful, the guide for the week Eric was informative and helpful, the food was outstanding and all the activities were great fun. Perhaps the highlight was seeing the Northern Lights a rare but magnificent experience. We shared the week with like minded people whose company we throughly enjoyed and had a good laugh with. We have come home with heaps of brilliant memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fellow travellers and the Northern Lights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Full of local knowledge and helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I hope I've said it all!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Janet Powell

    Swedish Lapland Activity

    A wonderful trip, a great introduction to winter activities at Pine Bay Lodge. The accommodation is warm welcoming and friendly, and has scope to dry any damp clothing. The equipment they supply is excellent, the food delicious, if almost too creamy!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Was coming outside after supper to see the Northern Lights over the buildings, with pinks and blues dancing in the sky, as well as the traditional green lights. Oh, and the dog sledding was just amazing, 90 minutes of fun and high speed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack your goggles.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Robin Rawson-Tetley

    Absolutely brilliant

    This was my first time in Scandinavia and I absolutely loved it. The Swedes were fantastic, the food was excellent, the accommodation was of a very high standard and in a lovely setting by a frozen lake. The activities were all great fun (it's hard to pick my favourite between dogsledding and snowmobiling across the frozen sea!). There was still a good amount of relaxing downtime, but with something new to do every day. I enjoyed every minute of it and would unreservedly love to visit again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After a 3 course dinner cooked on an open fire outside a cabin in the middle of the frozen sea, the northern lights appeared for us, it was spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was a wonderful character, funny, personable and really knew his stuff.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It got down to -37C at one point in our trip, so take a couple of pairs of gloves for under your mittens and plenty of thick socks as the cold really gets you on the hands and feet. Ski goggles are handy for the dog sledding and the snowmobiles. Don't bother changing any money - you can pay for all the optional activities and any drinks/extras with one card transaction at the end of the trip when you leave. Contactless and card payments are accepted everywhere for everything.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    HELEN GLYNN

    baltics

    Great holiday and guide

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    traditional dinners in local restaurants

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Helen U

    A whistle stop tour of the Baltics

    This is a great taster of the Baltic cities of Tallinn, Riga and Lithuania, as well as a brief introduction to Stockholm. The trip is marketed as one for Christmas markets but it is so much more than that; it provides a fascinating insight into their histories and cultures.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's hard to capture one but Rundale Palace was magnificent and really interesting; the huge decorated Christmas trees in each city were works of art. Plus the mulled wine was always good! The local tour guides in each city were excellent and worth standing in the cold for several hours.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lukas was a great tour leader, very knowledgeable and always on hand to help. Being from Lithuania his knowledge of his country's history is mind-blowing, and his English is faultless.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are three walking tours on the trip so it really helps to go prepared for the cold weather. Layers are always useful and be prepared for rain and snow. There are plenty of cafes to go into in each place to warm up! In addition, the amount of free time you have in each place is limited, so it is probably useful to have an idea in advance of anything you particularly want to see. The hotels are all centrally located so finding your way around is very easy. There is obviously a lot of travel during this tour (take a book!) but it never felt too much as the journeys were always broken up by visits to various places, all of which were definitely worth seeing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip for anyone wanting to learn a bit more about the Baltic states - I will definitely be visiting them again!
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Lucinda Culpin

    A lovely time in the snow in Sweden

    This was a great way to experience northern Scandinavia for the first time. Pine Bay Lodge is in a beautiful setting next to a frozen lake and snow covered forest, with a big lounge for relaxing and a sauna a few yards away. It's very quiet and peaceful but with lots of things to do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The dog sledding was fabulous.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Graeme was always very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take two or three layers of thermals for the activities.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Timothy Masters

    Fantastic experience

    This holiday absolutely delivered on every level from beginning to end. Each activity was carefully led and was a true experience. The accommodation was welcoming and comfortable and with the included activities provided good value for money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several but the most memorable was the beautiful starlit night at the Wilderness Camp where we saw the Northern Lights and returned to our cosy cabin with a blazing log stove.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Fransesca provided a lovely welcoming feeling, lovely meals and very well organised activities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the cold by bringing chemical hand and foot warmers and a balaclava for sledding.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A really memorable experience.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Kathy Macey

    This holiday was like 5 mini adventures in 1!

    All very different experiences enhanced by the winter scenes and family atmospheres - and of course, the company of a really fun group and competent leader. Stockholm - a cosmopolitan city with lots going on (Vasa Museum is a must) Tallin, Riga and Vilnius - so interesting and sombering to learn of their struggles in the past but now their happy and proud approach to life. Narrow alleyways lead out to the fortified walls around the quaint Old Town Squares and in contrast now high end shops in modern pedestrianised shopping malls. Vilnius had the largest market I've ever seen - you could buy almost anything there and the quality of foodstuffs excellent. The Christmas Markets were in full swing with the little huts selling lots of interesting local products and varying types of Grogg/Glogg and other mysterious alcoholic concoctions!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Several : The Vasa Museum in Stockholm - amazing how they salvaged this huge vessel The KGB Museum in Riga - learning of those sad times under Soviet occupation The opulence of The Rundale Palace in Vilnius, The Hill of Crosses & beautiful Trakai Castle Experiencing Roasted Beaver !!!! ....but the best: The magical scene coming out of the restaurant on our last night into the Old Town Square snow falling steadily caught in the Christmas Tree lights - another photo opportunity! - but more magical seeing the delight of one of our fellow travellers who had never seen snow like this before - priceless! Needless to say he was the victim of our snowball fight. Sorry Arun!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jolita - caring, considerate, clear and concise - passionate about her homeland. After checking into our hotels she would always stay around the reception area for half an hour or so to deal with any questions/issues we may have had. .....and she bought us chocolates!! Jolita is a true credit to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Time is precious and limited and if you should see anything you may wish to buy - get it when you see it. Clothing wise, yes it was said many times by Jolita - dress like a cabbage - i.e. layers! The walking tours of the towns obviously do spend time standing around talking/questioning/explaining - so wrap up warm and make sure you have adequate footwear for the cobbled streets. Whilst we enjoyed snow and freezing temperatures a shot of the local tipple will warm your body, mind and spirits - well it did ours! Happy travelling in The Baltics!
  • A good Baltic overview

    Stockholm plus the Baltic capitals and a few stops between them. It gives you some sense of the history of the Baltic republics, their similarities and differences, and what life was like when they were Soviet Socialist Republics. The trip notes describe this as a Christmas markets trip, but most of them didn't open till the first weekend of December - our late November departure was too early. We caught the one in Tallin, which was pretty and pleasant but not exactly impressive. Stockholm deserves extra time. Arrive two or three days early if you've never been there, and don't worry about changing money - they don't even like cash. The ferry is sort of a low-end cruise ship - bar, buffet, entertainment, that sort of thing. Clothing: layers layers layers! We had temps right around freezing the whole time, which is very manageable if you plan properly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the Hill of Crosses and the history behind it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jolita was outstanding!
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445