Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    sarah strachan

    fine

    Excellent week. Really well organised interesting sites.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was exceptional as a guide. Really friendly, knowledgeable, professional and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He worked really hard to make our trip run really smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask for Ibrahim as a group leader

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was such a good mix of ages in the group everyone got on really well. Thank you
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Louise Mattison

    A wonder of the world, sun, sea and sand - this trip has it all!

    Having just returned from Jordan and reflecting back on my week away, I feel it has been one of the best trips of my life so far. The tour has been created to have a very varied, yet well balanced itinerary consisting of the capital, Petra - a new wonder of the world, the desert, the Red Sea and the Dead Sea. It cannot be argued that this is a relaxing holiday, there is a lot of travelling and a couple of long bus days (though nothing too overbearing and always well broken up with plenty of stops and sites along the way) and the number of included activities means you will fill like you've seen the whole country in a week! But it's brilliant fun, and the opportunity to see all the main sites and the stunning scenery will mean you'll be happy to rest once you get home! Jordan is a fabulously and I feel underrated country. Despite being situated in an area of the world which has had some problems, Jordan is forunate to be a safe and easy to travel country. As a solo female traveller I didn't have a single moment of my trip where I felt uncomfortable or unsafe. The people were welcoming, the weather was perfect (not too hot but sunny every day) and the sights far surpassed my expectations. If you are considering visiting Jordan, you can't beat this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two days to explore and hike Petra. It's such a fantastic and fascinating site, and far, far larger than I expected. I'm glad the itinerary permitted two full days here as one day would have felt rushed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was a brilliant leader. Clearly very experienced, he was enthusiastic, knowledgable and most importantly looked after us and made us feel very comfortable. I've done many similar group tours over the years, but never with Exodus before, and I think he was one of the best leaders I've had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a solo female traveller some of my friends and family were surprised when I told them of my decision to visit Jordan. But I couldn't have felt more comfortable. Exodus take care of you right from the moment you step off the plane, and the people I met and travelled with couldn't have been lovelier. I was in a group of 20, a mix of ages, both couples and single travellers and we are got along brilliantly, having group dinners every night and staying in touch post trip. Ibrahim, our leader, was fantastic and took brilliant care of us. I can honestly say I have no issues and the trip couldn't have gone better.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Suzanne Kane

    title is good and reflects the event

    I very much enjoyed this trip, the desert, scrambling, company and guide. As expected the tent accommodation was basic but fine. The food was adequate but the ingredients a bit repetitive but I suppose that this is what one should expect in the desert. The main problem I had was the fact that the desert is a very popular day outing for tourists in open trucks, of which there were many. The high number of trucks etc mitigated against the feeling of being in the desert/wilderness. We had to jump off the track many times and at one point had a couple of open vans careering down a steep slope towards us. A bit disconcerting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fact of being in a desert, which I had not experienced before, and the scramble up the hill which I very much enjoyed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdulla was an exceptionally good guide. Knowledgeable, honest especially when he did not know something, humorous, and very diplomatic when required. Attentive and fun.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I enjoyed being in a very nice group who all got on well.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Rhina Batra

    Amazing Jordan !!

    Jordan was everything that I'd hoped it would be and more. The trip had a great mixture of learning the history of Jordan and adventure. Our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable, the local people we met were warm and friendly and the food was very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra and walking down the Siq to discover the "rose-red city" was the most inspirational moment of our trip. The Treasury and Monastery were amazing! Walking to some of the high places was both exhilarating and beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nidal Alateaq was a great leader. He was very knowledgeable and wanted very much to show us his beautiful country. He was friendly and approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I am glad that we did the 12 day trip as opposed to the 7 day because we had three nights and three days in Petra. This was definitely required if one wants to visit Petra properly. We went from April 12th to 23rd and the weather was just right-not too hot but not too cold either. I would recommend taking a light jacket for this time of the year as it did cool down in the evenings. The coach/bus we travelled in was compact so don't take excess luggage.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would strongly recommend reasonable walking shoes if you wish to do some of the walks in the higher areas in Petra. The hotels were of a reasonable standard but the best one was the Holiday Inn in the Dead Sea. It was only the standard of hotels that stops me giving this an excellent rating.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Katherine Lucarotti

    A marvellous trip crammed into a week

    A wonderful trip with a fabulous guide and great travel companions. I wasn't sure about doing a tour as I usually travel independently. This time, I didn't have time to plan logistics, learn Arabic (though most do speak some English), or manage/research all the destinations, and I only had a week of time off, so I decided to try a pre-organised trip with Exodus to a place I've always wanted to visit. So glad I did. I learnt about Roman cities by walking amongst the pillars, I marvelled at mosaics away from the distractions of the 9-5, I climbed up rocky out-crops formed of incredible reds and oranges, I learned about the Nabateans and the Mamlucs and the Bedouin and the history or a tumultous region steeped in history for thousands of years. Not only do you get to explore Petra and Wadi Rum, float in the Dead Sea, snorkel in the Red Sea, admire Jerash and Madaba and Karak Castle and the flowers in the desert (in April) (thanks to our guide for hunting out the end of season black irises), but you get to taste local food (delicious Shawarma and Falafel) sip delicious mint concoctions, and hear about day-to-day life in world full of refugees, intense politics, history and conflict on all sides. Things come to life when you are in the landscape. Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting on a sand dune in the desert of Wadi Rum watching the light change.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous group leader - highly recommend Jihad.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really look at the weather forecast before you go. It can be cold and wet in Jordan (North and Middle) in Spring, even though it will also be hot in Aqaba, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Recommended for people who want to cover a lot of ground in a short time. It is quite an intense itinerary so not the right trip if you just need to relax or potter about. It's great for people interested in civilisations, nature and the Middle East. Even if you don't know a lot about history, this place brings it to life. It is spectacular.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Andy Sealy

    Tailormade a week in Jordan

    A week in Jordan fly into Amman and transferred to a hotel for the night then travel along the kings highway towards Petra via Mt Nebo , Madaba and Kerak. Two full days to explore the sights of Petra visit little Petra quick visit to Aquaba (for supplies ) Wadi Rum desert, four wheel drive and two nights in Bedouin camp along with one day hiking through the desert. visit and swim in the dead sea staying at a 4 star (5 star I think ) hotel

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I cant single one inspirational moment as they all were but if I really had to then it would be the sunset in the desert Wadi Rum

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was fantastic from the moment he picked us up at the airport till the moment he dropped us off there he looked after us really well. Anything we wanted he was there for us. he gave us all the information and more that we needed to complete our trip. He made sure every guide we had was the best and helped us understand the countries customs and language. I would absolutely recommend him to any of my friends that are planning to visit Jordan

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes please do not think of Jordan as a country in the middle east or in an area of trouble as it is so much more than that. It has a very western European outlook and the people are so friendly and they actually believe they are half English and have Jordanian. Our trip has open all of our eyes to a completely different view of the middle east. go and see for yourselves I promise you , you will be blown away with how friendly and open this country really is.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to take this opportunity to thank your team for a brilliantly organised trip in Jordan, it was everything we expected and more. From the plane flight , transportation , hotel accommodation , dessert camp , guides all facilities it was the best organised trip we had been involved with. Our Guide Ibrahim delivered us the perfect package even showing us more than was planned on the ternary without effecting timings. He sorted us out with the best guides in Petra , Dessert, and all through out our trip. We would thoroughly recommend Exodus Travels for Jordan trips and as we have also been on a trip before climbing Mt Toubkal 2018 would recommend this as well. We will be looking to book another challenging trip soon on the back of these two excellently organised ones. Again thank you for a great trip please pass this on to all involved.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Christine Ralph

    AXW 130419

    An excellent trip. Well organised and operated.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking down on Petra and realising the extent of the site and the awesome achievements of the inhabitants over the ages.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jihad Abu-Zahra was amazing - knowledgeable, entertaining, helpful, patient - everything you would want in a guide. In addition he helped me when I had a medical problem - sorting out medical help, to which he accompanied me, translating and explaining as necessary - a real support. Nothing was too much trouble for him - he is to be highly commended. Thank you Jihad for a wonderful trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    D Metronome

    Check small print

    +wadi rum trekking awesome -felt obliged to tip -dietary medical needs not conveyed to chef - sleeping bag provided was broken & not suitable season - Mena & Petra palace less than suitable abodes + Guide Abdullah was awesome - chef & Tool did well despite resources in dessert

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Final camp realising last time needed to assemble own tent

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good but aware / keen to keep us together even in last 48 hours

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take: Gaitors Ear plugs Eye mask Head torch Dead Sea neoprene booties Compeed & variations Buy Arab scarf in event of sand storms Take Jordanian dinards £150 circa. Expect to spend £100. Dessert freezing at night.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    See above
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Bob Vaughan

    Fabulous Jordan

    A wonderful trip to a beautiful and welcoming country. The experience far outstripped our expectations. The scenery was stunning, the variety of sites amazing, and the accommodation and transport arrangements excellent. Our guide Nidal was brilliant and ensured we got the very most from our trip. He looked after us so well and helped us experience the "real" Jordan and meet the ever so friendly Jordanians as well as seeing the tourist hot spots. We've been on many Exodus trips and this is without doubt one of the best.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To try and sum this up is a challenge. There were so many and so varied. They range from walking through Petra with the amazing carved rocks faces, to watching the pale crag martins (birds) "floating" along the cliff faces; watching the sun-set over the Martian like landscape of Wadi Rum and then drinking tea around an open fire in the desert camp; Taking in the 360 vista of the quiet flat rocky desert around Qasr El Kharana, to travelling alongside the Dead Sea knowing you're 380+ metres below sea level; and finally being waved to by the whole school when we stopped outside, to taking in the view of Jordans own Grand Canyon - Wadi Mujib.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nidal was a great guide, very experienced and excellent company. He seemed to know everyone, and everyone knew him too. Very knowledgeable and friendly, and a great ambassador for his country. He took care of all our needs and ensured we got to see every aspect of Jordan. He was ably assisted by our great driver Mather.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a well balanced trip that ensures you see and experience a great deal of Jordan. Although jam packed it was well paced and we had enough time to really soak in all of the sites and meet the locals. I would not hesitate to recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Eric Lassiter

    Two full days in Petra

    My decision to take the 12-day tour (really only 10 days since the first day was only "arrival" and the last day was only "departure") with Exodus was the best decision of my trip planning. Most basic Jordan tours offer only two full nights (one full day). Three nights in Petra meant we had two full days morning to night. One full day really really is not enough for Petra. Three full days, one more than we had, would have been ideal.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most inspirational moments: Traveling over the sands of Wadi Rum at sunset on the back of a small open jeep was sublime. Traveling over the sands of Wadi Rum at dawn on the back of camel was far beyond sublime. These are moments when one truly feels fully alive; amazing, moments that will remain sharply vivid long after the trip. Hats off as well to the Exodus tent camp at Wadi Rum, tucked in a narrow cleft between two "jebels," the hard rock mountains that give Wadi Rum its distinctive look.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nidal Alteaq was a great pleasure to travel with. Tour leaders are nearly always friendly, informative, personal and professional; Nidal's proud, unbridled joy at showing off and wanting to share his Jordan shone through. Thank you Nidal, for that gift. Shukran!
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445