Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Rebecca Horsley

    Volcano to Venice

    Cycling straight forward. Some wonderful places. Interesting hotels. Weather was not great though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the culture art and churches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    NA

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Weather unpredictable. Have an extra day at end for Venice.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More time needed for visiting art and culture. Check all notes each day or you may miss something. Eg. Vouchers for places. Ensure you check where to get off the boat on lake Cards as not clear for all hotels.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Janel Hannis

    Epic trip in Epic Country!

    Having done about 10 trips with Exodus now, this one excelled.. It is challenging, rewarding, interesting, fun, exciting, all mixed in with a heady charm offense that India is.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the climb up the Jalori Pass, (3200m); one minute in the snow-line, 56 downhill kms later, in the soaring heat - 38degrees I'm guessing! Extra-ordinary contrast in one day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader. Difficult to manage a small group of 4, but did a good job nonetheless. Interesting information about the country and always jolly and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not really... If you pick this tour you are obviously quite fit, so just stay hill fit.. A range of suitable clothing and wet weather gear is useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just an awesome trip, I would eagerly do again!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    j allen

    DIdn't hit the high notes

    This was a curate’s egg of a trip, definitely not the best Exodus trip we have taken. It is rather a tour that is done on bicycles rather than a ride proper and yet it fails as a tour. The riding was not challenging enough for me and a bit challenging for my wife – so probably the right level for us as a couple. That said, far too much of the riding was done on endlessly boring cycling paths with unchanging views. There are a few climbs of decent length and steepness, hence the challenge for some of the group including my wife. Only two descents were memorable and I dislike being told to go slowly on them – go carefully yes, but not to go slowly for the hairpins that did not exist. And ultimately, very sad that you cannot ride from Padova (Padua) into Venice – due to lack of suitable routes - obviously beyond Exodus’ control. As a tour you visit some fascinating places, Verona, Vincenza, Padova and Venice to name the main ones, though only in Venice do you have time to explore. Vincenza has 23 buildings by the architect Andrea Palladio and Padova is home to a great university. Venice is one to see if you have never been before. That the visit to a family vineyard is considered to be the highlight of the trip for many – superb buffet lunch and most agreeable tasting – underscores that this is not an epic ride. The “support” van was a disappointment compared to our previous trips. For mechanicals, not an issue, but to support human endeavour distinctly lacking: only water was provided. No coffee, tea energy drinks; no biscuits, chocolate covered raisins or other energy giving eats; no picnic lunches magicked up in remote and beautiful places, no fresh fruit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sadly lacking one

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I understand that this was our group leader's first as leader. He was a little over-protective to start with but mellowed during the course of the week. Informative and helpful but lacking the obvious enthusiasm that we have had from leader's on other trips

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    With no sustenance on the support van, all coffee, tea and lunch stops are at cafes, pizzeria's, or other establishments requiring payment.... this adds noticeably to the overall cost of the holiday. If you wish to enter St Mark’s basilica In Venice – do not join the queue, instead take your day pack directly to the baggage drop (you are not allowed to take into the basilica) which is on a small side street to the left of the basilica and go directly to the front of the queue waving you baggage ticket (it’s free) – you will be allowed straight in.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We suffered from a distinct lack of fresh fruit and vegetables. The salads on the menus were not great.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Wayne Moore

    Great trip

    A very good option for a week in Europe. The islands between Split and Dubrovnik are beautiful and in May there was very little traffic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day in Mljet was one of the highlights of the trip, stunning ride around the lake.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marin was a brilliant tour leader, knowledgeable, friendly and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do choose the Mljet option, it was a great day out. Arrive a day early and stay in Split for a night, it is a beautiful city. May is a great time to go, less traffic and not too hot. Hotels are typical 3 star, but they all had hot water, comfortable beds and a bar!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kalpesh Patel

    Great times

    It was a really fun trip. Very well organized. Terrain is moderate. This was my first real biking experience and I felt I was able to manage it. Our group was small - 10 people and we gelled immediately. Overall organization and coordination was excellent. It is a well thought out route. You get to see a lot of history and meet locals - especially in churches.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was amazing to stay in the fortified church the first night. The minister actually served us the dinner (and perhaps cooked for us as well).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Radu was amazing and very knowledgeable about Romanian history and European history. He took care of anyone's needs and issues immediately. He made it very easy for all of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I am vegetarian. They did their best possible to cater to me. So there was no lack of food. However if you are used to flavors and spices in your vegetarian food, I suggest to pack some sauces.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bike gear shifters could have been better. E.g. delayed gear change or change several gears at once. Made it less smooth on hills sometimes. Stefan - the support person - was excellent and fixed mine a few times, and he did his best. But problems still persisted on-and-off because I think the shifters need to be replaced.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Louise Weller

    Namibia is fabulous

    This is an amazing way of discovering Namibia whilst getting some good cycling in under blue skies. The scenery changed constantly, wildlife was abundant and the geological features were astounding. This was not a serious cycling trip and the emphasis Was more on the wildlife and landscape. I would have given this trip 5/5 but was disappointed that one of the cycling days was completey cancelled and no longer takes place as the road is too busy and the FatBiking was about 5 miles for 2 hours not 22 miles for 3.5 hours as advertised. Since my main reason for going was the cycling this did marr the holiday a little however it was still fabulous and I would urge you to go, just don’t expect as much cycling as advertised. I am vegetarian and was well catered for.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved it all but the highlights were the ever changing scenery and racing down the hill on hairpin bends on my mountain bike. Everyday brought something different and I wasn’t to go back!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hans was extremely knowledgable about EVERYTHING! Wilidfle, geology, Namibian history and so on. He had a genuine interest in sharing this knowledge with us. He also got us to where we were meant to be and sorted out meals and accommodation effectively. Benson our driver, cook and tent erector was brilliant too. He was friendly, helpful, made amazing meals and drove well on some terrible roads.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware you will be getting up by six everyday for early starts, this was great as you got to see the sunrise but won’t suit everyone! Take wet wipes, after some rides you then Travel in the truck for a few hours in your cycling gear so good to have a refresh Binoculars are a must, so much to see, the lions we saw were amazing but those without binoculars couldn’t really see them. Camping temperatures varied so take a sleeping bag liner so you can just use that on warm nights and the sleeping bag for cooler nights. Take something you can use as a pillow, I didn’t but my lightweight down jacket did me proud.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was great but Exodus pleas amend the trip notes.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Anthony Curran

    Good description of the holiday

    The cycling holiday was excellent. The mix of exercise, downtime and cultural visits was just about perfect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Korcula Old Town and climbing the 10K hill on the first day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Mario, was friendly, professional and knowledgeable and was very patient with a group of widely varying capabilities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would agree with the description of the week’s holiday as moderate activity level overall but there are a couple of days that are quite challenging for novice or irregular cyclists.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a fantastic holiday and experience. The shared challenge helped the group bond well together creating a very positive group dynamic led by an extremely good guide.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Nigel Turner

    Great cycling trip and super food

    This was our seventh cycling trip in Europe but our first with Exodus. It was up there with the best of our past trips. The bikes were good (brand new), the hotels as good or better than expected and the guides were excellent. We managed the climbs ok and felt increasingly confident as the week progressed. One of the nice things about this trip is being by the sea. A real highlight was the food organised by Niovi and Demetrius - the snacks, lunches and the dinners. Delicious, good value and time effective. We were a small group and all were good company. We recommend this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting up high at the amazing Epidauros amphitheatre, taking it all in and looking across at the Greek landscape.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - Niovi is great fun and a super organiser and Demetrius a terrific driver, cook, teller of stories, additional guide. They made a great team and added various fun or thoughtful surprises for us. Their organising of the food was exceptional and a real highlight of the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some good climbs on this trip but, having done cycling trips before and practiced on the local hills in the weeks just before going, we coped ok and are now up for more 'moderate' trips.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have the time, you could perhaps add a couple of extra days and extend your visit. We went to Meteora to see the wonderful scenery and monasteries in the mountains. We organised a two night trip via train and Exodus switched our return flight from the Saturday to the Monday afternoon. It added another dimension to the holiday.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Charlie Miller

    This is not for the faint hearted

    Getting out of Vienna went pretty smooth for me ( but not for everyone ) and the run up to Bratislava went well apart from terrible wind and rain, Hotel was good but didn't let you check in until exactly 3pm ( on the dot ) The next few days you dotted back and fore between Slovakia & Hungry and you were never really sure where you were, Hotels all a good standard but all the people on trip in different hotels which is a pain, getting in and out of some the places wasn't easy and you need to be good at map reading as instructions very confusing. Day 3 i think it was was very much dirt tracks and farm tracks and with all the rain it was mud and lots of it, ( hard going ) there were also sections of main road which are pretty broken up at the edges, you dont spend much time on or near the Danube but there is still lots to see, but no cafes or places to get hot drinks or snacks. This is a lot harder than Passau to Vienna. Please note this is note an Exodus trip and you end up with company euro cycles who were very good

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots of lovely places and most of the people are nice, i think Bratislava was high light but weather was just lashing down so hard to say, as weather in Budapest was great but to many people and traffic a nightmare

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not Applicable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are 4, 3 corner hotels in Budapest and the one i had wasn't on the map supplied, Traffic in Budapest a nightmare, hotels pretty good standard and people all very nice, but can be a bit strange.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    When you are in Slovakia you can use euros but when you cross the river and end up in hungry they are reluctant to take euros and if they do they give you change in HUF and exchange rate varies from person to person.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Charlie Miller

    Very beautiful and easy

    A wonderful trip on perfectly manicured cycle path and very very flat, short hops each day and its an ideal beginners trip, a couple of bike ferry crossings which break the day up and the ferry goes when you get there and if you miss it then its back in ten minutes. Hotels were of a good standard and a real mix and match and you just never sure what you going to get or if any of the people whos on your trip will be there or not as they seem to put everyone in different hotels if possible. weather wasn't great when we were there and some nasty wind and rain, and i imagine this would have been even better in nice weather, Please note its self guided and not run by Exodus travel and the company werent even to sure who Exodus were, but it still all went smooth.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sights and sounds and the photos dont do any of it justice, Melek Monistray was really pretty amazing, but so was it all really, it was like turning a page in a book and everyone ones as good or if not better than the last.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not Applicable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you look for an easy run then do this as there is nothing taxing or difficult about this and the cycle paths are perfect.
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445