Skip to main content
Find your perfect adventure

Find your adventure

search-wrapper

Review Centre

Showing reviews for Cycling Puglia & Matera

Number of Reviews: 7 Overall score: *****
Porto Badisco, Salento, Italy
Review posted by Gayle Tucker
***** Written

Cycling Puglia & Matera

After having completed the Bolzano to Venice tour in 2013 and having enjoyed it immensely with our tour guide (Michele Quaresimin) who was professional and competent) I was disappointed with the local operator and guide on this tour. There were issues when an accident occurred during the tour which highlighted several problems that could easily have been avoided had the local operator had properly trained staff and an action plan in place that included carrying spare bikes and an adequate repair kit and first aid equipment. I also found the tour price quite expensive given that it was the accommodation and breakfast only.
Read full review

Exodus Response

I am sorry that Gayle felt her tour leader, Sara, was rather under-prepared for the trip and that an accident on the trip was not handled as well as it could have been. This was Sara’s first tour with Exodus, so we appreciate all feedback that can be used to help with our leader training programme. I have addressed all the issues Gayle raised with both Sara and our local operator, and Sara has received further training which we are confident will ensure that future trips run more smoothly. We would like to assure clients that all leaders on this trip will carry first aid kits at all times and that additional bikes will be carried in the support vehicle in the future.

Marta Marinelli - Product Manager for Italy
Porto Badisco, Salento, Italy
***** Written

CYCLING PUGLIA AND MATERA

Lovely villages especially Matera and Otranto.  It was an expensive holiday as there were no lunches/dinners provided.  According to the Exodus write-up you would only need approximately €170 extra to cover the food and drink.  That is ridiculous!
Read full review

Exodus Response

Thank you for your valued feedback. I would like to point out that we have changed local operator and leaders for the upcoming departures in 2014. I am confident this change will improve the service and arrangements on the trip.


Marta Marinelli - Trip Manager
Porto Badisco, Salento, Italy
***** Written

CYCLING PUGLIA AND MATERA

Generally good trip with excellent and thoughtful guide. However due to the size of the group two guides may have been more appropriate, considering the rather expensive cost of the trip in total. beautiful scenery good company and the right level of cycling for a relative novice like me (possibly with the exception of the 70 km first day.
Read full review
Porto Badisco, Salento, Italy
***** Written

MATERA TO PUGLIA RIDE

This was a fabulous trip that really exceeded my expectations. I knew that the region would be very nice but it was just stunning and the countryside was beautiful to cycle through. The accommodation was really lovely also...especially in Matera
Read full review
Porto Badisco, Salento, Italy
***** Written

MATERA TO PUGLIA RIDE

This was a really enjoyable cycling holiday:  the roads chosen were predominatly little trafficked by cars, the countryside was a lush green, with roadsides and fields covered in masses of wildflowers, the villages and towns presenting aspects ranging from rural tranquility to urban liveliness and architectural interest. 
Read full review
Porto Badisco, Salento, Italy
Review posted by LINDA REID
***** Written

CYCLING PUGLIA

I have mixed feelings about my trip to Puglia with Exodus. The hotels were excellent and the breakfasts were first class in all places that we visited and the staff and locals were all very friendly and helpful. However, the local tour operator used by Exodus did not provide the group with good customer service - i.e. Neither the group leader or the van driver knew anything about bikes and would not have been able to change a tyre if there had been a puncture - fortunately myself and another member of the group were more mechanically minded and would have been able to assist. The tool kit consisted of a tube, tyre levers and a small pump, there was no high pressure pump, no spare bikes or wheels on the so called back up van. There was no cool box in the van to keep the picnic lunches cool. The group leader had no first aid experience and carried no first aid kit which became very apparent after I fell off my bike and had a badly grazed hand and elbow. 2 bikes were badly damaged so the group (not the guide) managed to get one bike on the road after canabalising parts off the damaged bikes, and only then did it become apparent to the tour operator that spare bikes were required to be carried in the van - 2 spare bikes appeared that afternoon so fortunately I was able to continue with the trip. There was also a distinct lack of communication between the van driver and the group leader - the van driver was inexperienced driving from one place to the other and he kept getting lost - no sign of a map anywhere. The above points are surely prerequisite if a tour operator is to provide a good holiday experience for Exodus customers.
Read full review

Exodus Response

Thank you for your feedback. I was very sorry to hear of your accident, but I would like to confirm that we are currently investigating the problems you encountered on the trip with our local supplier and to assure you that we will ensure that leaders on this trip carry a first aid kit with them at all times in the future. Our Health and Safety team are aware of your feedback and you will be provided with a full response to the concerns you have raised from our Customer Services team in the following weeks.

The comments we have received from other clients travelling on this tour this year have generally been very positive, but we understand there is always room for further improvement, so please be assured that I will take your feedback on board so that in conjunction with our local operator, we can improve the quality of certain aspects of this trip.

Marta Marinelli - Trip Manager

You recently looked at